26th October 2012, 06:32 PM

How can I become an IAS officer?

HOW TO BECOME A IAS officer??...please tell me how to become one

7th November 2012, 06:56 PM

Default Re: How can I become an IAS officer?

You need to score well in CSAT exam as the first step. Graduation is the basic qualification required. CSAT qualified candidates’ needs to apply for mains exam and interview. Physical exam qualification is also mandatory. Selected candidates will be appointed to the position after entry level training.
8th November 2012, 05:13 AM
eduforall

IAS exam is conducted by UPSC - Union Public Service Commission through CSAT - Civil Services Aptitude Test.

To become an IAS officer you will have to clear CSAT exam.

There are three stages of this exam -

1- Preliminary exam
2- Main exam
3- Interview

Eligibility criteria for CSAT-

1. Candidate should be of Indian origin.

2- Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university.

3- Age - 21-30 years.

The examination is conducted in three stages:

1.Civil Services Preliminary Examination.

The exam contains questions on –

General Studies, comprehension skill, verbal and
quantitative aptitude and communication skills.

2.Main Examination-

Those who qualify Preliminary round appear for Main examination.

3- Interview-

Those who qualify Main examination are called for Interview.

The Main examination comprise of following papers.

Essay type Indian Language Qualifying Paper
English Qualifying Paper
General Essay type paper
General Studies(Paper-I&II )
Optional subject-I(Paper-I&II )
Optional subject-II(Paper-I&II )

Visit www.upsc.gov.in for next exam date.
8th November 2012, 09:34 AM
sherleytwain

To become Indian Administrative Service Officer (IAS), you need to clear Civil Service Examination by the Union Public Service Commission. For that you must have a graduation degree and must meet other criteria as well.

Eligibility

1. Only Indian nationals can apply.

2. A graduation degree in any stream.

3. There is no percentage criteria.

Age Limit

1. General - 21 to 30 years.

2. OBC - 21 to 33 years.

3. SC/ST - 21 to 35 years.

Exam Pattern

1. Preliminary Exam

Paper 1 - General Studies

Paper 2 - Optional Subject

2. Main Exam

Paper 1 - Indian Language

Paper 2 - English Language

Paper 3 - Essay

Paper 4 - General Studies 1

Paper 5 - General Studies 2

Paper 6 - Optional Subject 1 - Paper 1

Paper 7 - Optional Subject 1 - Paper 2

Paper 8 - Optional Subject 2 - Paper 1

Paper 9 - Optional Subject 2 - Paper 2

3. Interview

Number of Attempts

1. General - Four

2. OBC - Seven

3. SC/ST - No Limit
8th November 2012, 12:54 PM
nellipudi.santhoshkumar

IAS(Indian Administrative Service) exam is conducted by the UPSC(Union Public Service Commission) only one time in a year.

Eligibility criteria:-

-->You should be complete graduation or an bachelor's degree from a recognised university.

-->The candidate must be a citizen of india.

-->Final year persuing candidates can also be eligible for this exam.

-->There is no required percentage to appear this exam.

Age criteria:-

For General candidates--> 21 years to 30years,

For OBC candidates--> 21 years to 33years,

For SC/ST candidates--> 21 years to 35 years.

For PH OBC candidates--> 21 years to 40years.

Number of Attempts:-

4 times for general candidates,

7 times OBC candidates,

No limit for SC/ST candidates.

Selection steps:-

***Civil services preliminary exam,

***Civil services main exam,

***Personal interview.

all the best.........
8th November 2012, 01:20 PM

IAS - Indian Administrative Service, to become an IAS officer one has to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Examination conducted by UPSC every year.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

The selection is through three phases:-

-CSAT - Civil Service Aptitude Test - Preliminary Exam

-Civil Service Main Exam

-Personal Interview

The Civil Service can be applied through both on line and Off line. The off line form can be obtained in all General Post Offices and on line form can be down loaded from the official web site of UPSC i.e. http://www.upsconline.com

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
8th November 2012, 02:14 PM
sbhndsen

IAS that is Indian Administrative Services, it is a very reputed post in Indian democratic setup. Any one who completed graduation they can apply for IAS examination. So first of all you should complete your graduation in any stream like Arts / Commece / Science from a recognized University or an equivalent qualification. To become an IAS officer you will have to give civil service examination which conducts by UPSC.

You age should be minimum 21 and maximum 30 years for general categories. While relaxation for OBC is 3 year and for SC/ST is 5 year.

