List of Postgraduate Courses in English Literature

The literature that is written down in the English language is called as English Literature. Literature can be of many forms. It includes poetry, essays, plays, stories, novelettes and plays. In India, English is the most common language read and written after Hindi.  There are numerous universities as well as colleges in India that provides students with postgraduate courses in English Literature. The basic qualification needed to join this course is a graduate degree in the related subject.

List of Postgraduate Courses

• Master of Arts in English Language
  • Master of Arts in English Literature
  • PhD in English Literature
  • Postgraduate Diploma in English Literature
  • Master of Philosophy in English Literature

Career Prospects

There are numerous job opportunities available for students who have finished their program in English literature. They can find employment as translators with both the private as well as the public sector. Even foreign embassies hire students of English literature as their interpreters. It is also possible for students to find jobs as online content writers as well as decoders. They can also get jobs with entertainment fields, mass communication, Knowledge Process Outsourcing and Business Process Outsourcing. Moreover, students can also pursue a career as Teachers or Lecturers in Schools and Colleges in addition to Universities. The salary of students in this field is based upon their qualification and the type of the company that hires them. Language interpreters of this field may earn as much as Rs 300 - Rs 500 an hour. Teachers of this field may earn approximately Rs 10,000 to Rs 20,000 a month. Depending on their experience and skill, they will be able to earn more. Those who are employed in the tourism and travel industry can make as much as Rs 15,000 to Rs 20,000 each month. The pay scale for English graduates who are employed in publishing and media houses are different too.

8 Responses to “List of Postgraduate Courses in English Literature”

1. 8
    dhanalakshmi thiyagarajan:

what are the procedures to join M.A.English in JUN,Delhi?

2. 7
    madhu:

CAN I attend exam in two sub at same time in MA ALLD UNI

3. 6
    Kaveri Mondal:

After finished my MA in English what can i do for job .

4. 5
    nidhi:

i have a query i am a graduate bt i dnt hold an inter certificate i want to do diploma in english lit can u guide me how is it possible

5. 4
    sarvesh joshi:

do we get packages in english literature?

6. 3
    kavibalan:

sir i have do it MA ENGLISH . i am prepar for M PHIL entrcnce exam. please give me any other metrieal

7. 2
    louanne:

i am a graduate from B.com Accounting & Finance but my interest and skills lie in the field of literature. i have many certificates and my forum and college magazines to prove that. i scored 81.67% in my 5th semester Board Exam and am now awaiting my 6th semester Board Exam results due in June. now i need to pursue further studies in literature. please suggest ASAP.

8. 1
    souranjan:

I got 60% in english lit. from IGNOU and I am 40 years working in Public Sec. Kindly confirm about further study preferably Part time and oblige.

Souranjan Bhattacharya