27th October 2010, 12:42 PM

IAS Eligibility Requirements For B.Com (Commerce) Students?

hello,sir
Sir me rajat saxena i have done my B.com
And i want to appearin IAS exam.
It can be possible.... if yes
than give me a information about the right criteria and eligibilty
1.how much percentage requird
2.age criteria
3.exam date
4.slybus
5.which book help me

27th October 2010, 08:19 PM
rohi9t

Default Re: IAS Eligibility Requirements For B.Com (Commerce) Students?

eligibility graduation from any stream
marks required is 50%.
age-- below 29 (5 yrs relax for SC/ST)
exam notification -- in the may
syllabus -- g.k. ,reasoning,english and your opted two courses
you can go for any of the books
but ncert and current affairs is must.
28th October 2010, 12:07 AM
princearyan

1.how much percentage requird:there is no any barrier of the % of marks

2.age criteria:upper age is 30 year \

3.exam date:see the employment news

4.slybus:get it from the websites www.upsc.gov.in

5.which book help me:depends upon your choice of subjects
28th October 2010, 02:49 AM
neeraj_m

Hi Rajat

It is absolutely possible for you to sit for IAS exam.

Academic Eligibility: You must have a valid degree from any of the recognized boards or your university. Percentage of Marks is not a factor here. So you need not worry, whatever percentage you've got, you can write the test.

Age Criteria: You must at least be 21 years of age on 1st August of the examination year to write this test. The maximum cut-off is 30 years.

Exam Date: Exam dates for the upcoming IAS exam, 2011-2012, is not declared as of yet but it will notified anytime in the month of January, 2011. So you better keep a watch on it.

Syllabus: Please check the following link for both Preliminary and Main Exams syllabus for commerce....http://www.thisismyindia.com/education/civil-services-syllabus-commerce.html

Books: No one can suggest you a book to crack IAS. Go through the syllabus properly and do not leave a single topic. Apart from course books, read The Hindu, Deccan Chronicles, CSR, Frontline and others good Newspapers and Magazines.

Remember One thing, "There is No Substitute of Hard Work"

Good Luck!

Neeraj
28th October 2010, 02:52 PM

definitely, you can do IAS after B.Com (Commerce).

as minimum qualification graduation is require to attain in the IAS exam.

and minimum 60% marks in B.Com (Commerce) is require to attain in the IAS exam.

age limit for IAS exam is 21-29 years.

all the best..............
28th October 2010, 10:30 PM
Mrs_Praveen_Gola

sorry Rajat,as a bachelor degree of commerce is not under the eligibility conditions,so you are not required to attempt it.but if seriously interested then better to do a bachelor degree once again in maths as it is in the b.com.
4th December 2010, 12:03 AM

what are basics things that can be asked in reasoning.......??????
22nd December 2010, 05:31 PM

i am a degree 1st year student?i want to know ias exam qualification details&&how to prepare ias exam?pls pls... rply
26th December 2010, 12:09 PM

sir, I am Suparna Banerjee and have done B.COM(H) from a reputed college under Calcutta University. I am completing my MBA as well. I want to appear for the IAS EXAMS but i am a little hesitant since the answers above are not matching. I want to know the exact marks needed in the bachelor's degree and whether a B.COM degree is eligible for IAS exams.
5th January 2011, 12:28 AM

dear sir ,i am in b.com final year from a reputed college under bangalore univercity i want to appear for IAS exam after my b.cm, but i dont have any idea about which subject to select & also best coaching center plese suggest me
13th January 2011, 08:49 PM

The eligibility as to appear in the IAS exam is to have a graduation from any stream. The percentile is not mentioned. The age of the candidate must be less than 30 years of age. There is age relaxation for SC and ST up to 5 years and for OBC for 3 years. The exam is held every year. There are many books available in different bookstore as to prepare for the IAS exam.
14th January 2011, 02:57 PM
rks_estate

For IAS examination minimum eligibility criteria is graduation with minimum first division marks from a regonised university.

