CBI Officer - How to become a CBI Officer?

The Central Bureau of Investigation is an agency which detects crime and helps to solve cases. It is also responsible for matters relating to the national security The CBI is controlled by the Ministry of Personnel headed by the Union Minister who reports directly to the Prime Minister of India. The CBI is acknowledged as the authorized Interpol unit of our country. It is headed by a Director. He will be an IPS officer of the rank of Commissioner of Police (CP) or Director General of Police (DGP). The details regarding the entrance exam, application form and the other information will be published in the Employment News.

Qualifying Exam

Candidates who wish to join the CBI must write the Union Public Service Commission Examination. Those candidates who have completed their graduation with a minimum of 55% marks are eligible to appear for this exam.

Who is eligible to apply?

Candidates who are applying for the UPSC examination must be citizens of India. They must be atleast 20 years at the time of applying. SC/ST/OBC candidates must be atleast 30 years when they apply. The candidates who qualify in the written test will be later called for a Physical Test and Interview.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Candidates who are appearing for the UPSC examination must be well informed on current matters. They must be familiar with all the happenings around them. Since the written test will include, essay writing, comprehension, précis writing and vocabulary, it is important that the candidates have a good knowledge in English. Candidates who are appearing for the written test can prepare themselves by going for coaching. They can also study by themselves by reading articles. More information on the CBI can also be gathered from the internet. Question papers of the preceding years will be available from all book stores. Maintaining the fixed time is very crucial in examinations; therefore, extensive practice using previous years question papers will help the candidate to increase their speed in answering questions within the time frame. When the candidates approach the panel that conducts the interview, they must be calm and honest while answering.  It is always better to take some time before answering a question than giving a reply hurriedly. This will give them some time to think over their answers. The candidates must also make sure that they answer in a direct manner.

138 Responses to “CBI Officer - How to become a CBI Officer?”

1. 138
    chidananda.R:

on this april.i wil get my degree certificate(Bsc Ag).am interested in joining CBI.is there any reservations for kannada , /rural/agriculturist??. on subject I have to read to join CBI.

2. 137
    rama bharathi:

1) How would I come to know about the exam for CBI officer?
    2) What should be the qualification for it?
    3) What is the age limit for general category?
    4) How many tries can we attempt for the selection?
    5) What are the portions for exam?

3. 136
    Shubham singh:

Sir main 12th me study kar rha hu aur main cbi officer banana chahta hu.cbi banane ke liye mujhe kya karna hoga.sir plz answer

4. 135
    Tajamul:

sir i want to be a cbi officer and what should i have to do or what i have to study

5. 134
    surbhi sharma:

i am done my b.com & i am also preapering upse exam pls tell me how i will become a cbi officer

6. 133
    Suman Tarafdar:

I am now B.sc student 3rd year general. I would like to be a CBI or CID officer.
    After my graguade how to prepare my ambition. ?

7. 132
    karunya:

i am an sc candidate and my age is 21 .can i apply fir it

8. 131
    maroof ali:

my question is there is any oppurtunity in cbi after mechanical engineering.

9. 130
    Avinash nimbadas patil:

CBI Officer job requarment

10. 129
    pramod:

iam passed 12th what can i do after 12th for cbi

11. 128
    Avinash yadav:

sir, i have completed my graduation in commerce. i want to become cbi officer. sir please provide me details about ,procedure, eligibility .and when the entrance exams are conducted and which books are more helpful to crack the entrance exams.to become cbi officer .sir please help me.

12. 127
    M.Rajkumar:

hai my name is M.Rajkumar .I am studying CA . I have completed my ipcc. .so how to become a cbi officer .pls send a feedback.pls

13. 126
    subalakshmi:

i am studying B.A.B.L(HONS).i want to work as a cbi officer in india.will u send me informations about this to my mail.exams and other things……..

14. 125
    subalakshmi:

i am studying B.A.B.L(HONS).i want to work as a cbi officer in india.will u send me informations about this to my mail.

15. 124
    swati kumari:

CBI KE EXAM KE LIYE SUBJECT,QUALIFICATION,MARS PERCENTAGE KYA HONA CHAHIYE?

16. 123
    Akshay:

Respected sir….my 12 % is 59.8 …can i apply for c.b.i.