For this examination, you must be an Indian.

As per norms, IAS examination only four attempts for general, for obc 7 attempts and no limit for SC/ST.

Please visit here for more information: www.upsc.gov.in
8th November 2012, 02:22 PM
mahhiads

Hello Friend,

IAS Stand For Indian Administrator Service. When You Qualified The Exam Of IAS Than You Will Be IAS Officer.

Educational Qualification :

1. Graduate in Any Discipline From Recognized University.
2. Age Limit :
General : 21 to 30 Years
OBC : 21 to 33 Years
SC/ST : 21 to 35 Years

3. Indian Citizen

No. Of Attempts :

General : 4
OBC : 7
SC/ST : 9

Selection Process :

1. Preliminary Exam
2. Mains Exam
3. Interview

All The Best!!!!
8th November 2012, 03:28 PM
sudha001

Thumbs up Re: How can I become an IAS officer?

Hello Friend ,

Firstly, i would like to give you details or introduction which aware you what exactly IAS is all about....So here are the details ..

ABOUT IAS

The Indian Administrative Service (IAS ) is the administrative civil service of the Government of India.Indian Administrative Service officers hold key positions in the Union Government, State governments and Public Sector Undertakings. The Administrative Service is one of the three All India Services.

The IAS officers are recruited by the Union government on the recommendation of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) and posted under various State governments.
The officers carry high respect and stature in the society coupled with the significant task of administering public offices, making it one of the most desirable jobs in India.

Before giving you the details about exam pattern , it is important to know the eligibility criteria for IAS exam. You have to satisfied the eligibility criteria then only you can sit for exam .The are as follows :-

Eligibility for IAS - Eligibility for Civil Services

Nationality : Indian.

Educational Qualification: The candidate must hold any degree in any discipline from any recognized university.Final year degree students who will obtain degree by August 1, 2013 are also eligible for CSAT 2013.
The degree can be of any class (distinction, first, second etc.)
Degree obtained by distance education/open university is also eligible if the university is a recognized university.

Age limit : 21 - 30 years.(General Category)
Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes :35 years

NUMBER OF ATTEMPTS

For some candidates there is a limit on the number of times you can attempt IAS Exams (Civil Services exams)

Even attending to one paper of CSAT (IAS prelim exam) counts as an attempt

Applying for CSAT (IAS prelim exam) but not attending for any paper DOES NOT count as an attempt

General Category :4
OBC :7
SC & ST: No limit on number of attempts.

EXAM DETAILS

However, getting into the IAS is not that easy. There is a very competitive “one year long” exam. To get into the IAS, you probably will have to try more than once before you succeed. And even if you clear the exam, then you have to get a very good score to qualify for the IAS! So, basically getting into the IAS is not that easy

It has three stages (preliminary, mains and interview) and is considered to be extremely challenging .All the stages, IAS prelims, IAS mains and the interview round are equally tough. If the vast syllabus is not sufficient, difficult level of the question paper is raised by the current affair questions. There is no shortcut to become an IAS officer, you have to work hard and clear all the three stages with efficiency.

IAS Prelims and IAS mains

Selection for IAS begins with the IAS prelims (preliminary) exams. They must not be dismissed as easy exams, but are as challenging as the IAS mains exam. The scores of IAS prelims are not added in the final score sheet, however, it is important to clear them in order to appear for the IAS mains exam. Your performance in the IAS mains exam decides your final ranking in the merit list. It consists of a vast syllabus with a wide range of subjects. Other than en essay, there are two language papers. It is essential to clear these two language paper in order to pass the IAS mains exam, however their scores are not added in the final result.

IAS interview

On clearing both the stages, the candidate reaches the interview round. If the IAS prelims and mains exam were all about testing the academic knowledge, the interview round tests whether your personality suits the one desired by the offered job.

It is only after clearing both the IAS prelims and IAS mains and the interview round, that the candidate is chosen for the training session given to IAS officers.

There is no prescribed syllabus for the interview round, however their major emphasis is on the confidence level and the communication skills of the candidate.

SO YOU HAVE TO WORK REALLY VERY HARD TO BECOME AN IAS OFFICER .
ALL THE BEST ....
8th November 2012, 06:27 PM
tash1907

Hi Friend.........

