PhD in Statistics, Statistics PhD

The mathematical science which is concerned with the presentation, interpretation, collection, analysis and explanation of data is known as Statistics. It is a branch of study that takes within it a broad spectrum of academic disciplines ranging from humanities to physical and social sciences. Study of statistics involves both mathematical as well as applied statistics. Applied statistics is studied under two divisions’ namely Descriptive statistics and Inferential statistics.  

For doing a PhD in Statistics, the candidate must have completed M.Stat/M.A/M.Sc or any equivalent degree in statistics with a very good academic record. The candidate must have an outstanding mathematical ability. The candidate should have completed the bachelor’s course in mathematics, statistics, science or arts but with mathematics or statistics as a compulsory subject.

Course Outlook:

PhD is a research program in statistics. The PhD course in statistics is of one year duration. There are four areas of specialization. These are biostatistics, mathematical/probability statistics, statistical modeling, and actuarial science/financial mathematics. Thesis work has to be submitted by the candidate after completion of 12 months of study of the subject. A final PhD exam has to be cleared by the candidate to get the degree.

Job Prospects:

There are immense job opportunities in statistics. The candidate can work in a wide range of industries. One can become a Psychometrist, investment analyst, cryptologist, commodities traders, financial aid director, information scientist etc. One can even get into the field of education and become a professor. The scope of research is also very wide.

Best Places to Pursue:

Indian Statistical Institute

Indian Institute Of Technology, Kanpur

University Of Mysore

Annamalai University

Vinayaka Missions University

59 Responses to “PhD in Statistics, Statistics PhD”

1. 59
    reshmi:

model question paper for phd entrance test in osmania university

2. 58
    Sita Rama swamy:

I am interested to do Phd in Statstics , what is the fee??

3. 57
    Nimisha.M:

i have done msc in statistics and now i want to do ph.d in statistics but i have no time to do it ,if there is any possibility to get dedree by part time

4. 56
    jyoti jain:

i have done m.sc in statistics and now i want to do Ph.d in statistics but i have no time to do it .if there is any possibility to get degree by just paying money

5. 55
    Snighdh Munshi:

Sir I want to do Ph.D in Statistics. I have qualified M.Sc and M.Phil in Statistics. But I have no guidline so please can u help me in this matter?

6. 54
    bello abimbola hamidu:

pls link me with universities in any english speaking africa countries that offers phd in statistics

7. 53
    Dharanidhar Baral:

I am from Nepal. I want to do Ph D in Biostatistics through distance learning/Part Time can you guide on this matter.

8. 52
    Saran raj:

respected sir/mam i am during now mphil(statistics) from st.josephs college trichy.my native place is Gandarvakottai.

9. 51
    Rahul Gupta:

I want to do Ph D in statistics through distance learning/Part Time can you guide on this matter.

I have a M.Stat degree and have an experience of 5 years.

10. 50
    Ankita srivastava:

respected sir/mam,
    i completed my M.Sc. statistics in 2011 from MAHATMA GANDHI kashi vidyapeeth university VARANASI with 76% marks and for which i had also awarded a gold medal.
    now i want to do my my phd in statistics…plz guide me that for this, which exams i hv to qualify and from which institues i can do my phd ?

11. 49
    suman:

respected sir/mam, i completed my M.A statistics from CCSHAU Hisar in 2004. now i want to start my study again with a base of statistics. pls guide me what should i have to do?

12. 48
    ruchi daman singh:

respected sir/mam,
    i did my M.Sc statistics from P.U,chd. in 2004. i want to do PhD from same university. please guide me the date and month of filling the form and also can i appear for UGC now.

13. 47
    DEEPA KOSHY:

respected sir/madam,
    I am working as HSST in Statistics since 2002.I did my m.phil& M.Sc (Statistics) from university of Kerala,Karyavattom,Thiruvanathapuram.I want to do ph.d in statistics as a part time scholar.Please help me in this regard.

