20th November 2010, 05:11 PM
Jinendra

Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

what is diffence between GE and OBC (NOn Creamy Layer).

I belong to minority community. Where I stand in above two options

23rd November 2010, 06:23 AM

Default Re: Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

There is a need to encourage those under the non general category to pursue studies and also choose from list of creamy jobs. For this the Government has made some relaxation in terms of the minimum percentage required at the time of admission. Also concession in fees is also provided. In order to avail this facility you need to have a certificate for the same.
28th December 2010, 11:16 AM

hello,sir i want to know about that for obc non creemy what relaxation provided by the govt in b.ed course
28th December 2010, 11:27 PM
dreksha chaudhary

Cool Re: Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

HELLO DEAR ,

GE AND OBC are both refer to cast :-- Both have there different meaning

Genral cast for them seat is not reserved ..
OBC the seat in the goverment are reserved for OBC that they are other cast

Good luck......
4th January 2011, 02:08 PM

I belong to RBA.Which option should I choose for IIT-JEE 2011_OBC creamy layer or OBC non-creamy layer?
26th January 2011, 10:27 AM

OBC category of AIEEE includes which classes? Can RBA students apply for it?
9th February 2011, 01:29 PM

wt s difference between OBC non cream layer and OBC cream layer?
18th February 2011, 01:23 AM

Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)

GE or General Category refers to 'Wealthier' class of Indian society, which are Financial, Educationally and socially stronger.

Whereas, OBC or Other Backward Class refers to 'Weaker' section of the Indian society, which are Financial, Educationally and socially weaker.

Now, OBC is divide in to two part

• OBC (Creamy Layer)
  • OBC (Non Creamy Layer)
OBC (Creamy Layer): Constitutionally, OBC (Creamy Layer) are those OBC candidates whose Parents + Candidate himself or in short whose family annual income does exceeds 4.5 Lacs.

For Example:- 'Dhunia' it refers to socially backed Muhammedans who are found in nothern part of India, this reflects its caste. So, a person id 'Dhinia' by caste, means socially and educationally weaker, but his income is 5Lacs per annum. So he will be considere under OBC (Creamy Layer).

OBC (Non Creamy Layer):
Constitutionally, previously the OBC candidates having Annual Income less then 2.5 Lacs are considered to be OBC Non-Creamy layer. But since the criteria has changed to 4.5 Lacs so all OBC candidate (father-Mother) having annual income less then 4.5 Lacs per annum will be considered under Non-Creamy Layer.

In brief Parents Income (except salary and income from agricultural land) must not exceed 4.5 Lacs in last 3 consecutive years.

But constitutionally OBC (Creamy Layer) are refrained from governmet and other body reservations and facilities. All the charms are for OBC Non-Creamy layer.

~Faiyaz~

18th February 2011, 07:08 AM
Taurus47

GE or General Category refers to 'Wealthier' class of Indian society, which are Financial, Educationally and socially stronger.
Whereas, OBC or Other Backward Class refers to 'Weaker' section of the Indian society, which are Financial, Educationally and socially weaker.
OBC (Creamy Layer)
OBC (Non Creamy Layer)

18th February 2011, 09:10 AM
vikascv51

Smile Re: Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

GE-general cat. mean no reservation

OBC-non creamy mean reservation upto 27% only compare to GE.

There is a need to encourage those under the non general category to

pursue -

studies and also choose from list of creamy jobs. For this the Government has

made some relaxation in terms of the minimum percentage required at the time

of admission. Also concession in fees is also provided. In order to avail this

facility you need to have a certificate for the same.

18th February 2011, 09:40 AM
sanjay kumar saini

GE and OBC are categories which shows their position according to weak and strong pople.these categories are divided according to income of the people
reservation in the education other places are reserved according to categories
OBC is divided in two parts-
1- OBC CREAMY LAYER
2-OBC NON CREAMY LAYER
Tese are divided according to income.
18th February 2011, 11:39 AM
ROOPA SAMAL

Originally Posted by Jinendra View Post

hi..

you belong to non creamy layer...............
18th February 2011, 01:46 PM
kapil2503

Thumbs up Re: Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

OBC (Creamy Layer):
Those OBC candidates whose family annual income more than 4.5 Lacs.

