2nd February 2011, 05:43 PM
irs

Eligibility criteria for Civil Services preliminary exam?

sir/mam,
please tell me that in 2011 session the criteria of preliminarily exam is change such as in paper 2 we have to choose optional subjects. and please tell me the criteria of both exams paper 1 and paper 2.
regards, princee

2nd February 2011, 10:03 PM

Default Re: Eligibility criteria for Civil Services preliminary exam?

If You Are Interested To applying for the Civil Service Examination, Then You Have To Fullfill These Eligiblity Creteria -

You Must Have To Be Graduates in any discipline from a recognised University And You Must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years.

And For Civil Service Exams, You Must be Physically fit According to Physical Standards for admission to Civil Services Examination. And You Can Appear This Exams 4 times, If You Have Fails To Pass This exams At Your 4 Attempts, Then You Will Not Appear In This Exams.

So, Please Work Hard For This Exams, If You Really Want to get Sucess In This Exams. If You Want Any Information Regarding This Exams, then Please Visit The Official Websites.
2nd February 2011, 11:22 PM
maddusajj

hi...
from this year the changes which are made are very simple,there is no optional subject in the preliminary exam,
there are two papers,there are general studies and CSAT, the csat part its an object type of question paper ,
in the mains part you have to choose two subjects of your choice and also there will be an general studies paper,
you can get all the information regarding the ias exam at www.upsc.gov.in
2nd February 2011, 11:38 PM
bikenindia

Originally Posted by irs View Post
sir/mam,
please tell me that in 2011 session the criteria of preliminarily exam is change such as in paper 2 we have to choose optional subjects. and please tell me the criteria of both exams paper 1 and paper 2.
regards, princee
Hello Princee,

The eligibility criteria remains same for civil service exam.

Age eligibility- you should be 21-30 years of age.
Qualification - bachelor degree from recognized university.
No. of attempts - general- 4
SC/ ST- 7 times

3rd February 2011, 12:29 AM
arunpulsar

Hello Friends!
eligibility criterion for civil service exam is that you should be above 21 age and you should have a graduate certificate with you.
You can appear four times for civil service exam and age limit is 30 years.And you should be physically fit for this exam.
SC people are having more options to write and they have several benefits in civil service test.
ALL THE BEST
3rd February 2011, 12:18 PM
rks_estate

Civil Service Examinations are IPS, IES, IAS, IFS etc.

Civil Service Examinations are conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission).

Eligibility criteria for Civil Services preliminary exam: -

1. A candidate must be an Indian citizen.

2. A candidate should be a Graduate in any discipline from a recognized institute / university.

3. A candidate in between 21 years to 30 years of age.

For more information & other details visit www.upsc.gov.in

Good Luck
3rd February 2011, 06:23 PM
akki89

Originally Posted by irs View Post
sir/mam,
regards, princee

The general eligibility criteria for Civil services Pre exam are:
1) Age limit: minimum age =21 years
maximum age= 30 years
2) Maximum number of attempts for examination= Four.
3) You must have completed or are in final year of the graduate level examination.

For more details, visit official website of UPSC (http://www.upsc.gov.in/ )

Thank you..
3rd February 2011, 07:48 PM
vandna bansal

Thumbs up Re: Eligibility criteria for Civil Services preliminary exam?

hi..vandna here

the eligibility critera for civil service preliminary exam is to minimum bachelor degree with minimum 60% marks from recognised university
3rd February 2011, 08:11 PM
SupritShestha

its great that you want to appear civil service exam...
there are two criteria you should fulfill..
1) you must have a Undergraduate degree from any of the recognized university
2) you must be between the age of 21-30 years at the time of appearing the exam..
you can appear the exam for four times...its not that easy as well as not impossible...you really need to work sincerely hard for this...

wish you all the best...am always there to help you for any queries...
3rd February 2011, 11:24 PM
rohitkumarramesh

Smile Re: Eligibility criteria for Civil Services preliminary exam?

regards, princee[/QUOTE]

You have listen write that the syllabus and pattern of the Preliminary Examination from 2011 in the Civil Services Examination has been changed.