If you want to become a IAS/IPS office

First you can crack for Civil Examination which is conducted by Union Public Service Commission

Eligibility Criteria for Civil Examination

>> Candidates must have a bachelor of degree in any stream from any recognized university

>> Final year appeared students also eligible for this examination

>> There is no percentage required for this examination

>> Candidates age should between 21 years to 30 years, 5 years relaxation for SC/ST candidates, 3 years relaxation for OBC candidates.

>> Candidates should be a citizen of India

Selection Procedure

** Preliminary Examination

** Mains Examination

** Interview Test

Physical Standards

Notification of Civil Examination

8th November 2012, 11:18 PM

[IMG]Hai,

IAS-Indian Administrative Service.

IAS exam is conducted by the UPSC(Union Public Service Commission) once in a year.

Eligibility criteria:-

The candidate should be complete graduation from any recognised university.

Final year graduation candidates are also eligible.

Percentage is not required for this exam.

The candidate must be a citizen of india.

Age criteria:-

The age limits are 21 years to 30 years,

3 years age relaxation for OBC candidates,

5 years age relaxation for SC/ST candidates.

Selection process:-

-->Civil services preliminary exam,

-->Civil services mains exam,

-->Personal interview.

Number of attempts:-

4 times for General candidates,

7 times for OBC candidates,

No limit for SC/ST candidates.

Pattern of examination:-

For more details CLICK HERE

All the best.[/IMG]
9th November 2012, 09:26 PM
sirimulla srikanth

IAS stands for INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE this exam is conducted by the UPSC once a year.Graduation is the required qualification for this exam but there is no need of marks in graduation level.

ELIGIBILITY:

Candidate should complete graduation from a recognized university of india in any stream

Age limit for this exam is 21 to 30 years

Upper age relaxation for reserved candidates

candidate should be a citizen of india

SELECTION PROCEDURE:

Preliminary Exam

Main Exam

Personal Interview

For more information please visit the website www.upsc.gov.in

BEST OF LUCK....
9th November 2012, 11:04 PM
aryan5107241

The Union Public Service Commission conducts the Civil services Examination every year for the selection of Candidates as IAS Officers / IPS Officers or other Class-I Officers every year.

The Exam is considered very tough as only 300 candidates get selected out of more than 10 lakh candidates appearing for the exam.

The Examination is considered tough also because it is conducted in three phases and you have to crack all the three examinations in order to be amongst the 300 selected candidates.

The Qualifications Required for Civil Services Examination are :

a) You must hold a Bachelor`s Degree in any discipline from any recognized college/university.

b) Age Limit : 21-30 years.

c) There is also a relaxation in upper age of 3 years for those belonging to OBC category and of 5 years for those belonging to SC/ST Category.

d) You must have Indian Citizenship.

e) Number Of Attempts -

* For General Category : 4

* For OBC Category : 7

* For SC/ST Category : No Limit

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.

31st July 2013, 09:00 PM
whiteblossom

HI

Indian Administrative Services,

it is a very reputed post in Indian democratic setup. Any one who completed graduation they can apply for IAS examination.

So first of all you should complete your graduation in any stream like Arts / Commece / Science from a recognized University or an equivalent qualification.

To become an IAS officer you will have to give civil service examination which conducts by UPSC.

You age should be minimum 21 and maximum 30 years for general categories.

While relaxation for OBC is 3 year and for SC/ST is 5 year.

For this examination, you must be an Indian.
31st July 2013, 10:41 PM
josh98

Hi friend........

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

This exam conducted by Union Public Service Commission once in a year.

you can must satisfy some eligibility criteria which required for civil examination like,

Educational qualification

Age Limit

Nationality

Physical fitness

Civil examination is conducted for IAS/IPS by Union Public Service Commission in yearly ones

you can must satisfy below mentioned eligibility for this civil examination

>> You must have a bachelor of degree in any stream from any recognized universtiy

>> There is no percentage required for this examination

>> Final appeared students also eligible for this examination

>> Your age should between 21 years to 30 years, and age relaxation for SC/ST/OBC candidates as per government norms

5 years relaxation for SC/ST candidates

3 years relaxation for OBC candidates

>> You should be a citizen of India

if you satisfy above all eligibility, you are eligible for civil examination

Selection Procedure for this civil examination 1. Preliminary Examination, 2. Mains Examination if you done this 2 stages you are go for next stage i.e. Personnel Interview test.

for this examination limited attempts for written examination

max 4 for General candidates

7 for OBC candidates

no limit for SC/ST candidates

Selection Process:

Preliminary Exam

Main Exam

Interview

All the best...........