17. 122
    Anmol Goyal:

I’m currently in 12th grade humanities stream and want to be an IPS as well as CBI officer. Should I go for graduation in crime investigation or with my regular honors degree.
    Also please infrom about the entrance requirements and procedure to apply after graduation. my age is 17.

18. 121
    Akbar ali:

Please inform me when online form for upsc is available.

19. 120
    BABU LAL MEENA:

am reading in B.A.2nd year and want to join C.B.I. sir give me hintssss

20. 119
    Nagesh Prajapati:

1. What is percentage requiment with graduation?

2. What is the procedure?

3. How many stages in this?

4. How to prepare by ownway?

21. 118
    anupriya:

Hi,i am studying BE third year i want to become cbi officer., when and where i get the application form for upsc examination

22. 117
    inspector:

maximum age limit to join c.b.i.inspector

23. 116
    Ginni:

I NEED THA JOB

24. 115
    kamal krrishna das:

1. Mai abhi b.a 2nd year me pap rahi hun. kya 12th pass pas me cbi join kar sakta hun?

2.mai s.c hun is ke liye mai parsentej ya or kya kya subidha pasakta hun?

3.Agar mera koi computer cours kara huya hai jaise ki networking,gprs, etc.

plese give me answare.

25. 114
    jai prakash pathak:

How can I become a CBI officer after 12th or after graduation

26. 113
    GAZI:

I want to become a cbi officer.so,how to i can prepare?

27. 112
    Piyush Rajput:

how can i become a cbi officer after passing 12th ?

28. 111
    Rohit sharma:

What is the salary of SI in CBI from starting?

29. 110
    Hareesh:

Hi, I m looking your kind help on CBI Recruitment Process. I’m looking for any Good Books to prepare myself in order to achieve a good rank in CBI. And I want to know the Rank, Post, Power so that I can prepare myself to the Best. Thanks in Advance

30. 109
    flora grace:

i am a BE 3rd year student of computer science depatment.i would like to become a cbi officer.i want guidence to appear for cbi examination.kindly provide me the information.

31. 108
    Ratiranjan pal:

I am a final year b.tech student and i want to join cbi.how will i go?

32. 107
    deepak gautam:

i am doing b.e 3rd sem shall i elgible for cbi exam

33. 106
    Saurabh:

Is final year degree student, eligible for cbi entrance examination?

34. 105
    MALLU:

HOW TO WORK?

35. 104
    avanish kumar:

head of department. means.reps sir mai cbi officer banna cahta hu,aur mai 100 pres sure hu ki mai ho jaunga. i am not over confidence..because maine aaj pahli bar kisi kam ko karne ki thani hai. my ques is- cbi me kis rank k officer ko puri athority hoti hai ki wo kabhi bhi kahi bhi rahte hue kisi bhi city ko oprate kr sake. plz inform me. rank , post , power, and prepaired him. plz sir help me.this is my life’s question. i am in bsc 3rd year.

36. 103
    avanish kumar:

head of department. means.reps sir mai cbi officer banna cahta hu,aur mai 100 pres sure hu ki mai ho jaunga. i am not over confidence..because maine aaj pahli bar kisi kam ko karne ki thani hai. my ques is- cbi me kis rank k officer ko puri athority hoti hai ki wo kabhi bhi kahi bhi rahte hue kisi bhi city ko oprate kr sake. plz inform me. rank , post , power, and prepaired him. plz sir help me.this is my life’s question.

37. 102
    Ramkumar:

sir,Now i am studying in b.tech IT Department 3year.i want become a cbi officer.i want to know
    about the syllabus for its entrance
    exam.kindly give me some
    suggestions so that i can prepare
    myself for its entrance exam.

38. 101
    Anuj sharma:

My name is anuj sharma i am doing job with INDIAN ARMY. Pl tell me how can apply to CBI officer after complitio of Army service.

39. 100
    anu gupta:

i m a student of b sc 3rd year ith statistics as honours subject
    am i eligible to sit in d same this year ??
    and what more will b better option for me for administative posts ??

40. 99
    Mukund Prajapati:

my name is mukund prajapati, i am from Gujarat-Anand-Petlad, and now i am working as a software Engineer, i have comlite my B.com with 61%, i have try to get goverment job ,if you can give me a some Guidance about ips, psi, cbi , so hlep, i want to become a real indian men , who want fight for country.

