19th September 2012, 12:45 AM

What is the percentage required in 12th, and 10th for IAS and IPS?

Wat % should have in graduation,12th, n 10th for ips n ias???

19th September 2012, 07:00 AM
sherleytwain

Default Re: What is the percentage required in 12th, and 10th for IAS and IPS?

IPS stands for Indian Police Service while IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service. While IAS is related to policy making and administration, IPS is related to crime, law and order and anti terrorism operations.

There is a single exam to recruit IAS and IPS in India. The name of this exam is Civil Service Examination. This exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission.

There is no percentage requirement for Civil Service Examination. As long as you have completed the graduation course, you can appear for the Civil Service Examination. Your percentage in 10th, 12th and graduation are irrelevant for IPS or IAS. Therefore as long as you have bachelor's degree you can appear for the Civil Service Examination.

However there are some physical requirements that are also required to be met. Please check below about all the requirements to appear for Civil Service Examination.

Eligibility

1. The candidate applying should be Indian citizen.

2. A minimum of graduation degree is required to appear for the exam.

Age Limit

1. The age limit for General candidates is 21 to 30 years.

2. However for OBC, age limit is extended by 3 years.

3. In case of SC/ST the age limit is 21 to 35 years.

Physical Requirements

Height:

Male - 165 cm (General) while 160 cm (ST)

Female - 150 cm (General) and 145 cm (ST)

Chest:

Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm

Female Min 79 cm expansion 5 cm

Eye Sight:

6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye

6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye

No color blindness or night blindness

Exam Pattern

There are two stages of Civil Service Examination

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Exam

Number of Attempts

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST- No limit
19th September 2012, 01:42 PM
gamble007

Hi....
Dear,..
Its sounds good, that you want to serve the nation,
So I would like to tell you, there is not any restriction of minimum marks requirement in examinations of academic career, for appear in the civil service examination,..

This civil service examination is conducted by the UPSC (UNION PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION) every year..
Through this civil service examination, one can apply for the IAS (INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES ) & IPS (INDIAN POLICE SERVICE ).

The minimum educational requirement for appear in this civil service examination, you must have to complete your graduation in any stream in any division(I, II,IIIrd).

This civil service examination have three stages to be clear in order to become a IAS or IPS officer,...

1. CSAT (CIVIL SERVICE APTITUDE TEST)
2. MAINS
3. INTERVIEW

Examination pattern of CSAT-

Optional subjects in CSAT-

OPTIONAL subjects in MAINS-

Age limit-

21-30 year for the GENERAL candidates,
21-33 years for the OBC candidates,
21-35 for the SC\ST candidates..

No of Attempts

For General Candidate : 4 Attempts
For SC/ST Candidate : Unlimited
For OBC Candidate : 7 Attempts

You must have Indian citizenship.

Thank you!!!
~gamble~
19th September 2012, 03:51 PM

The percentage of marks attained in 10th and 12th class will not be considered for IAS/IPS posts. Graduation is the qualification for the same. Only a pass marks in graduation is essential for these posts. Qualify UPSC Civil services exam for this. Physical test and personal interview need to be attended provided you clear preliminary and main exam.
22nd September 2012, 03:19 PM

post after passing b.sc nursing in indian army
23rd September 2012, 12:03 PM
aryan5107241

There is no such specific percentage of marks required in 10th , 12th for getting the eligibility for Civil Services Exam.

The Eligibility Criteria for Civil Services Examination are :

* You must have completed your graduation from any recognized college/university.

* You must have Indian Nationality.

* Your age must lie in between 18-30 years for General Category Students.

* There is also a relaxation in upper age of 3 years for OBC Category whereas 5 years for SC/ST Category.

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.

* For more details , you may visit : http://onestopias.com
23rd September 2012, 07:56 PM
Aria40

Nice to see your interest in the field of the Civil services examination which is conducted by the UPSC in every year. There are no any limit percentage required in 10th, 12th and in graduation. Only pass the graduation degree is enough to appear in the Civil Services examination. Here i give you the details information.

