27th February 2011, 04:48 PM
jaikrishna4778

Educational qualifications required for IAS exam?

Its jai krishna here to ask about educational qualification for IAS examination. I am in 3rd year, my age is 21 years, and i will clear my b.tech in may 2012.

please reply as soon as possible.

27th February 2011, 11:06 PM
suhanamehra

Default Re: Educational qualifications required for IAS exam?

EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS required for IAS exam

you must be a graduate or in final year of your graduation to sit for IAS exams.
as you are in 3rd year so you are not eligible for that......
you can appear for it in next year. don't get upset. prepare very hard, as it is very difficult to crack ias exam
28th February 2011, 04:30 AM
nitingoplani88

Read the details carefully:-

(i) Age limits :

21-30 years as on 1.7.2011. (Upper age limit relax able for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories.

(ii) Educational Qualifications :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering or an equivalent qualification

(iii) No. of permissible attempts :

Four (Seven attempts of OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs.

Hope everything is clear now..
28th February 2011, 05:25 AM

A candidate who has completed his graduation can apply for this post. There is no restrictions on the stream of specialisation chosen by the candidate. You can apply for the exam when you are in the final year. So you will need to wait for another year to be eligible. This will give you sufficient time to prepare for the exam.
28th February 2011, 08:07 PM
akki89

Originally Posted by jaikrishna4778 View Post
Its jai krishna here to ask about educational qualification for IAS examination. I am in 3rd year, my age is 21 years, and i will clear my b.tech in may 2012.

The eligibility criteria to be eligible for the IAS examination

are as follows:

1) Educational qualification: You should have graduation degree or

should be a final year student of graduation from a recognized institution.

2) Age limit: 21-20 years for GEN candidates.

3) Maximum attempts allowed: Four for GEN category students.

So, as you have mentioned, you will be eligible to appear for

the examination only next year and after that.

Thank you...
10th March 2011, 08:51 PM

what is the minimum number of percentage required for a b.com student to become ias?
11th March 2011, 11:10 AM
kapila Chaudhary

EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATION FOR IAS:

You should have graduation degree from recognized university.

for all details:
www.upsc.gov.in
11th March 2011, 11:35 AM
Yogeshdayal

Smile Re: Educational qualifications required for IAS exam?

Age Limit.
General 21-30 years.
OBC Upto 33 years.
SC/ST Upto 35 years.

Attempts
General 4 times.
OBC 7 times.
SC/ST Upto 35 years as many times as possible.

Educational Qualification.
B.A, B.Sc, B.Com, B.E and any Graduation in Recognized University and He/She should be Indian.
11th March 2011, 12:35 PM
mukul0094

The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) exam is conducted by UPSC in every year. This exam is taken in two step.
1) preliminary exam,
2) Main exam.
You are in 3rd year of B.tech so according to educational qualification you can apply in the final year.
A) Eligibility Criteria:
1. A candidate must have a graduate degree in any discipline from a recognize University.
2. Final year graduation student are also eligible for IAS exam.
B) Age qualification:
1. For general category the age between 21 to 30 years at the time of filling the form of IAS exam.
2. For OBC student the maximum age is 33 years and for SC/ST student the maximum age is 35 years.
If you want to get more information then please see the official website of UPSC.
11th March 2011, 08:10 PM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: Educational qualifications required for IAS exam?

Hello Krishna.

you're right now eligible to attempt civils examination.

the basic educational qualifications are

you should have a degree from any recognized university.

percentage doesn't matter.

the min age limit is 21 years as on application date

the max limit is 30 years for general candidate.

these are the basic educational qualification..

for any further info. regarding Civils

you can click on to this link..

www.onestopias.com

www.upscportal.com

~aditya~
31st March 2011, 03:34 PM

I Have complete B. Tech Electrical from distance education RVD university Udaipur Rajasthan My question I can take admission for BED and after complete I am eligible for apply for teacher post or not.
1st April 2011, 08:43 PM
lvnareshsunrise

Here i am providing you the eligibility criteria for IAS exam.

