3rd June 2013, 11:44 PM

What is the minimum eligibility to write IAS exam?

i want to know the minimum eligibity to write IAS exam...eligibity to write ias exam

4th June 2013, 08:58 AM

Default Re: What is the minimum eligibility to write IAS exam?

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service and to become an IAS officer, one has to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Exam conducted every year by UPSC.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
4th June 2013, 09:44 AM
Shaenma

i want to know the minimum eligibity to write IAS exam...eligibity to write ias exam
IAS Exam Details:-

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Services. This exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. There are three All India Civil Service exams-Indian Administrative Service, Indian Foreign Service and Indian Police Service, out of which IAS happens to be one of them.

It should be remembered that if you are already working with the Indian Administrative Services or Indian Forest Service on the basis of an earlier examination and you are still a member of that service then you wont be allowed to sit for this examination.

Eligibility:-

## You need to be a citizen of India.

## You need to be a graduate in any discipline from a recognized university.

## If you are in the final year of your degree course then also you can apply for the preliminary exam. However if you get selected to give the Main exam then you will have to show your mark sheets then.

## Your age should not be less than 21 years old when applying for this exam. This is binding on all categories.

## The upper age limit for the general category candidates is 30 years.

## The upper age limit may be relaxed in the following cases:

~SC/ST Candidates: 5 years
~OBC Candidates: 3 years
~Ex-Servicemen: 5 years
~Defense Services Personnel: 3 years
~PWD Candidates: 10 years

Number of attempts:-
  • General Category Candidates: 4 attempts
  • OBC Candidates: 7 attempts
  • SC/ST Candidates: No restrictions

Selection Procedure:-

The Civil Services Examination is conducted in 3 stages. They are as follows:-
  • Stage I- Preliminary Examination
  • Stage II- Main Examination
  • Stage III- Interview

The preliminary exam basically is like a screen test which helps in shortlisting candidates for the main examination. For this exam there will be two papers and mainly objective questions will come in this exam. 200 marks have been allotted for each paper. You will be given two hours to complete the whole paper.

The main examination will consists of mainly essay type questions and there will be seven papers in total. The marks allotted for this exam is 1800 and the whole paper needs to be completed in three hours. Paper can be answered in either English or Hindi. For the interview session 275 marks have been allotted and will be added with the Main Examination marks.

Hope this helps :-> :->
4th June 2013, 11:22 AM

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Services .IAS exam is conducted by UPSC. There are some criteria you have to follow for appearing in IAS exam.This exam is conduct through Civil Service Exam .

Graduation Degree in any stream from a recognized university are applicable for IPS Exam, the final year students also eligible for applying preliminary examination

Your age should be Minimum 21 years and Maximum 30 years .Age relaxation for OBC candidate is 3years and for SC/ST candidate .

The maximum no of attempts for Sc/ST candidate is Unlimited. For OBC candidate it is 7 years and for general candidate it will be 5 years.

List of the Optional subject for IAS Exam:-

Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
History
law
Management
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science and International Relations
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Sciences
Anthropology
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce and Accounting

The list of Mains exams are given below-

Best Books for IAS Exam

UPSC CSAT Civil Services Aptitude Test Syllabus Preliminary & Main
by
R. Gupta's
Publisher: Ramesh Publishing House

UPSC Syllabus Civil Services Examinations
Publisher: Student Aid Publications

CSAT Conceptual Approach (Paper - 2
by
P. N. Roy Chowdhury
Publisher: Pearson

Selection process of this exam are - Preliminary exam ,Mains exam and Personal Interview .Preliminary section contain MCQ type question but in Mains exam , there is descriptive type papers .

IAS Exam notification is already over for this year because Last date of Receipt of Application by post is 04.03.2013 .So you can wait for one year more .

For On-line application click on the link www.upsconline.nic.in

For more details about IAS exam please visit to www.upsc.gov.in
4th June 2013, 12:11 PM
josh98

Hi friend......

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

This exam conducted by Union Public Service Commission once in a year.

This exam is civil service examination.

