13th September 2010, 01:16 AM
Som Roy

Eligibility for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication (GATE) after M.Sc. in Physics

I am currently pursuing M.Sc. in Physics. Am I eligible for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication or M. Tech in Electronics by selecting Physics (PH) paper in GATE 2011?

1. What should I do having done Physics honours with 80%?
  2. Eligibility for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication (GATE) after M.Sc. in Physics
  3. GATE Electronics and Communications after Non-Electronics studies in graduation and post graduation?
  4. Is there any job in ISRO after completing MSc in Physics with specialization in electronics
  5. Can I apply for M.Tech in digital and communication electronics after passing MSc in Physics with specialization in communication electronics?
  6. Which colleges can I get admission in Delhi or Noida having done MCA from UPTU and secured 74%?
  7. Eligibility criteria to get a job in government college for B.Tech engineering for Electronics and communication? How to crack the GATE exam?
  8. Universities offering M.Tech Correspondence? Fee details of the course? Subjects offered in M.Tech?
  9. Can I do MSc in physics from distance? I am a B.Tech electronics and communication passed out
  10. What should I do after pursuing MSc Electronics?
  11. Top 10 colleges for M.Tech Mechanical Engineering?
  12. List of good institutes for doing BE in Civil Engineering(Part time) in Mumbai -- [Most Discussed]
  13. Am I eligible to pursue M.Sc in Physiology after completion of B.Tech in Electronics and Communication? -- [New]
  14. Eligibility to study M.Sc(Physics) for Electronics and Communication last semester student?
  15. Am I eligible to get job in MNC companies after completion of M.Tech course from VIT?
  16. Airforce: results of 77 AEC & 49 SSC?
  17. ME in electronics and communication engineering after msc electronics
  18. List of engineering colleges through SEEE Maharashtra?
13th September 2010, 01:08 PM
Bishwajit Giri

Default Re: Eligibility for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication (GATE) after M.Sc. in Physics

Don't worry,as you are pursuing M.Sc in Physics,then the door of GATE exam is opened.

According to the eligibility of the GATE for general science students:

1:You have to be a Master degree holders in any branch of Science like Physics,Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Applications etc....

2:You can also apply if you are in the final or pre-final year examination of the Master Degree.

You should follow the syllabus below:
1:The Basic Physics

i)Introduction
ii)Basic Maths
iii)Problem Solving etc......

2:Mechanics

i)Describing Motion Kinematics in One Dimension
ii)Force and Motion - Newton's Laws
iii)Kinematics in Two Dimensions; Vectors
iv)Work, Power and Energy
v)Momentum and Collisions
vi)Circular Motion and Gravitation
vii)Rotational Motion and Equilibrium

3:Fluid Mechanics and Thermal Physics

i)Solids and Fluids
ii)Temperature, Heat and Thermodynamics
iii)Kinetic Theory of Gases
iv)Electricity and Magnetism

4:Electrostatics
i)Conductors,Capacitors and Dielectrics
ii)Magnetic Fields
iii)Electric Circuits
iv)Electromagnetism

5:Waves, Sound and Optics

i)Vibrations and Waves
ii)Sound
iii)Physical Optics
iv)Geometric Optics

6:Atomic and Nuclear Physics

i)Atomic and Quantum Physics
ii)Nuclear Physics

Good luck.
13th September 2010, 01:16 PM
Bishwajit Giri

Default Re: Eligibility for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication (GATE) after M.Sc. in Physics

Don't worry,as you are pursuing M.Sc in Physics,then the door of GATE exam is opened.

1:You have to be a Master degree holders in any branch of Science like Physics,Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Applications etc....

2:You can also apply if you are in the final or pre-final year examination of the Master Degree.

i)Introduction
ii)Basic Maths

i)Solids and Fluids

ii)Magnetic Fields
iii)Electric Circuits
iv)Electromagnetism

i)Vibrations and Waves
ii)Sound
iii)Physical Optics
iv)Geometric Optics

ii)Nuclear Physics

Good luck.
13th September 2010, 02:45 PM
kool

Any student either of BE/B.Tech or of M.Sc degree can apply for GATE exam.

if you are in final year or pre final year of your M.Sc degree then you are eligible for GATE 2011.

& as per your GATE score you can choose any specialization regarding your M.Sc discipline.

You need not to worry about it.

kindly take well preparation for it.

13th September 2010, 03:36 PM
Sushant Roy

You are eligible to write GATE examination as stated in the 2nd line of eligibility line: Master's degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applications or equivalent and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.

