15th May 2010, 06:25 PM
karishma sharma

How many optional subjects we have to opt for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main?

how many optional subjects we have to choose for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main exams?

16th May 2010, 11:52 AM

Default Re: How many optional subjects we have to opt for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main?

There are 2 papers in UPSC CSP exam, one is general studies which is common to
all of the students and other will be optional subjects which we have to choose.
Here are the UPSC Optional subject codes -

Agriculture 01
Botany 02
Chemistry.. 03
Civil Engineering 04
Commerce 05
Economics 06
Electrical Engineering 07
Geography : 08
Geology 09
Indian History 10
Law 11
Mathematics 12
Mechanical Engineering 13
Philosophy 14
Physics 15
Political Science 16
Psychology 17
Sociology 18
Zoology 19
Statistics 20
Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science 21
Public Administration 22
Medical Science 23

ok
16th May 2010, 02:40 PM
mike shinoda back

Default Re: How many optional subjects we have to opt for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main?

you can download from the below link-
www.energymanagertraining.com/3L.../Building_May2010_FormMum.doc.

17th May 2010, 10:00 AM
danish_ejaz

Thumbs up Re: How many optional subjects we have to opt for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main?

Originally Posted by karishma sharma View Post
how many optional subjects we have to choose for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main exams?

Paper - I General Studies 150 Marks

Paper - II One of the optional subjects to be selected from the
prescribed optional subjects 300 Marks

# General Studies
# Agriculture Syllabus
# Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science
# Botany Syllabus
# Chemistry Syllabus
# Civil Engineering Syllabus
# Commerce Syllabus
# Economics Syllabus
# Electrical Engineering Syllabus
# Geography Syllabus
# Geology Syllabus
# Indian History Syllabus
# Law Syllabus
# Mathematics Syllabus
# Mechanical Engineering Syllabus
# Medical Science Syllabus
# Philosophy Syllabus
# Physics Syllabus
# Political Science Syllabus
# Psychology Syllabus
# Public Administration Syllabus
# Sociology Syllabus
# Statistics Syllabus
# Zoology Syllabus

Part B - Main Examination - Optional Subjects
Paper-I One of the Indian Languages to be selected by the candidate from the 22 languages included in the VIIIth Schedule to the Constitution (Qualifying Paper) 300 Marks

Paper-II English (Qualifying Paper) 300 Marks

Paper-III Essay [in the medium you choose] 200 Marks

Papers IV & V General Studies (300 Marks for each paper) 600 Marks

Papers VI, VII, VIII & IX Any two subjects (each having 2 papers) to be selected from the prescribed optional subjects (300 marks for each paper) 1200 Marks

Total Marks for Written Examination 2000 Marks

Interview Test [in the medium you choose] 300 Marks

Grand Total 2300 Marks

# General Studies
# Essay
# English Qualifying
# Indian Languages
# Agriculture Main Syllabus
# Botany Main Syllabus
# Chemistry Main Syllabus
# Civil Engineering Main Syllabus
# Commerce Main Syllabus
# Economics Main Syllabus
# Electrical Engineering Main Syllabus
# Geography Main Syllabus
# Geology Main Syllabus
# Indian History Main Syllabus
# Law Main Syllabus
# Mathematics Main Syllabus
# Mechanical Engineering Main Syllabus
# Medical Science Main Syllabus
# Philosophy Main Syllabus
# Physics Main Syllabus
# Political Science Main Syllabus
# Psychology Main Syllabus
# Public Administration Main Syllabus
# Sociology Main Syllabus
# Statistics Main Syllabus
# Zoology Main Syllabus
# Anthropology Main Syllabus
# Arabic Main Syllabus
# Assamese Main Syllabus
# Bengali Main Syllabus
# Chinese Main Syllabus
# English Main Syllabus
# French Main Syllabus
# German Main Syllabus
# Gujarati Main Syllabus
# Hindi Main Syllabus
# Kannada Main Syllabus
# Kashmiri Main Syllabus
# Konkani Main Syllabus
# Malayalam Main Syllabus
# Manipuri Main Syllabus
# Marathi Main Syllabus
# Nepali Main Syllabus
# Oriya Main Syllabus
# Pali Main Syllabus
# Persian Main Syllabus
# Punjabi Main Syllabus
# Russian Main Syllabus
# Sanskrit Main Syllabus
# Sindhi Main Syllabus
# Tamil Main Syllabus
# Telugu Main Syllabus
# Urdu Main Syllabus
# Management Main Syllabus
17th May 2010, 01:11 PM
sansun