OBC (Non Creamy Layer):-
Those OBC candidates whose family annual income less than 4.5 Lacs.
18th February 2011, 08:08 PM
nikhilesh005

In this GE and OBC both are caste categories that are General category and other backward class. OBC is subdivided into two that are creamy layer and non creamy layer. These are the reserved category in every stream.
OBC (Creamy layer) is not eligible for getting reservation.
********ALL THE BEST*******
18th February 2011, 08:26 PM
sabarish28

general category means all comes under it they dont have any reservations regarding any events
In some cases OBC offer some kind of reservation for example in gate they have around 3/10 reservation
19th February 2011, 01:21 AM
smruti prasad das

hiii friend
general and obc are nothing but 2 castes.in some areas obc(other backward classes )have get preferences regarding to service,study or in some other areas but no such preference is given to generals.
4th March 2011, 08:39 PM

Does creamy comes under General caste
4th April 2011, 09:22 PM

my father is a clarck in railway, and he earns about 200,000 in a year.Am i a non creamylyear? and can i get reservation in entrains exams?
17th April 2011, 08:42 PM

If an OBC candidate comes under creamy layer due to his/her parent income and got a job ( with annual income of less than Rs 4.5 lacs) as general candidate . candidate is unmarried/spose is not in job.
is this candidate come under creamy layer or not?
18th April 2011, 06:47 PM

Thumbs up Re: Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

hii Jinendra

A person who earn 2 lac or more in a year in OBC category belongs to creamy layer .

The creamy layer is a term used in Indian politics to refer to the relatively wealthier and better educated members of the Other Backward Classes (OBCs) who are not eligible for government sponsored educational and professional benefit programs.

WHAT ARE THE ACTUAL CREAMY LAYER CRITERIA?
Actually there are 6 rules in creamy layer criteria (Central) Dated 08.09.1993, like rule of post for service category & rule of land for farmers instead of having a single annual income rule. As per these 6 rules, mainly the sons & daughters of followings are creamy layer-
(I) V.V.I.Ps.- President, Vice-President, Judges of the Supreme Court and of the High Courts etc.
(II) Government or PSU employees of Central or State-
(i) parents, either of whom is a Class I officer (direct recruits)
(ii) parents, both of whom are Class II officers (direct recruits)
(iii) parents of whom only the father is a direct Class II officer and he gets into Class I at the age of 40 or earlier.
(III) In military, parents, either of whom is in the rank of Colonel and above.
(IV) Persons engaged in Profession, Trade and Industry whose last three-years separate annual income is more then Rs. 4.50 lakhs per year.

Good luck
21st April 2011, 05:42 PM

hi his is jani sida. i am from Andhra pradesh.i belong to BC-E in our state.please tell me weather i belong to OBC creamy(or)noncreamy in nationalwide.
I have to fill gate application.
26th April 2011, 10:43 PM

did 1b 2b 3b4b are under obc noncremy layer
10th May 2011, 08:19 PM

creamy layer certificate is applicable for orphan ? i am in open category

please inform me
my admission process is commenced in june-2011
urgently please
reply me on [email protected]
26th May 2011, 05:23 PM

My IIT-JEE 2011 rank is 2054 in OBC category.I belong to creamy layer
Can I get selected.
28th May 2011, 11:19 AM

Is halwai come in non creamy layer
18th June 2011, 07:05 PM

My father an officer of a PSU. Salary of Rs.5 lakh p.a. is the only income. Whether I would get the non-creamy layer category of obc.
23rd June 2011, 01:18 PM

