11th July 2013, 08:19 PM
Mihir Ghaghada

How can I appear for IPS exam? I have completed 12th science

I have completed 12th science & i want admission in engg. coleg i have applied for it but after completing coleg i want to appear for IPS exam. i want to start it's preparation from right now so what can i do for it or join any coaching classes or buy some reference books for preparation. Please guide me!

12th July 2013, 09:24 AM

Default Re: How can I appear for IPS exam? I have completed 12th science

After completion of 12th Science one is not eligible to appear for IPS exam as the minimum educational qualification for IPS is Graduation Degree.

IPS - Indian Police Service and to become an IPS officer one has to apply, appera and crack Civil Service Exam, conducted every year by UPSC.

The eligible candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate with good Physical Fitness.

Apart from this the candidate should have minimum prescribed Physical requirement such as:-

HEIGHT:- General/OBC Male-165cm and Female-150cm while SC/ST Male-160cm and Female-145cm

CHEST:- Male-84cm while Female-79cm expandable top 5cm in both the cases.

As you have completed 12th Science and interested for IPS, you should start your preparation accordingly for IPS along with the under Graduate studies.

After Graduation Degree one should prepare for IPS, Civil Service exam at least for one year before sitting for the Preliminary Exam. One may take assistance of any good coaching Institutes for Civil Service exam and can avail the assistance of related books available in market.
12th July 2013, 12:38 PM
harishbanu

Hai, you have completed your 12th with science. Now you want to study engineering.it is good but why you are doing engineering?. You want to appear IPS exam. For that exam you have a degree which may B.Tech or degree.You can study degree also for appearing IPS exam.
IF you are interested to study B.Tech,then go with it and you have to start preparation for that exam not now. Enjoy one year with B.Tech after that buy some reference books for preparations.
12th July 2013, 01:20 PM
megayounus786

Originally Posted by Mihir Ghaghada View Post
I have completed 12th science & i want admission in engg. coleg i have applied for it but after completing coleg i want to appear for IPS exam. i want to start it's preparation from right now so what can i do for it or join any coaching classes or buy some reference books for preparation. Please guide me!
Name of Civil Services : IPS (Indian Police Service)

Exam Date : Prelim in 1st week of May & Mains in 2nd week of Oct

Eligibility Criteria :

1.Age limit

21 years must be completed on 1st August of the year, which a candidate is appearing. Maximum 30 for general category, 33 for OBCs and 35 for SCs/STs . Ex-servicemen will get 5 more years exemption from the prescribed age limit The date of birth accepted by the Commission is that entered in the Matriculation or Secondary School Leaving Certificate or in a certificate recognized by an Indian University as equivalent to Matriculation or in an extract from a Register of Matriculates maintained by a University, which extract must be certified by the proper authority of the University or in the Higher Secondary or an equivalent examination certificate.

2.Number of Attempts

Four attempts for open, seven for OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs. If a person appears in the Preliminary Examination or even one paper is counted as an attempt.

3.Restrictions on applying for the examination:

A candidate who is appointed to the Indian Administrative Service or the Indian Foreign Service on the results of an earlier examination and continues to be a member of that service will not be eligible to compete at this examination.

4. Minimum Physical Standard
The physical standards are important for the job profile and the rigorous training at the NPA, which includes weekly run for 10 k.m. in 60 minutes, route march for 25 k.m. UAC, Horse riding, rock climbing, assault course, PT obstacles, rope climbing etc. I shall give a detailed a/c of this sometime.

Services are divided into technical and non-technical. Technical services are IRTS, IPS, DANI PS, CISF, RPF & other Police organization. The Medical standards for Technical Services are stringent.
12th July 2013, 02:45 PM
nellipudi.santhoshkumar

hai,

Now you are completed 12th science But after completing this 12th standard you are not able to eligible for this IPS exam. Because the minimum education qualification is Graduation.

Indian Police Service details:

Candidate should be citizen of India.

Candidate should be Graduation in any discipline from recognized university.

Final year appearing candidates may also eligible to apply for this exam.

There is no percentage required to apply for this exam.

Age limit:

Candidate age should be minimum 21 years and maximum 30 years.

Age relaxation for OBC Candidates 3 years.

Age relaxation for SC/ST Candidates 5 years.

Selection Process:

Preliminary Examination.
Main examination
Interview.

Number of attempts:

4 attempts for General Candidates.

7 attempts for OBC Candidates

No limit for SC/ST candidates.

Books for IPS:

12th July 2013, 05:33 PM
gaddamsubhash

Minimum Educational qualification to write Civil services should be any Graduation.

If you want to write Civils you should study well and i suggest you to prepare from your 3rd year in Engg.
13th July 2013, 09:31 AM
aryan5107241

Dear Mihir,

The Union Public Service Commission conducts a number of examination for the recruitment of candidates in various Class-I Services as per their interest and qualifications.

The Civil Services Examination is one of the UPSC Examinations which is conducted every year for the selection of candidates in the following services :

* Indian Administrative Services

* Indian Police Services

* Indian Economic Services

* Indian Foreign Services

So , if you want to become an IPS Officer , then you have to crack the Civil services Exam.

