26th December 2010, 12:15 AM
bikenindia

Default Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

Sir/Madam i want to write IAS exam.But i dont know where to collect materials.Please give me some ideas for that.
Hi friend,

writing a civil service is a very good thing and it depends on the study material too.
The best study material would be the Monthly journals such as civil service chronicles, Competitive success review, etc.
Reading newspaper especially THE HINDU would be a great help in your GK and current events.
Prepare your optional subject right from the basics to the graduate level.

Hope this can help you to some extent.

26th December 2010, 12:20 AM
bikenindia

Hello...can a person can clear the ias exams in 1 year with his hardwork or it usuaaly takes 2 to 3 years to become ias irrespective of the hardwork...plz clarify...waiting for your views friends..
Hi friend,

I won't say it is not possible to clear when you are fresher. Off course it is possible but it is very hard to do it. It depends on your hard work and your knowledge. everything is possible, even the word IMPOSSIBLE says I M POSSIBLE.
Also it may take 2 or 3 years to crack as it needs lots of preparation and for this i would advice to join a coaching centre which will helps you a lot. Read THE HINDU, it is one of the most useful study material for IAS aspirants.

26th December 2010, 12:22 AM
bikenindia

I have secured 59.8% in 10th and 52% in 12th.can i apply for ias?is there a chance of facing problem due to this academic career?
Yes you are eligible for civil service exam and you surely can take up this exam.
There are no cut off marks for civil service exam. since there is no cut off marks, it wont create any problem.
Clearing the prelims and mains is a very tough task. So prepare well to clear this two rounds and you will be called for interview.

26th December 2010, 12:29 AM
bikenindia

i am student of cbse goa, and just passed 10th and chossed commerce stream. can i get some special books for applying entrance for IAS or upse

Some of the recommended books are
1.Accounts - TS Grewal (class XI and XII NCERT)
2.Audit- Aruna Jha
3.Business organization- Rankers note
4.Law- MC Kucchal
5. Managemt- CB Gupta

Hope this can help you to some extent.

26th December 2010, 12:32 AM
bikenindia

can anybody tell me that bba or bca graduates are eligible for ias
Any graduate of any course are eligible to write civil service exams. The civil service exams are conducted by UPSC.
There is no cut off marks for civil service exam.
So you are eligible i.e BBA or BCA students are eligible to write IAS exam
so better start your preparation.

26th December 2010, 12:38 AM
bikenindia

what subjects are needed in 2 for ias exam.....and please tell me subjects needed in 2 in ips
Hi friend

In IAS exam, it consists of preliminary round and if you got cleared in preliminary, then you are qualified for mains.

In preliminary round
1.General studies -150 marks
2.optional subject that you have to choose (eg, economics, commerce, etc) - 300 marks

For mains
Paper I- Any languages that you have to select
Paper II- English
Paper III- Essay
Paper IV - General studies
Paper V -Any two subjects to be selected by you.

hope this information helps you.

26th December 2010, 12:41 AM
sindhusweety

it does not depends on percentage that you got in 12th. Degree holder from any university in the country was eligible. Final year students, awaiting results are also eligible.
Focus is very important. Prepare a feasible timetable. you should be well informed on current affairs in all sectors. Newspapers and materials like Competition Success Review will help. Reading helps dealing with the language well. Make good use of the dictionary when coming across unfamiliar words. These things would help with the General Studies paper.

Be careful when selecting optional subjects. Select subjects that you are confident in and for which the study material is readily available. Practice a lot. For essays, be careful not to divert from the topic. Flowery words and no subject matter do not help.

The English and the language papers test your command over them. They consist of comprehension, précis writing, vocabulary and short essay. There is also translation in the case of the language paper. Interviews help the board understand the personality of the candidate. Be modest, honest and respectful towards the panel. Keep in mind that the panel has had a lot of experience in conducting such interviews. We may be ignorant on a topic but they aren’t. Understand the question well. Taking a minute or two to answer is better than later regretting the answer you gave. Give unbiased and precise answers. Do not be argumentative. Book knowledge alone does not help in interviews; mental alertness will also be tested. Mock interviews will help a lot.
26th December 2010, 12:43 AM
bikenindia

i m completed 12th with 48% can i m eligible 4 IAS exam??reply frnds.
Off course you are eligible to write the civil service exam my dear friend.
There are no restrictions or cut off marks in IAS exam.
IAS exam needs you to be graduate of any course and your age should be between 21-30 years of age.
So, if you want to write the civil service exam, then start preparing.

