Higher Studies options after B.Tech Mechanical

Students who have completed B.Tech in Mechanical have many higher studies options in today’s education scenario. Students will be able to take up M.Tech, ME, MBA etc. These are the most commonly selected areas. There are also many short term courses also like CAD, Pipe engineering etc. The Mechanical engineering course offers students wider application in almost all sectors.

The mechanical engineering involves the areas of designing, information, analysis and maintenance of various machines. M.Tech in mechanical covers the designing, thermal and production engineering and many more. The mechanical engineers can work in different industries like Aerospace, Automobile, power generation and manufacturing, chemical, etc.The various roles in which a mechanical engineer can perform are

• Application Engineer
  • Associate Professor
  • CAD Designer
  • Lead Engineer
  • Mechanical Design Engineer
  • Mechanical Project Engineer
  • PEC Structural Analysis
  • Senior Mechanical Engineer
  • Technical Officer

Qualification Criteria for Higher Studies after B.Tech mechanical

For getting admission in Master’s course in Mechanical Engineering, one should have pursued B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering. The candidate should have secured more than 60% marks in graduation. Candidates must also have a valid GATE score for getting admission to the Masters program.

Higher study options after B.Tech mechanical

• Master of Technology in Aerodynamics
  • Master of Technology in Aerospace Propulsion
  • Master of Technology in Aerospace Structure
  • Master of Technology in Computer aided designing
  • Master of Technology in Design Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Dynamics & Control
  • Master of Technology in Hydraulics
  • Master of Technology in IC engines
  • Master of Technology in Industrial Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Machine Design
  • Master of Technology in Manufacturing Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Manufacturing Systems Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Mechanical Handling and Automation
  • Master of Technology in Mechanical Systems Design
  • Master of Technology in Metallurgical Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Production Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Refrigeration and air conditioning
  • Master of Technology in Thermal and Fluids Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Thermal Energy and Environmental Engineering
  • Master of Technology in Thermal Engineering
  • Ph.D in any of the areas above

Subjects covered under Higher Studies after B.Tech mechanical

The major subjects that are included in Master’s degree of mechanical are Thermodynamics and Heat Transfer, Machine Design, Statistics and Dynamics, Control, Fluid Mechanics, Strength of Materials and Material science. The other subjects are Automobile Engineering and Robotics, machine drawing, Automation, Manufacturing, Computer Aided Design/ Drafting (CAD) and many more.

Career Opportunities after Higher studies in Mechanical Engineering

Nowadays there are plenty of job vacancies for Mechanical graduates in Government sectors and other reputed companies. Students with a Masters degree are offered jobs with high salaries in most of the companies. DRDO, Indian Oil, NTPC, BPCL and BHEL are some of the government sectors that recruit mechanical engineers. Honda, Maruti Suzuki, Tata Motors, Ashok Leyland, Mahindra & Mahindra are some well known industries which recruit automobile engineers. The IT companies also hire Mechanical professionals. Some of them are Infosys, TCS, HCL, Tech Mahindra and Wipro. The public sectors like Posts, Telegraphs, Defence, Railways, PWD also recruits mechanical engineers.

34 Responses to “Higher Studies options after B.Tech Mechanical”

1. 34
    Keshav:

Sir, am BE Mechanical final year student. I want to higher studies in US or UK. Please guide me to get admission. Having 9.07 as CGPA upto 7th semester.

2. 33
    Umachandar:

plz inform about the various exams after under graduate in Mechanical Enginerring and list of top colleges in abroad

3. 32
    durai swamy:

i have finished BE- mechanical engineering in the year of 2013 and now working as a graduate engineer trainee in durrindia pvt.ltd ..Now i am working in steel structure development team they are using auto cad and pro steel .i am looking for higher studies which belongs to my field …..

4. 31
    paresh doshi:

my son is studying 3rd yr mechenial engineering he want to persue is career in physics (in research) what is scope for career in physics in india and foreign country after B.tech what field he can choose for career in physics

5. 30
    vishnu pandey:

is gate exam passing is compulsory for govt job.& suggest me scholarships given for higher stdy after be mech

6. 29
    saikrishna:

I am now 3rd year b.tech i mechanical engineering.I need to study higher education in Singapore can u list the colleges that offer m.tech please

7. 28
    rakesh:

w?hat is the career options after b.tech mechanical?

8. 27
    santhosh:

What are the higher studies after finishing B.E-mechanical engineering….can u give the list with details and entrance Exams for my MBA or ME. Which is more usefull compared to above higher studies…which one is more valuable.

