30th November 2010, 01:21 AM
SAGAR MIGLANI

Merchant navy joining tips after 12th with PCM

I am presently doing 12th with PCM.
Please guide me a nice path for getting a job in merchant navy.

1. Eligibility for merchant navy? What to do to join Merchant Navy after 12th with PCM? How to join training and the physical eligibility? What is the fee structure?
  2. Can I join Merchant Navy after passing 12th? What is the requirement? -- [Most Discussed]
  3. How to join Merchant Navy after completing 12th science?
  4. How can I join Merchant Navy after completing 12th without Science? Which course should I do to join Merchant Navy?
  5. What should I do to join Merchant Navy after 12th? What is the physical and education criteria?
  6. How can I join Merchant Navy having 72% in 12th with PCM? Fee structure of the course to pursue?
  7. What can I do after 12th PCM so that I could opt for Merchant Navy?
  8. Is merchant navy a good option after 10+2 with PCM? Environment and duration of job? -- [New]
  9. How to join Merchant Navy after scoring mroe than 50% in PCM and more than 60% in English? List of merchant navy institutes?
  10. Which field to choose after 12th having interest in Software Engineering and Merchant Navy?
  11. Merchant navy after passing 12th with PCM?
  12. Procedure to join merchant navy after scoring 60% marks in PCM?
  13. What is the procedure to join Merchant Navy? Age limit and requirements for joining merchant navy?
  14. How to join Merchant navy after completing 12th? List of the government colleges?
  15. Procedure and eligibility to join Merchant Navy for a candidate who has secured 76% in 12th Science of NIOS Board?
  16. How to join Merchant Navy after completing 12th by PCM?
  17. Eligibility for Merchant Navy after 12th standard with 50% marks in PCM and eye-sight correction?
  18. Can I join merchant navy after completion of 12th in Arts stream?
30th November 2010, 10:10 AM
Rudraprasad

Default Re: Merchant navy joining tips after 12th with PCM

The minimum eligibility for courses in Nautical science and Marine engineering is 10+2 or an equivalent examination with physics, chemistry and mathematics. He should also pass a medical fitness test for sea service under standard norms and with eyesight 6/6 with no colour blindness.

Institutes offerings:

R.L. Institute of nautical science, Madurai( Tamil Nadu )
TVR Nagar, Aruppukottai Road , Madurai ( Madurai Dist. ) - 625022

Tolani Maritime Institute, Pune( Maharashtra )
Talegaon - Chakan Road, Induri, Talegaon , Pune ( Pune Dist. ) - 410507

A.M.E.T. University, Chennai( Tamil Nadu )
No.135, East Coast Road, kanathur , Chennai ( Chennai Dist. ) - 603112

BP Marine Academy, Navi Mumbai( Maharashtra )
B.P. Marine Academy, Sai Pooja Chambers, Sector - 11, C.B.D, Belapur , Navi Mumbai ( Thane Dist. ) - 400614

Coimbatore Marine College, Coimbatore( Tamil Nadu )
#296, Pollachi Main Road, Myleripalayam , Coimbatore ( Coimbatore Dist. ) - 641032

Haldia Institute of Maritime Studies and Research (H.I.M.S.A.R.), Haldia( West Bengal )
ICARE Complex, Marine Campus, P.O. – Hatiberia , Haldia ( Medinipur (Midnapore) Dist. ) - 721 657

Hindustan Institute of Maritime Training, Kilpauk( Tamil Nadu )
No. 11, Millers Road , Kilpauk ( Chennai Dist. ) - 600 010

Indian Maritime University - Cochin Campus, Kochi( Kerala )
Training Institute Complex, Near Cochin Port Trust Hospital, Willingdon Island , Kochi ( Ernakulam Dist. ) - 682 003

Indian Maritime University (National Maritime Academy), Chennai( Tamil Nadu )
East Coast Road, Uthandi , Chennai ( Chennai Dist. ) - 600 119

Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi( Delhi )
Maidan Garhi , New Delhi ( Delhi ) - 110068

International Maritime Academy (I.M.A.), Chennai( Tamil Nadu )
41, Giri Road, T.Nagar. , Chennai ( Chennai Dist. ) - 600017

Phoenix Maritime Services (P) Ltd, Nagpur( Maharashtra )
Udat Business Services, 85- Canal Road, Ramdasperh , Nagpur ( Nagpur Dist. ) - 440010

Sailors Maritime Academy(S.M.A.), Vishakapatnam( Andhra Pradesh )
45-40-21, Flat No. 201, 1st Floor,Vyshanavi Legend Apartments, Akkayyapalem Main Road , Vishakapatnam ( Vishakapatnam Dist. ) - 530016

