Government jobs in the field of Merchant Navy

Nautical Sciences and marine engineering are the courses that pave way for a challenging career in the Merchant Navy. A career in merchant navy is a dream of many candidates since it is widely accepted as an interesting and challenging career. This is because people getting job placement in this field will not only be able to visit beautiful places in different parts of the world, but will also be offered with a very good pay package.

Nautical Science in concerned with the ship handling and navigation, shipboard administration and handling, safe operation of ship and loading of cargo.

How to join merchant navy?

A person wishing to pursue a career in Indian Navy can either join as an officer or a rating in two specialized areas namely nautical (deck) and marine engineering. To become a seafarer, Indian citizens can enter through any of the following streams of courses that are offered both by government and private institutions in India. These institutions must have earned recognition from the Director General of Shipping of Ministry of Shipping:

Courses available for entering as officers:

Three month course for Deck cadets for 10+2 students

One-year course for Mechanical Engineering graduates

Two-year course for diploma holders

Four-year course in Marine Engineering for 10+2 candidates

Three-year degree course in Nautical Science for 10+2 candidates

Courses available for entering as rating after completion of class X:

Four-month Pre-sea course for saloon rating

Three-month pre-sea course for engine rating

Three-month pre-sea course for deck rating

Four-month pre-sea course for general purpose (GP) rating

In addition to these courses, a candidate can also joint as petty officers or utility hand after completion of courses like PST, PSSR, EFA and FPFF. Even candidates can join navy as rating on boardship for which minimum educational qualification is class 10 with science and mathematics subjects. The age limit to join in this method is 24 and half years and after completing the course, candidates will have to go on ship for minimum six months to get the watchkeeping certificate. Once watchkeeping certificate is earned, candidates can sail on ships as rating for petty officers/saloon/engine room/deck and can earn a very good pay scale.

Government training institutions:

In India, four government training institutions are offering post-sea and pre-sea training courses that are offered in international standard and the names of these four institutions are given below:

Lal Bahadur Shastri College of Advanced Maritime Studies & Research, Mumbai

Marine Engineering & Research Institute, Mumbai

Marine Engineering & Research Institute, Kolkata

Training Ship Chanakya, Navi Mumbai

Government Jobs in Merchant Navy:

Merchant Navy being a backbone for carrying cargo and international trade all over the globe, candidates with training are required in larger number for various departments of the ship thereby widening the employment prospects in this field. Therefore, candidates can find employment opportunities in government shipping companies in any of the following departments:

Deck department

Engine department

Service department

Thus, Merchant Navy is a field that offers a lucrative job prospects to the aspiring candidates.

26 Responses to “Government jobs in the field of Merchant Navy”

1. 26
    Sameer rajput:

Sir bhartiya marine foundation institute govt. Hai

2. 25
    Atirek:

Helo, i want to go for gp rating through govt.college please tell me the procedure to join gov.of gp rating

3. 24
    manish:

i had completed my bsc nauitical science and have experience as a 3rd officer and i m looking for a shore job prefered government job or any advance study by distance for higher level

4. 23
    vijendra singh:

G.p.rating post and govt.collage admission my number9636203875 plz call me i am waiting

5. 22
    Ravi Jangra:

what traning fees for general purposn rating

6. 21
    Gajendra Bhati:

I want join merchant navy after 12th. How to join merchant after 12th with PCM.

7. 20
    pankaj kumar:

I am B.TECH Finaj year student i want to join merchant navy please guide me with minimum college fees…..

8. 19
    Dipesh:

Respected Sir/Madam
    I am in last year of B.E in Civil, I am interesting to be job in Merchant Navy. Sir please inform me which kind of job I will get, and what is the procedure to get job.. Thank you.

9. 18
    A.H.INAMDAR:

Hellow,I want to join goverment merchant navy,so we give to me time to time information also which book is read for join merchant navy.

10. 17
    mukesh kumar:

sir, i would like to ask
    now m doing B.sc. in chemistry ..so how can i joine merchant navy.

11. 16
    mukesh kumar:

sir, i would like to ask
    wheater i can joine merchant navy , after completing my B.Sc.(hons subject: chemistry), for heigher degree in merchant navy.?

12. 15
    sonia:

If you want to join merchant navy then please contact us at 011-65351720, we conduct g.p.rating and deck cadet courses duly approved by Australian maritime safety authority. or email us at [email protected]

13. 14
    Peetha Gaurav:

I am doing my final year B.tech mechanical. Can you please explain me in detail that how can i get admission into government training institutes for merchant navy.

14. 13
    himanshu katiyar:

pz tell me what’s the age limit after passing 12th to join dec cadet course from lbs of advansed maritime research institute,mumbai………….???

15. 12
    kunwar ashish singh:

what will be the qualification of merchant nevy

16. 11
    Pankaj nautiyal:

Sir after 12 how to join merchant navy and what the jobs and what is physical requirment.plzz describe brief………..

17. 10
    devender:

iam 10 class but not sport kota iam entry to navy

18. 9
    DINESH:

i wants marchant navy after my b.tech in mechanical with 70 percent whats procedure to join marhant navy.

19. 8
    Paramjeet:

I like merchant navy

20. 7
    Rizul:

Good morning sir,
    sir do u give hostel facility for the courses of deck rating? i will wait for your reply

21. 6
    krishan chand:

i want to join marchant navi and i like telle. commmunication side

22. 5
    damoses:

I am doing my B.com there s 1 more month to go. i am interested in merchant navy i applied it for many times but i could not find any jobs. can u please help me. how can i apply for job and i want know about the fees structure.

23. 4
    yogesh:

Sir , i complet my diploma in nautical science, now i am rank on DECK CADET , i am waiting for job more than 10 months, please mail me any idea about , m navy or indian navy.

24. 3
    Aditya Shrivastava:

I am doing B.E. in electrical engineering, i want to make my career in M.B.A. through merchant navy, plz tell me what to do. I am in 6th semester, i want to give AIMNET - 2012.

25. 2
    Prashant:

I an B.E. (Electrical) Engg. I want to join merchent navy in officers rank.

26. 1
    balaram:

i have to join in saloon rating course,so i want the details of that course and fee details of that course