28th October 2011, 08:57 AM
avdheshrajpoot

Can I appear for IAS Exam being a candidate of BE from IT?

i am a BE student it's from information technology can i prepare ias exam actually ias is my dream please give me an advice

28th October 2011, 12:16 PM
lvnareshsunrise
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I appear for IAS Exam being a candidate of BE from IT?

You did not mention whether you are a candidate of pursuing BE in Information Technology or completed BE in Information Technology. However, here is the eligibility criteria to appear for civil services exam through which one can become IAS.

Academic Qualification :
-One should have completed Graduation from a recognized university with any of the stream.
-Candiates who have appeared for final year exams of Graduation and waiting for the results can also appear for this exam.
-There is no percentage criteriat at all in Graduation to be eligible for this exam.

Age criteria :
-One should be in the age group of 21-30 years to be eligible for this exam.
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC category
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 5 years for the candidates of SC/ST category.

The selection procedure is by
-CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test)
-Civil Services Main Examination
-Interview

If you fulfill this eligibility criteria, you can appear for civil services exam.

For this academic year, UPSC has conducted the civil services examination. If you are interested, you can appear for upcoming civil services examination which is going to be conducted in the next academic year.

Choose the optional subjects now itself and start preparation. Before that you need to crack CSAT Exam. So, concentrate on Aptitude, General knowledge and General Awareness to crack the exam.

For more information on CSAT Exam, you can visit the official website of UPSC. Here it is,
upsc.gov.in
28th October 2011, 01:06 PM
saasmari
Senior Member++

Dear pal,