From 2011 in the Preliminary Examination two compulsory Papers of 200
marks each and of two hours duration are conducted. So students has to give these two compulsory subjects also.

The details regarding these two papers is given below:
Paper I - (200 marks)
Duration: Two hours
The topics for this paper is mentioned below:

1.Current events on national and international.
2.History of India and Indian National Movement
3.Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic geography.
4.Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System,
5.Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
6.Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development,
7.Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.
8.General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate
Change.
9.General Science.

Paper II- (200 marks)
Duration: Two hours
This paper consist of the following topics given below:
1.Comprehension
2.Interpersonal skills including communication skills;
3.Logical reasoning and analytical ability
4.Decision making and problem solving
5.General mental ability

So candidates has to appear in PAPER-I and PAPER-II applying for the civil service preliminary examination.

GOOD LUCK
4th February 2011, 03:33 PM

sir/mam,
please tell me about the papers of preliminary exams. That how many papers will be considered and the subjects for that.
shipra
16th February 2011, 11:18 AM

AGE LIMIT FOR GENERAL CANDIDATE FOR PRELIMINARY AND MAINS EXAM IN 2011.
18th February 2011, 07:31 PM
Raviraj317

what is criteria for the eye sight in Civil services (pre)...IES & IAS?
13th March 2011, 06:52 PM
kapila Chaudhary

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA for Civil services exams:

Educational Qualifications :
Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering or an equivalent qualification.

Age limit: 21 years must be completed on 1st August of the year, which a candidate is appearing. Maximum 30 for general category, 33 for OBCs and 35 for SCs/STs.

Civil Services (Prel) Exam, 2011:
Date of Notification: 19.02.2011
Last Date for Receipt of Applications: 21.03.2011
Date of Exam: 12.06.2011

For complete details:
http://www.upsc.gov.in
14th March 2011, 01:31 PM

I want to know abt the physical eligibility....eye sight ?
14th March 2011, 10:05 PM
venkataprakash.v

Eligibility criteria for Civil Services preliminary exam?

Age limits :

21 - 30 For general candidates.

21 - 33 For OBC candidates.

21 - 35 For SC/ST candidates.

Education qualification :

The Candidate must possess a Bachelor's degree from any recognized university.

Those in the final year of a degree course can also Eligible.

Number attempts :

4 attempts for General candidates.

7 attempts for OBC candidates.

There is no limits for SC/ST candidates.

Last date for receipt of application : 21.3.11

Apply online by the using website : www.upsconline.nic.in

More details,visit the website : www.upsc.gov.in
15th March 2011, 02:55 PM

The eligibility criteria for the civil service exam has not changed. The minimum educational qualification required for the exam is a bachelors degree from a recognized university. The minimum eligible age is 21 years and the maximum age limit is 30 years. (relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST and 3 years for OBC).
But the preliminary exam will be replaced by CSAT from the current year onwards.
The syllabus of CSAT will be as follows
Paper 1
Current events of national and international importance
History of India and Indian national movement
Indian and World Geography- physical, social, economic geography of India and the world
Indian Polity and governance – constitution, political system, panchayati raj, public policy, Rights issues, etc.
Economic and social development – sustainable development, poverty, inclusion, demographics, social sector initiatives etc.
General issues on environmental ecology, bio-diversity and climate change
General science.

Paper 2
Comprehension
Interpersonal skills including communication skills
Logical reasoning and analytical ability
Decision making and problem solving
General mental ability
Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc. (Class X level),
Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. –Class X level)
English language comprehension skills (Class X level)

The pattern of main exam is supposed to remain the same.
For any further queries, you may refer to the official website of UPSC.
15th March 2011, 03:43 PM
yogs.singh

Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university

Age Limits

A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years

this exam will be held by the Union Public Service Commission on 12th June , 2011
16th March 2011, 01:22 PM
arvind_singh

you are not eligible for IAS exam.

Eligibility criteria :

for IAS entrance exam is that you have passed your graduation .