26th December 2010, 12:45 AM
bikenindia

% REQUIRED FOR IAS IN 12TH

there are no such cut off marks or min. % for civil service exam.
The requirement is that one should be graduate of any course and he/she should be 21-30 years of age.
So dont worry if your PC is low in 12, you are eligible to appear.

26th December 2010, 12:46 AM
bikenindia

can we write any exams for I.A.S. in 8th standard
No, sorry you cannot write IAS exam in 8th standard.
IAS is one of the most respected and highest post in the country. A candidate who complete graduate can only write this exam.
I hope you understand.

26th December 2010, 12:49 AM
bikenindia

i passed plus two in my third chance,and i have only 45% marks in degree.. can i appear the IAS exam
Hi friend,

Don't worry, there are no cut off marks or age gap problem in appearing IAS exam. At least you should be between 21-30 years of age and you should be graduate of any course, then you are eligible to take up this exam.
dont stop trying.

26th December 2010, 12:52 AM
bikenindia

minimum percentage required
to became ias or ips
Hi friend,

Any graduate of any course can write civil service exams conducted by UPSC. There is no cut off marks or min.% for this exam. A candidate should be 21-30 yrs of age. It consists of prelims and mains and a interview. It needs lots of effort and hard work. so prepare well.

All the best and my best wishes are with you.
26th December 2010, 02:31 AM
sureshvys

Percentage is not a criteria for taking up the exam for IAS , the thing is that you should be a graduate from the recognized university.....
26th December 2010, 02:49 AM
SUMAN BHARADWAJ

Originally Posted by Dr. PRAVEEN S NAIK View Post
hi can anybody tell me!!! what is min % required to become IAS officer?
There is no such condition imposed about percantage of marks in 12th.But you should have a graduation degree from a recognized university.
26th December 2010, 07:08 AM
asahu47

Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer

as per my information there is no any limit of marks in +2 for appearing in IAS exam.
you have to just pass +2, then also passed in your graduation degree..
Then you are eligible for IAS entrance exam which is conducted by UPSC.
for more information kindly log in to www.upsc.gov.in

26th December 2010, 10:27 AM

the eligibility criterion for IAS examination is you should have graduation degree from a recognized institution.

there is no minimum marks criterion for IAS officer. if you passed graduation then you may apply for IAS officer.

the IAS examination is conducted by UPSC. it is a very honorable post. so best of luck.
26th December 2010, 10:53 AM
mini rani

hi!

The minimum academic qualification required for appearing in civil services exam conducted for recruitment of IAS officers is a bachelors degree in any discipline obtained from a recognized institution/university.

There is no percentage requirement for appearing in civil services exam. So it does not matter what percentage of marks you have scored in 12th.
26th December 2010, 04:04 PM
maddusajj

mene 12th supplymentry se pass ki hai , kya may i.a.s. ke tayari kar sakta hu ? please answer dijeye.........
yes
you can write the ias exam after completing your graduation,
you have to really work hard and be dedicated because ias exam is among the most toughest exams in the world.
you can get all the information about ias exam at ww.upsc.gov.in
26th December 2010, 04:33 PM
RAKESH KUMAR.N

1)It is not depends on what mark you get in 12th and Degree

2)Scoring Best mark in IAS Exam is most important both in
*Preliminary
*Main Exam

3)Good knowledge and Aim will make you to clear the Exam easily

Best of luck,success is yours friend
26th December 2010, 08:18 PM
mukul0094

Friend, there is no limits of marks in 12th for IAS examination but it is necessary that you have graduate degree then you are eligible in the IAS examination. thanking you. Good luck.
26th December 2010, 10:30 PM
dreksha chaudhary

Hello dear ,

I want to tell you one thing your talent matter a lot not your persentage,

one more thing your innovative mine ,good communication skill,good command over english ,tecnical as well as softskill matters not your persentage in any interview,leadership quality,good decision power so better not to run behind persentage you have to run behind these quality.

well minimum persentage required is 60%.