This exam is considered as the toughest examination conducted every year by the UPSC and is conducted in three stages :

1) Preliminary Exam

2) MAINS Exam

3) Personal Interview Test

You need to clear all the three steps in order to fulfill your dream.

But , before all these , you need certain qualifications so that you can appear for the Civil Services Exam.

These Required Qualifications are :

* You must have completed graduation in any stream from any recognized college/university.

* Candidates in final year of graduation are considered eligible to appear for this exam.

* There is no any specific percentage bar that you should have in graduation.

* The age Limit :

a) For General Candidates : 21-30 yrs

b) For OBC Candidates : 21-33 yrs

c) For SC/ST Candidates : 21-35 yrs

* Nationality : Indian

So , from the above mentioned you can see that the minimum educational qualification required for this exam is graduation.

As well as your present educational qualification is just 12th which makes you wait for this exam until you have finished graduation.

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.
13th July 2013, 12:05 PM
vikash kumar prajapati

For becoming an IPS officer exam that is conducted by the UPSC,you will required to meet these eligibility conditions :

1)Your minimum educational qualification should be Bachelor degree in any discipline from recognized university.
2)Your minimum age should be 21 years and your age should not be above 30 years.

As you will do Engineering course thus after completing this course you will be eligible to apply for UPSC IPS
exam but the only condition is that you must be able to meet age criteria also.

First Step should be taken by you :

1 You should first apply for Joint Engineering Entrance exam to take admission in Engineering course in reputed engineering colleges.
2 After 2nd year/from beginning you should start preparation for this exam.

Important tips related to Optional subjects for IPS Exam :

~During IPS entrance there will two optional paper from which questions will be asked.
~From now onwards you should take any two subjects related to your science stream and command in each sections.
~The best will be for you to take Mathematics and Physics/Chemistry.
~You will also get Engineering paper in IPS exa except Computer Science/Information Technology.
~You will aslo get Mechanical/Electrical/Electronics/Civil Engineering paper as an optional subjects for Mains Exam.

If you able to manage time and if there will be any facility near to your college then you must join coaching Institutes for Civil Services exam .The best coaching Institutes for IPS Exam are :
  • Chanakya IAS Coaching.
  • Gurukul Civil Services Coaching Institute.
  • Competitive Institute of Government Services.
  • Kartar Coaching Institute of Civil Services.
The best books which you can buy to study yourself are :

• Political Theory - O.P.Gauba.
  • Indian Administration - S.R.Maheswari.
  • International Relations - V.N.Khanna.
  • English Comprehension - K.P.Thakur.
  • Reasoning - R.S.Agarwal.
  • Numerical Analysis - S.S.Sastry.
  • An Advanced History of India - Al Mazumdar.
  • Text Book of Geology - P.K.Mukherjee.
  • Indian Geography - Rammorthy Gopal Krishnan.
  • Indian Economy - Mishra and Puri.
13th July 2013, 12:13 PM
No 1

Hi..............
Friends,

First you complete Graduation degree in any Indian recognized university.

IPS stand for - Indian Police Service.

This exam conduct by UPSC.

IPS Eligibility like ::
============

*** You must be complete graduation degree in any recognized university

*** You must be citizen of Indian

*** The Final year candidates are eligible for this exam

*** Age limit,

21 to 30 years for General candidates

21 to 33 years for OBC candidates

21 to 35 years for SC / ST candidates

*** You must be physically fit.

Selection Process like ::
================

*** Preliminary exam

*** Main exam

*** Interview.

Number of Attempts like ::
=================

*** For General candidates 4 times

*** For OBC candidates 7 times

*** For SC / ST candidates No limit.

All the best.............
13th July 2013, 01:17 PM
SK@S

If you want to become an IPS officer than you ahve to appear in the CIVIL SErvices Exams conducted by UPSC

Eligibilty to apply for the UPSC Civil Services Exams

Educational Qualification :

A Bachelors Degree in any discipline from a UGC/AICTE recognised University.
Final year appeared/appearing candidates can also apply.

Age Limit :
General Category-21-30 yrs on 1st August of the year of exam
OBC-21-33yrs
SC/ST-21-35yrs

Attempts :
General Category-4 times
OBC-7 times
SC/ST-Unlimited times

Physical Requirements for IPS

Vision
6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye.
6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye.

You should not be suffering from color or night blindness.

Height

Male - 165 cm for General/SC/OBC candidate and minimum of 160 cm ST.
Female - 150 cm OBC/SC/General candidate and 145 cm ST.

Chest

Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.
Female Min 79 cm Expansion 5 cm.
13th July 2013, 03:27 PM

Sorry 12th pass students are not eligible for IPS examination. You must pass at least Graduation in any discipline from a recognized University to become eligible for it.

Hence take admission into Graduation and start preparing for Civil Services examination which recruits IPS officers. The exam is conducted by UPSC.

