Samadhan Somwanshi

Want to make career in Merchant Navy

i had passed 10+2 & wanna make career in merchant navy. plz, help

12th March 2010, 03:24 AM
rrmohantysmile

Default Re: Want to make career in Merchant Navy

well dear friend, here are the details mentioned below::---

Eligibility: The minimum eligibility for courses in Nautical science and Marine engineering is 10+2 or an equivalent examination with physics, chemistry and mathematics.
Job Prospects and Career Options: Merchant Navy is the backbone of international trade, carrying cargo across the globe. Without the merchant navy, much of the import-export business would grind to a halt.

Promotion in merchant Navy: Ministry of Surface Transport, Government of India, takes care of the training needs and conducts competency exam through the Directorate General of Shipping (DGS).

Remuneration : The starting salary varies between Rs 15,000 to Rs 20,000 a month. Click here for more Information

for the information regarding Institutes just visit the link give n below:---

http://career.webindia123.com/career/institutes/list_inst.asp?cat_no=209&category=Engineering+%26+ Technology&sub_category=Marine&p_no=25&dis=yes

good luck..
bye wish you all the best and take care...
14th March 2010, 06:16 PM

you can make your carrier in merchant navy after 12th.......
and the information given bove is true.....so follow that.

o k
15th March 2010, 12:06 AM
asish

you can get the procedure to join the merchant navy from
www.namacindia.com/join_mn.htm
21st March 2010, 03:58 PM
Manjeet124

This is good that you want to make career in Marchant Navy and if you want to do its course then it requires 10+2 or an equivalent examination with physics, chemistry and mathematics.
21st March 2010, 11:00 PM
pritirai

visit
http://www.maidenvoyages.in/
http://www.merchantnavy.us/?gclid=CPeNqsquyqACFcdS6wodPS38yg

22nd March 2010, 12:53 AM
nalanda

yes you can apply,
if your marks is at least 50% including math in the 12h,
then you can apply for the merchant navy and you can make your carrier.
o k
22nd March 2010, 04:58 AM

first of all you need to sit in entrance exam which is conducted by the navy personally
you need to quallify in your 12th exam with minimum of 55% for general and 50% for
SC/ST.
you just keep your eyes i employment newspaper..
form and date of examination is given there..
22nd March 2010, 12:00 PM
rajeshingarhwa

friend
for guidance on how to join and make a career in merchant navy visit
www.educationinfoindia.com/marinefaq.htm
www.namacindia.com/join_mn.htm
http://www.hindustanlink.com/careertex/education/merchant-navy.htm
22nd March 2010, 04:16 PM

dear friend, if you want to make career in merchant navy, then do the course of it.....The minimum eligibility for courses in Nautical science and Marine engineering is 10+2 or an equivalent examination with physics, chemistry and mathematics...........

best wishes......
22nd March 2010, 09:27 PM
Bella

Career in Merchant Navy can be pursued either as an officer or a rating in mainly two specialized fields, i.e. Marine Engineering and Nautical (deck). To become a seafarer, following streams of entries (Pre-Sea courses) are available to Indian citizens in the Government as well as in private training institutions (recognized and approved by Director General of Shipping, Ministry of Shipping):-

Officers

3 year degree course in Nautical Science for (10+2) students.

4 year degree course in Marine Engineering for (10+2) students.

2 year course for Diploma Holders.

1 year course for Graduate Mechanical Engineers.

3 month course for Deck Cadets for (10+2) students.
14th April 2010, 12:13 AM

what i do to study/join marchent navy?
18th May 2010, 04:15 PM

sir, i passed 12th science with pcmb group and i want to join merchant navy for deck cadet but sir i confussed that where i take admmition please give me institutes addresses. thank you sir.
20th May 2010, 09:51 PM
abhi143u

Which institute or company is best for marine engineering? I have to joint in dec cadet? I want information bout dec cadet?
14th August 2010, 03:34 AM
sparkle

There are two ways you can make your career in merchant navy: one is doing B.Sc in nautical sciences which is of three year duration and another one is to do BE in marine engineering which is 4-year degree course..