Academic qualification ;
One should be graduate from a recognized university

Age criteria :
One should be in the age group of 21-30 years (for General)
21-33 years for OBC candidates (Relaxation upto 3 years)
21-35 years for SC/ST candidates (Relaxation upto 5 years)

Permissible number of attempts:

Maximum of 4 attempts (General)
Maximum of 7 attempts (OBC)
No limit for SC/ST candidates

The selection procedure will be by
1)CSAT- Civil Services Aptitude Test
2)Main examination
3)Inteview
1st April 2011, 08:59 PM
pops07

The only educational criteria to apply for IAS exam is a graduate degree from any university in any field.

But your age should have reached 21 years and should not have crossed 30 years.

age relaxation for OBC is 3 years and age relaxation for SC/ST is 5 years.

The exam is held once in a year conducted by UPSC.

thanks.....................
1st April 2011, 09:37 PM
ashok880

Eligibility criteria for IAS exam:

Education qualification:
  • Minimum graduation degree in any stream
  • For General category candidates age should be 21 to 30 years
  • For OBC category candidates age should be 21 to 33 years
  • For SC/ST category candidates age should be 21 to till the end
Nationality:
  • Indian
visit official website for more information:

http://www.upsc.gov.in
1st April 2011, 10:12 PM
kguru.ece

Educational Qualifications Required For IAS Exam :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely
Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science,
Botany,
Chemistry,
Geology,
Mathematics,
Physcs,
Statistics and
Zoology
or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Enginerring or an equivalent qualification.
1st April 2011, 10:15 PM
Harshajit Kalita

Eligibility for IAS is any Graduate or Final Year of Graduation.
thank you...
1st April 2011, 10:36 PM
jxsab

Hey friend,
The qualifications for IAS exam is:

Academic Eligibility for IAS Exams:

A degree of any of the Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be a Deemed University under the UGC Act, 1956, or an equivalent qualification.

Candidates who have appeared or intend to appear for the qualifying examination and are awaiting results are also eligible to appear for the Preliminary Examination. All such candidates who qualify to appear for the Civil Services Main Examination must produce proof of having passed the said examination along with their application for the Main Examination.

The UPSC may in exceptional cases treat a candidate without the foregoing requisite qualification as an eligible candidate if he / she has passed an examination conducted by other institutions, the standard of which justifies his / her admission in the opinion of the Commission.

Candidates with professional and technical qualifications recognised by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.

Candidates who have passed the final year of MBBS or any Medical Examination but are yet to complete the internship can also appear for the Main Examination. However they must submit along with their Main Examination application, a certificate from the concerned authority of the University / Institution that they have passed the final professional medical examination. At the Interview stage they must then produce a certificate from a competent authority that they have completed (including internship) all the requirements for the award of the Medical Degree.

Educational Qualifications :

Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely
Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physcs, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Enginerring or an equivalent qualification.

1st April 2011, 10:40 PM
tarunsingh40

Ans.You should be graduate and if you are general age limit is 30 years and age limit for SC is 35 years.
1st April 2011, 11:21 PM
venkataprakash.v

IAS Eligibility criteria :

Age limits :

21 - 30 yrs for general candidates.

21 - 33 yrs for OBC candidates.

21 - 35 yrs for SC/ST candidates.

Education Qualification :

The candidate must possess a bachelor's degree from any recognized

university.Those in the final year of a degree course can also Eligible.

Number of attempts :

4 attempts for general candidates.

7 attempts for OBC candidates.

There is no limit for SC/ST candidates.

More details,Visit the official website : www.upsc.gov.in
2nd April 2011, 06:49 AM
padmanabh ramesh

Dear Jai
Any graduate degree from a Govt. Recognized educational institution in India
will be sufficient to apply for the IAS exam.You can apply for the Preliminary
exam during Feb /Mar 2012.For more details log on to www.upscexams.com

padmanabh ramesh
2nd April 2011, 08:14 AM
Taurus007

Educational qualifications required for IAS exam
the basic educational qualifications are
you should have a degree from any recognized university.
percentage doesn't matter.
the min age limit is 21 years as on application date
the max limit is 30 years for general candidate.
these are the basic educational qualification..
for any further info. regarding Civils
you can click on to this link..
www.onestopias.com
www.upscportal.com
Academic qualification ;
One should be graduate from a recognized university
Age criteria :
One should be in the age group of 21-30 years (for General)
21-33 years for OBC candidates (Relaxation upto 3 years)
21-35 years for SC/ST candidates (Relaxation upto 5 years)
Permissible number of attempts:
Maximum of 4 attempts (General)
Maximum of 7 attempts (OBC)
The selection procedure will be by
1)CSAT- Civil Services Aptitude Test
2)Main examination
3)Inteview