HELLO SIR

IAM BELONGS TO OBC OF A.P(Andhra Pradesh) AND MY HUSBAND BELONG TO GUJRATH (OC) AND MY HUSBAND SALARY IS LESS THAN 4.5 LACKS PER ANNAM ,CAN I GET NON CREAMY LAYER CERTIFICATE? IS YES ,WHERE I HAVE TO TAKE , IS IN A.P OR GUJRATH

PLZ REPLY SOON
27th June 2011, 10:34 AM

I am resident of maharashtra. where I will get centre level OBC caste certificate & non creamy layer cetificate.
5th July 2011, 01:52 PM

Does RBA belongs To OBC catagory
2nd August 2011, 10:34 PM

my father annual income is 456000 p.a. so do we belong to obc or not in respect to 2011 govt. policy??
10th August 2011, 01:22 PM

sir , iam nadar caste in tamilnadu . is i creamy or non creamy ?
21st August 2011, 03:35 PM

Sir/Madam........i belong to boya caste in tamil nadu......but we stay in Bangalore........n my parents income is <4.5lac......so for which category does we belong to?........n is a creamy or non creamy layer?........Pls suggest me.....
21st August 2011, 07:49 PM
ragingravi

A person belongs to GE or OBC depends on caste. There are reserved seats for a person belonging to OBC and also relaxations in conditions like required marks, age limit etc, over the conditions for GE persons.
But the relaxations or benefits are for the obc(non creamy layer).
According to supreme court the benefit of reservation should not be given to OBC children the president, judges of the Supreme Court and high courts, employees of central and state bureaucracies above a certain level, public sector employees, members of the armed forces and paramilitary personnel above the rank of colonel, lawyers, chartered accountants, doctors, financial and management consultants, engineers, film artists, and authors. OBC children belonging to any family that earns a total gross annual income (from sources other than salary and agricultural land[2]) of Rs. 450,000.
21st August 2011, 09:16 PM

dear friend.

The general and OBC cast or other caste pattern is defined in our constitution.

& it is based upon the economical & social condition of a man.

The framers of the Constitution understood that, due to the erstwhile caste system, OBC

were historically oppressed, denied respect and equal opportunity in Indian society and

were thus under-represented in nation-building activities.so he made some quota for the OBC .

we can also say they make reservation so that there may be equal development in the

socienty.in year 2006 reservations introduced for Other backward classes in Central

Government Educational Institutions. Total Reservation went up to 49.5%.

buts supreme Court give stayed on OBC reservation in Central Government Educational

Institutions.
22nd August 2011, 08:50 AM
nitz90

Smile Re: Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

Originally Posted by Jinendra View Post

GE means General category..and OBC(non-creamy layer) means the people in the OBC category whose father's annual income is less than 5 lakh pa

OBCs have reservations and have all the advantages in almost every field whereas General category students are prone to more harsh situations and have to work really very hard to survive the competition..

its ur surname which decides which caste u belong to..so talk to ur father..he might tell u exactly..which category u belong to..

hope this helps..
27th September 2011, 09:30 PM

Originally Posted by faiyaz View Post

• OBC (Creamy Layer)
  • OBC (Non Creamy Layer)
OBC (Creamy Layer): Constitutionally, OBC (Creamy Layer) are those OBC candidates whose Parents + Candidate himself or in short whose family annual income does exceeds 4.5 Lacs.

For Example:- 'Dhunia' it refers to socially backed Muhammedans who are found in nothern part of India, this reflects its caste. So, a person id 'Dhinia' by caste, means socially and educationally weaker, but his income is 5Lacs per annum. So he will be considere under OBC (Creamy Layer).

OBC (Non Creamy Layer):
Constitutionally, previously the OBC candidates having Annual Income less then 2.5 Lacs are considered to be OBC Non-Creamy layer. But since the criteria has changed to 4.5 Lacs so all OBC candidate (father-Mother) having annual income less then 4.5 Lacs per annum will be considered under Non-Creamy Layer.

In brief Parents Income (except salary and income from agricultural land) must not exceed 4.5 Lacs in last 3 consecutive years.