Educational Qualification:

You should complete the Graduation from any recognized University with any stream.

There is no percentage required for this exam.

Final year pursuing candidates are eligible for this exam.

Age limit:

Your min age limit is 21 years.

Your max age limit is 30 years.

Relaxation:

3 years upper age relaxation for OBC candidates.

5 years upper age relaxation for SC\ST candidates.

10 years upper age relaxation for PH candidates.

Nationality:

You should be origin of India.

No of Attempts:

General - 4 times

OBC - 7 times

SC\ST - No limit

Selection Process:

Preliminary Exam

Main Exam

Interview

All the best.......
4th June 2013, 02:11 PM

Civil Services Exam is conducted by UPSC and only Graduates in any discipline can apply for this examination.

So get admission into Graduation and complete it with good marks and also do your preparation according to the syllabus along with the Graduation.

Age Limit:

General Category - 21 to 30 years

OBC Category - 21 to 33 years

SC/ST Category - 21 to 35 years

Selection Criteria:

It will be based on merit and you have to perform very well in the following stages.

-Preliminary Exam

-Mains Exam

-Personal Interview

Number of Attempts Allowed:

General Category - 4 attempts

OBC Category - 7 attempts

SC/ST Category - No Limit

For more information visit http://www.upsc.gov.in

4th June 2013, 02:21 PM

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

IAS exam conducted by the UPSC(Union Public Service Commission) once in a year.

Eligibility criteria:-

Educational qualification:-

Graduation in any stream from a recognised university.

Final year graduation candidates are also eligible.

Percentage is not important.

Nationality:-

Candidate should be a citizen of India.

Age criteria:-

Minimum age limit: 21 years,

Maximum age limit: 30 years.

Relaxation:

Three years relaxation for OBC category candidates,

Five years relaxation for SC/ST category candidates.

Selection procedure:-

-->Civil Services Preliminary Examination,

-->Civil Services Mains Examination,

-->Personal Interview.

Number of attempts:-

4 times for General candidates,

7 times for OBC candidates,

No limit for SC/ST candidates.

List of optional subjects:-

Agriculture,

Animal husbandry and Veterinary science,

Anthropology,

Botany,

Chemistry,

Civil Engineering,

Commerce and Accountancy,

Economics,

Electrical engineering,

Geography,

Geology,

History,

Law,

Management,

Mathematics,

Mechanical engineering,

Medical science,

Philosophy,

Physics,

Political science,

Public administration,

Psychology,

Sociology,

Statistics,

Zoology.

More details visit below website
www.upsc.gov.in

4th June 2013, 03:11 PM
sohangoriya

Dear friend IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service.

IAS exam under Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

The minimum eligible to write IAS exam are:-

Candidate should be an Indian .

Candidate must have competes Graduation Degree in any stream from a recognised
University.

Age limit is 21 to 30 years for General category candidates.

Age relaxation for OBC category candidates 3 years and SC/ST category candidates 5
years.

Other information you may log on to - http://www.upsc.gov.in

All the best......
4th June 2013, 03:22 PM
sherleytwain

The selection of Indian Administrative Service officers is done through Civil Services Examination. You can appear for it with graduation degree. If you have not completed graduation, you are not eligible for this entrance exam.

The exam is conducted in two stages of written tests. First is preliminary exam and second is Main exam. You will first have to clear preliminary exam where you are going to give 2 written tests.

These two tests will determine whether you can appear for the main exam or not. If your name appears in the list of candidates who cleared this exam then you will be called for the Main exam.

You will have to give 9 written tests in main exam. The total in these exams will be your final score. Please remember that preliminary exam's score will not be added to the final tally.

IAS Eligibility

1. Nationality: Only candidates from India can appear.

2. Qualification: You should at least have bachelor degree.

3. Percentage: There is no criteria for minimum percentage in graduation.

4. Age Limit: Apply only if you belong to age group of 21 to 30 years.

5. Relaxation: Upper age limit is extended to 33 years for OBC.

6. Relaxation: It is extended to 35 years for SC/ST.

7. Physical Criteria: No requirement for IAS.

Selection Process

1. Preliminary

2. Main Exam

3. Personal Interview

Number of Attempts

1. OBC: There are seven attempts.

2. General: 4 attempts are given.

3. SC/ST. No limit on appearances.
4th June 2013, 05:03 PM
a k 47

Eligibility for IAS -
Age Limit for IAS exams (civil services) -
Maximum:21 years
MINIMUM:30 yeras

Other Backward Classes (OBC):33 years.