There are four reputed Govt colleges for studying merchant navy:

MERI,Mumbai,

MERI,Kolkata,

T.S Chanakya,Navi Mumbai,

IMU...

The eligibility to appear in the entrance test for admission to these courses is to pass 12th with PCM with 55% marks..

So go for it..

Best of luck!
30th August 2010, 12:29 PM
Gourav shukla

Exclamation Re: Want to make career in Merchant Navy

First you go to bollywood and thn compromise.Definatly you wil get good carrier
1st September 2010, 12:32 AM

hello friend

you can join in indian navy in two ways.

1.through UES. which exam you can appear in the final year of your btech.

2.through UPSC exam. which exam you can appear after doing your btech.

all the best...........
9th September 2010, 12:06 PM

Hi i am Narendra Singh Negi I am join is Marchent Nevy I am Education is 2 and undergraduation
5th October 2010, 01:36 AM

want to join merchant navy after graduation (b.tech dairy tech.)
10th October 2010, 07:15 PM

wanted to know about the dates, when are the CET tests are held and in which month.
19th October 2010, 07:04 PM

Default Career in Merchant Navy

Career in Merchant Navy

Carer in Mechant Navy has never witness such a tremendous prospects. There are 40% shortage of Chief Engineers and Captains in shipping industry. Whereas for junior level engineers and officers it is 30%. An the rate of growth of Shipping Industry in India is almost 22%.

All these had made career prospect in Merchant Navy promissing ever.

Now lets understand the whole recruitment policy in Brief

We can mainly devide the whole working methodology and employment ploicy in three parts.

1) Deck Department: This mainly comprises 4 groups.

A) Master or Captain of the Ship/Cruise/sea vessel.

B) Chief Officer: He is Incharge of Cargo operations and maitanance.

C) Second Officer: His work is Passage planning and Chart/Publications maintenance, Navigation watch at sea or Cargo watch in ports.

D) Third Officer: To look after life saving equipments & Fire fighting equipments maintenance.

2) Engine Department: This mainly comprises 4 groups.
A) Chief Engineer: In charge of Engine room of ship/cruise/sea vessel.

B) Second Engineer: Checks maintenance of Main engine. Works as a co worker for Chief Engineer.

C) Third Engineer: Keep maintenance of Generators and Boilers.

D) Fourth Engineer: Keep maintenance of Purifiers and Fresh water Generator.

3) Rating Department:
It has 3 types.

A) Deck Rating: Responsible for cargo handling and general maintainance of ship.

B) Engine Rating: To work on the commands of Engineers in engine room

c) Catering Rating: To look after the whole catering and food.

How to get in

For getting into Deck or Navigating department one has to start there career from post of "Deck Cadet" after that one will moves toward Third Officer which ultimately leads to Captain/Master in long time of 8-10 years work experiance.

Qualification Required:
One has to persue 3 years B.sc (Nautical science) alongwith 12 months of onship training. Or these days this B.sc degre gets split into parts by maximum institutes such that- 1 year Diploma in Nautical science, 1 1/2 years Onboard ship training and 6 months pre-sea training.

Eligibility: 12th (PCM) with at least 60% aggregate. However, few Institutes also accept students with 55% aggregate. For Ex- Trident college of marine technology, West Bengal.

Age Limit: 20 years for those who has +2, while its 22-23 years for B.sc Dgree holder.

For Getting into Engine Department, one has to start career from the post of "Fifth or Junior Engineer" which ultimately lead to Chief Engineer.

Qualification Required: A degree in Marine or Mechanical or electrical Engineering from a recognised Institute. MArine engineering holder will get in directly while Mechanical and Elecrical has to undergone 10 months Pre-Sea Training in MArine engineering, which is either offered by recruiting company or candidate has to born itself.

Eligibility: Nothing different from what is required to be an Engineer.