Eligibility Criteria for Civil Services Examination :

Educational Qualification :~
--> The minimum educational qualification to appear in the Civil Services examination is pass graduation degree in any discipline from a recognize University.
--> The final year candidates can also apply for the Civil Services examination.

Age Criteria :~
--> The age must be between 21 to 30 years at the time of examination. The upper age relaxation is also applicable for the reservation category candidates.

No. of Attempt :~
-->For General Category :~ Four times.
-->For OBC category :~ Seven times.
-->For SC/ST/PH :~ Any Number Of attempts they can Made. i.e No Limit.

These are the basic eligibility criteria for the Civil Services examination. If you satisfy the above eligibility criteria then you are eligible for the Civil service examination. For details and complete information regarding UPSC examination please visit the official website of the UPSC :~ http://www.upsc.gov.in
19th March 2013, 03:11 PM

respected sir,i am a student of class 12.i want to be an IAS officer.i want to know clearly what is meant by complnting graduation.?i am interested in engeneering.am i not be able to appear to ias exam?my age will be 21 in the third year of engeneering.can i apply for the exam? how should i prepare for the exam from now?please guide me.
19th March 2013, 04:45 PM
sanj69

There is absolutely no percentage of marks required in any level of education for IAS and IPS only a pass in Graduation in any stream makes one eligible for IAS and IPS.

To become an IAS or IPS officer one has to get through Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate with good Physical Fitness.

The selection is through three stages:-

CSAT - Civil Service Aptitude Test - Preliminary Exam

Civil Service Main Exam

Personal Interview

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
19th March 2013, 05:34 PM

IAS/IPS - Indian Administrative Service/Indian Police Service, to become an IAS/IPS officer one has to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC every year after Graduation.

No percentage of marks criteria in 10th or 12th or Graduation is required to apply for Civil Service Exam.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National. Her should have either appear for the final Graduation degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

The selection is through two stages of written exam followed by personal interview.

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in
19th March 2013, 07:45 PM
end of query

For taking up the IAS and IPS exam, there is no criteria for the required marks in secondary and senior secondary classes. You're allowed even if you've passed these school examinations with 33% marks. The main requirements to give these exams is that you should be a graduate from a recognized Indian university and you should be within the age limit of 21-30 years.
The relaxation of 3 and 5 years is given to the obc and sc/st students respectively.
The number of attempts are 4 for the general category, 7 for the obc category and there is no limitations for the sc/st category.
For filling up the upsc forms. The website is
Www.upsc.gov.in
Gud luck
19th March 2013, 07:47 PM
end of query

For taking up the IAS and IPS exam, there is no criteria for the required marks in secondary and senior secondary classes. You're allowed even if you've passed these school examinations with 33% marks. The main requirements to give these exams is that you should be a graduate from a recognized Indian university and you should be within the age limit of 21-30 years.
The relaxation of 3 and 5 years is given to the obc and sc/st students respectively.
The number of attempts are 4 for the general category, 7 for the obc category and there is no limitations for the sc/st category.
For filling up the upsc forms. The website is
Www.upsc.gov.in
Gud luck
19th March 2013, 11:19 PM

As far as notifications are concerned there is no mention of percentage criteria for Civil Services Examination.

You only need a Graduation degree in any discipline from a recognised University with only passing marks.

So don't worry about you percentages in the 10th, 12th and Graduation because it will not be counted in the final selection.

Along with the Graduation your age must be between 21 to 30 years if you are General Category.

There is 5 years relaxation for SC/ST and 3 years for OBC Category.

The merit will be prepared in the basis of marks obtained in the Civil Services Examination which will have 3 stages:

-Civil Services Aptitude Test

-Civil Services Mains

-Interview

If you want to join IPS then you also have to pass physical fitness test according to the standard of Indian Police Services.

So you must start preparing for Civil Services if you have a Graduation degree and must not worry about the eligibility criteria.

