Women scientist scholarship scheme (WOS-C)

DST provides a special scholarship for women scientist. WOS-C is put forward by Government of India. This is to develop the scientific talent of women who are seeking scientific pursuits. The duration of this scheme is one year. The scheme focuses to give opportunity for women for self-employment in diverse areas.

WOS-C Scholarships

The scholarship is for duration of one year. For the qualifying candidates (i.e. B.Tech, B.Pharma, MBBS or equivalent) a sum of Rs.12,500/- per month will be given. For the candidates from M.Tech, Ph.D, M.Pharma, MD or equivalent, a sum of Rs.17,500/- per month will be given.

WOS-C Scholarship Eligibility

For this scheme the candidates should possess some eligibility criterion. They are

The candidate

• Should be an Indian citizen
  • Should have M.Sc in Physical science, chemical sciences, life sciences or related fields or graduation or post graduation in engineering, medicine/ veterinary science/ pharmaceutical science or related fields. The candidates with higher qualification are also eligible.
  • Have knowledge in handling computerized databases, net surfing and information searching.
  • Should not have attained 50 plus years of age.
  • The preparation of project reports, experience in research, term papers, etc. are desirable.

Examination pattern of WOS-C

The candidates applying for this scheme should have to attend a written test conducted on all India basis. The qualified candidates will be called for final interview.This will be under the supervision of PFC and coordination centers. The interview of qualified candidates will be held in these centers.

Application Procedure for WOS-C Scholarships

The application form can be downloaded from the advertisement in the website. The candidates have to fill all the fields, failing which it will be rejected. If any field is not applicable to the candidate, then they should fill it as ‘not applicable’. The signature of the candidate is important at the declaration part. A passport size photograph should be affixed. The candidates are allowed to choose only one coordination centre. This will be their center for test and interview. The application should be sent by post to the specified address.

Contacts Address of Coordination Centers

Delhi

• Director, Patent Facilitating Centre- TIFAC, Department of Science and Technology, Vishwakarma Bhawan, A Wing, 5th Floor, New Delhi - 110 016

Chennai

• Honorary Director, Centre for International Cooperation in Science (CICS), 2, Gandhi Mandapam Road, Chennai-600025

Kharagpur

• Dean, Continuing Education Programme, “Women Scientist Scholarship Scheme-TIFAC-PFC-DST”, Continuing Education Programme, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, West Bengal-721302

Pune

• Head, Unit for Research & Development of Information Products (URDIP), Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, Jopasana, 85/1, Paud Road, Kothrud, Pune-411038

The contact number in Delhi is 011- 26592802/26967458, in Chennai it is 044-24430228, 24419466, 24901367, in Kharagpur it is 03222-28211/282112 and in Pune it is 020 25382296, 25383557-58, 25387209.

Official Website URL: http://www.dst.gov.in

43 Responses to “Women scientist scholarship scheme (WOS-C)”

1. 43
    shipra:

Please inform me about the wos-c eighth batch entrance exam..

2. 42
    Dr. Tareeka Sonawane:

Dear Sir/Mam.
    Please let me know the date of entrance of WOS-C for the year 2013.

Hoping for reply.

Thanx and Regard
    Tareeka S

3. 41
    Swati Chawla:

When will the exam for WOS-C exam (8th batch) be held?

4. 40
    Sridevi:

What is the last date of applying for the above wos-c programme of 2013

5. 39
    Surbhi:

Dear Sir/Mam.
    Please lemme knw the date of entrance of WOS-C (8thbatch)for the year 2013.I m MTech Electronics.Am i eligible to take this test?Send me syllabus and sample papers (other than the one available on PFC’s official website)Also guide me regarding books to refer.Waiting for an early reply…
    Surbhi

6. 38
    Sugandha Mehrotra:

Hello Sir/Mam
    Please let me know the entrance exam date for wos-c2013.Send me the syllabus, question pattern and sample papers (other than that present on net) and previous years question papers, if possible. Also guide me regarding the best books to refer. Eagerly waiting for reply…

Sugandha Mehrotra
    M.Sc (Zoology)

7. 37
    Puja kumari:

Kindly give the information about syllabus of WOS-C Entrance exam.