For IAS exam, fight UPSC exam and for vacancies read employment news & rozgar samachar.

All the Best
15th January 2011, 01:04 AM

HI SIR M BCA KR RHA HU KYA M BCA K BAAD IAS KA EXAM D SAKTA HU OR ABI MERA FIRST YEAR H OR MERI AGE 18.6 H KYA M EXAM D SAKTA HU 2.5 YEAR BAAD
15th January 2011, 02:18 PM
Ajay kumar verma

if you have 65% marks in any graduation degree you are eligible for take IAS exam. some other criteria is given below.

age- Up to 30years
syllabus- First read Preliminary syllabus 1st to 12th class of related subjects.
and get the knowledge of current affairs.
16th January 2011, 12:03 AM
ricks2cool

hello,sir
2.age criteria
3.exam date
4.slybus
5.which book help me
It requires that you should be of 21 to 30 years of age.Also you should be a graduate.No percentage bar is there.It depends a lot on your performance in the exam.
21st January 2011, 03:46 PM

i`m doing b.com(pass) from du. is i`m eligible for ias exams
23rd January 2011, 11:53 PM
abhimanyu2688

Hi Rajat,
To appear in IAS exam which is conducted by UPSC, following things are required:
1. Educational Qualification: A graduate in any discipline from a Recognised University/College in India. Only Pass in graduate is required and marks obtained in graduation is not essential.
2. Age Limit: Minimum 21 years and Maximum 30 Years.

The date of UPSC CS Prelims Exam is 12.06.2011

For syllabus kindly visit www.upsc.gov.in and also read the employment news for regular updates.
Books choice depends upon the subjects you have chosen for the Mains exam but for prelim please read magazines and newspaper regularly.

Good Luck.
24th January 2011, 08:02 PM

what should be the best combinations of subject in CS exam for an M.com student.?
27th January 2011, 09:15 PM

hello, i m doing m.com from p.u, is i ' m eligible for ias exams
4th February 2011, 06:41 AM

Percentage criteria for B.E. Students for ias exam?
12th February 2011, 01:38 PM

hi, i am doing b.com(h)3rd year from delhi university, tell me minimum aggregate marks required for getting eligibility
12th March 2011, 11:56 AM

when i am graguate in b.com pass can i give ias exam
how much percentage requird
whose post come in bcom pass in ias
14th March 2011, 08:53 PM
kapila Chaudhary

Hello Friend,

IAS exam(Civil services exam) are conducted by UPSC every year.

IAS 2011:
Civil Services (Prel) Exam, 2011:
Date of Notification: 19.02.2011
Last Date for Receipt of Applications: 21.03.2011
Date of Exam: 12.06.2011

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA:
Educational Qualifications for IAS :
Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering or an equivalent qualification.

Age limit: 21 years must be completed on 1st August of the year, which a candidate is appearing. Maximum 30 for general category, 33 for OBCs and 35 for SCs/STs.

For more details:
http://www.upsc.gov.in
15th March 2011, 08:39 PM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: IAS Eligibility Requirements For B.Com (Commerce) Students?

hi, i am doing b.com(h)3rd year from delhi university, tell me minimum aggregate marks required for getting eligibility
hello ....

for anyone i.e. candidates who are applying for CSE has the common eligibility..

requirements

the basic eligibility criteria to become an IAS officer is

First you have to have a graduation from any discipline..

but from an recognized Indian University.

next you have to have the minimum age of 21..

these are basic eligibility criteria for a candidate to appear for IAS examination

for any further details get into these links

www.onestopias.com

www.upscportal.com

~aditya~
15th April 2011, 08:34 PM
pops07

You can apply for IAS with any graduation degree...

Does not matter if its B.com....percentage also does not matter

Because to become an IAS you should have completed your graduation first in any stream from any recognized university....that is the only educational criteria....then take a look at the following things.

