13th July 2010, 10:20 PM

Eligibility for Merchant Navy after correcting eyesights through Laser Technology?

i m 18 yrs old and want to join merchant navy. My eye power is -4 . i just want to know if i can get my eye power corrected by laser tecnology then am i eligible for merchant navy?

14th July 2010, 07:02 AM

Default Re: Eligibility for Merchant Navy after correcting eyesights through Laser Technology?

An indivudual willing to join merchant navy as marine engineer can wear spectacles for eyesight up to +/- 2.5. whereas, candidates willing to join as navigator must not wear spectacles.
Every candidates have to go through medical test and if you could prove yourself healthy, you will be eligible to join merchant navy.
14th July 2010, 01:15 PM
karthu

Default Re: Eligibility for Merchant Navy after correcting eyesights through Laser Technology?

hai
Eligibility criteria
1.Candiates need to complete their BSc degree in mechanical /marine engg.
2.Students who have completed 12th with PCM are eligible to join as deck cadets.
3.Age limit:more then 20 years of age.
4.Qualify the joint entrace exam & pass the interview.
15th July 2010, 12:05 AM

yes you will be eligibile in the medical test if you wear a spectaclles but not you can not get a laser treatment
16th July 2010, 02:12 PM

Candidates who have undergone laser technology is eligible to enter Merchant navy but the operation should be conducted before 6 months .Those who opt for navigation cannot wear spectacles.For other areas candidates with eyesight up to +/- 2.5 can wear spectacles.Aspirants should not be more than 20 years.
17th July 2010, 12:45 AM
N.MD.AZHARUDDIN

yea u can join but u need to wear specks if u have short siet...be brave jus try for it...for navigator its no need itseems.......anyways best of luck
21st August 2010, 10:59 AM

i wear spectacles of power -3d i am 17 yrs old can i apply for merchant navy for post of captain and how(i have PCM)
20th January 2011, 08:51 PM

can i wear spectacles during joining in merchant navy?
26th January 2011, 08:24 AM
asahu47

hiii

Eligibility for Merchant Navy after correcting eyesights through Laser Technology
Eligibility criteria
1.Candiates need to complete their BSc degree in mechanical /marine engg.
2.Students who have completed 12th with PCM are eligible to join as deck cadets.
3.Age limit:more then 20 years of age.
4.Qualify the joint entrace exam & pass the interview.

9th February 2011, 12:01 AM

I have -5 in both eyes, using specs & contact lenses constantly. Will it be worth attending the call I have got for SSB-Navy?
9th February 2011, 03:30 PM
xavi

freind hi,

--->>you should go through there medical test
--indivudual willing to join merchant navy as marine engineer can wear spectacles for eyesight up to +/- 2.5. whereas, candidates willing to join as navigator must not wear spectacles.

15th March 2011, 04:50 PM

iam appearing for my class 12th exams ,very enthusiastic to join merchant navy this aug batch. i have spectacles,is that an obstacles?what are the ways possible for me to get into merchant navy as soon as i get class 12th results???
21st April 2011, 11:26 AM

can captains wear spectacles??
29th April 2011, 10:25 PM

Can i join merchant navy in the deck department(navigation) by undergoing laser eye surgery???
I have -1 in both eyes.
18th May 2011, 01:30 AM

i am B.A.apeared can i join the metchant nay ?which is post ?any post which is the qualofication ?
23rd September 2011, 10:35 AM

I have just completed my marine engineering.I have got selected in a shipping company.My eye power is -1.75 and -2.0 cylinderical.Is there any need that i should undergo a lasik surgery so that i didnt get unfit during my joining medical test?As a new rule from DG shipping of india came in year 2008 that eye vision should be 6/9 and 6/18 for both eye OR 6/12 for both eye.??
This rule is really terrible for marine engineers.
And is lasik allowed for marine engineers?As it is bit scaring me that if anyother rule came later in our life that lasik surgery candidates are UNFITTED to join merchant navy?
29th September 2011, 07:07 AM
nagamalleswararaoyaramasu

my dear friend
the following are the qualification required
1.the candidate has completed degree in marine engineering
2.the candidate minimum age is 20 years
3.the candidate eye sight is +/- 2.5
4.the candidate must passed entrance exam
and many
26th November 2011, 03:54 PM
Yasir yousf

if i can get your eye power correct then with out any dobut you are eligble
13th March 2012, 06:16 PM

i have myopia less than -2.5 can i get into the deck cdet post without lasik treatment
15th March 2012, 10:40 PM
Dexter_Morgan

