14th June 2013, 12:48 PM
Unregistered

Details about CAT entrance exam? I am a final year engineering student

sir i am first year engineering student. please,give me detail about cat exam.how could i crack this exam? what is the necessary percentile so that i could get admission on iim?

2nd July 2013, 06:28 PM
aditya436
Senior Member++++

Arrow Re: Details about CAT entrance exam? I am a final year engineering student

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
sir i am first year engineering student. please,give me detail about cat exam.how could i crack this exam? what is the necessary percentile so that i could get admission on iim?
CAT : Common Admission Test, conducted by any of the IIMs on rotational basis, every year. Notification for it will be released in Aug/september. Test will be conducted for 10-15 days. That is called testing window, it is online test. That testing window will be in Oct/November.

You need to enroll for it first and select a slot based upon your convineince. It has examination centers in all important city's. By chance, if there is no center in your city/town, you need to write it in the nearest center possible of your choice.

Examination fee will be around 1000 for general and there will some discounted prices for reserved categories like SC/ST.

CAT score is valid for only one year. There are more than 250 b-schools in which you could get admission based on your CAT score. Out of them top 10 colleges are IIMs, MDI gurgaon and FMS, Delhi.

This is the brief description about CAT and other essentials which one should know before. As you are just a first year graduation student, you have ample time to plan things up. Meanwhile concentrate upon maths and english grammar. It will be helpful when you actually start preparation. As per me you should your preparation from 3rd year rigorously.

And final note, nothing is impossible, if others can do why can't you?

Regards
Aditya
9th July 2013, 11:38 PM
nitz90
Senior Member+++++