if you want to go in ias then it just want graduation .and nothing anything
3rd June 2010, 01:06 AM

my name is pulkit i want to be an ias but i hv no idea about its eligibility i do 12th from i.c.s.e board having 66% marks & nw doing b.d.s? So help me from a-z in i.a.s exam plzz.
9th June 2010, 10:27 PM

can we take maths and physics as optional subjects in ias
16th June 2010, 09:18 PM

i have finished 12 std in state board syllabus and i want to do i.a.s.moreover i donot know anything about i.a.s.please reply me what are the methods and how we want to prepare for the exam.i have no knowlege even in preliminary exam please help me
17th June 2010, 02:28 PM

i am studying b.tech 4th year and i want to do i.a.s.i dont know the details about i.a.s.please give me a valuable suggestion about the methods of i.a.s and how to prepare for the exam.i have no knowledge even in preliminary exam.please help me
17th June 2010, 02:35 PM

i am studying b.tech 4th year and i want to do i.a.s.i dont know the details about i.a.s.please give me a valuable suggestion about the methods of i.a.s and how to prepare for the exam.i have no knowledge even in preliminary exam.please help me
19th June 2010, 01:05 AM

Combination in main exam with mechanical engineering
21st June 2010, 12:08 PM

i am studying in B.A.M.S and now will be in final year, so what subjects should i opt as optional subjects in order to prepare for IAS examination.............
27th June 2010, 10:16 PM

I m pursuing b. tech in biotechnology..wat do you think are the most promising subjects for me to choose for IAS examination?
28th June 2010, 08:47 AM
compaq123

only two subject will be seleced for every candidate in pre exam.
28th June 2010, 10:03 PM
karthu

Thumbs up Re: How many optional subjects we have to opt for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main?

HAI
There are 25 optionl subjects in the first part A -UPSC PRELIMINARY-EXAM and 61 subjects in PART B-UPSC MAIN EXAM. More details are available in the link www.civilserviceindia.com
bye
29th June 2010, 08:37 AM

how many optional subjects in the prilim and main exam and which subject?please to guide me about this
1st July 2010, 11:06 AM

can i take satististics as an optional subjct in my preliminary exams of ias
2nd July 2010, 02:44 PM

can bca student choose computer science for ras exam
3rd July 2010, 09:15 AM

eligibility for ias?
11th July 2010, 08:15 PM

sir my name is himanshu mishra. i just want to know that can i keep history as optional with chemistry.
15th July 2010, 09:11 PM

code no. Of optional subject
15th July 2010, 09:47 PM
Gop

For Priliminary examination, You need to choose one subject as your optional subject and one main subject, i.e., General studies will be compulsary.

For Main examination, There are two optionals that is split into four subjects, as 1 & 2, Example: history 1 and history 2. English, Essay writing, One regional lang paper, G.K 1 & G.K 2 are compulsary subjects in Mains.

Hope so you got the Answer.
Good Luck
15th July 2010, 09:57 PM
Gop

Lightbulb Re: How many optional subjects we have to opt for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main?

my name is pulkit i want to be an ias but i hv no idea about its eligibility i do 12th from i.c.s.e board having 66% marks & nw doing b.d.s? So help me from a-z in i.a.s exam plzz.