41. 98
    sivakumar:

hight is importent in cbi??

42. 97
    ganesh agrawal:

please mujhe batayie cbi officer ke liye ips karna padta hai kya upsc me ips ya cbi kis ke exam dene padte hai please tell me now

43. 96
    ganesh agrawal:

WHAT ARE THE PHYSICAL REQIREMENT OF CBI AND ENGLISH CAN B E MUST IN INTERVIEW ME B.COM III ME HO KYA ME CBI OFFICER BAN SAKTA HO WHAT SUBJECT ARE CBI KYA MATHEMTICS CBI EXAM ME HOTI HAI PLEASE TELL ME

44. 95
    Ashutosh kumar:

Can i join cbi after entermidiete

45. 94
    Sajid Husain:

Sir i Sajid husain
    I have completed B.A & Hardwere & Networking Eng. 2 Year Exp.
    I wanna Cyber Expert
    I want to job With cyber expert CBI & Police
    plz tell me how

46. 93
    Md sajjad hussain:

i have completed b.a from urdu hons and i am doing a small job in event field because i have no any support from my family. I earn money for my education and my other expences. I want to become a c b i officer but prepering jpsc examination with doing job i know it’s very tuff so give me your advice what i will do? I am waiting for your advice.

47. 92
    navdeep:

what is the maximum age for becoming cbi sub inspector ?

48. 91
    Ravi Kumar:

I am 30 years old, post graduate, want to join CBI. Please tell me about the procedure to get into CBI.

49. 90
    deepa:

plz. tell me when from for s.i in cbi what educatthanksion required.

50. 89
    Kamal:

Respected sir ,
    I hav completed my bds course.. I want to know can i be eligible for cbi?what other preparations i have to do for entrance test? When does the entrance test takes place? What is the fees required?how many attempts can be tried for test??

51. 88
    naveen:

sir/madam , i am doing my B.E mechanical engineering and i am very interested in CBI ,so can u tell me what are all the exams,qualification and physical fitess required to join….

52. 87
    saroj:

sir,i just want to know the physical criteria to became a cbi officer,,,?

53. 86
    theju.y:

am studying BSc computer science, i want to join C.B.I . i want to know how to apply & information about qualification & physical fitness kindly give me some suggetion.

54. 85
    theju.y:

in website according to the information have ”who is eligible to apply” in this informatoin have the candidate must write the UPSC exam & they must be atleast 20 years at the time of applying, but the candidate who complete any graduation is at the time of his age is 21 or 22 & he attend the UPSC exam after degree only it means his age is at 22 then how the candidate will apply at 20th age… and the candidate want to do master degree it completes at after 2 or 3 years then how he will to join CBI, becouse the candidate who join to CBI between 20 to 25 years then how he will to join. have any chance to join plz give information.

55. 84
    Sunil Bhalerao:

i am completed B tech (agril engg) i want to join C.B.I.i want to know about the syllabus for its entrance exam.kindly give me some suggestions so that i can prepare myself for its entrance exam.

56. 83
    raviteja:

i am a student of b.tech,3rd year.After completion of my b.tech i want to join C.B.I.i want to know about the syllabus for its entrance exam.kindly give me some suggestions so that i can prepare myself for its entrance exam.

57. 82
    Sagar Joshi:

I want to be a CBI officer after completion of my B.E, now i am in 12th class, where and what should i have to do to attend UPSC examination?

58. 81
    AMAN SILAS:

dear sir i am a student of commerce….i have graduated dis year in B.COM and i have 52% marks in graduation….
    so please tell me that am i eligible for apllying it???

i seriously want to become a CBI officer…plzzz guide me
    if im not eligible is there any other option for it???

59. 80
    Divya:

i m interested to be in CBI. what ought i need to practice for myself to be in cbi. can u suggest the some websites,jobs,practices,online study certificates or courses?

60. 79
    sukhjinder:

sir, i have a tatoo of my name on my arm. Can i become cbi officer?

61. 78
    tiyasa saha:

i am a student of b.tech,2nd year.After completion of my b.tech i want to join C.B.I.i want to know about the syllabus for its entrance exam.kindly give me some suggestions so that i can prepare myself for its entrance exam.