14. 46
    kamalakannan.R:

respected sir/mam
    I am student of m.phill from thanjavur .studied in st. Joshep’s college in trichy.I want to do ph.d in statistics . Please help me in this regard

15. 45
    nirupama:

i am nirupama Thacker,from gujrat.i have studied M.Com.,Bed with Statstics inn Gujrat uni,with 60%in 2002.i want to be phd in statstics. can u suggest me abouut phd

16. 44
    shilpa katira:

Respected Sir/Mam

I am teaching statistics,QT,OR to management students ,have done my M.sc statistics from Mumbai university in 1990 I want to pursue Phd in OR from indore …Please let me know the procedure and dates of the entrance exams

Thankyou…

17. 43
    uma:

i have done my mphil in statisics. can i get my phd in bio statistics. if it is possible , which institution bring the programme

18. 42
    saeid:

is there phd in statistics by distance education in your university?

19. 41
    Yogendra Agra:

i want to pH.d in operation research,plz give me details in this regards.thank you………

20. 40
    Tushar:

I want to do phd in statistics through correspondance. I have overall 10 yrs exp. in clinical research and would like to specialize in Biostatistics.

Please help.

21. 39
    dileep:

i am student of m.sc final year.
    i want to do p.hd in kanpur so plz tell me abut institutes and forms dates.

22. 38
    sumitra bhattacharjee:

i want to do phd in statistics through distance education/ correspondance. pls guide me which education institution providing the phd in statistics through correspondece

23. 37
    Prashant:

I want to ph.d in probability theory or stochastics process, please give me detail of institutes who offer these subjects

24. 36
    renuka rawat:

sir, i have completed my m.sc in statistics . i want to do research in field of demography. so please tell me the best insitutes from where i could pursue my research work.

25. 35
    Neha varshney:

sir, i am a student of m.sc. final year student from aligarh muslim university.i want to do p.hd.in statistics.please help me in this regard.

26. 34
    sakthi:

sir i have finished Msc and Mphil in statistics,tamilnadu. now iam working as a lecturer.i want to do Ph d in statistics.pls suggest me. thank you

27. 33
    sanjeev:

sir, i am student of m.sc. final year student from r.m.l.a. uni, faizabad. i hav got 76% marks in m.sc. previous. i want to do p.hd. in ststs. in area of demography section. so pls. tell me about its dates and institutes.

28. 32
    itu:

sir, i want to do phd in agricultural statistics

29. 31
    uttam dhar:

i have completed post graduation in Agricultural Statistics and working as an Agril. Officer in Tripura, want to do Ph.D in statistics through distance education. please tell me the way to do so.

30. 30
    meenu yadav:

i am student of m.sc final year.
    i want to do p.hd in the area of demography.so plz tell me abut institutes and forms dates

31. 29
    renuka:

i m student of M.Sc final yr. from garhwal university . i want to do p.hd in the area of demography. so, please tell me the best institutes from where i cn pursue my p.hd course.

32. 28
    vishwanath:

I hold post graduation degree in Statistics with 76.5% marks. Iwant to do ph.d in statistics. Please help me in this regard

33. 27
    RANI:

I have done M.sc in statistics from D.A.V.V INDORE.What is procedure and date for P.hd (statistics)entrence exam.

34. 26
    archana:

please tell me the whole procedure for ph.d program in mathematical ststistics and tell me the date of entrence exam

35. 25
    Johnson:

i have Msc in Statistics with average mark of 67 percent. I am a lecturer at one of the polytechnics in Ghana, please i want to offer PhD in statistics, where can i do that . Waiting for your response. Thank you.

36. 24
    Abhiram Dash:

I am a post graduate in agricultural statistics.
    I am serving as assistant professor in O.U.A.T., Bhubaneswar
    I want to do P.hd. in statistics. Please guide me

37. 23
    Abhiram Dash:

I am a post graduate in agricultural statistics.
    I am serving as assistant professor in O.U.A.T., Bhubaneswar

38. 22
    Prasad:

I have completed Masters in Music with 60 % from Mysore University. I would like to do Ph D in Music from same university. How to about, pl guide me

39. 21
    sangeeta tiwary:

sir, i am doing m.sc (statistics). i want to know phd programs for statistics

40. 20
    prashanti:

sir i comleted my Msc from osmania university,now i am working as a faculty.sir pls suggest me to do ph.d.
    thankyou.