Literal Eligibility is:

1- You should be an Indian Citizen
2- You should be between 21 to 30 years of age,
3- You should hold a graduate degree from a recognised university.

For further details, Do check the UPSC website : http://www.upsc.gov.in/ for details. Also can check : www.onestopias.com for more details,.

15th July 2010, 10:02 PM
Gop

Lightbulb Re: How many optional subjects we have to opt for IAS EXAM , in primiliary & in main?

can we take maths and physics as optional subjects in ias
Hi,,

yes,. You can. But both are considered to be bit tough subjects. Also both are problematic.
Better would be to take maths or physics and any other theoretical subjects like sociology, public administration etc.

If you are really good in these subjects, You can take them both even. No risk. But you should be proficient enough.

Good Luck.
15th July 2010, 10:08 PM
Gop

i have finished 12 std in state board syllabus and i want to do i.a.s.moreover i donot know anything about i.a.s.please reply me what are the methods and how we want to prepare for the exam.i have no knowlege even in preliminary exam please help me

Sure. Do your +2 examination very well. Choose a good graduation degree(any degree from a recognised university) and pass out with good marks.

You are eligible for IAS on completion after graduation.

Since you are totally unaware of IAS preparation, You need to do some sit work, meaning you need to sit and read what IAS is all about. Jus go through this link www.onestopias.com to know all about IAS.

Good Luck.
15th July 2010, 10:12 PM
Gop

You are eligible for IAS after Graduation. But Since you are totally new to IAS, Please browse through the following website very well to know ALL BASICS about IAS.
http://www.onestopias.com

All the Best.
15th July 2010, 10:18 PM
Gop

Combination in main exam with mechanical engineering

Mechanical Engineering is literally a problematic subject, mean subject with problems. So it would be better if you choose a theoretical subject with this one. So that it will be easing to you to prepare.

Subjects like,

Sociology
Public Administration
Philosophy

are considered in combination with Mech Engg.,

You can even choose any other subjects if you feel are more interesting than these subjects.

Good Luck
15th July 2010, 10:23 PM
Gop

i am studying in B.A.M.S and now will be in final year, so what subjects should i opt as optional subjects in order to prepare for IAS examination.............

Normally All aspirants choose their specialisation as their optional subject.
You can also go for the same procedure.

But, My suggestion would be to take the subjects which would be very interesting for you .. Which would be more appealing to prepare and which will gain more interest of yours.

Just do a self study on which subject will interest you much.
Please dont go as per subject suggestions.
Good Luck.
15th July 2010, 10:30 PM
Gop

I m pursuing b. tech in biotechnology..wat do you think are the most promising subjects for me to choose for IAS examination?

Are you asking based on your specialisation or is it a literal query?
If based on specialisation, then I feel(Solely my opinion) zoology can be considered. A good theoretical subject,. Again you need to choose one another subject. So It is better if you choose subjects which will greatly attract you instead of going as per suggestions.

It dont need to be related to your specialisation, I feel. The subjects that keeps you awake through out the preparation.

Good Luck.
15th July 2010, 10:35 PM
Gop

Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
how many optional subjects in the prilim and main exam and which subject?please to guide me about this

You need to choose one optional subject from a list of 23 subjects in prilims.

For Mains, You need to choose two optional subjects from a list of 26 subjects.

Which subject? - For this question, None other than you can answer. It fully depends on your interest and knowledge gained in that subject. So choose the subject based on your subject knowledge and proficiency.

Good Luck.
15th July 2010, 10:38 PM
Gop

can i take satististics as an optional subjct in my preliminary exams of ias

Yes. Obviously. You can choose Statistics for IAS examination. No worries.
The thing is you should be proficient enough to tackle the paper during the Exam. It should not leave you blind folded.

All the Best.
15th July 2010, 10:43 PM
Gop

can bca student choose computer science for ras exam

Are you asking for IAS or RAS Examination?!!.

If you are asking about IAS, There no computer science subject in IAS Examination.