Samundra Institute of Maritime Studies (S.I.M.S), Mumbai( Maharashtra )
5th Floor, Sai Commercial Building, BKS Devshi Marg, Govandi Station Road, Govandi East , Mumbai ( Mumbai Dist. ) - 400088

Southern Academy of Maritime Studies, Thiruvallur( Tamil Nadu )
No.82, Panapakkam,Chennai - Tirupathi Road, Uthukottai Taluk, Near Periyapalayam , Thiruvallur ( Thiruvallur Dist. ) - 601 102

Sri Chakra Maritime College, Puducherry( Puducherry )
Near Nalla Farm House, Moratandi, Auroville , Puducherry ( Puducherry ) - 605001

T.S .(Training Ship) Rahaman, Mumbai( Maharashtra )
170K Samander Point Estate, Lala Lajpatrai Road , Mumbai ( Mumbai Dist. ) - 400018

T.S. Chanakya, Navi Mumbai( Maharashtra )
Karave, Nerul , Navi Mumbai ( Thane Dist. ) - 400706

Trident College of Marine Technology, Kolkata( West Bengal )
Pailan Park Housing Project, Phase -I, Amgachia Road, (Off Diamond Harbour Road), Near IIM Joka, PO: Pailan , Kolkata ( Kolkata Dist. ) - 700104

Vel's Academy of Maritime Studies, Chennai( Tamil Nadu )
Vels Academy of Maritime Studies, Velan Nagar, P.V.Vaithiyalingam Road, Pallavaram , Chennai ( Chennai Dist. ) - 600117

The starting salary varies between Rs 25,000 to Rs 50,000 a month. A person gets a variety of benefits such as free food, accommodation, paid leave, two-way free passage and facilities for families. In other words, the salary can be saved totally while one is on ship. The perquisites include bonus, holiday travel and other annual benefits. Foreign companies pay higher, and a starting salary of $ 1,500 to $ 2,500 can be expected.

30th November 2010, 11:08 AM
subho19

Originally Posted by SAGAR MIGLANI View Post
Firstly i want to say that please give focus on your 12th exem.
And also solve some Analytical & logical reasoning and clear your concept of all science related subjects...
30th November 2010, 11:19 AM

You are eligible to join Merchant Navy after your 12th standard if you are interested in the Deck job. After you 12th you need to appear for various entrance exam like the Joint Entrance Exam, OPENNET exam etc. Also you have another option to join the technical side by doing an engineering course in marine engineering. The decision needs to be taken as to what kind of job you would like doing.
30th November 2010, 12:46 PM
VEERU_VIRENDR

HELLO,
Exam conducted every year,just go through your fundamentals.here is the exam details-
ALL INDIA MERCHANT NAVY ENTRANCE TEST-2011
from by post-17/11/2010-7/12/2010
form by hand-17/11/010-12/12/2010
form by axis bank-17/11/2010-12/12/2010
deadline-15/12/2010
online test-19/12/2010-21/12/2010
for more information you can visit IT official site-www.bharatshipping.com
(form cost 2500/- by hand 2600/- by post)
30th November 2010, 02:32 PM
mini rani

hi!

There are 2 ways in which you can join merchant navy:
1.direct entry after 12th
2. job in merchant navy after doing BE course

Direct entry after 12th:
Direct entry to Merchant Navy is also possible. Students who have completed their 12th with PCM (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics) are eligible to join as Deck Cadets. Direct entry Deck Cadets are required to undergo basic pre-sea training arranged by the recruiting company itself.

Job in merchant navy after doing BE course:
Candidates wishing to enter the navigational and engineering fields of Merchant Navy need to complete a Bachelors degree in Nautical Science or Marine engineering, before they can gain admission to the field.

Educational qualification: The minimum eligibility for courses in Nautical science and Marine engineering is 10+2 or an equivalent examination with physics, chemistry and mathematics. He should also pass a medical fitness test for sea service under standard norms and with eyesight 6/6 with no colour blindness.
10th December 2010, 10:46 AM

Course for entrance exam of merchant navy
11th December 2010, 02:55 AM
kvrob139

There are two ways by whicg you can join Merchant Navy:

Alternative 1

Candidates with 10+2 (PCM), age up to 25 years, appear for IIT/JEE. Success in IIT/JEE, permits candidates to be selected and they can do either:

a) Nautical Officer – 3 year B.Sc. (Natural Sciences). The candidate should be physically fit (as per Merchant Shipping Rules) 6/6 vision, unimpaired color vision.

b) Engineer Officer – 4 year Marine Engineering degree course. Candidate should be physically fit as per Merchant Shipping Rules.

On successful completion of training they apply to join a shipping company. Shipping companies also approach candidates while under training and recruit them directly.

