19th July 2010, 12:09 AM
supriya_pathak86

IES Exam for Btech IT Students

Dear Concern,
I completed my B-Tech in IT.i want to give IES exam. But im confuse that Infotech is included or not in IES. so pls kindy suggest me the way.

19th July 2010, 07:18 AM
LOKESH RAJPUT

Default Re: IES Exam for Btech IT Students

hello! supriya,
Though IT students are eligible for IES exam.
But in this exam there is different syllabus for different branches,
but IT's syllabus is not included yet.
so you can't give exam of your own feild, instead you have to choose other subjects from mechanical, civil, ece, electrical branches.

so it will be difficult for you.
19th July 2010, 04:27 PM

Btech students can appear for IES exam.The candidate should be atleast 21 years old and not more than 30 years.The candidate should be an engineering graduate with 60% marks.He/she should be a citizen of India.For more details log on to the following siteshttp://www.iesmadeeasy.org/exam-solutions.asp; http://upsc.gov.in/exams/notifications/engg-2010/ntf-engg.htm
19th July 2010, 06:50 PM
sharad3010

hey friend ies exam anyone can give but the problem is that papers that come are on core subjects which are:
civil engineering / mechanical engg. / electrical engg. / electronics & telecommunication engg.

so u will face a little prob in preparing
bestof luck
19th July 2010, 08:45 PM

Originally Posted by supriya_pathak86 View Post
Dear Concern,
I completed my B-Tech in IT.i want to give IES exam. But im confuse that Infotech is included or not in IES. so pls kindy suggest me the way.
There are two group of subjects
Compulsory Subjects
General English
General Studies

Optional Engineering Categories (Subjects)
Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering

You are eligible for the IES. As your subject is relevant to Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering, so you can opt E&T as your optional subject.
Foe details of syllabus
visit: http://www.upscguide.com/UPSC/UPSC_exam/IES/subjects/IES_electronics.htm
19th July 2010, 09:45 PM
garg.satish0

Infotech is included in IES exam as notified by source related to info of IES conducted by UPSC .

You need not to worry too much if you are very comfortable with your basics as that's the thing that they wanted and they does emphasize on it too much ..

You need to have

*communication skills

*cooperation and group working

*content

so, work to improve ur communication skills as much as you can in the remaining days. go through current affairs

~satish
19th July 2010, 10:17 PM
Somesh Goenka

Sorry, unfortunately there is no IES exam for IT students.
However if you are in pre final or final year you can still apply for thee SSB exmas.
for further information about the SSB exams kindly visit the various defense websites.
19th July 2010, 11:09 PM
sathsish

Smile Re: IES Exam for Btech IT Students

as sathish said i think you have to know
communication skills
other than that
group tackling(leadership)
computer knowledge
is must
then since you have taken IT,
it will be work load for you to come up with IES
but nothing is impossible..!!
even impossible has possible in it..!!!

so keep on moving towards your goal..

all the very best..!!
cheers..!!!
19th July 2010, 11:17 PM
happy to help

Infotech is included in IES exam
Your communication skills & content & group working must be good
Improve these qualities

19th July 2010, 11:54 PM
agentroy

you can give the ies exam,but there is one problem that you cannot give the exam from your own subject you have to chose the other subject like
civil engineering
mechanical engg.
electrical engg.
electronics & telecommunication engg.
for more detail please visit the following website
www.upsc.gov.in
20th July 2010, 12:49 AM
parhitoshika

IES examination are highly competitive.
dont think them as easy passing exams,anyone can clear.
you need to elaborate yourself,and with a single minded dedication you should prepare for GATE exam,you cant take both.
20th July 2010, 01:20 AM

hello friend

generally IT students can't appear IES exam.perhaps recently the question have came into the mind of govt.so govt is tring to do something for IT students.

don't worried but you are eligiable to attain IAS exam.so you must appear in IAS exam.

all the best..........
20th July 2010, 11:31 AM
karthu

hai
You are eligible for IES exam. The sylabus of the exam are available in the sitehttp://upsc.gov.in/exams/notificatio.../appx-1htm.htm
20th July 2010, 04:25 PM
nillu

Friend I cannot understand that you are talking about UPSC IES exam or any other? For UPSC IES you must have Economics honours in your PG and meant for higher posts in economy.

So, Being B.Tech IT you cannot appear for it.

Best Regards!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12th August 2010, 08:46 AM

i am b.tech it student .so can i appear IES exam.
13th August 2010, 06:54 PM
sparkle

No,B.Tech IT students can sit for IES exams.

The IES exam is conducted only for the branches ME,Civil,EE,ECE...

So you can't appear in this exam..