For RAS, Even in RAS Examination, I dont think so, There is a computer science subject. Check out.

Good Luck.
15th July 2010, 10:49 PM
Gop

eligibility for ias?

Literal Eligibility For IAS is:

1- you should be an Indian Citizen.

2- you shoud be between 21 to 30 years of age(not considering relaxation)
3- you should hold a graduation degree from a recognised university.

If you have all these three eligibilities, You are eligible for appearing CSE Exam.

Good Luck.
15th July 2010, 10:53 PM
Gop

sir my name is himanshu mishra. i just want to know that can i keep history as optional with chemistry.

Yes. You can have history with chemistry. To say about these subjects, History is preferred by many, a little lengthy syllabus subject. Chemistry is considered a bit tough.

But No worries. If you are confident about these subjects, Then go on,. Dont wait for the suggestions.
Good Luck.
16th July 2010, 01:00 AM
amit1057

Literal Eligibility For IAS is:

1- you should be an Indian Citizen.
2- you shoud be between 21 to 30 years of age(not considering relaxation)
3- you should hold a graduation degree from a recognised university.

If you have all these three eligibilities, You are eligible for appearing CSE Exam.
16th July 2010, 03:42 PM
Jannu.s

pl suggest good books for GATE preparation...At present I'm doing my BE ECE third year.
16th July 2010, 11:20 PM
panuboy

the pattern of upsc exam for civil service is given below:
paper pattern
1 general studies consist of 150 marks
# General Studies
# Agriculture Syllabus
# Botany Syllabus
# Chemistry Syllabus
# Civil Engineering Syllabus
# Commerce Syllabus
# Economics Syllabus
# Electrical Engineering Syllabus
# Geography Syllabus
# Geology Syllabus
# Indian History Syllabus
# Law Syllabus
# Mathematics Syllabus
# Mechanical Engineering Syllabus
# Medical Science Syllabus
# Philosophy Syllabus
# Physics Syllabus
# Political Science Syllabus
# Psychology Syllabus
# Public Administration Syllabus
# Sociology Syllabus
# Statistics Syllabus
# Zoology Syllabus
Part B - Main Examination - Optional Subjects
Paper-I One of the Indian Languages to be selected by the candidate from the 22 languages included in the VIIIth Schedule to the Constitution (Qualifying Paper) 300 Marks

Paper-II English (Qualifying Paper) 300 Marks

Paper-III Essay [in the medium you choose] 200 Marks

Papers IV & V General Studies (300 Marks for each paper) 600 Marks

Papers VI, VII, VIII & IX Any two subjects (each having 2 papers) to be selected from the prescribed optional subjects (300 marks for each paper) 1200 Marks

Total Marks for Written Examination 2000 Marks

Interview Test [in the medium you choose] 300 Marks

Grand Total 2300 Marks

# General Studies
# Essay
# English Qualifying
# Indian Languages
# Agriculture Main Syllabus
# Botany Main Syllabus
# Chemistry Main Syllabus
# Civil Engineering Main Syllabus
# Commerce Main Syllabus
# Economics Main Syllabus
# Electrical Engineering Main Syllabus
# Geography Main Syllabus
# Geology Main Syllabus
# Indian History Main Syllabus
# Law Main Syllabus
# Mathematics Main Syllabus
# Mechanical Engineering Main Syllabus
# Medical Science Main Syllabus
# Philosophy Main Syllabus
# Physics Main Syllabus
# Political Science Main Syllabus
# Psychology Main Syllabus
# Public Administration Main Syllabus
# Sociology Main Syllabus
# Statistics Main Syllabus
# Zoology Main Syllabus
# Anthropology Main Syllabus
# Arabic Main Syllabus
# Assamese Main Syllabus
# Bengali Main Syllabus
# Chinese Main Syllabus
# English Main Syllabus
# French Main Syllabus
# German Main Syllabus
# Gujarati Main Syllabus
# Hindi Main Syllabus
# Kannada Main Syllabus
# Kashmiri Main Syllabus
# Konkani Main Syllabus
# Malayalam Main Syllabus
# Manipuri Main Syllabus
# Marathi Main Syllabus
# Nepali Main Syllabus
# Oriya Main Syllabus
# Pali Main Syllabus
# Persian Main Syllabus
# Punjabi Main Syllabus
# Russian Main Syllabus
# Sanskrit Main Syllabus
# Sindhi Main Syllabus
# Tamil Main Syllabus
# Telugu Main Syllabus
# Urdu Main Syllabus
# Management Main Syllabus
17th July 2010, 01:56 AM
agentroy