2nd April 2011, 08:52 AM
vijaypatel54

EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATIONS required for IAS exam

you must be a graduate or in final year of your graduation to sit for IAS exams.
as you are in 3rd year so you are not eligible for that......
you can appear for it in next year. don't get upset. prepare very hard, as it is very difficult to crack ias exam
2nd April 2011, 03:29 PM
balathegreat

EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATION REQUIRED FOR IAS EXAM:
o A degree of any of the Universities or an equivalent qualification.

o Candidates who are awaiting for results are also eligible to appear for the Preliminary Examination. All such candidates who qualify to appear for the Civil Services Main Examination must produce proof of having passed the said examination along with their application for the Main Examination.

o Candidates with professional and technical qualifications recognised by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.
21st April 2011, 12:02 PM

respected sir;
i am in B.Sc computer science final year, i wanted to ask dat how much minimum percentage do we want to appear in IAS exam and and sir as i am from science back ground can i choose arts subject to appear in IAS xam?
21st May 2011, 11:56 AM

dear sir ,
i m doing my b.com honours 2nd yr can i apply for this exam.Can i also want to know the detailed information about the course.Please sir reply me soon
24th May 2011, 09:34 PM
npngpt

Smile Re: Educational qualifications required for IAS exam?

MY Friend, Eligibility Criteria For IAS is

(i) Age limits :
21-30 years as on 1.7.2011. (Upper age limit relaxable for SCs/STs, OBCs and certain other categories as specified in Para 3(ii) of Notice).

(ii) Educational Qualifications :
Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physcs, Statistics and Zoology or a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture, Forestry or in Enginerring or an equivalent qualification (Para 3(iii) of Notice).

(iii) No. of permissible attempts :
Four (Seven attemps of OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs (Para 3 (iv) of Notice)

(iv) Fee :
Rs. 100/- (Rupees one hundred only)
(No fee for SCs/STs/Physically disabled only)
5th June 2011, 03:25 PM

respected sir;
i am in B.A.Graduate Student, sir as i am Arts back ground can i choose arts Any subject to appear in IAS xam?
6th June 2011, 10:39 AM
SUMITRA_M

Dear jai kishan,
minimum educational qualification for ias exam is graduation pass on 1 july of that year in which you are going to apply.the age limit is 21-30 years.
6th June 2011, 10:41 AM
SUMITRA_M

There is no minimum number of percentage required for a b.com student to become ias. Only a pass in b.com is enough to apply for ias examinations
12th June 2011, 02:29 PM

i have appeared my B.A exam in Psychology and commerce through correspondence...waiting for my results by july.. kindly let me know if i am eligible for ias-psychology...and if so then let me know what are the exams that i need to give for the same
16th June 2011, 12:04 AM
MonuRai

Indian Administrative Services:-

The minimum educational qualification required is to be a graduate in any filed from any recognized university of India.

Age limitation:-

21-30 years for the general.
21-33 years for the OBC.
21-35 years for the SC/ST.

More details:- www.upsc.gov.in.

1st July 2011, 01:49 PM

hello sir i want to know that how much percentage in gaduation for ias
24th July 2011, 01:11 PM

helo sir iam doing my 3rd year EEE.i wish to apply for upsc exam under the category of army. pls tell the needed qualification for to atend the examination
31st July 2011, 04:51 PM

hello..;
i am shivkumar finished my ba llb (3rd year)..am i elgible for ias exam??? i dnt want to continue my course further...pls tell me can i appear for that or do i hav any other apption in any civil services??
6th August 2011, 12:22 PM

Educational Qualifications :

- Bachelor’s degree in any stream by a recognized university

Age limits :

Age must be in between 21-30

Upper age Relaxation:-

SC/ST - upto a maximum of 5 years.