62. 77
    zubair:

i zubair just completed my graduation with 80% iam very interested to get in c.b.i
    what it needs ,suggest me ,some intelligence jobs which can i get in ,plz help me suggesting give me some tips to get in

63. 76
    manish churu:

what is scope after m.sc. Zoology. Beside lecturar

64. 75
    Shristee sharma.:

Sir mene B.sc biotech se kiya h or me cbi join krna chahti hu plz uski entrance exam date or usko join krne ke liye kya kya krna hoga mujhe bataiye plz sir.

65. 74
    Ayesha shaikh:

I m ayesha. Sir meri age 18 hai mein CBI banna chahti hu mein vapi (gujarat) me rehti hu mene I.A kiya hai sir mera aim hai CBI banne ka sir plz aap meri help kariye mujhe is ka koi idea nhi hai plz sir help me plz plz plz plz

66. 73
    Ashwin Kumar BR:

I’m currently studying BA/LLB 5 years course,what is needed to become a CBI/Cyber crime officer

67. 72
    Pankaj kumar:

Plz tel me hw I m prepare For The Cbi Exam

68. 71
    Trivikram:

I finished my BBM degree in bangalore university and i am willing to join CBI and i want to know what course should i do and i want the venue of the examination.

69. 70
    manesh maji:

I am finished my graduation degree in geography with 54%.sir can i able to join c.b.i.?
    can u please told me when upsc application form will be published?

70. 69
    Mahua choudhury:

How to prepare for UPSE exam after completing B.E

71. 68
    venkat ashish:

1) How would I come to know about the exam for CBI officer?
    2) What should be the qualification for it?
    3) What is the age limit for general category?
    4) How many tries can we attempt for the selection?
    5) What are the portions for exam?

72. 67
    akshay dabhi:

sir… i want to be a cbi officer… i’m doing B.E. 2nd year… can u give me such advice… its my aim to be a officer…

73. 66
    Pardeepmuman:

Sir i complete m.a english my hight 5.11etch.
    Goldmdel in firing range and i doing job in punjab police commando.then i join cbi about cbi tel me mob 9878460960 punjab

74. 65
    Amit kumar:

Sir i hv a tattoo on my right hand ,cn i appilicable for physical cbi plz tell me

75. 64
    Binod kumar Shaw:

I am b.com final year student, and want to join Central Bureau Investigation. Can you give me some advise about them

76. 63
    jatin goyani:

sir,what to do i for become cbi officer?

77. 62
    'arishma Kapoor:

Dear Sir, I have done my M.Sc in micro and have attained first class marks in academics. I want to know if there are any govt exams that I can apply for considering my field…. Please help me regarding my email ID is [email protected]/ [email protected]. Thank You

78. 61
    pankjesh kumar:

sir i m doing bca from usha martin academy,hazaribag…..it is giving me the degree of distance education……can i give an entrance exam of cbi after doing bca?????

79. 60
    Sahiyas:

How join cbi i am completed graduate ba economics

80. 59
    Abhishek:

Dear sir\ma’am,
    I am an IITian from IIT bombay with civil engineering field
    I want an elaborated detail on recruitment in CBI
    pls. Help me.

abhishek

81. 58
    Bhagirath saw:

RESPECTED SIR,
    WITH DUE RESPECT AND HUMBLE SUBMISSION I WANT TO SAY SOME THING TO U THAT NOW I STUDY IN 12 commerce WITH MATHS AND I WANT TO BECOME A CBI OFFICER WHAT I DO SIR.
    PLEASE REPLY
    THANKING YOU.
    jay hindi

82. 57
    supreeth:

sir i am b.e mechanical with 66%….sir to become cbi officer is ther any height restriction…because my height is 5.4ft…….please reply sir…if ther is no restriction i can prepare for exams….please answer

83. 56
    vishal gurav:

sir i m B.E(I.T.) final year student i have much interest to become an I.p.s. Officer bt i have one physical problem i.e. In my eye one spot is present and in ear hole is present bt this is at the time of born can i physically fit to become I.p.s. Officer.