41. 19
    Bala:

sir i have finished Msc and Mphil in statistics,from Bharthidasan university,tamilnadu. now iam working as a lecturer.i want to do Ph d in statistics.pls suggest me. thank you

42. 18
    roshni bhatt:

I am M.Sc. Statistics from U.P. College affiliated to Purvanchal University with 69% marks.
    I want to do ph.d in statistics.please help me in selecting the better field.
    I am waiting for your detail reply.
    THANK YOU

43. 17
    sekhar:

I hold post graduation degree in Statistics from Andhra University with 65% marks. Iwant to do ph.d statistics. Please help me in this regard.

44. 16
    Rajeev Saxena:

I am M.Sc Statistics from Meerut University with 55% marks. Iwant to do ph.d statistics. Please help me in this regard.

45. 15
    sunil parajuli:

I have completed my B.Sc degree in Physics (Math Group) from Tribhuvan University,Nepal . Currently I am working in the BP Koirala Institute of health science Dharan Nepal as medical record officer. Now I am interested to enroll in M.Sc.In bio statistics . My interested area is applied Statistics. So I need an information about this particular field

46. 14
    mukund jha:

I have compleated my PG degree from tribhuvan University,nepal in the year 2000. Currently I am working in the caspian valley college as a lecturer of business stat. Now I am interested to enroll in Ph.D. . My interested area is applied Statistics. So I need an information about this particular field….. I

47. 13
    Sandya Nilmini Kumari:

Dear sir/madam,

I’m K.W.S.N. Kumari from Sri lanka. I am a lectuer in Statistics at Uva Wellassa University in Sri Lanka. I obtained BSc special degree in Statistics and i already completed MSc in Applied Statistics. Now I’, looking for a PhD placement. My main concern area is financial time series.
    What is process and what are the basic requirement? How enrool into PhD program.
    I am waiting for your detail reply.Thank You.
    Sanday Nilmini

48. 12
    renu bahadur:

I have compleated my PG degree from Delhi University in the year 1984. Currently I am working in the Indian Council of Medical Research Now I am interested to enroll in Ph.D. work. My interested area is applied Statistics. So I need an information about this particular field….. I will be waiting for your detailed reply.

Renu Bahadur

49. 11
    ashok:

Which universities Offer the research programme PhD in statistics? How to apply.

50. 10
    Amritha. N.:

I have compleated my PG degree from Mysore University. Currently I am working for PU college. Now I am interested to enroll in Ph.D. work. My interested area is applied Statistics. So I need an information about this particular field….. I will be waiting for your detailed reply.

51. 9
    R. Gomathy:

I have completed my M.sc.,M.Phil Statistics in 203 from Madras Univarsity..and right now I am currently working in one of the Private college as a Lecturer. Her i am handling only allied paper for U.G degree students. I like to enroll in phd progarm .What is process and what are the basic requirement ? I am waiting for your detail reply.Thank You.

52. 8
    sreerag:

am doing my Msc in statistics, and i can elect bio/ acturial/ computational as my option subject.
    which is best one.? i know nothing about acturial statistics.

53. 7
    ashok:

good morning sir, i am doing m.sc from acharya nagarjuna university. i would like to doing phd.

54. 6
    Rakesh paul:

I am doing m.sc from Bardwan university.I would like to doing phd in population studies.From which university i can do phd in such subject,also what are the admission pattern of this course?What is the features of this course?

55. 5
    HEMANT PAWAR:

I am working as faculty in Biostatistics in a Medical college and I want to know about the PhD degree for Biostatistics in India. My basic qualification is M Sc (Statistics). Which university and how to apply for PhD course?

56. 4
    Sharmi:

I have completed my Msc. Statistics in 2006 from B’lore Univarsity..and right now I am currently working in one of the Leading pharmaceutical company as a statistician..I have been working in this company for almost 4 years. Now I would like to enroll in phd. program. I would prefer to do it through distance learning. Are there any universities which provide phd. program through distancs learning? Waiting for your reply…

Sharmi

57. 3
    Rajesh Shreshta:

I have passed Master’s level Program in statistics in 1997 from Tribhuvan University,Nepal. I like to enroll in phd progarm .What is process and what are the basic requirement ? I am waiting for your detail reply.Thank You.

58. 2
    rajkumar:

Which universities Offer the research programme PhD in statistics? How to apply?

59. 1
    rao.sk:

how to apply ibs,hyderabad phd