5th October 2012, 12:41 PM
ekta_sharma7777

How to be an IAS officer? I am a 1st year student

Sir/mam
i am a 1st year student..and i want to be an IAS officer..but i want to know that can i apply for IAS if am studiying from ignou...

8th October 2012, 06:24 PM
imira
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to be an IAS officer? I am a 1st year student

Graduation in any discipline is the minimum educational qualification for the IAS Exam. Those who have completed graduation from IGNOU are also eligible to apply for this exam. They have to apply for Civil service Exam conducted by UPSC. Minimum age for application is 21 years. The candidates have 4 attempts to clear the exam and also they have to clear the same before they turn 30 years.
8th October 2012, 08:15 PM
sherleytwain
Senior Member+++++

I have written about it many times earlier that completing graduation from IGNOU will not be the issue. It does not matter whether you have completed graduation from distance mode or regular mode, you can still appear for the Civil Service Exam.

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service. The IAS officers play important part in implementing state government policies on the district level. Not only IAS officer implements the policies of state government but also ensures that everything is being done smoothly by consistently traveling to places where policy is being implemented.

IAS officer also has to ensure that public fund is being utilized properly. The IAS officer also has a say in matters related to the policy. In fact he/she helps government draft the policy. During the elections on Municipal and Panchayat level, it becomes the responsibility of IAS officer to ensure security arrangements.

Eligibility

1. You must be of Indian Origin.

2. A minimum of bachelor degree in any stream.

3. The age limit for IAS is 21 to 30 years as on August 1 of examination year.

4. The age limit for OBC is 33 years.

5. SC/ST are given 5 years relaxation in upper age limit.