For more information visit http://www.upsc.gov.in
4th July 2013, 02:03 PM

i am having suppymentry in 12th exam so can i give exam of IAS
22nd August 2013, 08:32 AM
sohangoriya

Dear friend for apply IAS and IPS officer exam the minimum Education qualification is Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

There are no any percentage required in 10th, 12th and in Graduation.

IAS and IPS exam is conducted by UPSC under Civil Services exam in every year.

Eligibility criteria :-

Candidate should be an Indian citizen.

Candidate should be completed Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

Age should be between 21 years to 30 years for General category candidates.

Age relaxation for OBC category candidates 3 years

And SC/ST category candidates 5 years.

Number of Attempts:-

General category candidates - 4 time

OBC category Candidates - 7 time

SC/ST category candidates - No limit.

Physical Standard:--

Height – Male 165 cm and Female -150 cm

Chest – Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.

Female Min 79 cm expansion 5 cm.

Selection procedure :-

- Preliminary entrance exam

- Main entrance exam

- Interview

- Physical and medical test

So, friend you are eligible to apply IAS and IPS exam only passing Graduation degree in a recognized University.

There are no limit of percentage required.

All the best......
22nd August 2013, 11:31 AM
anshu85277

ias and ips exam is conducted under civil services by upsc,

there is no marks required for applying ias and ips of 10th and 12th

eligibility criteria :

1. must be a citizen of india

2.must have completed graduation from a recognized university

3.age limit should be between 21 to 30 years

4.age relaxation is allowed to reserved
obc- 3 years
sc/st - 5 years

5.no of attempts allowed
general- 4 attempts
obc- 7 attempts
sc/st - no limit

there is no physical requirement for ias but there are some physical standards for ips :
height for men- 165 cm and for female 150 cm
chest for men 84 cm and female 79 cm (5 cm expansion)

selection procedure :
1.prelims
2.mains
3.interview

as there is no marks required of class 10th,12th and graduation only you need is pass degree in all these

22nd August 2013, 03:56 PM
eduforall

There is no percentage or minimum percentage requirement for IAS or IPS exam. You just need to be a graduate minimum.

These exams are conducted by UPSC.

The eligibility for this exam requires -

You to be an Indian national.

You to be a graduate in any discipline from a recognised university.

Your age to be between 21 years to 30 years.

If you fulfil these criteria, you can apply for IAS or IPS exam.

So, you should first complete graduation.

The exam is conducted in three stages -

Preliminary exam, followed by a Main exam and finally an interview.

After finishing intermediate, you can join a coaching for preparation of civil services exam and do graduation side by side.

Visit www.upsc.gov.in
22nd August 2013, 03:56 PM
ashok.more002

IPS stands for Indian Police Service while IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service. While IAS is related to policy making and administration, IPS is related to crime, law and order and anti terrorism operations.

There is a single exam to recruit IAS and IPS in India. The name of this exam is Civil Service Examination. This exam is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission.

There is no percentage requirement for Civil Service Examination. As long as you have completed the graduation course, you can appear for the Civil Service Examination. Your percentage in 10th, 12th and graduation are irrelevant for IPS or IAS. Therefore as long as you have bachelor's degree you can appear for the Civil Service Examination.

However there are some physical requirements that are also required to be met. Please check below about all the requirements to appear for Civil Service Examination.

Eligibility

1. The candidate applying should be Indian citizen.

2. A minimum of graduation degree is required to appear for the exam.

Age Limit

1. The age limit for General candidates is 21 to 30 years.

2. However for OBC, age limit is extended by 3 years.

3. In case of SC/ST the age limit is 21 to 35 years.

Physical Requirements

Height:

Male - 165 cm (General) while 160 cm (ST)

Female - 150 cm (General) and 145 cm (ST)

Chest:

Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm

Female Min 79 cm expansion 5 cm

Eye Sight:

6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye

6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye

No color blindness or night blindness

Exam Pattern

There are two stages of Civil Service Examination

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Exam

Number of Attempts

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST- No limit
22nd August 2013, 03:59 PM
nishi513

Hi friend
~>Indian Administrative Service & Indian Police Service examination is conducted by UPSC(Union Public Service Commission)
~>Minimum educational qualification required to apply for IAS & IPS exam is graduation in any discipline from recognised institution
~>Age limit to apply for IAS & IPS exam is 21-30 years and the age relaxations are as per the government regulations
~>Selection process is written test(preliminary & mains examinations) followed by personal interview
~>For further details visit www.upsc.gov.in
ALL THE BEST
22nd August 2013, 07:12 PM
Iftiyark3

Thumbs up Re: What is the percentage required in 12th, and 10th for IAS and IPS?