Good luck.
27th December 2010, 01:29 AM
subho19

Red face Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

Any graduation passed student can apply for IAS exem...
28th December 2010, 08:26 PM

HAI AM SHEKAR FROM TRICHY, DOING MY CIVIL ENGG(3RD YEAR). ANY TRAINING CENTRE IN TAMILNADU?
18th January 2011, 01:19 AM
abhimanyu2688

Post Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

To become IAS officer you will have to appear and clear civil services examination and for that eligibility is that you should be a graduate from any discipline from a recognised university in india or equal to that and you must be between 21-30 years of age.
Class 12 or graduation marks has nothing to do with UPSC CS Exams.
20th January 2011, 06:22 AM

Is graduation reqd. for becoming ias officer?
20th January 2011, 04:36 PM
mychandru024

if you get anything over 60% in 12th then you will be in the safer side and you can certainly take IAS...
21st January 2011, 03:20 PM
abhimanyu2688

Hello Friend,
There no Marks or % of marks in class 10 or 12 or in graduation as such required to become IAS officer, the only requirement is that you must be a graduate in any discipline from recognised college or university of India and your age must be 21-30 years.
Good Luck....
22nd January 2011, 02:31 PM
akumar06

Hello Friend,
The only requirement of ias exam is a degree of graduation and the age limit of 21-30 years.
So must complete your graduation first to appear in the ias exam and marks obtained in class 12th and in graduation is not required, you must be pass in these.
Good Luck.
22nd January 2011, 04:52 PM

Re:what is qualifying in IAS Exams?
24th January 2011, 10:51 AM

i have passed 12 th with 49 % marks and in graduation i got 50 % marks . Shall i give IAS exaim ?

Please reply me because i want to join IAS coaching classes as soon as possible .

27th January 2011, 05:15 PM

To become an IAS minimum qualification is graduation......If V do graduation from Open University is it ok......or V hv to do it only from regular college.
7th February 2011, 02:52 PM

dear madam/sir
can i appear for civils.50% in 10th and 48% in inter. and doing distance education
10th February 2011, 09:24 AM

i am a student of information technology in b.tech. could i fight the ias exam or other civil servies xam also ... in ies?? and how much % should be in b.tech. for appering in xam.
13th February 2011, 07:59 PM

hello sir ,
this is sushma i have scored 79% in 10th icse. i am doing my II puc. can u tell me a best university to
be joined for B.Sc in biochemistry so that i can persue to become an ias officer? i tend to forget things soon if i byheart the concepts or if i read the concept once so with these drawbacks can i become an ias officer. and as well i aspire to be a scientist .if at all i become an ias officer will i have enough time to invest on my research or invention that i would be interested at? please tell me sir i pray u. plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz sir as soon as possible sir plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
14th February 2011, 02:50 AM
pops07

you doesnt need any minimum marks criteria in 12 or 10 or graduation etc for becoming anIAS
what you have to do is to get prepare yourself good for the IAS exam
Thank You........
16th February 2011, 10:06 PM
kapil2503

Thumbs up Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

if your % in 12th class is more than 60% than you are safe side & age limit is also 21-30 year.

it consists of two rounds first preliminary round and if you got cleared in preliminary, then you are qualified for mains.