9. 26
    siva:

sir,i completed b.tech with 55% in mechanical.what are the opertunities available for me.

10. 25
    nithin.m:

sir, i am a final year mechanical engg student. i want to know the job oriented courses to get job in automobile, manufacturing, maintance,production, inspection, oil plant.

11. 24
    nithin.m:

sir, i am a final year mechanical engg student. i want to know the job oriented courses to get job in automobile, manufacturing, maintance,production, inspection.

12. 23
    prasanna sekhar:

which bachelor degree is better to do m.tech in space and technology?

13. 22
    divyareddi:

can you give more information about aerospase structure and aerospace propulsion(mtech)?

14. 21
    babu:

i have passed b.tech mechanical engg in ignou,now i join m.tech.
    pl send eligble universty

15. 20
    Pallab samanta:

Can i study m tech after b tech in mechanical without any gate rank in india

16. 19
    please suggust me:

i am mech 3rd year student if i have back in 5th sem can i aply m.n.c company nd b.hel etc goverment sector

17. 18
    chetan rajput:

i am a student of mecanical 2nd year .I want to become a professor of mathematics .Is it possible?

18. 17
    pavan:

I have completed my b.tech in mechanical engineering and i was willing to do a 1month cource in Non destructive testing. So i want to know whether d ndt cource is worth after doing engineering and what is its scope?

19. 16
    sanky:

which are various exams for b.e. mech..in designing field?

20. 15
    ravi:

i’m in 2nd year b.tech mech. and i want to go for higher studies(m.tech) specially from abroad. so wil you please guide me,what to do for the same

21. 14
    pratheesh:

I am 3rd yr mechanical student. I want to the best option to higher studies. Also please send me the exam details like gate, etc., please mail me

22. 13
    sonu sharma:

hello sir, m doing mechanical engg.,,,,its my 4th yr now,,,,,,,,i want to ask which one is the better carrier option for me after b.tech ,,,,,,,,, n also please tell me ………..are there many companies which gives summer training for six weeks n how to apply to them,,,,,,,,,,sir please tell me i nead ur help,,,,,,,,,,,,,i hope u will ans. my question as an effective way,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

23. 12
    Pragya:

I have completed my btech 1 st yr with mechanical branch. i want to do mba after btech . can you please tell me that how this degree of btech will be helpful for me . why it is said that mechanical engineering with mba is good combination. which specialization in mba will be good for me if i am a mechanical engineering

24. 11
    ranjith:

i am doing my b.e mechanical engineering.i am interested in weapon technology. is there any course based on weapon tech. that i could study as my higher studies?

25. 10
    sunil:

I am doing b.tech. in mech.and automation engg.Can i apply in bhel,drdo,isro,ssc,psc,gail,eil,ongc,iocl,etc. govt.sectors as same as mechanical engg.graduates.please tell me true sir. becouse in any vacancy advertisement only write required mechanical engineers.

26. 9
    B.DINESH:

DEAR SIR,,
    IM STUDYING BE MECH ENGINEERING 1ST YEAR.I WANT TO BECOME AN ONE OF THE MECHANIC IN TOP MOST CAR COMPANY. WHAT CAN I DO???. AND ALSO I DO MY PG… WHAT IS THE PG STUDY TO DO THIS JOB?

27. 8
    harish:

Is there any difference between the btech and mtech graduates of mechanical?

28. 7
    R.DINESH:

I am going to finish my BE in mech dept. shall i join MBA?

29. 6
    suyog:

Dear Sir,I am student of final year but have poor acadamic performance in mechanical engineering due to some problem.I am capable of outstanding performance but still completly failed but I have not interested to see back.Now I want to go higher education especially abroad.I have interest in mathematics ,computer and analysis and good in communication skills and english.plz properly guide me.I totally confused.

30. 5
    Deepak lal:

which is the best field in M.TECH Mechanical engineering?

31. 4
    jithin:

with a 2011 year GATE score of 97.4percentile, can I get admission for M tech in Manuf engg or production engg in any reputed NIT in the year 2012?

32. 3
    Mihir:

I have done b.e. Mechanical and i want to study about car engine and body design in u.s. Please help which cource is best for me..

33. 2
    Suraj:

Is doing mba after btech in mechanical eng worth?

34. 1
    abin:

am a mechanical engineering student with 55perc mark what r the job oriented courses that i can do