Bio technology course after 12th

Bio technology is a fast emerging discipline which combines biology and technology together. Advanced research in the field of biotechnology has made it a growing research field. One needs to have thorough knowledge about this field before entering into any course in biotechnology field. B.Tech courses are now offered by premier institutes in our country .Biotechnology companies like Biocon are doing extremely well in India.

Eligibility for Biotechnology course after 12th

Candidates having Physics, Chemistry and Biology can take up this course after completing their 12th standard. For doing B.Tech in biotechnology, Mathematics is also required as a subject. This holds true for various B.Tech courses offered by the Indian Institutes of Technology‘s (IITs) and even by Indian Institute of Science (IISc).

Preparing for the biotechnology course

Only those people who have a strong desire to do research in biotechnology field need take up these courses. A strong foundation in Physics, chemistry and Biology are required for these courses. Since the IITs are also offering UG courses the field has seen dramatic rise in standards.

List of courses

The courses available in this stream are as follows:

• B.E. Biotechnology
  • B.Sc Biotechnology
  • B.Sc. Biotechnology and bioinformatics
  • B.Tech industrial biotechnology
  • Diploma in biotechnology

List of biotechnology entrance exams

• AIIMS biotechnology entrance exam
  • Amity Institute of biotechnology entrance exam
  • Anna University biotechnology entrance exam
  • Christian Medical College entrance exam
  • Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
  • Indian Institute of Technology Chennai
  • University of  Madras Biotechnology entrance exam

Reference books for students for biotechnology courses after 12th

The reference books are mainly the standard textbooks for Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics (for B.Tech in biotech).Also advanced level books can also be referred to.

Scope of biotechnology courses

Biotechnology students are most sought after in various diverse fields like:

• Pharmaceuticals industry
  • Food and drugs industry
  • Chemical industries
  • Research in genetics
  • Research in molecular biology
  • Clinical research
  • Biotechnology firms

Coaching centers for the Biotechnology course after 12th

Many coaching centres are now available which can prepare students for a career in biotechnology. Brilliant tutorial is one of them. These coaching centers prepare candidates for a prestigious entrance examination like the IITs and AIIMS. For the top most institutes the competition is intense. Correspondence level courses are also available from some institutes. These institutes also provide career guidance and counseling to these students, who have opted for biotechnology as their career. This will further boost the confidence of these aspirants.

40 Responses to “Bio technology course after 12th”

1. 40
    deepika:

sir i m in class 12 having physics,chem,nd bio as my sub combination,so i m intrested in biotechnology course. Plz guide me nd tell me abt the course nd colleges in jharkhand for it nd give info. abt entrance exam

2. 39
    DONALD SWER:

Sir, i’hve pass out 12th with PCB subjects with no maths ..please guide me about the entrance exams for Btech Biotechnology 2014 . .

3. 38
    DONALD:

Sir, i have given 12th board exam in the year 2013 . .my subjects are physics,chemistry and biology . .but i have failed in maths ..so am i eligible to give the entrance for B tech in Biotechnology 2014 , if so please guide me about their entrance exams. .thank u .

4. 37
    bhabani shankar panigrahy:

is there compulsory to join any institution by giving entrance . If no then how am i prepare
    give the details about bio tec. Which is the institution for biotec. How am i join in it.

5. 36
    monica:

If maths is not taken in 12 as a subject then can a student do bio tech. for example i have bio,phy,chm,eng and physical education as my subject thn i cant do bio tech?

6. 35
    Christy Joy:

Which has more scope, BSC Biotechnology or B-Tech in Biotecnology?
    If i want to join the BT then, what are the preparations that must be done?

7. 34
    chandan:

does it has any cut off and chance of advancement in future

8. 33
    sanjay:

sir, now i am studing pu2 .i want to join biotechnology,how to prepare for entrance.thank u

9. 32

sir i have given 12th…N RESULTS R OUT NOW…FURTHER I WISH TO GO IN BIOTECH FIELD SO PLS GUIDE ME HW SHOULD I PROCEED

10. 31
    Sneha Chavan:

sir, i have given 12th board exam in the year 2013. my subject combinations are physics, chemistry and biology.
    sir am i eligible for biotechnology studies???? if so, plz guide me about their entrance exams..

