1st March 2016, 07:47 PM
Unregistered

How can I appear in UPSC exams to become an IPS Officer being a 12th WBCHSE student?

Hi,
I am Vikash Kumar. I am a student of class 12th from WBCHSE. I want to be an IPS Officer. I need help that how can I face these all. How can I appear in the UPSC examination for this. Please help me.

3rd March 2016, 02:13 PM
Aswiniteju
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How can I appear in UPSC exams to become an IPS Officer being a 12th WBCHSE student?

As you are presently pursuing 12th Class from WBCHSE board, you are not eligible to appear in UPSC Civil Services Examination with this qualification. In order to join "Indian Police Services", the minimum educational qualification required to be eligible is "Bachelor's Degree" or a Graduate Degree in any discipline from a recognized university. As the minimum qualification required is Graduate Degree, you are not eligible now with this 12th Class qualification. For this reason, I strongly suggest you to first complete the Graduation in which stream you are very much interested. The minimum duration it takes to complete Graduation is 3 years, so I suggest you to first concentrate on Graduation studies then you can apply for the Civil Services Recruitment after 3 or 4 years. You need to appear in Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) after Graduation and based on the marks and rank you secure you will be allocated to the concerned services such as Indian Administrative Services and Indian Police Services. For more details go through this link.

Click here for Civil Services Exam Details
3rd March 2016, 06:45 PM
ajayrocks007
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How can I appear in UPSC exams to become an IPS Officer being a 12th WBCHSE student?

First of all you need to have degree to become eligible for UPSC civil services exam. Class 12th is not the required qualification for appearing in this exam. You can complete degree in any discipline from a recognized university.