Alternative 2: One Year IMU Pre-sea course

a) Nautical Officer - The candidate should be physically fit (as per the Merchant Shipping (MS) Rules). Eligibility 10+2 (PCM) 55% and English 50%, should qualify in the IMU entrance exam, or B.Sc. (PCM) 50%, or BE age 25 years with 6/6 vision in both eyes & unimpaired colour vision. Age relaxable by 5 years for SC/ST category applicants and 2 years for girl cadets. Approved one year Pre-Sea training is provided before posting them on board the ship. Please consult www.nipm.tn.nic.in/ or contact [email protected] for further details.

b) Engineer Officers - For Junior Marine Engineers, SCI recruits B.E (Mechanical/Naval Architecture). Please consult the specific advertisements for eligibility criteria for direct recruitment.
11th December 2010, 02:52 PM

can i join merchant navy after btech
12th December 2010, 09:31 PM

i'm doing my 12th right now. how can i join merchant navy? what are the risks associated with this career???? sir please tell me......... .
13th December 2010, 11:16 PM

can i have better engeenering institutes for m.e. If i failed to compete i.i.t
15th December 2010, 12:44 PM

can i join merchant navy with PCM 50% in 2
2nd January 2011, 10:41 AM
rahibhargava

Angry Re: Merchant navy joining tips after 12th with PCM

.................................................. ....................
2nd January 2011, 10:49 AM
rahibhargava

what is starting salary in merchant navy...........
2nd January 2011, 11:22 AM

I m doing 12th & in april exm will be over & after that i want to join marchant navy what can i do plz tell me
16th January 2011, 05:41 PM

I have completed 2 science with 71%, I want to join in Marchant Navy. please sir guide me to join
in And how can I get the salary? How many salary salary I can get ? how much money needed to join in?
20th January 2011, 10:24 PM

i have completed 10 2 in ART with38% i want to join in marchant navy .plese sir guide me to join andhow can iget the salary?
how needed to join in?
24th January 2011, 08:03 PM

can i join merchant navy with PCM 55% in 2
25th January 2011, 09:55 AM

is it possible to join marine engg. after depioma
17th February 2011, 03:50 PM

Most be respectfully I beg to state that I am FresherCrew (GP-III) in Pakistan Marine Academy. I am young, energetic and keen to learn new things.I have good organisational
I need crew job New thinking and new enthusiasm in the company will work with maximum efficiency and will try to show I like hard working 16hours on board.
please consider my request my contact: 923452153186, 922134827802,
E-Mail: [email protected]
23rd February 2011, 10:07 PM

for merchant navy u need to contact imu(indian maritime university) for entrance test forms will be out in end of march or april after u clear imu entrance test visit dg shipping website and see dat which institutes are recognised
best course in merchant navy is diploma in nautical science leads to obtain bsc degree.......for dis entrance test u need to score minimum 55%in pcm average...............only after dat u can join for dis course....................
19th March 2011, 04:27 PM

when is imu entrance exams? where can i get the forms?
9th April 2011, 06:25 PM

i'm 12th passed with 85% marks in p.c.m., i'm so energetic and wanted to join indian navy from 6th std... I'm girl and trying hard to be a member of indian navy... What i've to do to make it true...?
14th April 2011, 01:32 PM

I have completed 12 with 55% in PCM and 56% in english. I want to join merchant navy, am i eligible for bsc nautical science course.

please reply me....
15th April 2011, 01:59 AM

the criteria which are required to joining Merchant navy is given below

1.12th with PCM combination.

2.minimum 60% marks in 12th.

3.minimum 50% marks in English.

4. Maximum age limit 21 years.

all the best......
16th April 2011, 02:09 PM

Sir,is it still possibli to be recruited as a deck cadet by a company itself???if yes then please explain..thank you.
16th April 2011, 08:37 PM

sir please give any tip to join and which website we get form because we do only job
18th May 2011, 02:44 PM

upto how many years girls can do job after joining?
20th May 2011, 07:51 PM

Sir, i have 54.5% in pcm and 70% in english can i join for Bsc nautical science.
27th May 2011, 09:31 PM

sir tell me how can i join direct ship without doing merchant navy ?will it possible that any company higher me without any course and they trained me 4 that
28th May 2011, 11:16 AM

sir, i have 57% in pcm & 64% overall . i got 74 marks in english . so pls tell me m i eligible for marine engg. in colleges like tolani maritime universuty , seahorseacademy, vels university, etc. i have specs too with -1 eyesight. so pls rply soon ?????? its urgent!!!!!
28th May 2011, 08:32 PM

sir i want job in ,merchant navy it is my dream i pass 12th with 53.33% ,my english is better ,english mark is 74 my id [email protected]
24th June 2011, 04:36 PM

i want to know about medical test for deck cadets & my id is [email protected]
24th June 2011, 04:41 PM

i want to join bsc nautical science
18th July 2011, 04:29 PM

i want to join merchant navy as a cadet.when add will advertise in newspaper.mahroze kayani
16th August 2011, 09:48 AM