Good luck!
14th August 2010, 09:00 PM

Dear friend.
In your question you want to know about the IES Exam for Btech IT Students
So there is mo any need to worry, you can get the all those information from the websites that has been given below,www.upsc.gov.in
So just go to the given below, and get the all the information about the IES Exam for Btech IT Students.
Hope you will get satisfied.
15th August 2010, 08:52 AM
rohitkumarramesh

Hello

Its quite difficult for you to give IES since this exam is not for IT students.

This exam is only for the electrical , electronics , mechanical and architecture student only.

So you are not eligible for this exam. But you can give other exams like JTO in BSNL. There are lots of exams are available for IT student but IES is not for you.

GOOD LUCK
15th August 2010, 09:33 AM
bholag

IT students are not eligible to sit for the IES exam .
as the exa is conducted by UPSC and it is clearly mentioned that only
ME
ECE
EE
CIVIL engineers are eligible to sit in IES exam.
so for more details you can visit the below mentioned link:
www.upsc.gov.in
15th August 2010, 04:36 PM
ravi k

dear frnd,

untill now b.tech gradute in IT are not eligible for IES.

at present only civil, mechanical,electrical, electronics & commn. are eligible.

so go for other career options.

all d best.
16th August 2010, 03:23 PM
jiyaa

unfortunetly IES have not included the IT syllabus in their examination,but you can sit by opting different subject like civil,mechanical,but then you will have to work very hard..
with best wishes
3rd September 2010, 11:33 PM

are eee students eligible for ies.i am asking about eee not ee????
22nd September 2010, 02:53 AM
Sushant Roy

There are only four branches :
1. mechanical,
2. civil,
3. ece,
4. electrical branches.
They are filled according to the vacancies in these fields. Since IT is not the field where any post is created, hence no student having IT degree is eligible for IES.
28th September 2010, 10:56 PM
NITIN2

i am very sorry to say that IES exam is not for IT students. Actually , syllbus

of IT is not included in the syllabus of IES. Only mechanical,electrical, civil

and ece syllabus included in the syllbus of IES.If you want to appear in this

exam then you have to select subject from ece branch.I think it would be

difficult for you.I advice you that if you are in good soft skill then you can

get job in various MNCs as software engineer with good package.Now a days

, software job market has overcome from recession. So , definitely you will

get job.

29th September 2010, 09:09 PM
mohit brh

You can choose any branch from Mechanical,Elictrical,Civil,and electronic & telecommunication as per your interest and knowledge you can choose branch and you can appear in IES exam.
for more detail visit www.iesmadeeasy.org/
www.ies.edu
www.upsc.gov.in
29th September 2010, 09:46 PM
meeria

UPSC Indian Engineering Services (IES) Examination - Eligibility Conditions
(I) Nationality:

A candidate must be either:

(a) a citizen of India, or

(b) a subject of Nepal, or

(c) a subject of Bhutan, or

(II) Age Limits:

(a) A candidate for this examination must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years on the 1st August,

(b) The upper age-limit of 30 years will be relaxable upto 35 years in the case of Government servants of the following categories, if they are employed in a Department/Office under the control of any of the authorities mentioned in column 1 below and apply for admission to the examination for all or any of the Service(s)/Posts mentioned in column 2, for which they are otherwise eligible.

(III) Minimum Educational Qualification:

For admission to the examination, a candidate must have—

(a) obtained a degree in Engineering from a University incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other Educational Institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as Universities under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956; or

(b) passed Section A and B of the Institution Examinations of the Institution of Engineers (India); or

(c) obtained a degree/diploma in Engineering from such foreign University/College/Institution and under such conditions as may be recognised by the Government for the purpose from time to time, or

(d) passed Graduate Membership Examination of the Institute of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (India)

have a good day
23rd January 2011, 10:35 PM

i m b.tech final year IT student can i give ies exam for eltx and telecommunication engg.
31st January 2011, 11:01 PM
prashantmeghalia

Cool Re: IES Exam for Btech IT Students

Dear Concern,
IES exam is not for IT engineers. the syllabus of ies is entirely different from what you have studied in b.tech. so if you want to give ies exam, you will have to do a lot of hard work. also there are general knowledge questions in the exam, for which you can prepare by reading newspaper or by watching tv news regularly.
1st February 2011, 07:06 PM

hiiii
m 3rd year IT student..
can i give exam for ies exam?
is their any proper syllabus related to my subjects?
6th March 2011, 11:48 PM
kapila Chaudhary

IES Exam Eligibility

Age Eligibility:
You need to be between 21 years to 30 years on the 1st August, 2011.
Age relaxations exist as per Govt. rules.

Academic Eligibility:
You must be a graduate in Engineering from a recognized university.