Age Limit:

General Category - 21 to 30 years

OBC Category - 21 to 33 years

SC/ST Category - 21 to 35 years

Number of Attempts Allowed:

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST - No Limit

For more information visit http://www.upsc.gov.in
13th July 2013, 04:42 PM
Ravi dikshith

Indian Police Service is one of the prestigious services in India.You are not eligible for the I.P.S exam because the minimum educational qualification required is Graduation.But you have completed 12th standard only.So I suggest you to complete graduation in whatever the stream you like because it not mandatory that you have to complete graduation in this particular stream only. The eligibility details of the I.P.S exam is mentioned below:
  • Must be a citizen of India.
  • You must be at least 21 years of age at the time of filling the Civil services preliminary exam.
  • The maximum age upto which you can apply is 30 years.
  • You must possess a graduate degree in any discipline of any of the universities incorporated by an act of central or state legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a university under section 3 of the UGCact 1956.
  • Age relaxation is provided to the reserved categories.
  • 5 years for SC/ST category.
  • 3 years for OBC category candidates.
  • 10 years for physically handicapped candidates.
  • Ex-Service men will get 3 years + their service.
There are certain physical requirements, Candidates appearing for the personality test must have to meet certain requirements to be eligible for I.P.S.
  • Minimum height of 165 cm for men and 15 cm for women.
  • Minimum height is 160 cm for Men and 145 cm for Women in the case of candidates belonging to SC and ST.
  • Minimum Chest 84 cm for Men and 79 cm for Women, Expansion of 5 cm for Men and Women.
These are the complete requirements of I.P.S exam. Coming to the exam pattern there will be a Preliminary Examination,Main Examination and Personlaity test.

13th July 2013, 11:01 PM
sandeepsaini.saini522

You are not Eligible IPS exam after 12th standard.

Eligibility of IPS Exam:
You should be citizen of India.
You must have a bachlore degree from a recognized university.
Final years candidates are also eligible.
Maximum age limit for this exam is 21 years.
The upper age limit of 30 years will be relaxable upto 35 years in the case of government servents.
You must be physically fit.

Required Physical Eligibility for IAS and IPS :
Minimum height of 165 cm for Men and 150 cm for Women (minimum height is relaxable to 160 and 145 cm for Men and Women respectively in the case of candidates belonging to ST.
Min Chest girth fully expanded: 84 cm for Men and 79 cm for Women. Expansion of 5 cm for Men and Women.

The Civil Services Examination will consist of two successive stages.
Civil Services Preliminary Examination (Objective type)
Civil Services Main Examination (Written and Interview)

Thanks..
14th July 2013, 01:02 AM
josh98

Hi friend...........

I am sorry you are not eligible for the IPS with 12th standard.

You need to complete the Graduation to eligible for the IPS exam.

IPS stands for Indian Police Service.

This exam conducted by Union Public Service Commission every year.

Educational Qualification:

Candidate should pass the Bachelor degree from any recognized university with any stream.

There is no restriction for the marks percentage.

Final year appearing candidates are also eligible for this exam.

Nationality:

You must have Indian Citizenship.

Age limit:

Your min age limit is above 21 years.

Your max age limit is below 30 years.

Relaxation:

33 years upper age limit for OBC Category.

35 years upper age limit for SC\ST Category.

40 years upper age limit for PH Category.

No of Attempts:

Maximum 4 attempts for General Candidates.

Maximum 7 attempts for OBC Candidates.

No limit of attempts required for the SC\ST candidates.

Selection Process:

Preliminary Exam

Main Exam

Interview

Preliminary exam syllabus:-

Arts and Social sciences,

Intelligence test,

Current affairs,

Science and technology,

Commerce and economics,

Agriculture.

Syllabus for Mains exam:-

General studies-I:

History,

Geography of India,

Indian polity,

Human Resource development,

Human rights.

General studies-II:

India and world(India's position in global happenings ),

India economy, planning, trade, and rural development,

Development of natural resources,

Development of sciences and technology,

Statistics, analysis and graphs and diagrams.

Exam Pattern:

Physical Standards:

Male Height :

General : 165 cm

SC/ST : 160 cm

Female Height :

General : 150 cm

SC/ST : 145 cm

Chest Male :

84 cm expansion 5 cm

Chest Female :

79 cm expansion 5 cm

for more details visit the below site

http://www.upsc.gov.in

All the best...........
14th July 2013, 01:28 PM

You can try for any of the exam preparation methods according to your convenience. After collecting exam pattern and syllabus from UPSC portal, you can start with exam preparations. Reference books and previous year question papers can be used for studies. You can go with self preparation, if you are confident enough. Otherwise, you can approach any of the coaching centers and can look for weekend or evening classes.
14th July 2013, 04:46 PM

Hai,dis is Pavithra
I'm in bsc computers(science) 2nd yr. I want to prepare for IAS exam.so when I have to start the preparation for this? Is there any chance to select subjects on our wish in this exams ?
14th July 2013, 06:04 PM
sirimulla srikanth

I am sorry to say that you are not eligible for IPS exam because required qualification for this exam is graduation from a recognized university of india.

ELIGIBILITY:
graduate candidates are eligible
age limit for this exam is 21 to 30 years
age relaxation for reserved candidates
candidate should be a citizen of india

SELECTION PROCESS:
Preliminary exam
main exam
interview