Eligibility norm for the Merchant Navy:-

1)Candidate should have Indian nationality.

2)Their age must be between 18-42 yrs on 25.02.11

3)should have Graduate from any recognize university.

4)The employed person who is working in central govt. /own business/private sector/semi govt. must have Pay and allowances and privileges.

For Merchant Navy the Selection Procedure:-

1. Preliminary Interview Boards held at respective TA Group Headquarters .

2. SSB Interview

3. Medical & Police Verification.

Important Topic About Merchant Navy

For more see the link:-www.merchantnavy.co/
18th July 2012, 10:26 AM

Hello sir/ma'am
my name is navdeep from amritsar.
i want to know,
meri eye sight left ki -1 hai and right ki -0.25 and kya main ordinary sea man k liye apply kar sakta hu pls mujhe reply dijiye is e mail par ([email protected])

thanking you.
navdeep singh.
13th September 2013, 09:14 AM

My name is Anil Dhungana i am defintly interested to join and be a part of either merchant navy or indiand navy bt i am intrested in merchant navy so but i am undergone operated in my leg feumer so pleas provide me the infrmation in this email [email protected]
15th September 2013, 04:15 PM

i wanted to join merchany navy as an electro technical officer but i have 6/18 vision partially and -.75 power spec. Is i am eligible for this course? And if i undergo for a laser treatment then will i eligble for this course?
29th September 2013, 03:17 PM

My self Rishabh kumar singh ... I done my 10 2 pcm with 59% and gradute in philosophy...and m 21 years old...so tell me pls that which course i choose in merchant navy and give all details of course ( degree,diploma,time,fees,e.t.c) . And i also have one problem that my eyesight is -5 in right eye and -4.5 in left eye...so plz tell me best way to join merchant navy.... I really want to join this... Thnks so much....
17th November 2013, 01:32 PM

Should the surgery be 6 months old at time of admission in a collage
Pls reply me urgently at
17th November 2013, 01:45 PM
adamgupta@45

Should the surgery be older than six months before taking admission in an collage for diploma in nautical science
Pls reply very urgent at
19th November 2013, 08:50 PM
Unregiste

Angry Re: Eligibility for Merchant Navy after correcting eyesights through Laser Technology?

Originally Posted by imira View Post
Candidates who have undergone laser technology is eligible to enter Merchant navy but the operation should be conducted before 6 months .Those who opt for navigation cannot wear spectacles.For other areas candidates with eyesight up to +/- 2.5 can wear spectacles.Aspirants should not be more than 20 years.
Thanx for the wrong info
10 days rest are enoug before medical test
Source angloeastrenuniversity i mailed them
13th February 2015, 01:40 AM

I want to join merchant navy as a Electro technical officer but my eye sight no. Is -1.25 for both eyes. So can I join ?
9th June 2015, 04:08 PM

Sir can i join merchant navy even if i have an eye sight of -5 and i would have its corr lasik treatment please reply me it on [email protected]
25th November 2015, 07:49 PM

Implantable contact eye surgery for eye sight correction its eligible to join merchant shipping
10th March 2016, 06:40 PM

I want to join as a deck cadet in merchants navy.But my eye sight is plus.5 difference in both eye. Can I join merchants navy nautical side after lazic operation. [email protected]
8th May 2017, 04:48 PM

In my right leg titanium metal rod implanted inside bones and am fit and fine..my bones are completely healed ..tell me i am eligible for medical examination for GME?