1. Your age should be between 21 years and 30 years.
[33 years for Sc/ST]

2. You should have good knowledge in current affairs and social issues.
[Because you need to have very strong in that]

So if you fulfill the above conditions, you can easily crack IAS exam.

official website-- http://www.upsc.gov.in
28th May 2011, 02:35 PM

hello,sir
i am Deepak kumar i am in B.Tec III Year IT branch
1.how much percentage requird.
2.age criteria.
3.exam date.
4.syllabus.
5.which book help me.
20th August 2011, 08:52 PM
infoysis

hello,sir
2.age criteria
3.exam date
4.slybus
5.which book help me
"Yes" your eligibility for the ias examination . i provide the following details for the ias examination .

*Introduction

*Education qualification

*Age limit

*Exam date

*Syllabus

*Useful books for ias exam

Introduction :

I.A.S stands for Indian Administrative Officer . it is an very prestigious post . ias officer may having the responsibility to solving the peoples problem and he should be preserve law and order of the country .

Education Qualification for I.A.S Examination :

If your interested in ias exam then you should be qualified in under graduation course in any stream with 60% percentage of marks from recognized university . if your belonging from the sc/st candidates then the relaxation percentage is given to you for 55% percentage .

Age Limit of the I.A.S Examination :

Your age should be 21 to 30 years . if your belonging from following caste then the relaxation period is given to you .

Sc/St candidates for 5 years

O.B.C and Other candidates for 3 years

Handicapped and ex-service man for 20 years

Syllabus for the I.A.S Examination :

The main syllabus for ias is ,

Constitution of india

Current affairs

Economics

History

Geography

History

Science

Note : the current affairs very important syllabus for not only ias any other civil service examination .

Important Dates for I.A.S Examination :

Date of notification : 19 . 2 . 2011

Last date of receipt of application : 21. 3 . 2011

Date of examination : 12 . 5 . 2011

Extra Qualification for I.A.S Examination :

If your want to become an ias officer , you should develop your english knowledge , the candidates should be update the daily new by the way of reading news papers . these are also very important for the ias officers .
31st August 2011, 07:00 PM
jxsab

Cool Re: IAS Eligibility Requirements For B.Com (Commerce) Students?

hello,sir
2.age criteria
3.exam date
4.slybus
5.which book help me

Hey friend,

IAS is Indian Administrative Service

Yeah,you are eligible for the IAS exam,being a student of B.com course.

The exam is conducted by UPSC and is held every year.

The qualification which you need to have to apply for the IAS exam are:

Eligibility for IAS exam:

Candidate must be a citizen of India

Candidate must have a age limit of 21-30 years for General Category.

Candidates must have a age limit of 21-35 years for SC/ST category.

Candidates must have a age limit if 21-33 years for OBC category.

Candidates should have a degree from a recognized university with a fair percentage.

Candidate who are writing their final degree exam can also apply for the IAS exam.

Important Dates:

DATE OF NOTIFICATION : 04.02.2012

LAST DATE FOR RECEIPT OF APPLICATIONS : 05.03.2012

DATE OF COMMENCEMENT OF EXAM :20.05.2012

Pattern for IAS exam:

Paper I:

Current events of national and international importance

History of India and Indian National Movement

Indian and World Geography - Physical, Social, Economic geography

of India and the World.

Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System,

Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.

Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development,

Poverty, Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives, etc.

General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate

Change - that do not require subject specialization

General Science.

Paper II:

Comprehension

Interpersonal skills including communication skills;

Logical reasoning and analytical ability

Decision making and problem solving

General mental ability

Basic numeracy, Data interpretation

English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).

Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X level

The Main exam consists of two optional papers each carrying 300 marks and they are General studies(300 marks) and Essay(200 marks) and other paper consists of Indian language and general English.