11. 30
    achuthan:

howto apply for this exam. when is theexam.

12. 29
    prakash kamble:

sir, i have given the 12th board exam in the year 2013,
    my subjects are physics, chemistry and biology so am i eligible to take biotechonology,if so,is there any entrance exam for it??? please guide me.

13. 28
    SHIKHA:

I hv jus cmpltd mah graduation frm bsc biotech but i dnt knw wt to do now m very confused plz hlp me

14. 27
    Pooja sarkar:

sir, i am reading in class twelve with physics, chemistry, biology i have not math in my subject combination. so can i read biotechnology after class twelve. and is there any entrance exam for getting admission in biotechnology?

15. 26
    sri paliwal:

gud colleges for biotech in rajasthan

16. 25

what can u become after taking biotech group in 11th?

17. 24
    Archana singh:

where can i get application form for biotechnology for maths and biology student .i am 12th complete student.

18. 23
    jai:

Information for make dd

19. 22
    Vasim:

From where can I get the entrance exam form for biotechnology?

20. 21
    naveen joshi:

sir.please tell me about for the entrance exam for biotechnology and releated courses.

21. 20
    fiona clen maurus:

i want to know which is the best course after 12th other than engineering and medical

22. 19
    SUBHASH JADHAV:

What are the entrance exams for admission to BIOTECH after 12th and their schedule for registration ?

23. 18
    Arushi:

Sr,i had both biology and maths in class 12th..i wish to apply for biotech,iit this year…the questions asked in the paper will be of biology or maths?? Please help me..

24. 17
    arushi:

sir. i am doing XII with pcb and bio-tech and wants to do b.tech in biotech pl suggest me in which institutes and how can i apply in those institute my id is [email protected]

25. 16
    kishor mehra:

sir. My self kishor mehra from sirohi -rajasthan me bsc biotechnology ke bare me janana chahta hu ki iske liye konsa entrance exam dena pdta hai or exam kab hota hai govt. College or private college ki kya process hai or admission kab hote hai or iske scope kya hai or fess structures kya .plz sir mujhe reply krana mujhe biotec ke bare me advise ke need hai mujhe admission lena hai

26. 15
    utkarsh prateek:

Can i take biotechnology if i have PCB in 12?

27. 14
    vinodhini:

can u say me which is best course after 12th other than madical field

28. 13

i want to make career in bsc biotech can u sujest me some gud clg in mumbai…

29. 12
    chinmaya:

there are very less jobs in biotechnology and starting payscale is around 10k. please dont go for biotech course.

30. 11
    manali:

i would like to know that for biotech maths is require and sujjest me good colleges in india

31. 10
    akshay:

entrance exam schedule for B.Sc. Biotechnology and bioinformatics in Maharashtra state.with list of colleges .

32. 9
    Monali.Raghuwanshi:

hi,m a student recently appeared 12th state board exam can i take a career in biotechnology after appearing only pmt…???

33. 8
    soubia:

i want to know that what kind of jobs are offered to bio technologists in Pakistan.??.. and why should an inter student go for this option else then interests what are the positive points of this field??…please do answer my question i would be really thankful to you

34. 7
    manoj:

i wana know about scope of genetic engineering
    can i have good future with it?
    is there job gureenty?????

35. 6
    syed tabish irfan:

what are the job prospects for the students of biotechnology?

36. 5
    poornima:

is m.sc biotechnology is better or m.sc microbiology

37. 4
    deepak:

i have completed my 12th.i am interested in research.so please provide information regarding some universities offering courses related to biotech.

38. 3
    bhawna paliwal:

when will the forms will comes out?

39. 2
    jyothi.s:

i have completed my b.sc biotech.iam interested in research.so please provide information regarding some universities offering reseach courses or courses related to biotech.

40. 1
    anuj pandey:

enlist the name of army college which carry Ph.d in life science or biotechnology.