However , strange to know that you cant persue electronics and communication field in MTech by selecting physics category in GATE exam. In is a straight rule that choosing any subject category in list make him eligible for MTech only in his choosed subject.
13th September 2010, 07:47 PM
maddusajj

no,
for getting admission in electronics branch you have to write the electronics paper,
13th September 2010, 07:56 PM
mini rani

You are eligible to appear for GATE since GATE eligibility requires master's degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applications or equivalent and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.

Minimum Requirements for M.Tech. Admission at IIT, Madras:

Candidates having valid GATE 2010 score

1. Bachelor's degree in Engineering/Technology/Architecture from educational Institutions approved by AICTE/Government or
2. Master's degree in Mathematics/Physics/Chemistry/Life Science/ related subjects from educational Institutions approved by UGC/ Government or
3. Candidates yet to appear or have appeared in the final examination for the qualifying degree specified in [(i) or (ii)] and whose results are likely to be declared by July 2010,or
13th September 2010, 10:06 PM
Saikiran M

Arrow You are eligible for writing the GATE exam

You are eligible for writing the GATE exam.

For the more info on Eligibility, syllabus, paper pattern, etc., Download this file

DOWNLOAD (Right click on the link and click on Save Link As.. or Save Target As..)

Good Luck,
MASK
15th September 2010, 09:53 AM
meeria

Originally Posted by Som Roy View Post
I am currently pursuing M.Sc. in Physics. Am I eligible for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication or M. Tech in Electronics by selecting Physics (PH) paper in GATE 2011?

yeah you can appear in GATE exam
eligibility for the GATE for general science students:

You have to be a Master degree holders in any branch of Science like Physics,Chemistry, Mathematics, Statistics............

GATE Syllabus - Physics

Mathematical Physics:

Linear vector space, matrices -- vector calculus --
linear differential equations -- elements of complex
analysis -- Laplace transforms, Fourier analysis,
Elementary ideas about Tensors.

Classical Mechanics:

Conservation laws -- central forces -- collisions and
scattering in laboratory and centre of mass reference
frames -- mechanics of system of particles -- rigid
body dynamics -- moment of inertia tensor -- noninertial
frames and pseudo forces -- variational principle --
Lagrange’s and Hamilton’s formalisms -- Equation of motion,
cyclic coordinates, Poisson bracket -- periodic motion,
small oscillations, normal modes -- wave equation and wave
propagation -- special theory of relativity – Lorentz
transformations, relativistic kinematics, mass-energy
equivalence.

Electromagnetic Theory:

Laplace and Poisson equations -- conductors and dielectrics
-- boundary value problems -- Ampere’s and Biot-Savart’s laws

-- Faraday’s law -- Maxwell’s equations -- scalar and vector
potentials -- Coulomb and Lorentz gauges -- boundary conditions
at interfaces -- electromagnetic waves -- interference, diffraction
and polarization -- radiation from moving charges.

Quantum Mechanics:

Physical basis of quantum mechanics -- uncertainty principle --
Schrodinger equation -- one and three dimensional potential problems
-- Particle in a box, harmonic oscillator, hydrogen atom -- linear
vectors and operators in Hilbert space -- angular momentum and spin
-- addition of angular momentum -- time independent perturbation theory
-- elementary scattering theory.

Atomic and Molecular Physics:

Spectra of one-and many-electron atoms -- LS and jj coupling --
hyperfine structure -- Zeeman and Stark effects -- electric dipole
transitions and selection rules -- X-ray spectra -- rotational and
vibrational spectra of diatomic molecules -- electronic transition
in diatomic molecules, Franck-Condon principle -- Raman effect --
NMR and ESR -- lasers.

Thermodynamics and Statistical Physics:

Laws of thermodynamics -- microstates, macrostates, phase space --
probability ensembles -- partition function, free energy, calculation
of thermodynamic quantities -- classical and quantum statistics --
degenerate Fermi gas -- black body radiation and Planck’s distribution
law -- Bose-Einstein condensation -- first and second order phase
transitions, critical point.

Solid State Physics:

Elements of crystallography -- diffraction methods for structure
determination -- bonding in solids -- elastic properties of solids --
defects in crystals -- lattice vibrations and thermal properties of
solids -- free electron theory -- band theory of solids -- metals,
semiconductors and insulators -- transport properties -- optical,
dielectric and magnetic properties of solids -- elements of
superconductivity.

Nuclear and Particle Physics:

Rutheford scattering -- basic properties of nuclei -- radioactive
decay -- nuclear forces -- two nucleon problem -- nuclear reactions --
conservation laws -- fission and fusion -- nuclear models -- particle
accelerators, detectors -- elementary particles -- photons, baryons,
mesons and leptons -- Quark model.

