28th July 2011, 10:49 PM
yomol

Eligibility to apply for GATE Exam? Can MCA candidates apply for GATE Exam?

Sir ,
what is the eligibility for applying gateexam,is mca holders eligible for gateexam,plz guide me sir

29th July 2011, 04:38 PM
brijeshgzp123

Default Re: Eligibility to apply for GATE Exam? Can MCA candidates apply for GATE Exam?

Eligibility to apply for GATE Exam.....

BE
B.TECH
AMIE
MCA
C-LEVEL
M.Sc
B.Sc (engineering)
etc.......thanks..

yes MCA HOLDER ARE ELIGIBLE FOR M.TECH.
29th July 2011, 10:24 PM
venkataprakash.v

Default Re: Eligibility to apply for GATE Exam? Can MCA candidates apply for GATE Exam?

Originally Posted by yomol View Post
Sir ,
what is the eligibility for applying gateexam,is mca holders eligible for gateexam,plz guide me sir
GATE i.e Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering
Yes of Course.

You can apply for the Gate examination.

Eligibility Criteria :-
  • Graduate degree in Engineering/Technology/Architecture from recognized university or equivalent qualification
  • Those who are appearing in the final year of examination may also eligible.
  • Master degree in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applicant or equivalent examination may also eligible.
  • Those in the final year of examination may also eligible.
  • There is no age limits and there is no minimum attempts.
  • Gate score is valid upto two years.
29th July 2011, 10:41 PM

For appearing for the GATE exam the candidate should have completed engineering. Candidates who have cleared the MCA course can also apply. If the course pursued is not from a recognised institute then the candidate will not be apply for the exam. Even candidates who are in the final year can apply. The application for the next exam should be available in the month of September/ October.
30th July 2011, 12:37 AM

Sir ,

Minimum Eligibility:
*B.Tech. / M.Sc. or equivalent with CGPA 6.75 on a 10 point scale or 60% marks in aggregate for general category with GATE.

Selection basis:*Written test and/or interview.

yes ,MCA department are eligible for GATE exam through computer science departments.

30th July 2011, 03:56 PM
mobeshpal

hi dear
For entry in gate exam
after degree graduation you eligible for that exam
so you apply your specialisation subject
for entry in M.TECH course
Good colleges:-

ALL IIT IN INDIA
ALL NIT INDIA
11th August 2011, 01:59 AM

Please tell me sir, what happen if someone have low percentage in 10 2 but he passed out in b-tech good percentage?
11th August 2011, 01:59 AM

Please tell me sir, what happen if someone have low percentage in 10 2 but he passed out in b-tech good percentage?
11th August 2011, 08:09 AM
shlrao

Yes after passing MCA you are eligible to apply for GATE exam and you can take admission in the M.Tech course.
11th August 2011, 08:13 AM
G-rocks

Eligibility to apply for GATE Exam are listed below.

*)You must complete your graduation in any of the recognized university of India.

*)Those who are appearing in the final year of examination may also eligible as Gate score is valid upto two years.

*)Master degree in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applicant or equivalent examination may also eligible.

SO you are eligible to appear in the GATE exam.
11th August 2011, 09:02 AM
priyanka_swengg

Eligibility for GATE Exam:
  • **either Bachelor degree holders in Engineering/Technology/Architecture
  • **either Master degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applications
  • **either Candidates in the second or higher year of the Four-year Integrated Master degree programme (Post-B.Sc.) in Engineering/Technology
only these candidates can apply ..

• for Gate as there is no age limit
  • and no number of attempts defined in GATE exam..
  • and also there is no minimum percentage criteria ,

the only thing needed is talent and hard work to crack the GATE..

gate marks are applicable for all colleges and it is valid for 2 years ..
11th August 2011, 10:44 AM
DN358

either Bachelor degree holders in Engineering/Technology/Architecture
**either Master degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applications
**either Candidates in the second or higher year of the Four-year Integrated Master degree programme (Post-B.Sc.) in Engineering/Technology

only these candidates can apply for Gate as there is no age limit
and no number of attempts defined in GATE exam..
and also there is no minimum percentage criteria ,
11th August 2011, 10:50 AM
DN358

Yes of Course my friend

You can apply for the Gate examination.friend Gate score is valid upto two years.

11th August 2011, 11:33 AM
BEST CAREER

Yes ,
after doing MCA you can appear in GATE exam
eligiblity for appearing in GATE exaam is :
you should be a bachelor degree holder in engineering /technology /architecture
either
master degree holders in any branch of science /maths /stats /computer application
So
you can appply for gate exam
11th August 2011, 12:00 PM
edgeineervinay

Sir ,
ya sure you are eligible for giving the gate entrance exam..............

see eligibility of gate exam says that you must have the recognized degree of the bachelor then only you can apply for the gate exam..............there is no no. of attempts in gate exam ..............give as per as yours choice.................

just work hard and dont be afraid .........................
11th August 2011, 12:20 PM
saurabhkaushal333

yes you can be eligible
11th August 2011, 01:20 PM
Bmsri

Thumbs up Re: Eligibility to apply for GATE Exam? Can MCA candidates apply for GATE Exam?

Hi friend,

The Educational Qualification required for applying GATE exam is

1. A Graduate degree in Engineering/Technology/Architecture from recognized university or equivalent qualification.
OR
2. Master degree in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applicant or equivalent examination may also eligible.