the detail are as follow
Part A - UPSC Preliminary Examination - Optional Subjects
# General Studies
# Essay
# Agriculture
# Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
# Botany
# Chemistry
# Civil Engineering
# Commerce
# Economics
# Electrical Engineering
# Geography
# Geology
# Indian History
# Law
# Mathematics
# Mechanical Engineering
# Medical Science
# Philosophy
# Physics
# Political Science
# Psychology
# Public Administration
# Sociology
# Statistics
# Zoology
Part B - UPSC Main Examination - Optional Subjects
# General Studies
# Essay
# English Qualifying
# Indian Languages
# Mathematics
# Agriculture
# Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
# Botany
# Chemistry
# Civil Engineering
# Commerce
# Economics
# Electrical Engineering
# Geography
# Geology
# Indian History
# Law
# Mathematics
# Management
# Mechanical Engineering
# Medical Science
# Philosophy
# Physics
# Political Science
# Psychology
# Public Administration
# Sociology
# Statistics
# Zoology
# Anthropology
# Arabic
# Assamese
# Bengali
# Bodo
# Chinese
# Dogri
# English
# French
# German
# Gujarati
# Hindi
# Kannada
# Kashmiri
# Konkani
# Maithili
# Malayalam
# Manipuri
# Marathi
# Nepali
# Oriya
# Pali
# Persian
# Punjabi
# Russian
# Sanskrit
# Santali
# Sindhi
# Tamil
# Telugu
# Urdu
17th July 2010, 12:26 PM

i found the knowlege you provided is really so helpful,
really it was quite clear and to the point.
Rahul Naamdev
12th August 2010, 11:05 AM

i am Meena, BTech biotechnology finish 2009 by anna univ .still i am more confused to select the optional subject to prepare preliminary exam.plz clear my confusion
17th August 2010, 05:27 PM

sir,my name is AISHWARYA.PLEASE TELL ME WHAT SUBJECTS CAN BE CHOSEN BY A C.S.E,B-tech graduate..
10th September 2010, 08:00 PM

sir; i m a student of B.Tech

sir; i am a student of B.Tech(Marine Engg)' i want to know what are the subjects we have to study for appearing IAS exam;
11th September 2010, 08:43 PM
Bishwajit Giri

New pattern for Preliminary Exam in 2011

It has been four months since Prime Minister Manmohan Singh approved
the Union Public Service Commission's (UPSC)proposal to overhaul the Civil Services Examination from 2011.

Here is a look at the proposed reforms
1:There shall be two objective type papers carrying equal marks,
in which General-Studies paper carries 150 marks as well as optional paper carries 300 marks.
So now, it shall be two papers carrying 150 marks each.

2ne compulsory paper of General Studies and one Optional paper,
both the papers shall be compulsory.

3:now no candidate will take any undue advantage over others because of particular optional of his or her choice.

4:The compulsory paper other than General Studies, will test “aptitude for civil services”.
Therefore it is ability of value based decision making instead of taking just facts
based decision. It will reflect the candidates ability to analysis than ability to memorize.