Electronics:

Network analysis -- semiconductor devices -- bipolar transistors --
FETs -- power supplies, amplifier, oscillators -- operational amplifiers
-- elements of digital electronics -- logic circuits.

have a good day
17th September 2010, 09:28 PM

I hav done my msc in electronics.I want to do m tech . What should b my next step
20th September 2010, 11:57 AM

I am a final year student of M.Sc Physics. i like to know what are the courses i can able to take for m.tech after the completion of my M.sc. and will those couses will be able to place me in good jobs in any petroleum industry.
4th October 2010, 12:33 PM

Respected Sir, I'm a M.Sc(physics) and M.Phil(physics) student. I want to do M.tech in Electronics field.Can i do ? What have to do ? Pls inform me on my mail id- [email protected] .waiting for your early response.thanking you.
4th October 2010, 12:56 PM

Respected Sir/Madam
I am from Physics background(M.Sc & M.PHIL). Am I eligible for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication or M. Tech in Electronics by appearing Physics (PH) paper in GATE 2011? kindly inform me .Thank you.
17th October 2010, 02:05 PM
Nishasinghpanwar

can i do msc in electronics after bsc from acm in an iit institute
14th November 2010, 11:30 PM

can i do m tech after bsc in electronics?
2nd December 2010, 10:58 AM

respected sir, i am in M.sc in final year.howmuch percentage require for gate exam?
can i eligible for m.Tech in elecronics & communications?
16th December 2010, 03:06 PM

what are the courses offered for msc physics students to study mtch plz collages name or web site
7th January 2011, 07:21 PM

I am a final year student

sir i have passed M.Sc Physicsin 2010. i like to know what are the courses i can able to take for m.tech after the completion of my M.sc. and will those couses will be able to place me in good job
13th January 2011, 09:42 AM

Is Mechatronics student eligible for gate electronics paper?
6th February 2011, 12:50 AM

Dear sir/madam.......am i eligible to join for M.Tech in digital electronics after my M.C.A and kindly guide me about the carrier in digital electronics....
18th May 2011, 12:29 AM

I am studying msc electronics. Am i eligible for gate ece exam.
18th May 2011, 12:39 AM
Chandu389

I am studying msc electronics. Am i eligible in gate entrance for electronics and communication enginerring.Plz send me SIR
28th May 2011, 12:13 PM

If we can do Mtech only in the field in which we are giving GATE, then in which field we will get Mtech after giving GATE in physics?
Is there any course like Mtech in physics?

Originally Posted by Sushant Roy View Post

You are eligible to write GATE examination as stated in the 2nd line of eligibility line: Master's degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applications or equivalent and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.

However , strange to know that you cant persue electronics and communication field in MTech by selecting physics category in GATE exam. In is a straight rule that choosing any subject category in list make him eligible for MTech only in his choosed subject.
29th May 2011, 01:29 AM
mailmeshekhar2011

hi dear,Don't worry,as you are pursuing M.Sc in Physics,then the door of GATE exam is opened.

i)Introduction
ii)Basic Maths

i)Solids and Fluids

ii)Magnetic Fields
iii)Electric Circuits
iv)Electromagnetism

i)Vibrations and Waves
ii)Sound
iii)Physical Optics
iv)Geometric Optics

ii)Nuclear Physics

31st May 2011, 10:59 PM

A Mca student is eligible for electronics in M.tech?
29th June 2011, 11:49 PM

what is m.tech for electronics & communication
4th July 2011, 03:08 PM

Hello sir,i m 3rd year Et student..so in which propour subject i can do master?
25th July 2011, 09:43 PM

can i appear for EC at GATE
30th July 2011, 09:00 AM

a mca student is eligible to do mtech in electronics?
3rd August 2011, 10:57 AM

Eligibility for M.Tech in Electronics and Communication (GATE) after M.Sc. in maths
29th August 2011, 02:08 PM

sir , my name is raju pathak ,i am doing m.sc (physics) . is i am eligible for m.tech(aerospace engineering)
22nd September 2011, 06:09 PM

sir my name is aashish kodap and i am chemical engg. student......am i eligible for appear in GATE from electronics and comm....?
12th February 2012, 11:50 AM

i want to do m.tech in nuclear science after b.tech(E.C). please tell me best college for this program. please
21st April 2012, 10:07 PM

i am not pass gate exam 2012.but i want do mtech in eletronics and communication sir it is possible
29th May 2013, 06:32 PM

i am completed bsc physics i am looking for engineering in higher studies please help me for subject option selection
15th February 2017, 05:50 PM

I want to m.tech in ECE, but now I am a physics hons. Student. Can I eligible for m.tech in ECE after passing m.sc in physics and if I will select gate paper code ECE instead of physics is there any chance to crack. that exam for me ???