Difference between Indian Revenue Service (IRS) and Indian Administrative Service(IAS)

IRS is a very esteemed position that comes under the Government of India. IRS Officers are concerned with the compilation, administration and policy formation of direct and indirect tax. Due to this reason, IRS officers are often called as Tax administrators of India. An IAS Officer is a top ranked officer in the Civil Service of the executive division of the Government of India. In their daily affairs, IAS Officers carry out administration and policymaking works at National level.

Indian Revenue Service

UPSC carries out the Civil Service Examinations for the recruitment of IRS Officers. Those who clear the written test have to attend personal interviews and group discussion. Those who clear all these formalities can turn out to be Indian Revenue Officers. It is according to their score in the Civil Services Examinations that they are employed. The top ranked Officers can become Chairperson / Member of the CBDT / CBEC. Down the ladder, at the entry level they can expect employments as Chief Commissioners, Assistant Commissioners and so on.

Indian Administrative Service

In order to become an IAS Officer, aspirants should clear the Civil Service Examination with top ranks. The test is carried out in two levels – Preliminary and mains. Aspirants who pass the test, interview and group discussion thereafter can become an IAS Officer. Graduates in any level can attend the IAS examination. However, they should have studied the course from a certified institute. Only those who are aged between 21 – 30 years can apply for the test. The top ranked aspirants in the IAS exam can become District Collectors. Through the IAS examinations, aspirants can hold up other designations like Head of Public Enterprises or Departments and so on.

Key differentiators between IRS and IAS

• IRS is Indian Revenue Service of Engineers whereas IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service
  • IRS Officers can expect placements in Central Government only whereas IAS officers can get employments under Central or State Governments.
  • In the Civil Service hierarchy, IRS Officers are ranked 4th place whereas the IAS Officers are the top ranked officers.

Even though IRS and IAS are Civil Examinations conducted by the UPSC, both are different ranks in Civil Service. The work atmosphere may also vary for IRS and IAS Officers.

28 Responses to “Difference between Indian Revenue Service (IRS) and Indian Administrative Service(IAS)”

1. 28
    ankit:

I am in class 7 i want to become ias suggest me for preparation from now

2. 27
    Madanlal waghmare:

After having P.C.B. In 12th am i eligible to become an I.A.S. Officer. And after not having mathematics ,can will it be a measure problem for me in future to become an I.A.S. Officer.

3. 26
    USHA MALLEM:

Good Evening Sir,
    I have completed my B.COM,B.ED. I want to prepare for I A S. SO tell me details, notification date and how to prepare for this exam. I WILL GET THE JOB WITH IN ONE YEAR .THIS EXAM IS VERY IMPORTANT IN MY LIFE.

4. 25
    hruti:

1 what is the maximum age?

5. 24
    sagar meshram:

res sir/mam
    i had pass out my 12 last year in 2012 ,and after that i started my graduation in (B.E).but due to economical problem i took withdrawl. I want to become a IAS officer . for that in which field i should complete my gradution instead of art & commerce .so its a humble request to please guide me.

6. 23
    aditi agarwal:

dear sir/madam
    im studying in class 11th commerce after 12th ,what all shud i study to become a ias officer.., which city is very gud for the study for ias office,which is the best college ,and say me all the steps which i shud take to become a ias officer in future…,requesting you to answer my question as soon as posssible..
    thanking u…

7. 22
    Shubham Singhal:

Which one is more esteemed, IRS or IAS ? OR Which one of them is more reputed ?

8. 21
    Mohit SARASWAL:

Is the same prciesor in tests to bcome IRS as a IAS.

9. 20
    shiblu:

i am a plus2 student who pass the exam with 62% marks in biology maths, i like maths subject
    also which is the most safe and easy way to take a good degree
    which is usefull for an IAS examination or to become an ias officer

10. 19
    N.venkatesh:

We may get good rank in IAS,by studyig IAS along with the undergraduation course?

11. 18
    foram joshi:

Studying in 12 sci.Then what wil b better for me
    IAS aftr engineering degree or any other batchelor degree like
    BA n subjects like political sci.?

12. 17
    foram joshi:

I am a 12 sci student. Then what wil b better for me
    IAS aftr engineering degree or any other batchelor degree like
    BA n subjects like political sci.?

13. 16
    swadichchha sane:

What is the exact number of IAS officers in india?

14. 15
    kanhaiya tomar:

sir/mem,

im b.sc biotech graduate and physically disabled as well. i wanna become an IAS officer only. plz, tell me that handicapped student can become an IAS Officer without facing discrimination .my email id is ” [email protected]

thank uuuuuuu.
    KANHA TOMAR

15. 14
    lakshmi:

Iam civil engineering student can i write a IRS exam in next year?

16. 13
    hari:

Sir, I am a hearing handicaped with one ear.
    Can I become a IAS officer.
    Please tell me

17. 12
    Dharamveer rathor,bangalore:

dear sir/madam
    im studying in class 11th commerce[ceba] after 12th ,what all shud i study to become a ias officer.., which city is very gud for the study for ias office,which is the best college ,and say me all the steps which i shud take to become a ias officer in future…,requesting you to answer my question as soon as posssible..
    thanking u…

18. 11
    Divya:

sir/madam , i am a final year B.E (ECE) student . i like to do IRS
    can u please tell how to prepare for IRS exam. and what are the qualities the appearing candidate should have.

19. 10
    Sehr:

sir, actually i was doing my graduation (B.Sc) but unfortunately due to some family problems i couldnt complete it..so now that m 22yrs and is willing to make my career bright i have some queries to ask u…
    can i opt for graduation in LLB and then go for IAS or can i opt for Arts and then go for IAS…any how i want to do IAS..but m quite confused what to choose..which one do u think is better for me..plzzzz suggest and assist me..

Thank u.

20. 9
    Elamathy:

Sir i am b.e computer science student (2nd year) how i prepare myself for the ias exam from now ?

plz suggest on [email protected]

21. 8
    rohit chopra:

I cleared my graduation in commerce and too give my ca final exams this November…is it right time for me to join IRS or should I wait…
    also want to know from where I can have some material to study upon….

22. 7
    deepak gusain:

hii i have complete my gradution with PCM. and MBA with finance..now i want to be join indian civil service.as IRS…please guide me the study levels for this compition…

23. 6
    jay:

i have completed parttime electrical diploma & want to complete these(ias/ips/ifs/ors) level please guide me at this study levels

24. 5
    vijay:

hi.agar ham manpower ko nahi include kare to irs jada powerful hota h ias ki income tax file irs officer hi dekhta h so raid kabhi bhi pad sakta…kyunki mere jija ji joint comm.of income tax he

25. 4
    MUKESHsmart007:

Kamino notice board bana rakkha hai kya?

26. 3
    Neelima Ranjith Kumar:

Am a Testing professional.Wanted apply for IRS examination in 2011. Kindly let me know the exam date in 2011.

Thanks in Advance,
    Neelima Ranjith Kumar.

27. 2
    saroj:

what is the ranking criteria for IAS and IRS

28. 1
    pankaj:

what is syllabas of irs and how to prepare it.