So now Part A - UPSC Preliminary Examination - Optional Subjects

1:General Studies
2:Agriculture
3:Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
4:Botany
5:Chemistry
6:Civil Engineering
7:Commerce
8:Economics
9:Electrical Engineering
10:Geography
11:Geology
12:Indian History
13:Law
14:Mathematics
15:Mechanical Engineering
16:Medical Science
17:Philosophy
18:Physics
19:Political Science
20:Psychology
21:Public Administration
22:Sociology
23:Statistics
24:Zoology

Part B - UPSC Main Examination - Optional Subjects
1:General Studies
2:Essay
3;English Qualifying
4:Indian Languages
5:Mathematics
6:Agriculture
7:Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
8:Botany
9:Chemistry
10:Civil Engineering
11:Commerce
12:Economics
13:Electrical Engineering
14:Geography
15:Geology
16:Indian History
17:Law
18:Mathematics
19:Management
20:Mechanical Engineering
21:Medical Science
22:Philosophy
23:Physics
24:Political Science
25:Psychology
26:Public Administration
27:Sociology
28:Statistics
29:Zoology
30:Anthropology
31:Arabic
32:Assamese
33:Bengali
34:Bodo
35:Chinese
36ogri
37:English
38:French
39:German
40:Gujarati
41:Hindi
42:Kannada
43:Kashmiri
44:Konkani
45:Maithili
46:Malayalam
47:Manipuri
48:Marathi
49:Nepali
50:Oriya
51:Pali
52:Persian
53:Punjabi
54:Russian
55:Sanskrit
56:Santali
57:Sindhi
58:Tamil
59:Telugu
60:Urdu

for more visit:http://www.onestopias.com/subjects/

Good luck.
12th September 2010, 02:57 PM
nillu

Now from 2010 IAS exam pattern will going to change drastically.
There will be 3 phases like earlier it used to be but the pattern and trend is changed
thre will following stages
CSAT (Civil Service Aptitude Test) instead of prevoius preliminary exam
Mains as usual and finally
Interview
Which type of questions will be asked in CSAT will be clear only when UPSC issues notification for it
For the mains subject all the papers will remain same. And nearly all the optional subjects are coveed in UPSC exams right from language, arts subjects, science, commerce engineering , medical, management but there are some of the combinations which are similar are not allowed.
For details you can visit to
www.upsc.gov.in
www.competetionmaster.com
1st October 2010, 07:36 PM

commerce subject includes only business studies or combination of subjects like a/cs.,b.stu......
5th December 2010, 07:36 PM
MANPREET SINGH DHILLON

were all the papers done on different days? what should i read to getting preparation for the I.A.S exams?
10th December 2010, 11:35 PM

sir i am in btec 2nd year i dont know how to prepare?
i have avg knowledge
10th January 2011, 11:09 PM

iam doing my BCA degree i dont have any knowledge of IAS exam but iam very interested in doing of IAS exam please help me from A to Z .how much optional subjects have to be chosen for preliminary exam and you plz give me some idea of chosing the correct subjects.and you please tell me about the eligibility of writing preliminary exam plz give me a reply for this question as sooon as possible. plz help me.
11th January 2011, 09:10 AM
venkataprakash.v

dear friend.

UPSC Preliminary Examination - Optional Subjects

General Studies
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology

UPSC Main Examination - Optional Subjects

General Studies
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology
Anthropology
Arabic
Assamese
Bengali
Chinese
English
German
Gujarati
Hindi
Kannada
Kashmiri
Konkani
Malayalam
Manipuri
Marathi
Nepali
Oriya
Pali
Persian
Punjabi
Russian
Sanskrit
Sindhi
Tamil
Telugu
Urdu
Management

all the best................
11th January 2011, 02:44 PM
surendergora

Agriculture Management
Animal Husbandry & Vetinary Science Mathematics
Anthropology Mechanical Engineering
Botany Medical Science
Chemistry Philosophy
Civil Engineering Physics
Commerce & Accountancy Political Science & International Relations
Economics Psychology
Geography Sociology
Geology Statistics
Indian History Zoology