Scheduled Castes / Scheduled Tribes:35 years.

blind, deaf-mute and orthopaedically handicapped persons:40 years.

Educational Qualification
>The candidate must hold any degree in any discipline from any recongnized university

>Final year degree students who will obtain degree by August 1, 2013 are also eligible for CSAT 2013

>The degree can be of any class (distinction, first, second etc.)

>Degree obtained by distance education/open university is also eligible if the university is a recognized university.

Number of attempts permitted:

General Category: 4

OBC: 7

Physically Handicapped: 7

SC & ST: No limit on number of attempts
4th June 2013, 06:51 PM
M.PRUDHVI RAJ

Hai Friend,

The minimum eligibility criteria to write the Civils exam is Degree.

Once you complete your degree,then you are eligible for the IAS exam.

So, First you complete your Degree.

In order to become an IAS officer,first of all you need to crack civil services exam.

UPSC conducts this exam yearly once for the posts like IAS,IPS,IFS etc

Selection procedure for IAS officer:-

1)CSAT(Civil Services Aptitude Test)
2)Main examination
3)Interview

Eligibility criteria:-

1)Candidate should be the citizen of India
2)Age limit is 21-30 years,relaxation will be there for OBC,ST,SC candidates
3)Maximum number of attempts are allowed for general category candidates is 4 times ,for OBCs 7 times and there is no limit for SC,ST candidates
4)Minimum qualification required is graduation,final year candidates are also eligible

Syllabus for CSAT 2013:-

You can get the syllabus for CSAT exam through the given link:-

http://www.csat.testbag.com/exam-analysis.php?tp=1&eid=CSAT&val=CSAT-Syllabus.

So, prepare well.

4th June 2013, 06:54 PM
sumansin

IAS - Indian Administrative Service. It's is a very reputed post of government job. IAS exam conduct by Union Public Service Commision every year.

To write IAS exam you must have graduate degree in any stream from recognised university.

Age should be minimum 21 and maximum 30 years for general categories.
Relaxation for obc is 3 year and for sc/st is 5 year.

In IAS exam only four attempts for general,for obc 7 attempts and no limit for sc/st.

IAS exam conduct in three mode- Prilims exam, Main exam and Interview.

IAS Coaching Centers in India-

NEW VISION IAS ACADEMY
Address: Dinanath Junior college & High School,Dhantoli Nagpur, Maharashtra 440024
Phone: 09623466180

CHANAKYA IAS ACADEMY
Address: Opposite Venketshwar College 124, Second Floor, Satya Niketan,, New Delhi, Delhi 110021
Phoe: 011 2760 7721

ABLAZE IAS ACADEMY
Address: SCO 154 SECTOR 24-D (Entry Back Side), Near Sector 24 Police station Chandigarh, 160017
Phone: 097 79190222

Bhartiyam's IAS Study Point
Address: Punjab University, Sector 33 D Chandigarh, 160020
Phone: 0172 3296916

Aptitude
Address: SCO 216, Top Floor, Sector 36 D Chandigarh, 160036
Phone: 09915818888

IAS Study Circle
Address: Sco-67 Sector-32c Chandigarh
Phone: 0172 2620465

Rajasthan Judicial Services
Address: Sri Gopal Nagar, Block-A Jaipur, Rajasthan 302018
Phone: 09314588777

Abhimanu's IAS Study Group
Address: S C O 146, Ut India Sector 24-D, Chandigarh, 160023
Phone: 0172 2723044

Parinathi Labs
Address: #19, 3rd Floor, Amar Plaza, Near Christ College, Krishna Nagar, Hosur Road, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560029
Phone: 09449969899

