Difference between IAS and PCS

Indian Administrative Services, abbreviated as IAS, are actually the civil based administrative services of the Government of India. The officers that are designated as IAS are the ones that relate to the policy making of our nation and relates to the complete bureaucracy of the Union Government that covers both the two forms, that is the Central as well as the State government. The officers are selected through one of the most meticulous entrance exam conducted within our country, the Civil Service. The exam is conducted through three different but very hard steps, namely the Preliminary exams, then mains and finally the Personal Interview.

The exams for post of IAS are conducted at the nation based scale, and candidates from all over the country, compromising from all the state of the nation, can enroll within the entrance test. The IAS offers are recruited by the Union Government of India under the advice of Union Public Service Commissions, famously known as UPSC.

Provincial Civil Services, abbreviated as PCS, are actually the civil based administrative services of the State Government. These officers relate to the policy making of the state to which they belong. These officers are also selected through an entrance test conducted by the state based Public Service Commission.

The exams for the post of PCS are conducted at the state level, where candidates that are the domicile residents of that state are only allowed to appear in the entrance exam with a certain number of seats reserved for other state candidates. There are also reservations of seats within the state seats. Furthermore, the manner of conduction of this exam is the same as the Civil Services, that compromises of three different steps such as the Preliminary Test, after which a Mains paper is conducted and lastly, a round of Personal Interview takes place.

56 Responses to “Difference between IAS and PCS”

1. 56
    What is eligibility and syllabus of uttarakhand P C S?:

Give me answer as soon as possible.

2. 55
    reetu singh:

please tell me about IPS exam’s form date and its exam date and the books name which are helpful for its preporation and pleas sir provide me current affairs in my email accout

3. 54
    anjali varshney:

sir i want to do pcs when wil its exam in 2014 what is the fee of it.

4. 53
    Shubham rao:

Is the preparation for pcs exam also helpful for ias exam ?

5. 52
    ankur sharma:

plse tell me about pre. exam of ias & its pattern & contents

6. 51
    MOHAMMAD DANISH:

WHAT IS THE FEE FOR I.A.S.
    and
    WHAT IS THE FEE FOR P.C.S.
    plz sir tell me about in up pcs interview question plz …
    thanx.

PLZ SIR
    YOURS FETHFULLY
    MOHAMMAD DANISH

7. 50
    imran ahmad:

may I applicable for ias or pcs exam
    I have passed 40%marks in B.A.

8. 49
    Keshav goswami:

Fulform of ias,pcs

9. 48
    SHUBHAM VERMA:

WHAT IS THE FEE FOR I.A.S.

10. 47
    Dinesh singh:

I am graduate ex service men from an Army.and I want to prepare for up pcs.pl guide me about quota and age relaxation.

11. 46
    anmol agarwal:

I want to become i.a.s officer but i am commerce side student. I have intermidiate exam passed with 74:perchant in u p board plese sir give me advise how to prepration

12. 45
    virendra:

sir.. i want to know about how to clear exam of ias and pcs. I had completed my 10+2.which subject is good and easy in ba for civil service exam?

13. 44
    Rajib halder:

I want to become civil service officer from civil service aspirant. I’m too weak in English, but a good student and also hard working gui, from west bengal. What i do ? Answer to Hrajib.gmail.com

14. 43
    Shakti prabhakar:

Please tell me the pattern of uttarakhand pcs exam for preliminary.
    Is the pattern of uttarakhand PCS and IAS exam same, both for preliminary and mains examination.

15. 42
    karan:

Sir m doing bba nd m in last sem of bba m not so gud in studies pllzz tell me hw can i prepare for ias nd pcs xams as i want to do something big in ma lyf thats y i choose these option pllzzz help nd give me the ful details of these xams

16. 41

I have completed my graduation in 2007 now i want to prepare for ias and pcs ? Please tell me procedure.
    My math is so week
    how to apply for ias and pcs and what is criteria

17. 40
    RAKESH BAGHEL:

i have completed B.E. with electrical. which subject i should go for & how i should make my planning.

18. 39
    harshita:

sir, i want to prepare for pcs exam and i wanna know that how can i prepare for the same ? im persuing bcom and im in 3rd year right know so please answer my query !!

19. 38
    deepti:

I want about pcs job and govt institute for pcs preperation.

20. 37
    shashikant:

its great information for all initially student of civil examination

shashikant

21. 36
    sawraj kumar:

sir , i ampersuing BA final… M, i eligible for pcs, I want to do prepration for pcs. Plz give me complete information about it,,, regarding, syllbus, exam format, reservation for SC quota etc,, i shall be very thankfull,.

22. 35
    saurabh:

i m bcom from punjab university chd married 32 yrs strongly want to try forpcs exam. m i eligilble?

23. 34
    Saurabh yadav:

Sir im final year engineering student after engineering i want to join p.c.s coaching., i jst want to know that in I.A.S EXAM there is 9papers in main exam and 2 papers in preliminary exam …so can you tell how many papers in p.c.s exam ????

24. 33
    Shivakant:

Dear Team, Kindly provide the syllabus of UP PCS .

25. 32
    GARIMA CHAUHAN:

Is application form for pcs has come and what is the last date for filling the form

26. 31
    Ravinder:

I have completed my graduation in B.pharmacy. Now i am searching for job but no chance. Now i want to fight exam for civil services like ips, ias. Does my graduation stream is valid for this. And what should i do for that? Please answer with detail, i am very very tensionod.

