How to join the Customs department?

The Central Board of Excise and Customs is a governmental body, which is a part of Revenue department under Finance Ministry. The Customs department basically deals with the levy of taxable goods imported to the Country. They are also responsible to generate policies and procedures regarding customs. The department offers a lot of lucrative career options to aspirants. The education requirement for each job designation may vary according to the nature and the duties assigned with the job. The prestigious job offers good remuneration packages and better amenities to the employees. The employees of the department can expect good career growth also.

Who are eligible to join the Customs Department?

The educational qualification required is different for different job positions. However, graduates can apply for most of the senior job profiles in the department. The admission to senior level job positions such as Superintendent, Preventive Officers of Customs etc are done through certain competitive test conducted by UPSC and SSC. The written test for selection of Superintendent is carried out by UPSC where as that for Preventive Officers is carried out by Staff Selection Commission. Those who clear the IRS Exam conducted by UPSC can join the high-grade post of Assistant Commissioner of Customs.

For appearing these exams, the candidate should possess at least 50% marks in graduation. Those who have passed 12th class can apply for the post of lower division clerks within the department. The aspirants who have passed 7th class can apply for the position of Constables. The recruitment for this post is carried out directly by the department.

Career Opportunities in Customs Department

The Custom department offers job opportunities to those below matriculation up to any higher qualifications. Those below matriculation can apply to the post of Constables in Customs. They are selected through written test carried out by the department itself. They will be promoted to the post of head constable with experience and service. Customs Officer, Superintendent, Customs Preventive Officers etc are other relevant post in the department. Selection to this post is done through written exams and interview carried out by UPSC and SSC. Assistant Commissioner of Customs is another lucrative job position in the sector. The career graph in general is mentioned here

• Probationers
  • Assistant Commissioners (Customs)
  • Deputy Commissioners (Customs)
  • Additional Commissioners (Customs)
  • Commissioners (Customs)
  • Member (Central Board of Excise and Customs)
  • Chairman (Central Board of Excise and Customs)

The department offers great opportunities to the employees to build up their career. Though the jobs in Customs offer certain challenges, the employees are also offered with goods perks and better amenities.

66 Responses to “How to join the Customs department?”

1. 66
    R.Pandi .mohan:

I am know studying B-Tech(IT)final year..I would like to join customs officer what can i do for that….?

2. 65
    riti:

i pursuing B COM final year and also i m a student of CMA pursing that cn i join the custom departmemt for my better improvment and career

3. 64
    Nitin sharma:

sir i want ask you that how will be private custom department for my future and can it beneficial to me for go to in government custom department?

4. 63
    Nitin sharma:

sir I want ask you that if i works in private custom deparment can it beneficial to me for go to in government custom department.
    Plz sir rply me.

5. 62
    sachin patel:

please give me information about career in excise dpt. and how can applied for this.
    please also give exam details for entrance in excise dpt. for career opportunity.

6. 61
    Rohit sharma:

please call me in custom….. please

7. 60
    Kadam Narayan:

Sir I am recruited in central reserv police force ( CRPF ) and now depuation with Immgration (BOI ) . I am 12th class pass , I am intrested for custam duty. Please guid me How to apply for custom department

8. 59
    kalaivani:

Any diploma course realating to customs should be necessary to join central excise.and if necessary what course wil be required for doing central excise and want to know best institution?

9. 58
    dillibabu:

How can i applied and career improvement

10. 57
    rajesh kumar r:

hai sir, full involment custom department ple help sir.

11. 56
    rajesh kumar r:

i am join customs department

12. 55
    sandesh advilkar:

I have passed my B.Sc(IT). , i.e. 2011 and am doing job now in CHA . I would like to join Customs as preventive Officer.

13. 54
    Shirley James:

I have passed my B.Com. 79% this year, i.e. 2013 and am doing now CA article ship. I would like to join Customs as preventive Officer.

14. 53
    Surendra paliwal:

Dear sir/madam
    i am intrested in custum department ’s job for any post i am b.com grejuate nd c.a.final student plz send me for vacancy in this dept.