Age limit

for IAS exam is between 21-30 year.
for SC/ST it is 35 years
for OBC it is 33 years

maximum number of attempt:
4 times for general
7 times for OBC
no limit for SC/ST .
20th March 2011, 11:43 AM

Do a Chartered Accountant is eligible to write Civils
12th May 2011, 10:54 PM

a person who is a qualified Chartered Accountant,
do he need to appear in preiliminaries of civil service examination ?
25th May 2011, 01:47 PM

Is there any criteria of minimum percentage in class 12 for appearing in civil services
14th June 2011, 01:31 AM

In paper II we have 80 questions and max.marks are 200.As paper I has 100 questions and max.marks are 200 so each question carry's 2 marks.So please can you help me out that each question of paper II carry's how many marks?
15th June 2011, 10:12 PM

what is the minimum qualifying marks in civil services preliminary exam 2011
15th July 2011, 11:03 PM
Uttam Nandi

Civil services exam conducted by Union Public Service Commission generally consists of three phases i.e. preliminary exam, mains and followed by interview.
From 2011, there has been change in preliminary stage. Now civil service aptitude test (CSAT) is taken. Previously preliminary exam consists of two papers i.e. general studies and one optional subject paper. Now later has been replaced by a aptitude test paper. This is to check your comprehension, logical reasoning, decision making skills, comprehension in english language. The eligibility criteria is same as before i.e. i) bachelor's degree in any discipline, ii) age should be between 21 years to 30 years.
There has been no change in the mains exam. You have to choose a optional optional subject and there is a paper on compulsory english. There will be also papers on general studies. And here you will be required to choose any two optional subjects from the list of optional subjects.
For more information regarding CS please visit http://www.upsc.gov.in
30th July 2011, 05:50 PM

i was born on 27 08 1992 am i eligible write csat in in 2013 or 2014
2nd October 2011, 01:54 AM

my date of birth is 01-04-1979 am i eligible for csat 2012-13?
6th October 2011, 05:50 PM

i am in bca,i want to become dc of punjab,kindly tell me procedure & eligibility for it
6th October 2011, 05:58 PM

Plz tell me the eye sight restrictions for civils
6th October 2011, 06:48 PM
neha bh

A candidate must hold a Bachelor’s degree from recognised University or an equivalent qualification (with Physics and Mathematics at 10+2 level) or Bachelor of Engineering.

Candidates who are studying in final year Degree Course and have yet to pass final year degree examination or equivalent examination can also apply for examination, but they will be required to submit proof of passing by the specified dates published in Commission's Notice for Examination.

neha
6th October 2011, 07:23 PM
malek basit

Dear friends...

Personal Attributes :

->>> The aspiring candidates are expected to have keen interest in the General Studies and are supposed to have a good amount of interest in current affairs. Regular and detailed reading of a good national newspaper, a standard competition magazine and a basic book on general knowledge is the essential pre-requisite. Another important point is efficient time planning.

Physical Standards :

->>>> Candidates must be physically fit according to physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination.

Reservation will be made for candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, Other Backward Classes and Physically disabled categories in respect of vacancies as may be fixed by the Government.

Age Limits :

->> maximum of five years if a candidate belongs to a Scheduled Caste or a Scheduled Tribe.

->>> maximum of three years in the case of candidates belonging to Other Backward Classes who are eligible to avail of reservation applicable to such candidates

->>> Graduates in any discipline from a recognised university. Candidates having professional and technical qualifications recognised by the government are also eligible.

~Regards~
Baiit :-)
6th October 2011, 08:28 PM

Hello Friend

see,Civil Services preliminary exam are being conducted by the UPSC govt.

Eligibility Criteria For Civil Services preliminary exam are given

>> Educational Qualifications :

The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the UGC/AICTE.

candidate can appear for the Prelims even if the final year's result is awaited provided you produce it while filling the Mains form.

>>Nationality
candidate must be a citizen of India.

>> Age limits :

For general candidate 21-30 years as on date of the exam.

For SC/ST candidates between 21 and 35 years of age.

For OBC candidates between 21 and 33 years of age.

etc.

all the best........
6th October 2011, 10:54 PM
ashok880

Civil Service exam is conducted by upsc every year once.

Eligibility criteria for Civil Service(Preliminary Exam):
Candidate should have complete graduation degree with any stream from a recognized university
Age should be between 21 to 30 years.