Bharat IAS and KAS coaching center
Address: 1/1, 3rd floor trinity building, opp. new shanthi sagar R.T.Nagar, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560032
Phone: 09901006910

DISHA IAS
Address: 2, a ,cement road,karanpur,near-DAV college, Dehradun, Uttarakhand 248001
Phone: 09997773990

Panacea Bharti Institute
Address: SCF 26-27 I, Sarabha Nagar Ludhiana, Punjab 141001

IMPACT IAS ACADEMY
Address: 13/99, 6th St, A E Block, Anna Nagar, Chennai, Tamil Nadu Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040

INDIAN IAS ACADEMY
Address: 404/4, Kamadhenu Apartments,2nd Avenue,Anna Nagar,Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040

CATALYST IAS ACADEMY
Address: W /102, #1, 2nd Avenue (Near Shaw Electronics),Near Roundtana, Anna Nagar (West),Chennai, Tamil Nadu 600040
Conatct: 044 2621 3222

ILS 4 IAS JAIPUR
Address: Apex Mall
Lal Kothi, Vidhayak Nagar, Lalkothi, Jaipur, Rajasthan 302001
Conatct: 09251787201

Ujjwal IAS Academy
Address: B-18 (T.F.) Satija House Mukherjee Nagar Delhi - 110009
New Delhi, Delhi 110009
Conatct: 09213389333
4th June 2013, 06:59 PM
vuda divya

To write ICS examinations conducted by UPSC, certain prerequisites are needed.

Citizenship: The applicant must be an Indian.

Age: He/She must be above 21- but below 30 years on August 31 of the examination year.

Relaxation of Age:
For SC/ST- upto 35 years (5 years relaxation). They can apply until 35 years of age.
For OBC- upto 33 years (3 years relaxation) can apply until 33 years of age.
For Ex-serviceman upto 35 years (5 years relaxation) can apply upto 35 years.
Note: For age proof only Matriculation Certificate or Higher Secondary Certificate will be accepted.

Minimum educational qualification:
The applicant should be anUndergraduate from any recognized university. Those who have taken the final year examinations can apply. However, they must have obtained the degree before the commencement of the main examination. Professional degree holders like MBBS/BDS/BE., can also apply.

The number of times to appear:
It is appreciable to pass the IAS examinations in the first attempt. Great things can be accomplished by joining service at a young age. However, the applicants are permitted to write four times, and the OBC candidates can write seven times.

The SC/ST candidates can write several times until they complete 35 years. They have to avail of every opportunity appropriately. Participating in the preliminary examination or appearing for just one paper is considered as an attempt. Hence, it is better not to write the examination if you are not prepared for it.

Physical standards:

The height for IAS or IPS service is for male 165 cm, for female 150 cm.
For SC/ST Male 160 cm, female 145 cm.
Normal chest size for male�84 cm, female�70 cm, and must have minimum expansion, 5cm
Physically handicapped persons cannot become IPS, but they can join IAS/IRS/IAAS.

Fees: There is no heavy fees for this. It is enough to pay just Rs.50/-. SC/ST candidates need not pay the fees [/COLOR]
4th June 2013, 07:01 PM
vuda divya

There is no specific exam as IAS entrance exam.

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service and to become an IAS officer one has to crack Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

Minimum Qualification for IAS, Civil Service Exam:-

-The eligible candidate must be an Indian National.
-Should have either appeared for the final Graduation Degree exam or passed in any stream from a recognised University.
-Should be within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

With the above minimum qualification an eligible candidate on application for Civil Service Exam, is called for a Preliminary exam also called as CSAT(Civil Service Aptitude Test) followed by Civil Service Main Exam and the eligible candidate for IAS has been selected finally through Personal Interview.
4th June 2013, 07:02 PM
vuda divya

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service exam is conducted under Civil Service Examination by the Union Public Service Commission.....

Educational Qualification :

~~> A candidate must have completed their Graduation Study in any Discipline from Recognized Universities are eligible for Indian Administrative Service exam , final years students of graduation degree are also eligible for this exam , there is no percentage criteria.......