Age Limit: 25 years

For Rating Department

For Deck Rating:
Any bachelor degree(as it is prefered) with 1 year or 6 months pre-sea training.

Age Limit: 21 and 23 years.

Engine Rating: Diploma in Mechanical Engineering alongwith 12 or 6 months pre-sea training.

Age Limit: 21 years.

Catering Rating: Any background will do. However, background in hotel management with experience in the hospitality business will be a great help.
In this field you need to upgrade your skills every nine months or so, through proficiency development or skill development courses in the maritime academies and pass examinations conducted by the Directorate General of Shipping (DGS). This will be your key to new contracts.

Age Limit: 25 years for MBA holders.

Money Mtter: I dont think I have to discuss it all know very well, thats why willing to join Merchant Navy.

~Faiyaz~

Last edited by faiyaz; 19th October 2010 at 07:18 PM. Reason: some text was missing
20th October 2010, 03:28 PM
Rohit Vashisht

Arrow Re: Want to make career in Merchant Navy

after passing 12th you can join merchant navy as GPR, Deck Cadet and Marine Engineering
For GPR min qualification is 10 pass with min 50% in EMS
For Deck Cadet min qualification is 12 passout with min 55% marks in PCM and for marine engineering you have to appear for entrace exam
24th November 2010, 02:13 PM

sis my name is shakti singh and i from saharanpur.my co. no. is 08979724224.i have passed12th with 58.60% from u.p. board. i want to get addmision in b.sc nautical science so plz give me information about it. thanks sir plz plz
1st December 2010, 08:49 PM

Pls tell i had 2 passed in (PCM) 62% marks and 16 month computer hardware networking diploma .can i join merchent navy deck dept. Pls reply just.
15th December 2010, 08:00 PM

respected sir i pass 12th with 44.4% and also done 3-year diploma in electronics and communication engg. could i join merchant navy as deck cadet. my 10th marks is 54.6% .plz plz i m very willing to join merchant nvy. i have to prove my self plz sir i m very thankfull to u. my contact no. = 08803769579; id = [email protected].
13th April 2011, 02:36 PM

Want to join Merchant Navy?

Please contact:
Maritime Recruitments, New Delhi
Email: [email protected]
Visit Us: www.m-recruit.weebly.com
25th June 2011, 08:22 PM

I want to join merchant navy now I m appeared class 10 2 and my class (x) % is 65%.
12th August 2011, 05:01 PM

I am willing to join Merchant Navy it is my DREAM JOB. I have passed my 10th with 48% marks and 12th with 52% marks
and done B.TECH with aggregate 65% marks from INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY branch do i am eligible for Merchant Navy.
How can i get in to merchant navy. Sir,pls reply my e-mail address is [email protected].
27th May 2013, 06:20 PM

i am 31 year old B.Sc. (PCM) passed out candidate, can I join Merchant navy?
7th July 2013, 05:35 PM

sir, i am a mechanical engg.(final year )student nd want to join merchant navy.
i m from
12th October 2013, 01:38 AM

i have done 12th in 2012.presently in 1st year of engineering college which i am not interested in.i want to join merchant navy.is it possible now.
31st August 2014, 01:10 AM

Post Re: Want to make career in Merchant Navy

I am willing to join Merchant Navy it is my DREAM JOB. I have passed my 10th with 48% marks and 12th with 52% marks
and done B.TECH with aggregate 65% marks from INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY branch do i am eligible for Merchant Navy.
How can i get in to merchant navy. Sir,pls reply
my e-mail address is [email protected].
bhaii abi aap kya kr rhe ho...nd mearchnt nevy joinied kiya ya krna h.... my name om prakash prajapat (op) # 08875560986 mail id.- [email protected]
10th December 2014, 07:31 PM

I have passed BSC (IT) with 55.6%
My age is 23yrs. I belong to sc community.I want to join perticularly SCI as a deck cadet. Kindly provide me related information. My email I.d - [email protected]