OBC - upto a maximum of 3 years.

Ex service personnel - upto a maximum of 5 years.

No of attempts :

For general candidates Four attampts

Seven attempts of OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs

15th August 2011, 11:42 AM

hai ,
i am studying polytechnic electrical branch i am in final year after that i want to do b.tech so that i can reach 21 years after that can i apply for ias exam?
15th August 2011, 03:10 PM
G-rocks

Dear Friend

Being a 3rd year graduation student you are not eligible to apply for IAS exam.But in the final year of graduation you can apply for it.

Eligibility Criteria :-

*The candidate must be of Indian in nationality.

*You need to complete your graduation course to appear in the exam.Final year Students can Also join for the Exam.

* Your age must be in between 21 to 30 years Of age.
25th August 2011, 08:55 PM

sir,now i'm doing my MCA(2ND year),so, can i attempt this exam,without coaching can i do this..........
29th August 2011, 07:30 PM
vipin bihari chaturvedi

The only educational criteria to apply for IAS exam is a graduate degree from any university in any field.

but Age limitation is :-

21-30 years for the general.
21-33 years for the OBC.
21-35 years for the SC/ST.

More details:- www.upsc.gov.in.
13th September 2011, 02:48 PM

can hiv patient join ias exam
18th September 2011, 07:10 PM
black-demon

you should have to complete your graduation in any stream .
age limit 21-30 years for general candidates.there are 5 years relaxation for sc\st candidates.
The candidate must be of Indian in nationality.

No of attempts :

For general candidates Four attampts

Seven attempts of OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs

27th September 2011, 02:02 AM

I am B.Tech. graduate student.How much percentage required in B.Tech for IAS exam.
27th September 2011, 12:07 PM
peterpan10

Educational qualification for IAS :

1.You need to be a graduate from any recognized university.

Your age should be less than 35 years.
you only can make 4 attempts.

Best of luck.
27th September 2011, 08:36 PM
shibendu

Educational Qualification for IAS :

you must be a graduate and your age must be within 21 to 30 years.
27th September 2011, 10:59 PM
saurabh abhijeet

union public service commission conducts the exam for IAS
for which the eligibility criteria is;

qualification

- a candidate should be graduate from any recognized university
-a candidate as an appearing can also apply for the exam

age limit

-a candidate's age should be between 21-30 for general
-for OBC upper age limit is 33 years
-for SC/ST candidate upper age limit is 35 years

number of attempts

-for general-4 attempts
-for OBC- 7 attempts
-for SC/ST- no limits

for further details you can visit the link

www.upsc.gov.in
28th September 2011, 12:21 AM
sunilpati

hi dear...........
The eligibility criteria for IAS exam are as follows........
*The candidates should be a graduate from any discipline , from a recognize university.The age limit 21 - 30 yrs ,...
more information in below chart...........

good luck..............
28th September 2011, 12:23 AM
sunilpati

hi dear...........
The eligibility criteria for IAS exam are as follows........
*The candidates should be a graduate from any discipline , from a recognize university.The age limit 21 - 30 yrs ,...
more information in below chart...........

good luck..............
28th September 2011, 12:40 AM
praveendia

Age limit: Between 21-30 years as on August 1 of the year of exam. Relaxation of age limit is available to SC candidates and a few other specified categories
Education: A degree from a recognised University.as per upsc notification there is no question of percentage.only pass candidate in graduation.
28th September 2011, 01:47 AM
Snehamay ganguly

Eligibility for IAS exam:-

1.Educational qualification:-

The candidate must have complete the graduation in any trade froma recognized university.

2.Age eligibility:-

The age should be in between 21-30 years..
For SC/ST the upper age relaxation is 5 years and for OBC the upper age relaxation is 3 years.

These are the eligibility criteria you have to fulfill..
28th September 2011, 11:55 AM
meeeanki

eligibility criteria for IAS exam.

Academic qualification
you should have graduate from a recognized university

Age criteria :
21-30 years for General
21-33 years for OBC candidates
21-35 years for SC/ST candidates

number of attempts:
Maximum of 4 attempts for General
Maximum of 7 attempts for OBC

selection procedure
1) Aptitude Test
2)Main examination
3)Inteview