27. 30
    shwetansh singh:

i want to do IAS/PCS…
    What can i do for prepration??

28. 29
    gyanendra yadav:

sir please detail send in my id PCS & IAS exam

29. 28
    akanksha srivastava:

sir please deteil send in my id pcs exam exam change partern & last date for form

30. 27
    yashwant singh:

sir i have completed my BBA which subject are better for me IAS or PCS? plz ask me

31. 26
    tanveer:

sir what is the exam pattern and syllabus for up pcs

32. 25
    Rohit sharma:

plz sir tell me about in up pcs interview question plz …
    thanx.

33. 24
    raja khare:

I’ve completed graduation now want to prepare for pcs my English is too weak so can i do this in hindi.and how can i start it ple. give me right direction rep.so soon

34. 23
    Deepak Raja:

Is there any reservation forEx Serviceman in UP PCS?

35. 22
    AVNEESH KUMAR SAXENA:

I did Complete my BCA from CCS University and MBA from GBTU Can I eligible for I A S & P C S exams.

36. 21
    ankit kumain:

wath is meaing the IAS&PCS?

37. 20
    Pankaj Sikri:

I want to ask about PCS that how much optional subjects we have to choose.

38. 19
    neeti singh:

i want to know that there is any change in pcs exams pattern like ias exams or it is just like previous.in ias aptitude test is a new change, tell me that in pcs exams apttitude test is included or not.,.

39. 18
    tarun:

i have completed my graduation with bca and now i m persuing b.ed., can i give the exam of ias,pcs,and ips.
    pls tell me what is the gud subject for ias and from where i can achieve the form for ias,pcs and ips.

40. 17
    Antara Dutta:

How many times can i attempt for west bengal civil service? I am 22 yrs old and belong to general catagory.

41. 16
    shailend:

i have done b.tech from electronics and communication(E.C)
    what will b gud subject for me in both IAS & PCS.
    Thanx

42. 15
    BINAY RAI:

I have done BCA from IGNOU, what will b gud subject for me in both IAS & PCS. Thanx

43. 14
    Sarita srivastava:

What is the age limit of pcs gernal candidate

44. 13
    Sunny:

I want to become an income tax inspector. I have completed my graduation. May I know the procedure of becoming an income tax inspector? also, can i apply for the above post or any other post in income tax deptt. through pcs exams..?

45. 12
    sandhya singh:

please tell me ki hum pcs pre exame kab de sakte hai

46. 11
    ramesh:

how an IAS OFFICER AND PCS TOP RANKERS DIFFER BECASUE WE KNOW THAT TOP RANKER IN IAS CAN BECOME COLLECTOR AND TOP RANKER IN PCS ALSO BECOME COLLECTOR THAN WHAT IS DIFFERENCE WHETHER IT IS THERE PROMOTION OR IN SALARIES. WHAT IS SALARIES OF IAS,IPS,IRS,IFS AND PCS OFFICER PLEASE GIVE ME THE LIST. INCLUDING EVERYTHING LIKE PA,DA ETC.
    MY NEXT QUESTION IS THAT IF WE GET IRS OR ANY OTHER POST THAN WE CANNOT BECOME COLLECTOR AFTER SOME PERIOD OR WE HAVE TO BE IN IRS IN OUR WHOLE LIFE TILL RETAIREMENT.

47. 10
    RAMESH KUMAR:

sir, i want to know that if after doing ias if our rank is at last or not in top than whether by that rank also we can become collector or get any higher postequal to top rank.becasuse we get below rank means we may get any other servie such as IRS OR ANY A grade.

second question is there is deference between salaries of IAS,IPS,IRS AND PCS,.
    AFTER DOING PCS WETHER WE CAN BECOME DEPUTY COLLECTOR THAN WHAT IS USE OF DOING UPSC EXAM.. WE CAN HIGESH POST BY DOING PCS.
    PLEASE TELL ME DIFERENCE BETWEEN UPSE IAS,IRS, AND PCS DIFFERENT

48. 9
    GAURAV SINGH:

WHAT IS BETTER FOR IAS B.A OR B.sc?

49. 8
    ashok mishra:

please give me information about food inspector what is the metod of preparation for this type of examination

50. 7

please tell me about the notification ofthe ias 2010-2011 and books and also about up pcs pre exam 2010-11 and also about important books for both

51. 6
    MUKESH MITTAL:

I am LLM. I want to have the information about

when the examination forms for PCS UTTARPRADESH JUDICIARY EXAMS form are fill up the date month .From where the forms can be collected

when the exams of pcs judiciary UP are held ,

Kindly reply

with rgds
    MukeshMital

52. 5
    vikas:

ias examination date

53. 4
    HITESH VORA:

please tell me when will the IAS exams is conducts and how to get forms and other norms related to exam.

54. 3
    suresh babu:

i completed my b.pharmacy
    iam preparing 4r ias.
    plz hgive any suggetion to me

55. 2
    MANISH AGARWAL:

I want to become an income tax inspector. I have completed my graduation. May I know the procedure of becoming an income tax inspector?

56. 1
    nikita:

i need information about MASTERS IN DENTAL SURGERY.
    how & when to apply for it?