84. 55
    SAGAR BHARADWAJ:

RESPECTED SIR,
    WITH DUE RESPECT AND HUMBLE SUBMISSION I WANT TO SAY SOME THING TO U THAT NOW I STUDY IN 12 SCIENCE WITH MATHS AND I WANT TO BECOME A CBI OFFICER WHAT I DO SIR.
    PLEASE REPLY
    THANKING YOU,

85. 54
    Narayanan.D:

Hai after passing the first exam in UPSE can i called for interview?And how many test is there for to become a CBI?

86. 53
    imtiaz siddiqui:

i am completed b.com what is procedure to join the cbi in mumbai
    what type question asked for cbi which question ask for writtwn exam please send my email what i want to do for this field

87. 52
    sameer:

sir, now im pursuing b.tech final year in computers… can u give me the pattern of the examination…

88. 51
    sneha:

dear sir, mam
    im a b.com graduate, i want to prepare for cbi entrance exam. can u please provide me d details regarding CGPE exam, how to study for exam, when its going to b conduct, how to prepare for interview….

89. 50
    Rahul:

Hello Sir I am now +2 in commarce kya study karo C.B.I Officer kai liye plz reply me ok bye sir ggg

90. 49
    randeepsingh:

how to become an encounter specialist and an intelligent networking cop who can even face dangerous political mobs and of bajarang dal and shiv sena and other dangerous criminals

91. 48
    prabhjot:

sir me +1 arts me hu abe muje batae me age jake kya study karu cbi officer ke lea
    or sir mere pass sports ke certificate he national ke b muje batae ki muje iska kya benifit mile ga

92. 47
    Damodhar Awari:

is it necessary to attain the upsc exam to become the cbi officer

93. 46
    hema:

sir,mam
    i am student of computer science engineering.
    i want to know how to write cbi exam. i m very interesting
    for cbi and cid job’s . how to impure my self and how prepare for the exam

94. 45
    soumya roy:

can any one inform me the date of the entrance exam?

95. 44
    shaukatmotiwala:

my dughter is good in studies, she wants to become CBI officer and she is very much interested so pls guide us how to get better informations on the CBI subject.

96. 43
    saikrishna:

what is the process to join CBI dept??? am studying 4th b.tech now!

97. 42
    Satyajit Mahapatra:

Which site in available the cbi books

98. 41
    preeti k.:

i am B.com 3rd year student and computer corce for ADTP, i want CBI job and CBI joining ke liye kya formalaty h janna chahti hu

99. 40
    DEVENDRA:

sir me complete master degree in Computer ( mca ) . I wanna to make feature in CBI . So wht type of physical fitness essential for this one .

100. 39
    vivek:

I have completed of beacholar of hotel management & I want to join cbi,fdi ,cid. I am elegible & give detail of application form

101. 38
    sachin tikale:

Sir i am sachin tikale i am BCA complete i am join for cbi officers
    sir so plz reply online applications web site,

102. 37
    Naresh:

Sir iam naresh i want to become a cbi officer.How can i prepare for ssc cbi officer exam.

103. 36
    abhijit:

I am complete Bsc. In chemistry. How join a cbi,

104. 35
    garima nama:

how to become a cbi officer

105. 34
    Rajesh:

Which site in available the c.b.i books

106. 33
    Prashant H Meharwade:

hello sir/madam. i want to join cbi as a officer…. i’m b.com graduate.. is this possible.. if it’s so.. thn plz… reply me with ur. suggestions

107. 32
    himani:

how to become cbi officier .which exams we have to give

108. 31
    avartika:

I have done post.g.in art side of 54.2% so can i get the job in CBI or CID dep……?

109. 30
    DIPANJAN MAITRA:

I read E.T.C.E engineering at west bengal. I want
    to help country & you by give you some secret information. I want to be a kid spy.please sir grant my application. I know many hidden news of our socity.give me chance to prove myself.i want a chance.

110. 29
    Abhimanyu:

I have done Hotel managment course.Could i get job in CBI & CID department….?

111. 28
    abhishek anand:

Hallo sir,
    this is abhishek anand, i have given my final year exam in hotel management result is awaited. it will be published in december or january. so, may i fill this form write and i can give the examination. kindly tell me about this. thank u .

112. 27
    sundhararajan:

hi sir this is sundhar i am studying final year EEE engineering . my aim is become a CBI officer. how to prepare for a CBI officer

113. 26
    blessina:

i’m doing bsc IT and i would like to get employed in CBI… suggest me with some ideas…..

