Am I eligible for NET exam after scoring 54.50% in MSc

I HAVE GRT 54.50% IN M.Sc I AM ELIGIBLE FOR EXAM OF NET

12th March 2013, 08:56 AM
aryan5107241

Default Re: Am I eligible for NET exam after scoring 54.50% in MSc

The Acronym "NET" Stands for National Eligibility Test.

The University Grants Commission [UGC] conducts the NET Examination two times every year the months of June and December.

The Required Eligibility Criteria For NET Examination include :

a) Post Graduation in any discipline from any recognized university.

b) Must Have A Minimum Of 55% Marks In Post Graduation.

c) Candidates In Final Year Of post Graduation Can Also Apply.

d) Candidate must be an Indian Citizen.

e) There is a relaxation of 5% marks for those belonging to SC/ST Categories.

f) Age Limit For JRF is 21-28 years.

g) There is no age limit for the post of Lecture Ship.

So , if you belong to SC/ST Category , then you are eligible for the NET Exam but if you belong to General Category , then you cannot appear in the NET Exam.

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.

12th March 2013, 03:50 PM
sherleytwain

It is only possible if you belong to the reserve category. When I say reserve category I am talking about Schedule Caste or Schedule Tribe. The OBC candidates are not given any relaxation in percentage.

National Eligibility Test is national level entrance exam for lectureship as well Junior Research Fellowship which is conducted by the University Grants Commission. The problem in your case is not the degree but percentage.

For General as well OBC candidates to appear for the National Eligibility Test, they must have scored minimum of 55 percent marks in post graduation course. There is no relaxation under any circumstances of these category candidates. Even if you have scored 54.99 percent marks, the University Grants Commission will not allow you to appear for the entrance exam.

Therefore unless you belong to SC/ST, I am afraid you simply can not appear for the National Eligibility Test. Kindly consider some other career option. Do not attempt to appear for the State Eligibility Test either because it follows same guidelines that are set by the UGC for the National Eligibility Test.

Criteria

1. Candidate must have post graduation degree in any field.

2. Must have scored 55 percent marks to appear for NET.

3. SC/ST can appear for NET with minimum of 50 percent marks.

4. There is also provision for final year students to appear for NET.

5. But they will have to submit the degree within 2 years of clearing the exam.

6. The age limit is 28 years for candidates applying for JRF.

7. There is no upper age limit for lectureship candidates.

12th March 2013, 05:02 PM
vikash kumar prajapati

I HAVE GRT 54.50% IN M.Sc I AM ELIGIBLE FOR EXAM OF NET
As per the Latest Eligibility Criteria prepared by the UGC-NET,You will be eligible to appear in this exam.

FOR JRF(Junior Research Fellowship)

Educational qualification :-
-->>You should be Graduation passed out in specified stream in which you will go for Research Work.

-->>Your minimum age should be 21 years.
-->>Your age should not be above 28 years.

Marks :-
-->>Your minimum marks in Graduation should be 50%.

But,you will not be Eligible to apply for Lecturership.In order to appear in this exam,you will require to meet these Eligibility criteria :-

Educational qualification :-

-->>You should be passed out in Post Graduation degree from recognized university.

NOTE :- There is NO AGE LIMIT for this post.

Marks :-
-->>For General Category - 55%.
-->>For SC/ST/OBC Category - 50%.

For UGC-NET Official website -->> CLICK-HERE .

13th March 2013, 02:19 PM

NET stands for National Eligibility Test.

University Grants Commission conducting this exam every year twice. You don't have secure percentage in your Master's graduation, 55% is the required percentage for the candidates but for the reservation category i.e SC/ST category candidates have 5% of marks relaxation. So if you are belongings to SC/ST category then you are eligible for the NET exam. The details are given below.

Eligibility Criteria:-

The candidates who wants apply this exam should be complete Master's graduation with a minimum of 55% of marks from any recognised university.

Final year persuing students can also be eligible.

Candidate must be a citizen of India.

5% relaxation in marks for SC/ST candidates.

Age limits and relaxation details:-

The age limits for JRF(Junior Research Fellowship) candidates are the maximum age limit is 28 years, and there is no minimum age limit.

Relaxation of 3 years for OBC candidates,

Relaxation of 5 years for SC/ST candidates.

The age limits for Lectureship--> No age limits for lectureship applying candidates.

Syllabus:-

More details about this exam visit below website

www.ugc.nic.in

20th June 2013, 12:10 PM

AM I ELIGIBLE FOR Ph.d COURSE AFTER SCORING 54.4% IN Msc MICROBIOLOGY ? PLEASE TELL SOME EXAMS WHICH I CAN GIVE FOR DOING Phd ?

9th August 2019, 05:21 PM

M.com 49.2 percent ST category iam I eligible for net exam