5th February 2010, 09:07 PM
leela1521

IT & computer science engineering eligible for ies?

Kindly confirm that
1) BE or B.TECH in Information Technology and Computer Science Engineering Branches are eligible for writing IES Exam conducted by UPSC?

2) If so, why these branches are not mentioned in the eduational qualifications for writing the IES Examinations conducted by UPSC?

3) I have seen 336 questions as on 5th February 2010. In that all the questions are about the above Degrees such as IT & Computer Science are eligible. Why can't you clearly mention the educational qualifications? Do you think that both IT & Computer Science degrees are lower than the wireless and B.Sc Physics degrees? But my friend who is having B.Tech in IT was appeared for the IES Examination last year.

5th February 2010, 11:30 PM
pradeep.g.u

Default Re: IT & computer science engineering eligible for ies?

ya computer science and IT engineering are eligible for ies .. you can choose any one of your core paper for the preliminary exam
6th February 2010, 12:46 AM
rrmohantysmile

i wont give a lenthy answer and confuse you regarding giving the exam or not just want to say you,
yes ,
you can give the exam
so prepare for it and forget every thing else what all rubbish you hear from here and there....all the best. good luck dont think much just prepare....
6th February 2010, 10:30 AM
gautam d wonder lover

yes my dear friend,you can write for ies examination,
also you can sit for UPSC examination,but in upsc there is no any subject of compter science and it,so you have to chose other subject from pool.
and think that your degree is lower than b.sc physics.because every subject has its own field.
6th February 2010, 07:51 PM
anudmishra

you are eligible for the ies examination .
once have a better look at the notification for the detailed information .
the notification is in employment news dated 30--2010
6th February 2010, 10:38 PM
amit04051988

1: yes you are eligible for IES exam
2: upsc has not mentioned it/comp because the syllabus of this exams are from civil,mechanical,electrical, & teli com
3:if you have knowledge & talent you can clear this paper
solve as many question from previous years
so dont worry you can clear it
26th February 2010, 08:04 PM
princearyan

yes my dear friend you are eligible for ies exam and for detail please have a look at the employment news.
26th February 2010, 11:53 PM
atanu

yes if you are a student of IT or computer science engineer...then also you can apply for this exam...
rather those stream are not mentioned but those stream students are eligible for it..
if you want to get more information about it than you can visit the site of ...
Indian engineering service..
so
3rd March 2010, 10:35 PM
nitishinmit

yes my dear friend it and computer science student are eligible for the ies upsc examination.and please don't think that these branck are the poorest among all the branch all the branches has its own specialization.
so dont think of any think just fill the forms and start preparing for it.
4th March 2010, 10:00 PM

hey dear friend,
do not worry
you are eligible for the ies examination,
and why are you thinking that it and computer science is the poor branch,
any any branch is poor every one have its own importance.
o k
5th March 2010, 01:07 PM
asish

you are definately eligible for the entrance exam
just visit the official UPSC website for the details
5th March 2010, 09:35 PM
meenakumari

Originally Posted by leela1521 View Post
Kindly confirm that
1) BE or B.TECH in Information Technology and Computer Science Engineering Branches are eligible for writing IES Exam conducted by UPSC?

2) If so, why these branches are not mentioned in the eduational qualifications for writing the IES Examinations conducted by UPSC?

3) I have seen 336 questions as on 5th February 2010. In that all the questions are about the above Degrees such as IT & Computer Science are eligible. Why can't you clearly mention the educational qualifications? Do you think that both IT & Computer Science degrees are lower than the wireless and B.Sc Physics degrees? But my friend who is having B.Tech in IT was appeared for the IES Examination last year.
hai my friend it is possible for computer science and IT engineering students are writing the ies and they are eligible for that .. you can choose any one of your core paper as a preliminary exam
6th March 2010, 01:44 AM
mike shinoda back

hi friend you are absolutely eligible for the entrance exam..........go to the UPSC site for your furthur details in this matter..............best of luck
6th March 2010, 08:01 AM
Mintoo

Hi.....
Friend yes they are eligible for IES exam..............
6th March 2010, 09:57 AM

yes IT AND CS engineer are eligible for IES, if you want to collect more detail, then please visit the officail site of upsc. where you can get all the information regarding IES.
6th March 2010, 06:55 PM
mathur

yes, you are eligible for ies. so start preparing.

don't think that computer science or it are poor than any other branch. every branch has its own importance.
7th March 2010, 10:11 AM
heman

i want to know.. how much average study needed to clear IES .. for an IT/CS student.... in comparison with other core branches student...!!
7th March 2010, 11:20 PM
sadhan

dear frnd,
you can apply for IES EXAM.
to get more information about it you can have watch on official site of UPSC and you can consult to employment news
8th March 2010, 06:14 PM
charumat

you are eligible if you choose subject such as mechanical,civil,electronics,electrical
13th May 2010, 02:14 PM

how can i prepare for ies as student of computer science and engg.
14th May 2010, 11:29 PM
amitforever

yes you are eligible to sit for the exam but question from computer branch will not be asked
the question will be only from mechanical, civil, electrical. and electronics
are you for that
if yes then go ahead and crack it
ok all the best
14th May 2010, 11:31 PM
amitforever

yes you are eligible to sit for the exam but question from computer branch will not be asked
the question will be only from mechanical, civil, electrical. and electronics
are you for that
if yes then go ahead and crack it
ok all the best
17th May 2010, 09:21 PM

i am an it student of 3rd year and what are the subjects i should study to sit for ies exams
27th May 2010, 10:51 PM

why the cs& IT SUBJECT NOT MENTIOND IN IES?
28th May 2010, 02:59 PM

sir you told that it is possible for computer engg can sit for upsc exam..... but what will be the syllabus for us....... can u suggest me material some books.......