1st September 2011, 05:55 PM
lovebirdskarun

The eligibility criteria is same for every one
They are
1. Be an Indian citizen
2. Be a degree holder from any recognised university
3. Should be atleast 21 years

Syllabus and date of exam are available in the official website
www.upsc.gov.in
30th October 2011, 07:50 PM

i m doing my b.com from pt.ravishankar university, i m eligible to appear in the ias exams or not
31st October 2011, 05:48 PM

Dear All,
Can Somebody tell me whether B.com (A&F) degree from IGNOU (correspondance) is eligible for appearing in IAS exams or not?
Kindly provide the needful information.................
Anirudh
3rd November 2011, 09:09 PM
manas.europhia

Location: Qr.No.- FR-99/8 ,SAILASHREE VIHAR , CHANDRASEKHAR PUR , BHUBANESWAR, ORISSA, PIN - 751021.

definitely, you can do IAS after B.Com (Commerce).

as minimum qualification graduation is require to attain in the IAS exam.

and minimum 60% marks in B.Com (Commerce) is require to attain in the IAS exam.

age limit for IAS exam is 21-29 years.
3rd November 2011, 09:43 PM
manas.europhia

Location: Qr.No.- FR-99/8 ,SAILASHREE VIHAR , CHANDRASEKHAR PUR , BHUBANESWAR, ORISSA, PIN - 751021.

The eligibility criteria is same for every one
They are
1. Be an Indian citizen
2. Be a degree holder from any recognised university
3. Should be atleast 21 years

Syllabus and date of exam are available in the official website
www.upsc.gov.in
5th May 2013, 04:34 PM

Sir,is B.COM(A&F) degree from ignou is valid for IAS???
6th May 2013, 07:58 AM
tash1907

HI Friend............

If you are interested to become an IAS Officer?

First you can crack the Civil Examination which is conducted by Union Public Service Commission in yearly ones

For this Civil Examination some eligibility criteria are there

More Information about Civil Examination

Civil Examination conducted by Union Public Service Commission in yearly ones,

For this Civil Examination some eligibility are there

if you satisfy these all eligibility then you are eligible for civil examination

Eligibility Criteria for Civil Examination

Educational Qualification

>> Candidates have a bachelor of degree in any stream from any recognized university,

>> Final year students also eligible for this examination

>> There is no percentage required for this examination

Age Limit

>> Candidates age should between 21 years to 30 years for general candidates

5 years relaxation for SC/ST candidates

3 years relaxation for OBC candidates

Nationality

>> Candidates should be a citizen of India

Selection Procedure

** Preliminary Examination

** Mains Examination

** Interview Test

No.of Attempts

>> Maximum 7 attempts for general candidates

>> Maximum 4 attempts for OBC Candidates

>> There is no restriction for SC/ST candidates
6th May 2013, 12:08 PM

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service and to become an IAS officer one has to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Exam, conducted by UPSC every year after Graduation Degree.

There is no specific eligibility requirement for B.Com. student to apply for IAS, Civil Service Exam, it is same for all Graduates from any stream.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

The selection is through two stages of written exam followed by Personal Interview.

The two stages of written exams are:-

CSAT - Civil Service Aptitude Test - Preliminary Exam comprises of objective type questions.

Civil Service Main Exam comprises of subjective type questions.

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
14th March 2014, 02:56 AM

can anyone tell me what all subjects one has to study from a commerce backgrnd for prelims of ias
19th June 2014, 12:16 PM

am b.com student am passed in degree,my parcent is 45% in degree,am eligible ias?
24th June 2014, 09:14 AM

Sir, I'm a xii pass out and about to took admission in college ,I've commerce background so please suggest me which course is best to crack IAS examination
18th December 2014, 04:19 PM

am m.com student am passed b.com,my parcent 52% kya m ias exam k lye eligible hu
sir,please sugest
25th August 2015, 10:20 AM

Hello
I'm doing B.com from IGNOU(Correspondence)
Shall i appear for IAS Exam?
17th March 2016, 10:55 AM

Hello sir, is b.com (A and F ) from ignou in collabration with icai valid for upsc exam? Please give me answer