As you have done MCA, it is considered to be a Master degree in computer science branch. And thus you are eligible for appearing in GATE exam.
11th August 2011, 01:35 PM
divyanakra

Yes you are eligible to apply for Gate exam as you are a MCA candidate.
For eligibility of gate exam you must have following degree
B.tech from any courses
MCA
MSC
etc.
11th August 2011, 02:29 PM
Snehamay ganguly

As you are doing MCA now, so you are eligible to appear in GATE exam..

The eligibility criteria for GATE exam-
*One must have complete the bachelor degree in Engineering/architecture/Technical.
*One must have complete the master degree in general science stream/computer application..

One can appear in GATE during the pre-final year or final year of the bachelor degree or master degree..
As the validity of GATE score remains for 2years..
There is no age limit to appear in GATE exam..
No percentage criteria required..

so, go for it..
All the best...
11th August 2011, 02:34 PM
Snehamay ganguly

As you are doing MCA now, so you are eligible to appear in GATE exam..

The eligibility criteria for GATE exam-
*One must have complete the bachelor degree in Engineering/architecture/Technical.
*One must have complete the master degree in general science stream/computer application..

One can appear in GATE during the pre-final year or final year of the bachelor degree or master degree..
As the validity of GATE score remains for 2years..
There is no age limit to appear in GATE exam..
No percentage criteria required..

so, go for it..
All the best...
11th August 2011, 02:37 PM
ashok880

Eligibility courses for GATE exam:

All B.tech course,like Mechanical,ECE,EEE,Civil Engineering,IT,CS
MCA course
Architecture course
Maths course
Statistical course
11th August 2011, 03:54 PM
genius_911

The eligibility criteria for the gate exam are:-
1.graduate degree in any of the branch of engineering/ technology/architecture.
2.master degree in any of the branch of science/mathematics/computer applications/statistics.
there is no age limit and also there is no limit on the no. of attempts..
yes you are eligible for the gate exam..
11th August 2011, 03:55 PM
genius_911

The eligibility criteria for the gate exam are:-
1.graduate degree in any of the branch of engineering/ technology/architecture.
2.master degree in any of the branch of science/mathematics/computer applications/statistics.
there is no age limit and also there is no limit on the no. of attempts..
yes you are eligible for the gate exam..
11th August 2011, 04:24 PM
meeria

dear

yes ,MCA department are eligible for GATE exam through computer science departments.
11th August 2011, 04:27 PM
meeanki

dear

Eligibility for GATE Exam.....

BE/B.TECH
MCA
M.Sc

yes MCA student can apply for gate exam
11th August 2011, 04:28 PM
meeria

dear

11th August 2011, 06:42 PM
saurav9889

friend the min. eligibility to appear for gate exam is a valid grad. degree from a recognised univ. hence u are also eligable.yes,mca candidates may also apply for gate exam u may sit for cs/it stream.
12th August 2011, 09:56 PM
Bmsri

Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) is an all India examination administered and conducted jointly by the Indian Institute of Science and seven Indian Institutes of Technology on behalf of the National Coordination Board - GATE, Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India.

The following candidates are eligible to appear for GATE:

1. Bachelor's degree holders in Engineering/Technology/Architecture (4 years after 10+2) and those who are in the final or pre-final year of such programmes.
2. Master's degree holders in any branch of Science/Mathematics/Statistics/Computer Applications or equivalent and final or pre-final year of such programmes.
3.Candidates in the second or higher year of the Four-year Integrated Master's degree programme (Post-B.Sc.) in Engineering/Technology or in the third or higher year of Five-year Integrated Master's degree programme and Dual Degree programme in Engineering/Technology.
you are eligible as per the second provision you can apply for the exam but you need to focus more on the exam and do preparation
15th August 2011, 10:59 AM
Harshita21

Eligibility for GATE

- bachelor degree in engineering from respective branch

- master degree holders in any branch of Science/ Mathematics/ Statistics/
Computer Applications or equivalent .

- final and pre-final year students both can apply .

- qualifications obtained through examinations conducted by professional
societies recognised by UPSC/AICTE (e.g. AMIE) as equivalent to B.E./B.Tech.

- Candidates with qualifications obtained through examinations conducted by
professional societies recognised by UPSC/AICTE (e.g. AMIE) as equivalent to
B.E./B.Tech.

GATE score is valid for two years

Best of Luck
31st October 2011, 07:47 PM
vinay21feb

Please do appear for GATE in 3rd year only to get the idea of how the paper standard is all about.
You may rectify all the problems you faced in the first attempt to get rid in the next academic year and get a good score to gain an admission in a reputed insititution.
Also go for coaching classes which shall help you to obtain basic knowledge and apply the same in the examination.
Good luck!!!
31st October 2011, 08:41 PM
vinay21feb

Please do appear for GATE in 3rd year only to get the idea of how the paper standard is all about.
You may rectify all the problems you faced in the first attempt to get rid in the next academic year and get a good score to gain an admission in a reputed insititution.
Also go for coaching classes which shall help you to obtain basic knowledge and apply the same in the examination.
Good luck!!!
2nd October 2012, 12:18 AM

HI friend,
iam completed degree in b.SC(m.p.C's group) can i am eligible for gate?
24th October 2015, 07:56 PM

i've done bsc (cs,maths,psychology) then mca but i'd no physics at bsc level .am i not eligible for iit's through gate?
30th July 2016, 10:55 AM

Can I appear in GATE in last year of MCA or after MCA? If in last year, then in 3rd sem or 4th sem in dual degree course? I'm in 5th sem BCA but I'm preparing for GATE. I want to Crack Gate as soon as possible. In dual degree there will be four sems of MCA. And I've read that one can appear in last year of MCA. Does that mean, I can appear in the starting of the 3rd sem of the MCA?