In preliminary round
1.General studies -150 marks
2.optional subject that you have to choose (eg, economics, commerce, etc) - 300 marks

For mains
Paper I- Any languages that you have to selectEnglish ,Hindi, Sanskrit etc)
Paper II- English
Paper III- Essay
Paper IV - General studies
Paper V -Any two subjects to be selected by you.

best of luck(:
22nd February 2011, 09:12 PM

I have got 59% in 12th. Can I eligible to appear IAS exam?
1st March 2011, 05:08 PM

i have 67% in 10th class and 55% in inter and i have 53%in b.tech can i write ias
7th March 2011, 09:34 PM

Sir i want to get first rank in IAS then what i have to do ???
10th March 2011, 12:25 PM

sir can i eligible for IAS exam ?, sir i am 12th pass & also competed my 'A' level from DOEACC that is govt approved and also equalent of Graduation.
20th March 2011, 06:52 PM

I am a Electronics and Communication engineer....am i eligible for IAS entrance exam?
21st March 2011, 04:44 PM
shahul1423

there is no minimum marks required to become an ias officer.the only eligibility is you should have completed your graduation in any branch of studies, and you should have completed your age of 21 years.
22nd March 2011, 09:40 AM
soumyasmruti

Location: Flat No:- 205, Omm Ville, Shree vihar, BHUBANESWAR, Orissa, India

There is no restriction of percentage in IAS examination. The much you score the result will be more fruitful. Good marks will increase the probability of selection.

There is no option for you to become an IAS officer after 12th class, you need to a minimum graduate of any discipline from any university before you sit for IAS examination. Also the minimum age limit required is 21 years.

But you can surely start your preparation for IAS examination right after class 12th.
I am providing you with some links which will help you out in your preparation, as it is a long term process starting early will help you a lot.

http://www.onestopias.com/ias-preparation.asp

http://www.onestopias.com/subjects/syllabus/

ALL THE BEST. HOPE YOU CONQUER YOU DREAMS.
22nd March 2011, 09:42 AM
soumyasmruti

Location: Flat No:- 205, Omm Ville, Shree vihar, BHUBANESWAR, Orissa, India

There is no restriction of percentage in IAS examination. The much you score the result will be more fruitful. Good marks will increase the probability of selection.

There is no option for you to become an IAS officer after 12th class, you need to a minimum graduate of any discipline from any university before you sit for IAS examination. Also the minimum age limit required is 21 years.

But you can surely start your preparation for IAS examination right after class 12th.
I am providing you with some links which will help you out in your preparation, as it is a long term process starting early will help you a lot.

http://www.onestopias.com/ias-preparation.asp

http://www.onestopias.com/subjects/syllabus/

ALL THE BEST. HOPE YOU CONQUER YOU DREAMS.
22nd March 2011, 02:22 PM

im in 9 n my dream s to become an ias i just want myself to be at dat level if i choose the science can i do the ias exam n ya wat are the subjects in the ias exams???
22nd March 2011, 05:00 PM

Sir/Madam,

This is Parvathi I have done MBA in finance and today i got my final semister result so can i apply for IAS? and what is the procedure to get admission?
24th March 2011, 09:01 PM

Question Re: Minimum percentage required in 12th to become IAS officer?

Originally Posted by Sushant Roy View Post
Firstly 12th percentage is not a criterian for eligibility in IAS exam, you first get a graduation degree then its %tage will be considered in IAS .
One more thing that %tage also vary from GEN or SC/OBC quota so you should take care of that.
but u say %ge is not a criterian for eligibility and u also say %ge also vary from GEN or OBC.. can u plzz explain.??
10th April 2011, 09:21 PM

Which is the best institution for ias preparation in chandigarh and how difficult is the paper,is it possible to clear in first attempt?
I am aiming for income tax department so does it make any difference means do I need to choose subject related to accounting?
help me out frnds......
Thx
13th April 2011, 04:36 PM

hiiiii, i m neha.i m doing 12th, i got 90% marks in 10th. i want to do economics honours so can i opt for i.a.s exam after it?
14th April 2011, 12:49 AM
PRINCE_AKG

hi friend

here are qualification to be an IAS officer

-you should finish your 10+2 ..... for IAS... their is no specific criteria related to percentage...........

---- you are not eligible to write the Civil Services exam to become an IAS officer after 12th, thus you should do your Graduation from a recognized University in any discipline. ........

---and Along with your graduation you can start preparing for your UPSC exams,

----that will be beneficial for you....

age limit:21-30 years

for update of notification keep visiting below link..
http://www.upsc.org.in

best regards