Courses in Nanotechnology and future opportunities

Nanotechnology has tremendous application in various fields such as medicine, pharmaceuticals, electronics and advanced materials. Jawaharlal Nehru Center for Advanced Scientific Research (Bangalore), Indian Institute of Science (Bangalore), National Chemical Laboratory (Pune), National Physical Laboratory (Delhi) are some of the reputed institutes in India that conducts graduate and post graduate programmes in Nanotechnology.  Candidates having post graduate degree in nanotechnology with interest in scientific research can find good jobs in this field.

Courses in Nanotechnology

Courses are offered in graduate level and post graduate level in this subject. Some of the well known programmes in Nanotechnology are listed below.

• B.Tech + M.Tech in Nanotechnology (integrated/Dual Degree)
  • B.Tech – Nanotechnology
  • M.Sc in Nano Science + M.Tech in Nanotechnology (Dual Degree)
  • M.Sc in Nano Science by Research
  • M.Sc in Forensic Nanotech
  • M.Sc in Nano biotechnology
  • M.Sc in Nano science and technology
  • M.Tech in Nanotechnology
  • M.Sc Physics- Nano materials and devices
  • M.Tech Nano science and Nano technology
  • M.Tech Medical Nanotechnology
  • M.Tech Nano Electronics
  • M.S Nano science and Nano technology
  • Master programme in Nano science
  • PhD programme in Nano science

Career options in Nanotechnology

Candidates must have a post graduate degree in Nanotechnology to pursue a career in this emerging field. It is a field, where candidates are required to be strong in both theory and lab work to test the properties of Nano particles. Aspirants can find employment in various sectors such as bio- informatics, pharmaceutical companies, and power generating companies and in forensic departments. Since Nanotechnology is a research oriented field, candidates having interest in research can join the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research laboratories and take part in research activities in the field. The areas where candidates can look for a career after doing a course in Nanotechnology are:

• Space exploration
  • Robotics
  • Military
  • Electronics /semiconductor industry
  • Biotechnology
  • Auto and aerospace industries
  • Agriculture
  • Environment Industry
  • Food and Beverages
  • Health Industry
  • Space Research

Nano technology is a booming field having plenty of application in all sectors. Employment opportunities available are plenty in both public sector as well as private sector firms. Candidates having post graduation in nanotechnology can earn Rs. 20,000/- to 30,000/- per month in public sector organisations. Experienced professional are paid up to Rs. 6, 00, 000/- to Rs. 12, 00,000/- as annual salary. Abroad there are many research firm which pay even Rs 1, 00, 000 or more in a month.

5 Responses to “Courses in Nanotechnology and future opportunities”

1. 5
    Nandhini:

Im doing final year cse. im interested to do m.tech nanotechnology. but my friends says like after m.tech nanotechnology with be.cse is not a valuable course for getting job, do course in cse related area. so im confused right now, kindly guide me…
    Thank you..

2. 4
    kratika moshra:

1 what is the value and scope of of nanotechnology in india.
    2 what caeer do i get after doing b.tech in this .
    3 i am undergraguate . what courses for nanotech. do i opt for just now.
    4 what is salary figure in this field after b.tech.

3. 3
    kuntal:

I have passed higher secondary exam from West Bengal Board with 82.8% marks.I want to continue my study in NANOTECHNOLOGY.Please make me know the top institutions providing this stream.How is its future prospectus in govt. sector?

4. 2
    sudhir:

i am a B.Sc {biotechnology+bioinformatics+computer science}

can i do Dual Degree M.Sc in Nano Science + M.Tech in Nanotechnology
    plz reply

5. 1
    sudhir verma:

I am a student of B.Sc (biotechnoly+bioinformatics+computer science)
    Can i do dual degree msc nanetechnology + mtech nanotechnology ??