or if i opt indian economic services then is it necessary that i have to be postgraduated in economics..... if not then plz suggest me syllabus & books ....please sir as i am computer engg
1st June 2010, 08:57 PM

What the rubbish thing does IES examination have .
Doesnt they need the computer science and engineering technology in their own development ?
Why the syllebus of CSE & IT is not included ?
8th June 2010, 02:37 PM

sir,i am student of B.Tech(3rd year).can i sit for IES and get a job in that.
8th June 2010, 05:29 PM

SIR, I am a 2nd year b.tech computer science student..can u plz guide me d way i should prepare 4 ies...which subjects would b better 4 me?? suggest some course books also...plzzz help...!!! ...
14th June 2010, 07:00 PM

Please,tell me about which branch is best between mechanical and electronics to face IES as per overall view?
15th June 2010, 10:14 PM
bond007

yes you are eligible for the IES exam,just prepare well for it and when ever you feel that you are fully prepared just apply for the IES exam and go for it............

15th June 2010, 11:50 PM
varunsingh753

yes you are eligible for applying for ies exam so best of luck
16th June 2010, 11:59 AM
compaq123

your percentage is good in b.tech at least 65 to 70% marks then yes you are elligible candidate.
20th June 2010, 12:29 PM

is chemical engineers eligible for ies and ias examination? Plz., reply sir.....
6th July 2010, 04:54 AM

Can some one tell me the syllabus for a CSE student for IES exam? or is it that we need to study the Electronics, civil and machanical subjects to attend the IES.. ?
8th July 2010, 02:24 PM
nitishinmit

yes the following branches are eligible for the ies exam so i will suggest you to please apply for the exam to do so please visit the following website
www.upsc.gov.in
10th July 2010, 08:53 PM

is chemical engineering eligiable for IES
15th July 2010, 08:14 PM

i am IT student.which topics i should opt for IES exam?please send the syllabus on [email protected]
20th July 2010, 12:30 PM

i am c.s.e student.which topic i take for ies exam?plz send the syllabus on [email protected]
1st August 2010, 12:01 AM

IT & computer science engineering eligible for ies.

but the problem is that there is syllabus for IT & computer science engineering in IES exam.

all the best......
9th August 2010, 06:40 PM

it & cse eligible for ies???????
10th August 2010, 08:15 PM
rohity821

wont give a lenthy answer and confuse you regarding giving the exam or not just want to say you,
yes ,
you can give the exam
so prepare for it and forget every thing else what all rubbish you hear from here and there....all the best. good luck dont think much just prepare....
12th August 2010, 06:42 PM

which subject is best to opt for a cse student to appear for IES xam?

can someone find syllabus,books for that particular subject?

mail me at [email protected]
13th August 2010, 04:11 PM
kool

dear friend, sorry to say that CSE & IT is not included in IES.
but a student from CSE can appear in IES exam but syllabus for him is same as the syllabus for an ECE student.
for syllabus & other details kindly visit www.upsc.gov.in

13th August 2010, 06:51 PM
bholag

YES,
IT & computer science engineering are eligible for IES
you can apply for IES and workhard for it.
exam is conducted by UPSc
For more details visit the below mentioned link:

www.upsc.gov.in
15th August 2010, 02:21 PM

why is CSE and IT syllabus not included in IES exam., Are CSE & IT not Engineers ? If I choose ECE syllabus and are u know my field will change. Plz tell me about Engineering services for CSE & IT(B.Tech) students.

Yours,
Jaspreet Singh
15th August 2010, 08:41 PM
ravi k

dear ernd,

till today cse and it graduate are not eligible for IES exam.

in future they may be allowed.

all d best.
19th August 2010, 12:26 PM

Whether BSCIT or MSCIT are eligible for IES exam.
21st August 2010, 01:15 PM
niharika67

can u please mail me the information whether the computer science people are eligible for IES EXEMINATION....
22nd August 2010, 07:27 AM
cenaetion

let me tell u, i think CSE and IT engineers are not eligible for IES exam..

there are only four branch which are eligible for IES , like ECE,EE,Mechanical,Civil..

forget the all u have heard from here and there..

all the best..
30th August 2010, 02:45 PM

Sir,i'm doing my 2nd B.Tec<cse>.
I heard that even cse students are eligible for IES.But how can cse students giv exam with knowledge of core branches like mec,civil...?