23rd September 2012, 08:28 PM
Unregistered

How to become an IPS officer if I am a 10th standard student?

Sir, i am in 10th standard. I wish to become an ips officer. Please, advise me which education and institution help to achive my aim? I live in kalyan city, dist thane, state maharashtra.

5th October 2012, 11:56 AM
rahul k
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to become an IPS officer if I am a 10th standard student?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Sir, i am in 10th standard. I wish to become an ips officer. Please, advise me which education and institution help to achive my aim? I live in kalyan city, dist thane, state maharashtra.
IPS stands for Indian Police Services, To become IPS, you have to appear for Civil Service Exam, conducted by UPSC. This exam is highly competitive, around 4 lakh students appear for it every year. The selection rate is very less you have to prepared well for this examination as per the pattern and syllabus. Although vacancies are very few, only 900 are selected.

But to become IPS officer, you have to appear for the UPSC Civil services examination and to apply for this examination you need a graduate degree course from a recognised university, final year appearing candidates are also eligible for this examination.

But Now you are in Matriculation, so you have lots of time to apply for UPSC Civil services examination, You can start preparing well after Intermediate examination, because 3 year preparation is necessary to cracked this examination and when you are pursuing your final year graduate course then you can apply for this examination.

IPS officers got a job in Police Departments, jobs like Director of Intelligence Bureau, Deputy Superintendent of Police, Assistant Commissioner of Police etc.