114. 25
    shiva:

hi i am shiva i want be com a police officer what is eduction requires

115. 24
    Manmohan Sharma:

what is the study material for entrance examination of cbi

116. 23
    SELVARANI:

Hai sir this is selvarani i m a 1st year student studying aeronautical.my aim is to become a CBI officer.please tel me me what are all the things i want to prepare for my cbi exam.
    hope that you will send a good reply

117. 22
    muhammad nasir:

i passed my BSC exam with chemistry and i belong from poor family if any one know aboutjob for bsc passed student then reply me.

118. 21
    Sumit Nakrani:

i want to become a CBI Officer.
    is it success?
    so please give me some suggestion
    i m waiting for your ans.

119. 20
    shashidhar b h:

im shashidhar studing 9th std i wil become cbi cant i, im in state sylabus is there any option

120. 19
    andleeb shahzadi:

how to join CBI after BScN i mean bsc nursing?

121. 18
    manoharan.m:

sir,i used to wear specs will i fit physically my power is +4

122. 17
    avinash kumar:

could u tell me abt ranking of cbi officers and pay scale& other facilities they get?

123. 16
    RAJ:

IS THERE ANY PHYSICAL CRITERIA(e.g height, weight,etc) TO BECOME A CBI OFFICER?

124. 15
    leonard:

I am in 1oth Standard,What have to do for CBI inspector course

125. 14
    teja:

i want to become a cbi officer,
    but i have eye sight of 2 and i had two operatrions. can i apply for the exam sir. i completed my graduation.

126. 13
    Parth:

I have been given examination of the F.Y.B.com this running year.can I apply for it???

127. 12
    sahanaj:

i have completed graduation from distence education can i apply form for CBI exam?

128. 11
    C.kaushik:

Sir..i wanna know that I have passed bca can I apply for cbi inspector n I am 21 years old..n this time how can I apply for this…

129. 10
    mallikarjun:

respective sir,
    Dis is mallikarjun studying 12th and i am very interested in joining cbi and i have a curiosity 2 become cbi and i dnt have any guider 2 ask abt cbi and help dat hw 2 be an cbi officer help me pls sir

130. 9
    kanchan biswas:

i am interested t0 work(join) as a CBI officer but my age is 36yr s. i am UPSC certified and have good communication skill. i am BE electrical and known computer operation. do you think i am eligible for CBI like JAZZ RAJ. thank you.
    kanchan biswas.
    flat nob. 6/2,ph II,MIG IIB,calcutta Greens
    1050/2 survey park, ajoynagar,
    kolkata_700075,west bengal,India.
    Tel: 033 24160874
    Tel: +919051707011.

131. 8
    amitrampal:

please tell me
    about physical test for c.b.i. and
    detail of syllabus

132. 7
    Prabhakar G.:

I want to become CBI officer. I’m B.Sc. appearing student, i’m 18year old. What are the qwallification reqire to get this job.

133. 6
    Rakesh Sen:

Sir I am Rakesh Sen . I am 23 years old and want to service in CBI. I passed B.Com from Calcutta University in 2009. Please help and give me the information to get a job in CBI that I work for my country. my mail id is: [email protected] and my mobile number is (09239411377).

134. 5
    RAJNISH SHUKLA:

SIR I AM RAJNISH KUMAR SHUKLA .I AM DOING B.TECH (3RD YR).
    KINDLY GIVE ME INFORMATION ABOUT INTRANCE EXAM FORM FOR
    CBI.

THANKING YOU.

135. 4
    VIJAY KJ:

ifinished graduatte nowinageis 29yers old i am born from
    poor family soi could get proper studys I am BBA

my child ambition is CBI I FINDISHED GRADUATION CORRESSPONDENSE COUSRES I NOT REQULAR COLLAGE

IF I JOIN CBI

SIR, PLS REQUST TO ANSWER PL

REGARDS
    VIJAY KJ

136. 3
    manimaran:

i am doing BE(cse) final year ,can i eligible to write upsc exam.Eligible means ,please tell the procedure.

137. 2
    Devang Mistry:

how i will be the CBI officer..what qualification required for the same.

138. 1
    pankaj:

when exam take place and how to enroll the form and what about fees