15. 52
    jinson:

i am plus two computer science student ? Wht course i have to join after plus two? For eligible for join indian customs!

16. 51
    kushan:

Dear sir/madam

i’m kushan rathnayake.I haven’t job.I like to joing a coustom dipartment.but I haven’t helps.plese help me sir/madam.plese giveme a little job plese.this’s my e-mail addras [email protected] plese reply to me.. thanku.

17. 50
    Prajith p s:

i am prajith,i am12 standard boy. I want to join in airport custos officer.After my 12th standard education,what can i do for it?

18. 49
    sanjay Lamba:

Sir i am an exservice men from Indian Navy. can you guide me how i can join custom dept.

19. 48
    thabrez Ahamed:

When will be the entrance exam conducted

20. 47
    N.Naveen kumar:

. sir,madam
    . I am finished diploma EEE I want to join customs department plz help me sir

21. 46
    Naveen Kumar.N:

. I am finished diploma EEE I am going to join customs department plz help. me sir

22. 45
    thanga pandiyan:

i am BE aeronautical engineering (fresher) … how to join for the customs

23. 44
    swati:

i finished b-tech with a stream of computer science.so how can i get the job in customs. please replay me

24. 43
    shaw satyadev:

When custom department recruitment will be conducted

25. 42
    rajesh kongari:

26. 41
    GOPAL GHOSH:

27. 40
    TAMILARASU:

How to apply form of UPSC and SSC sir.

28. 39
    anurag ambawat:

tell me that 12th pass is also join the custom depatment duty

29. 38
    Pranav:

sir i had completed plus two scince. how can i join in coustoms?

30. 37
    vijayramaraju:

sir i done my btech and working in rgia airport only i am intrested to join coustoms plz give me valuble suggestions to join

31. 36
    vikas more:

sir, i have fully intersted to join in customs so please suggest to me how to join customs job. i have complete my graduation

32. 35
    mahesh raj:

hii sir i m so much interestto join in customs i have done my b.tech so how can i entered to customs department… pls give me some valuable suggestions to me

33. 34
    kanishk mehra:

when are the forms for temporary license and to act as employees for Custom house agents available?

34. 33
    nelson:

I am HSC passed student and currently pursuing my degree .
    How do i enter into customs to get a job? Please reply

35. 32
    anshu kuamr:

Sir, i am have done ITI in (Marine Fitter) and know about the marine engines and on board equipments.how i may joine you?

36. 31
    naveenkumar m:

how can i get a job in customs department…i have finished ug ad pg degree with above 55%

37. 30
    Ashok ram yadav:

sir i completed my graduation. i wat to join in cuctoms department. please give an idea or a way to know about it fully

38. 29
    ARUN PRASAD.S:

Respected sir/madam
    I have completed my MIB(MASTER OF INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS) in first class , which official website i must see for job opportunity in custom’s department.

39. 28
    sunil:

i complete my graduation in commerce. can i join custom department ??????

40. 27
    dkumar:

sir, i want to join custam officer.how to apply for this post.

41. 26
    Sikkanther Fahurdeen:

Hello Sir/ Madam,
    I have finished B.com graduation and doing MBA in correspondence,
    What kind of Exams and Opportunities are there related with Airport Authority and customs in this year 2012, Please indicate me immediate. Because i want to be a perfect airport customs officer and it is my dream.
    sikkanther

42. 25
    k.vignesh:

i am doing final year in mechanical engineering department,i want to join in the customs department (additional commissioners officer),so what can i do for that sir,i mean what i want to do for joining the customs department,i want to do any course for that or not

43. 24
    praveen kumar:

sir, i am praveen i am currently working as a helth inspector in state govt of karnataka my qualification is diploma in health inspector i want to join in customs for which post i will be eligeble please help me out

44. 23
    Arnab Mukherjee:

Dear
    Sir/Madam,
    sub: ( to be a custom officer or high level position jobin custom department)
    I am doing MBA from WBTU -( west bengal technical university )
    plzzz tell each and every things to get a job in custom department plzzz also tell what are Entrance Exam are there in Custom deparment and what are position are there plzzz tell me

45. 22
    sahil.p.a:

SUB:PROCEDURE TO BE A CUSTOMS OFFICER
    I am going to appear for b.com in a private institution under the university of calicut . What all procedures should I follow from now to get join in Indian customs department.Which is the subject I needed to be through with and extra books that I need to refer more?