HOW CAN I DIRECT ENTRY DECK CADET AFTER 12TH PCM 48% UNDER INDIAN SHIP COMPANY
3rd December 2011, 08:50 PM

i hve completed my 2 medical in PCB stream i wanna to know - are some other braches in navy that are too open for medical students????
4th December 2011, 12:12 AM
jxsab

Cool Re: Merchant navy joining tips after 12th with PCM

Hey friend,

Merchant Navy is a non-combat commercial fleet.The import and export business done by Government and other private companies are done with favor of Merchant Navy.It is a transportation of vessels,cargo's,tankers and heavy vehicles

For joining in Merchant Navy,you must have do the following courses:

• B.E Marine Engineering
• M.E Marine Engineering
• B.sc Nautical Science

There are certain eligibility criteria for joining in these courses and they are:

B.E Marine Engineering:

The duration for this course is 4 years

The candidate must have completed respected +2 with Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and English as subjects.

B.sc Nautical Science:

The duration for this course is 3 years

The candidate must have completed respected +2 with Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and English with a fair percentage.

M.E Marine Engineering:

The duration for this course is 2 years

Candidate must have completed B.E Marine Engineering with a fair percentage

As you have finished our +2 with PCM you can easily apply for B.E Marine and B.sc nautical Science course.

ALL THE BEST
4th December 2011, 03:09 AM
tejesh_09

After 12th you can join Merchant Navy by appearing through entrance examination i.e. All India Merchant Navy Entrance Test usually held in December.

You should have Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics in 12th with 60% marks to appear for Merchant Navy test and within age group of 21 years.
28th December 2011, 07:28 PM

WHAYT IS AGE JOINING THE INDIAN NAVY
31st January 2012, 04:15 PM
drurv

Job in merchant navy after doing BE course:
Candidates wishing to enter the navigational and engineering fields of Merchant Navy need to complete a Bachelors degree in Nautical Science or Marine engineering, before they can gain admission to the field.
Educational qualification: The minimum eligibility for courses in Nautical science and Marine engineering is 10+2 or an equivalent examination with physics, chemistry and mathematics. He should also pass a medical fitness test for sea service under standard norms and with eyesight 6/6 with no colour blindness.
19th February 2012, 09:59 AM

I am doing my b.e degree after finishing that course i want to study
merchant navy is it possible ! ? ?
12th April 2012, 06:48 PM

if you have passed or about to pass your 12th with 60% in pcm you are eligible to join marine engineering.for further details contact on 9699597637
13th April 2012, 06:24 PM
maya_sarabhai

Dear Guest,

No, You are not eligible for the Post of Marchant Navy because You are doing B.tech with Computer Science(CS) Though you have Completed Your Inter with Physics,Maths and Chemistry you are not eligible for this Marchant Navy..

Details of Marchant Navy:

->Merchant Navy plays an important role of international trade,carrying cargo across the world.
->Merchant Navy is a non-combatant commercial fleet,which deals with the:
-Transporting cargo
-And Transporting passengers by sea.
-> 90% of the world’s cargo is transported through ships and shipping is by far the cheapest and cleanest mode of transportation of goods.
->Good sounding Salary Packages are giving to these job holders.

->You must be an Indian.
->You should be completed atleast one from following courses:
B.E Marine Engineering,B.Sc Nautical Science Or M.E Marine Engineering
->Min.of 60% is required in your Inter(Maths,Physics,Chemistry)
->You should be Unmarried Male/Female.
18th April 2012, 08:08 PM

I doing a study in pune in 12th.plz give me college name in pune for admission ???
19th May 2012, 12:50 PM

i am a bio student $ 12 passed last year with 64% i would like to become an merchant navy office , so please tell me if there is any good course for 6 month / 1 year
then reply
29th May 2012, 11:38 PM

i am a bio student , 2 passed in the last year with 63%. i would like to join in merchent navy.....
please help me sir.......
3rd June 2012, 07:50 PM

sir, i have passed matric examz recently can i join merchant plz guide me
1st July 2012, 08:57 PM

should i joind Tha marchant navy with 2 54% pased and i belond to sc cast
8th August 2012, 12:27 AM

Originally Posted by subho19 View Post
Firstly i want to say that please give focus on your 12th exem.
And also solve some Analytical & logical reasoning and clear your concept of all science related subjects...
Sir i'm also doing my 12th cls I'm from punjab Nd I'm good in my studies with PCM I realy want to set my career in marchent navy After 12th how can i get job in merchant navy My close friend is also doing this job as a electrical en. Bt i feel shy to ask him any question Plz sir help me Bcz its my dream