There are must be graduate done for IAS and IPS.
22nd August 2013, 07:16 PM
Iftiyark3

Thumbs up Re: What is the percentage required in 12th, and 10th for IAS and IPS?

12th and 10th student should not apply it.there are must be graduate complete for IAS and IPS.
22nd August 2013, 08:31 PM
vikash kumar prajapati

Union Public Service Commission conducts Civil Services Examination for various posts such as for :
  1. Indian Administrative Services.
  2. Indian Police Services.
  3. Indian Statistical Officer.
  4. Indian Foreign Services.
  5. Indian Forest Officer..etc.
For all the above listed examinations candidates will required to meet the required eligibility criteria.These are :
  1. Candidates must be an Indian.
  2. Candidates should have a bachelor degree in any discipline from any recognized university.
  3. Candidates minimum age should be 21 years and candidates age should not be above 30 years.
Candidates who are studying in Final semester/Final year of Graduation course will also be eligible to apply for UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Exam.

Age Relaxation will be provided to the SC,ST,OBC,Physically handicapped and Female Widows candidates.
~For SC and ST category - 5 years.
~For OBC category - 3 years.
~For Widows and Physically Handicapped category - 5 years.

One of the most important thing which you will have to consider for applying to UPSC Civil Services Exam is that there is attempt limitation and you cannot exceed the attempt limit.This attempt limit is only for the General and OBC category candidates.
-->>OBC candidates can appear only 7 times.
-->>General candidates can appear only 4 times.

UPSC Civil Services is a Open exam.So candidates having any marks will be eligible to apply for this exam.The only condition is that candidates should be at least passed out in their bachelor degree course.
UPSC Civil Services Exam will be conducted in three phases.These are :
  1. Civil Services Aptitude Test - Preliminary Exam.
  2. Civil Services Mains Exam.
  3. Group Discussion and Personal Interview.
30th December 2016, 05:16 PM

Is b.SC hotel management student also become a IAS officer? And if they select for this post then they will become a IAS or tourism sector officer.
13th February 2017, 06:43 PM

I am a house wife and now I am compliting graduation. I want to make an ias officers how can I prepare. Now I am 22 year can I do it
3rd March 2017, 07:43 PM

Sir, I have passed the 12th from C.B.S.E medium but due to some region I am pursuing B.A ( hon.) pol.science from hindi medium .I want to apply in I .A.S so sir plzz suggest me that from which medium I have to take coaching in English or in hindi and tell me that there is any compulsory language or not.
15th November 2018, 01:03 PM

Sir i want to appear IAS exam but many people say that an IAS aspirant must secure 60% in English in class 12, but i have secured only 54 %. Can i appear the exam?
27th December 2018, 12:41 PM

Hello, My brother is willing to prepare for UPSC examination.But he had studied french in 12th board examination.Will he able to write UPSC and become an IPS officer.
Is french language a problem for him to study for UPSC examination
10th August 2019, 10:00 AM

Sir I am rajesh Kumar Jena I want to know that can I attend exam after 2 science
21st August 2019, 12:44 PM

Can a 2nd PUC supplementary passed by his 5 attempts and degree holder can apply for UPSC
24th July 2020, 11:23 AM

Sir /madam I need to know the criteria if anything is mentioned about the minority community of Jainism religion. Please kindly reply.
9th September 2020, 03:31 PM

Can a general program course student crack upsc?
27th September 2020, 03:33 PM

Upsc fees pattern LBSNAA fees pattern for IAS