46. 21
    PRAMOD SHARMA:

I had done my b.com graduation. I want to become a customs officer. Please provide me detailed information. And also give some valuable tips regarding the customs to upgrade the next senior levels.

47. 20
    dipen das:

can i joint customs department?i have done graduation with B.com (hons) 46%marks from c.u and perusing MBA from AICTE approved college.

48. 19
    PRAVEEN.A:

I had done my b.com graduation. I want to become a customs officer. Please provide me detailed information. And also give some valuable tips regarding the customs to upgrade the next senior levels.

49. 18
    priyanka saxena:

respctd sir/mam
    my question is.. what is the first step to enter in the custom departmnt.
    plsss sir its my heartly request to answer this question, bcoz i want proper guidance.
    i’ll be highly obliged of you.

50. 17
    hari:

how can i apply to customs job pls tell me….

51. 16
    L.DENI:

Respected sir/madam
    My aim to become customes officer in pondicherry, what are the procedures to develop my future, i am commerce graduate b.com (banking management), if any job in custom department so sir plz give me all the information.

52. 15
    jaydeep:

i am commerce graduate …. please tell me the process to join custom department…….

53. 14
    shashi pal:

Respected members of department
    i want to know what is the procedure of customs department for to get a job, and what when the forms of custom are Alibaba in the market or is it all online,my interest do the jobs in custom department so sir please give me the all of information .

54. 13
    Babinraj:

how to join in customs department

55. 12
    Vagh babu:

My respected sir/madam
    i want to customs officer my near very experience is customs clearing work invoice and checklist is my near full experience please sir i job apply doing i m 12 standard pass i have to apply customs officer job cleark pleas dir my help doing………….

56. 11
    Anusha:

hello sir/madam,
    i wanna join in customs..am really interested towards it…am doing my B.E computer science 2nd year..should i undergo any particular course for that????and pls do let me know the ways to join customs……i kindly request your guidence..pls help me sir…[email protected] is my email id sir….pls help me sir…

57. 10
    sakthivel:

i need wats all r to join in customs when u will issue the application

58. 9
    Bharti:

i have done M.com with 1st class and i want 2 make my career in custom duty officers so what course i should do and where will be exam held and how could i know that there is a vacancy for any custom officer,so pls help me.

59. 8
    swathi:

respected sir/madam
    im doing my mba with finance as my specialization what is the procedure for me to enter into this department and when are these exams conducted..? am i eligible ..?

60. 7
    adithya charan:

To write the civil service exam do we need to know any local language? Is there a test in the civil service exam where we have to write in a local language?

61. 6
    n.abishek:

Im abishek studying b.com (ca) 2nd yr pls guide me how to become custom officer and what are the books to prepare for customs ??

62. 5
    meena sharma:

Respected SIR/MADAM
    currently i have given my 7 semester exam in engineering(IT) n left with six months of my course till june….i want to b a part of custom department in international airport,delhi. is i am eligible to give UPSE EXAMINATION , n also refer me the best author of the books for exam

63. 4
    INDIRA .M:

What exams i written to join customs department jobs..
    Please reply must

64. 3
    Hassan Malik:

Sir i wud like to know that from were i can apply for UPSC, MPSC as well IRS exams as i have completed my Customs Clearance& Freight Forwarding course… Sir please rply need ur guidencee…..

65. 2
    K.M.Premkumar:

i finished my degree in BE.(NAVAL ARCHTCT) what posting s eligible fr me .but i want to be an perfect custom officer can i al my dreams can come true what are ways 2 follow 2 be an custom officer .

66. 1
    melferd george:

i finished diploma in computer science engineering what posting is eligible for me