But constitutionally OBC (Creamy Layer) are refrained from governmet and other body reservations and facilities. All the charms are for OBC Non-Creamy layer.

~Faiyaz~

Creamy layer policy is something different. Mere family income of Rs.4.5 lakh is wrong. Lot more is given in http://circulars.nic.in/CP_Circular_Report.asp?MinCode=2&DepCode=2&DivCode =3&SecCode=(14)&CNCode=1&MctCode=0&SctCode=0&ArchC ode=2 .
27th September 2011, 10:56 PM
coolsam.9

OBC (Creamy Layer)
OBC (Non Creamy Layer)

OBC (Non Creamy Layer): Constitutionally, previously the OBC candidates having Annual Income less then 2.5 Lacs are considered to be OBC Non-Creamy layer. But since the criteria has changed to 4.5 Lacs so all OBC candidate (father-Mother) having annual income less then 4.5 Lacs per annum will be considered under Non-Creamy Layer.

7th October 2011, 08:27 PM

does the obc creamy layer candidate comes under general category in the application of gate 2012. Plzz give reply
23rd October 2011, 04:53 PM

I AM A GOVERNMENT OFFICER.I FULFILL ALL NON CREAMY LAYER CONDITIONS 1 TO 5.BUT MY ANNUAL INCOME ( SALARY) EXCEEDS LIMIT OF RS 4.5 LAKHS. IS I AM ILLIGIBLE FOR OBC CREAMY LAYER CERTIFICATE. SHARAD
27th October 2011, 11:41 PM

Difference between GE and OBC
18th November 2011, 03:54 PM

which cast under in obc chaudhary under obc or not
20th November 2011, 01:46 AM

i am from saini caste of punjab. my father's annual income is Rs 6 lacs. whether i belong to creamy or non creamy layer of obc as per the current criteria of government in nov 2011.
28th November 2011, 05:38 PM
raghavendra babu

Talking Re: Difference between GE and OBC(Non Creamy Layer)?

Originally Posted by dreksha chaudhary View Post
HELLO DEAR ,

GE AND OBC are both refer to cast :-- Both have there different meaning

Genral cast for them seat is not reserved ..
OBC the seat in the goverment are reserved for OBC that they are other cast

Good luck......
ok...........can u tell meaning of non creamy layer caste
1st December 2011, 08:12 PM

what is the latest income criteria for OBC [creamy & non creamy]? I have read in some news paper- its 9 lakhs.
6th December 2011, 11:48 AM

I belong to Sourashtra (Patnulkar) community.
The National Commission of backward class has put 'Sourashtra(Patnulkar) in OBC catogory.
However my fathers annual income is greater than five lakh rupees.
so I heard that I fall in the creamy OBC catogory,
Therefore am I supposed to apply for AIEEE in Genral Catogory?
If yes,
I had no knowledge of this, and hence have already applied as candidate of OBC catogory.
How can i cancel my application?
(I have applied and paid but not yet mailed my conformation page)
If I cannot cancel my application can i reapply?
Will the reapplied form be accepted?
29th December 2011, 10:11 PM

i belonging to muslim (lebbai) cummunity- what category should i follow BC or OBC
7th January 2012, 11:27 PM

iam caste of BC-A I NEED CREAMY LAYER CERTIFICATE WHR DID I HVE 2 APPPLY PROCEDURE FR GETTING CREAMY LAYER CERTIFICATE.
13th January 2012, 02:23 PM

which sub castes of 2b muslims come under obc..?? pls reply to this...
23rd January 2012, 12:04 PM

Hello sir, I'm belong to MBC, Vanniyar division:- I want to know whether Vanniyar comes under OBC (Creamy Layer) or OBC (Non Creamy Layer)?
26th February 2012, 09:55 AM

i belong to OBC(NCL)-MINORITY category , i have to submit the undertaking to zonal IIT by speed post or should i upload it on webside . if i have to upload it on webside then which webside ? , pealse reply .