For complete details go to http://www.upsc.gov.in
11th March 2011, 03:46 PM
mukul0094

Dear Concern,

Sorry, IT & Computer Science branch are not eligible for IES examination.
According to eligibility criteria Only electrical, electronics, civil and mechanical branch are eligible for IES exam. So you are not eligible. If you want to any more information then please see the official website of UPSC.
http://www.upsc.gov.in
15th March 2011, 03:17 PM
Somesh Goenka

hiiii
m 3rd year IT student..
can i give exam for ies exam?
is their any proper syllabus related to my subjects?
If you are talking about the Engineering Service exams, then let me tell you that the exams are conducted for the following categories only:

1.Civil Engineering
2.Mechanical Engineering.
3.Electrical Engineering
4.E&C Engineering

The minimum eligibility is a bachelor's degree in engineering from a recognized university.Final year students can also apply.

Now since you are in third year, so you are as it is not eligible.
But once you come in the final year, you can apply for the exam, but keep one thing in mind that you have to appear from the above mentioned branches only. So if you think you can tackle any of the above branches, then go for it!
10th June 2011, 04:02 PM

I am a btech final year student, branch IT , i am for eligible for IES or not ? if yes than wat is criteria .
18th July 2011, 04:57 PM

dear sir i am a student of b.tech (IT) ......... can you plz tell me that IT student can also apply for IES....... if not then suggest the best government sector job
20th July 2011, 02:58 PM
abhi789

no you are not eligible for ies because you are not a student of core branch.
3rd August 2011, 10:50 PM
jxsab

Dear Concern,
Hey friend,

IES stand for Indian Engineering Service and is conducted by UPSC(Union Public Service Commission)

The exam only accepts candidates for the exam who are having a degree in engineering from a recognized university.

The candidates must have chosen or passed out from the following departments:

Civil Engineering

Mechanical Engineering,

Electrical Engineering

Electronics Engineering.

As far regarding your criteria you are not eligible for the exam as B.tech IT students are not eligible for the exam.

6th August 2011, 05:08 PM

i an B.Tech IT branch student.can i join bsnl by any way.
6th August 2011, 08:14 PM

Dear Concern,

b-tech in it department are not eligible for IES exam because some stream are eligible for IES exam.

IES is eligible for given below department of engineering.

1.Civil Engineering
2.Electrical Engineering
3.Mechanical engineering.
4.Electronics and Communication Engineering.

if you have choose above subject then you are eligible for IES exam.

6th August 2011, 08:43 PM
sg1991

Dear Supriya, The minimum qualification for appearing in IES examination is to have a B. E./ B. Tech. degree in any branch. The age limit is 21 to 30 years. The UPSC conducts IES examination in 4 branches-

*Mechanical Engineering
*Civil Engineering
*Electrical Engineering
*Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering

A candidate can give IES exam in any one of these 4 branches. You have to choose from these 4. Since your branch is IT, E&T branch is recommendable for you. Surely you are eligible for giving this test.

Just focus on the syllabus of IES exam. It is conducted every year by UPSC.
IT syllabus is not included in IES. You have to study the syllabus of any of these branches.
30th August 2011, 02:22 PM
Mannu2525

Thumbs up Re: IES Exam for Btech IT Students

Sorry to say but IT branch and CS branch people are not allowed to take the exam because UPSC have not included Syllabus of CS and IT branch in IES examination.

Pattern of Examination
•-> Paper I (Compulsory)
* General studies
* General English

•-> Paper II (Optional - 1 subject)
* Civil Engineering
* Mechanical Engineering
* Electronics Engineering
* Electrical Engineering

If you want to give IES then you will have to choose subjects that are given above.

GOOD LUCK

With Regards,
~Manvendra~
31st August 2011, 10:40 AM
venkataprakash.v

Dear Concern,
Sorry to say you are not eligible to apply for this examination.

Only four categories of candidates eligible to apply for this examination.

The categories are :-
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Electronics and Telcommunication Engineering
If you are any subjects in the above list.You are eligible to apply for Engineering Service examination.

And your age should be between 21 years and 30 years as on 1st august of the year of examination.

Relaxation is given to the various reserved categories.

So you have no chance to appear for this examination.

But you can apply for Civil Service Examination.It is one of the top examination in the Union Public Service Commission.

Eligibility Criteria for Civil Service examination :-

Graduation is required for this examination and graduation is enough to appear for this examination and age should be between 21 years and 30 years of age at the time of appearing.If you are interested apply for this examination.The notification was published in the month of February in the official website or employment news paper.
15th August 2012, 02:10 PM
BHAUMIK K. PATEL

DEAR FRIEND,

Though IT students are eligible for IES exam.

But in this exam there is different syllabus for different branches,
but IT's syllabus is not included yet.

so you can't give exam of your own feild, instead you have to choose other subjects from mechanical, civil, ece, electrical branches.

so it will be difficult for you.

BEST OF LUCK.