8. 36
    dhwanika:

Please let me know the entrance exam date for wos-c.send me the syllabus, question pattern and sample papers (other than that present on net) and previous years question papers, if possible. Also guide me regarding the best books to refer. Eagerly waiting for reply…

9. 35
    alka:

when this exam is held and when we have to fill up the forms for WOS-C

10. 34
    Kavita:

Please send me the syllabus, question pattern and sample papers (other than that present on net) and previous years question papers, if possible. Also guide me regarding the best books to refer. Eagerly waiting for reply…

11. 33
    kumari rashmi:

what syllabus of wos-c exam

12. 32
    kalyani deshmukh:

hellow sir/mam,
    I am kalyani i want to know the syllabus of wos-c exam or anything related like paper pattern, que papers,whatever basic of life science/biotechnology examwhich would be ask in exam..
    thanks will wait for your answer.

13. 31
    jasmin shaikh:

i am food technologist please will you send me syllabus for wos-c exam 2012

14. 30
    astha bishnoi:

plz tell me d syllabus and refence books for WOS-C

15. 29
    veena singh:

sir/mam
    when will the exam of wos-c2012 be held.pls send me syllabus,question pattern & model question of life science.

16. 28
    Archana Gawade:

Please send us the probable schedule of wos-c 2012 examination.12 are checking it from last 3 months.

17. 27
    Shipra bishnoi:

when is the wos-c 2012 exam? and what is the syllabus. please reply.

18. 26
    sasi:

sir, please answer me when is the wos-c exam will held on. pls send me syllabus, question pattern & model question for life science….

19. 25
    neha:

what is the date xam of wos-c 2012?

20. 24
    om kanwar:

i am doing phd.can i give this exam?can u plz tell me when will the exam of wos-c 2012 be held?are what type of pattern of this exam and are there going to be different paper for different subject?

21. 23
    shabia:

Sir, please tell me when will be the entrance exam of wos-c held?

22. 22
    madhu:

what is the examination date for wos c exam 2012 ?

23. 21
    Deepali S Kartikeya:

what is the examination date for wos c exam 2012 ?

24. 20
    Dipika Sherkar:

Please tell me what will be the date of written exam for WOS-C

25. 19
    usha:

can u ple tell me when will the exam of wos-c2012 be held? what type of question paper with how many marks? ple …

26. 18
    Shilpa Chaudhary:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    what is d syllabus & when will the exam going to held ?
    pls send the syllabus for Biomedical.
    pls reply soon.
    please send me the important dates and syllabus of wos-c exam 2012.

27. 17
    Jayanti:

When is the enterance for 2012 for WOS c will be held? Are there going to be different papers for diff. sub? Can you pl tell me what kind of questions will be asked for computer science?

28. 16
    nisha:

when will the exam for WOSC 7 going to held ? also tell me the syllabus for life science and biotechnology?

29. 15
    vinila:

how will we know about the entrance date? website or mail?

30. 14
    shital ghanwat:

what is d syllabus & when will the exam going to held ?
    pls send the syllabus for chemistry student.
    pls reply soon.

31. 13
    sanu:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    Can freshers apply for this job.Please do reply.and send me wat is d syallus………..and when will the exam going to be held.

32. 12
    jagrati:

wat is d syallus………..and when will the exam going to be held

33. 11
    smriti:

what is the date of submission of form? what is the syllabus forstudents of m.pharm pharmaceutics students? please reply soon.

34. 10
    chandni:

wat is d syallus………..and when will the exam going to be held

35. 9
    nisha:

please send me the important dates and syllabus of wos-c exam 2012.

36. 8
    Anju:

What is the syllabus for WOS-C exam 2012

37. 7
    Suma:

what is the syllabus for wos-c exam and the date of the exam?

38. 6
    shivani:

Please send me the date of examination ,Last date to apply & syllabus for life science

39. 5
    amrin begum:

HOW AND WHEN TO APPLY… WHEN IS THE LAST DATE TO APLLY

40. 4
    shilpa:

when will wos-c exam for chemical sciences be held

41. 3
    Gauravi:

Please inform when WOS-C exam will held and send the syllabus for life science.

42. 2
    priynka:

when will the entrance exams of wos-c held.
    please send the syllabus of life science

43. 1
    madhavi:

when will the entrance exam of wos-c held?