8th March 2018, 05:53 PM
Unregistered

Should I apply for Common Proficiency Test if pursuing B.Sc(Economics)?

Hello, I am studying B.Sc(Economics) and this is my 1st year. I am thinking to join ICAI. So, I am planning to give CPT entrance. But my friends are telling me to do ICAI program after Graduation. So, what I can do now? I take admission or wait for become Graduate?

15th April 2018, 05:48 AM
Career Expert
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Should I apply for Common Proficiency Test if pursuing B.Sc(Economics)?

Yes, you can apply for Common Proficiency Test (CPT) while pursuing first year of B.Sc. (Economics) course. Candidates who have passed 12th standard or an equivalent examination from a Government recognised board are eligible to appear in CPT examination. There is no much difference to pursue ICAI course after 12th standard or graduation. But, only candidates who have secured at least 55% aggregate in Commerce stream or 60% aggregate marks in Non-Commerce stream Bachelor's degree course from a Government recognised university are exempted from appearing in CPT examination and they can directly register for IPCC level of ICAI course.
15th April 2018, 08:30 AM
Saikiranreddy47475
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Should I apply for Common Proficiency Test if pursuing B.Sc(Economics)?

If you are interested to join ICAI, then you should have to apply for CPT examination. You should have passed Higher Secondary course from a recognised board to be eligible to appear in CPT examination..

The CPT examination is conducted twice a year in the months of June and December. It is best to do CA course directly after completion of your 12th standard as there will not be any advantage except an exemption from CPT examination, if you join CA course after completion of your B.Sc. (Economics) course.
15th April 2018, 10:24 AM
avinash1997
Senior Member+++++