Age Limit :

~~>General category student:- 21-30 years...

~~>OBC relaxation in upper age +3 years...

~~>SC/ST relaxation in upper age +5 years...

No. Attempt:

~~>General - max. 4

~~>OBC - max. 7.

~~>SC/ST - No limit.

Exam Pattern:

The exam have three stages:

~~>Prelim Exam

~~>Main Exam

~~>Personal Interview
4th June 2013, 07:05 PM
vuda divya

I would like to draw your kind attention that IAS exam conducted under civil service examination by the union public service commission.

Eligibility for IAS Exams: The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India.

Age Limits :A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years

No of Attempts:

4 attempts for General Candidates.

7 attempts for OBC Candidates.

No limit of attempts for SC/ST candidates.

Application Fee;The candidates are required to pay fee of Rs. 100/- (Rupees Hundred only)

4th June 2013, 07:06 PM
vuda divya

Candidates for Indian Administrative Service are selected through the Civil Services Examination. Apart from IAS, this exam is also conducted for Indian Police Service as well Indian Forest Service.

The candidate should be graduate to appear for Civil Services Examination for Indian Administrative Service. You are free to select the course for yourself however please ensure it is completed from a recognized college.

The Civil Services Exam is conducted in two stages. First stage is conducted in May however to appear for it you will have to apply for the exam. The registration is done during the first quarter of the year.

Those who manages to pass the first stage known as Preliminary exam are called for the second stage in August. Main examination is the second stage of written exam which is followed by personal interview.

Eligibility

1. Nationality: Indian citizen only.

2. Qualification: Minimum of bachelor degree.

3. Marks: No criteria.

4. Lower Age: You should be at least 21 years old to appear for exam.

5. Upper Age: General category candidate can not appear after 30 years.

6. OBC Relaxation: No more than 3 years in upper age limit.

7. SC/ST Relaxation: 35 years is the limit.

Selection Process

1. Preliminary Exam

2. Main Exam

3. Interview
4th June 2013, 08:02 PM
apes sharma

The minimum eligibility for I.A.S exam is Graduation . U must first be graduate to be a candidate of this exam. It doesn't matter you are graduate in which stream.
4th June 2013, 10:08 PM
Dharm27

Dear Aspirant,

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service Examination this exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission under the Civil Service Examination every year......

This exam has two stages in which you have to passed out with good score 1). Preliminary Exam and 2). Main Examination.......

For the preliminary exam a candidate have to choose 1 optional Subject while for the Main Exam a candidate can choose 2 optional Subjects.......

IAS Exam is conducted who are aspiring to join Government Sector like to be a Governor or any other Government post.....

This exam consists the question of General English, General Knowledge, Reasoning ability, History, Maths etc.....

This exam has a three phase:-

1. Preliminary Exam

2. Main Exam and

3. Personal Interview

Exam Pattern:-

Eligibility and Criteria:-

## A candidate must have secure at least Graduation degree in any field....

## Final year of candidate can also apply for the same...

## Age of candidate should be between 21 to 30 years....

## For OBC category it should be between 21 to 33 years.....

## For SC/ST category it should be between 21 to 35 years.....

Attempt Limit:-

$$ General - max. 4 times

$$ OBC - Max. 7 Times

$$ SC/ST - No Limit

With Regards.......
Dharm
5th June 2013, 07:18 PM
nellipudi.santhoshkumar

hai,
IAS stands Indian Administration Service.IAS recruit by Civil Examination which is conducted by UPSC.

Nationality : -

** You should be a citizen of India

Educational qualification:-

**The candidate should be complete any graduation from a recognised university.

**Final year appearing candidates can also be eligible.

Age Limit : -

** Your age should between 21 to 30 years, age relaxation as under

For SC/ST 5 years relaxation

For OBC 3 years relaxation

No.of Attempts:

**4 attempts for General Candidates

**7 attempts for OBC Candidates

**No limit for SC/ST Candidates.

IAS Entrance exam Selection Process :

Preliminary Examination
Main Examination
Interview

all the best.........