Civil Service exam(Preliminary exam) Notification for this year:
Issue of application form from 4th Feb 2012 to 5th March 2012.
Exam will held on 20th May 2012.

For more detail,then click here
14th October 2011, 12:29 AM
dimple.simple

The general eligibility criteria for Civil services Pre exam are:
1) Age limit: minimum age =21 years
maximum age= 30 years
2) Maximum number of attempts for examination= Four.
3) You must have completed or are in final year of the graduate level examination.

For more details, visit official website of UPSC (http://www.upsc.gov.in/ )

Thank you..
23rd November 2011, 04:29 PM

Can i apply for the civil services exam while persuing my bachelor Degree i.e BTech..
12th December 2011, 01:19 PM

have done my grad. in english hons.n i want to go for these upsc ias n ips exam n i have procured 45% in my grad..so plzzzz tell me m i eligible for dis or not ?????
20th December 2011, 12:42 PM

what are the physical fittness according to physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination?
can any one mention that?
2nd January 2012, 05:40 PM

my date of birth is 17-10-1982. am i eligible to appear for ias in 2012-13? kindly reply me.
6th January 2012, 02:54 PM

how much marks are required in paper 1 and paper 2 of preliminary exam to be eligible for mains?
6th January 2012, 02:57 PM

how much marks are required in paper 1 and 2 to be eligible for mains exam?
6th February 2012, 10:22 PM

I AM NOW FINAL YEAR UNDER GRADUATE DEGREE FOR ANNA UNIVERSITY CHENNAI.I HAVE FINISH WITH IN 4 MONTH MY DEGREE ..SHALL I ELIGIBLE TO ATTEND UPSE 2012>
7th February 2012, 03:40 PM

Now i am in B-tech final year with a stream of electronics and communication engineering. Am i eligible for 2012 group 1 or group 2 exam.My date of birth is 25-09-1990.
Iam interested to write civils exam
Can u please clarify my doubt
Please clarify my doubt.
7th February 2012, 05:42 PM
Ashwinkumar Hallikar

YOU should be PG with pass marks and age between 21 to 30years four attempts
7th February 2012, 09:53 PM

Civil Service Examination conducted by UPSC every year for recruitment to the top post in various administrative Dept. of Govt. of India.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having appeared for the final graduation degree exam or passed from any stream of education from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years age. The upper age is relaxed for OBC category candidate up to 3 years and that for SC/ST/PH category up to 5 years, is eligible to apply for Civil Service Exam. There is no requirement of any percentage of marks for application to Civil Service exam.

The selection is through three phases:-

CSAT- Civil Service Aptitude Test- Preliminary exam which comprises of all objective type questions.

Civil Service Main Exam. which comprises of all subjective type questions.

Personal Interview.

For further information you may log on to the official web site of UPSC i.e. www.upsc.gov.in
14th February 2012, 08:15 PM

HAI.............
If You Are Interested To applying for the Civil Service Examination, Then You Have To Fullfill These Eligiblity Creteria -

You Must Have To Be Graduates in any discipline from a recognised University And You Must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years.

And For Civil Service Exams, You Must be Physically fit According to Physical Standards for admission to Civil Services Examination. And You Can Appear This Exams 4 times, If You Have Fails To Pass This exams At Your 4 Attempts, Then You Will Not Appear In This Exams.

So, Please Work Hard For This Exams, If You Really Want to get Sucess In This Exams. If You Want Any Information Regarding This Exams, then Please Visit The Official Websites.

ALL THE BEST
15th February 2012, 07:37 AM
bunty00

hy,
for IAS,You Must Have To Be Graduates in any discipline from a recognised University And You Must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years.

5th May 2012, 09:13 PM

friends,my dob is 27-06-1983 and do not have any type of reservation.shall you please say am i eligible for 2013 civils attempt.if not pls suggest me solution..
8th May 2012, 01:35 PM

how to apply for civil services exam and where is coaching center for this exam provided tamilnadu institutions and did we prepare from home
8th May 2012, 05:51 PM

im pursuing BFA ,do am i eligible for civil services exam ?if nt thn wht i hv to do?
6th June 2012, 02:37 PM

im pursuing my degree in architecture do i have papers related to my subject