30th December 2010, 05:58 PM
Sk.Subhani

Default Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

Originally Posted by MADHURI PEDNEKAR View Post
I want to become an I.A.S. officer. I am studying in xii. What should I do to achieve my ambition?
The minimum eligibility criteria for people to appear for IAS exam is you have to be a graduate.

The IAS exam consists of Prelims, this is an objective type exam. There will be six subjects.
If you qualify in prelims then there will be mains and you have to choose two subjects as the majors. This is a subjective type exam.

And finally if you qualify in mains then you will be called for an Interview.
Based on your performance you will be allotted a post like IAS, IPS etc.

All the Best!

1. Which is the best stream to choose in graduation to become an IAS officer?
  2. Can I become IAS officer having completed B.Sc. in IT? What is required to become IAS Officer?
  3. How to become an IAS officer after passing 12th Arts?
  4. How can I become an IAS officer after passing 12th arts
  5. Whether I am not eligible to become an IAS Officer being a Commerce student?
  6. How can I become an IAS after completing BBA? What is the qualification criteria required for IAS exam? -- [New]
  7. Which course should I pursue after completing 12th (Science) to become an IAS officer?
  8. How to become an IAS officer? How may I get the details like eligibility criteria, qualification requirements etc for becoming an IAS officer? I am in 12th standard(maths stream)
  9. How to make my career to become an IAS officer? I have completed 12th with 88%
  10. What is the work-profile of an IES mechanical officer in various sectors? Does IES officer have same powers as IAS officer?
  11. What should I study after completing 12th to become an IAS Officer? Minimum marks required in 10th and 12th to join IAS?
  12. Can I become an IAS Officer having BA background? What are the suitable subjects in BA to become IAS Officer?
  13. How can I become an IAS officer after completing 12th?
  14. How to become a IAS officer? How should I proceed further after passing 12th to become an IAS officer?
  15. What should I do after 12th to become an IAS officer?
  16. How to prepare to become an IAS officer and which subjects to be chosen? I am a class 12th student from science -- [Most Discussed]
  17. How can I become an IAS officer after completing 12th with 74%
  18. How to become an IAS officer after studying in 12th in commerce field in Mumbai
6th January 2011, 08:40 PM

What we have to study to become an IAS officer
10th January 2011, 02:02 PM
ricks2cool

To become an IAS officer first of all you have to complete your graduation from any field in which you are interested.
After that you can apply for IAS exam which is conducted by UPSC.
For the time being read current affairs,increase your general Knowledge,if possible then join some good coaching classes for IAS.
Read newspaper & magazines like CSR.It is very helpfull for IAS aspirants
Also your age sholud be between 21 to 30 years.

Best Of Luck!!!!!!!!!!!
11th January 2011, 07:10 PM

please tell me the main subjects for I.A.S and the optional ones too???
14th January 2011, 02:15 PM

Is there any criteria to appear in an IAS exam??????
17th January 2011, 08:51 PM

I AM STILL 14 YEARS OLD , I AM VERY CONFUSED ABOUT THE SUBJECT TO CHOOSE
IN 11th.
18th January 2011, 08:54 AM
abhimanyu2688

Post Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

I want to become an I.A.S. officer. I am studying in xii. What should I do to achieve my ambition?
to write ias exam you should first complete you graduation. for clearing the ias exam you should work hard to get command over your optional as well as in gs paper. you need to be very sincere and will have to study honestly and also you must read some magazine like frontline,csr etc regularly along with any english newspaper.
18th January 2011, 02:30 PM
rks_estate

IAS exam conducted by UPSC and for UPSC exam minimum eligibility is graduation in any stream with 60 % marks from a regonised university.

After 12th you do B.E. or B.Tech. or B.Sc. or B.Com. or B.A. or BBA or BCA etc, then after completing graduation you are eligible for UPSC IAS exam.

Final year student of graduation can apply for UPSC exam.

All the Best
21st January 2011, 08:16 PM

I am still 14 and I am thinking for my future plans. My question is that do we have to apply for specific subjects to become an IAS Officer, if yes, then which ones
24th January 2011, 06:48 PM
mukul0094

For IAS (Indian academic service ) examination is conducted by UPSC. For IAS officer the qualification is
1> Graduate from any recognize university.
2> Age between 21 to 30 year.
Candidate who appearing in final year of graduation can apply for these exam. So i advise you to do graduate for IAS examination.
30th January 2011, 04:22 PM
tahira khanna

u can give ur ias exam after u complete your graduation in any of the subject of your interest... but it is better to complete your post graduation also in your subject in order to achieve mastery in that subject.... for giving ias exam means you should have detailed information of your subject. and therefore i will recommend you not to give ias exam just after graduation but first do m.a or masters in your subject also............
30th January 2011, 11:10 PM
khan2003

Dear Friend, following are the eligibility criteria for IAS:

Age limit:-21-30 years as on 1.7.2011. relaxation for SCs/STs, OBCs.

Education Qualification:-Bachelor’s degree of a recognized university.

So dear first carry-on your studies and complete the graduation.

best of luck dear
31st January 2011, 12:30 AM
er.varunchawla

well you have to give the PCS exam foor joining the I.A.S.

31st January 2011, 12:54 AM
diego

Well you have already take your first step about your IAS dream,
First of all you need to be a graduate to be eligible to appear for IAS..
Maintain a good academic record it always help...
Inculcate a habit of reading.... a lot,
READ : Newspapers The HINDU, Times of India, Statesman etc.
also read online editions of The guardian, The economist etc.
daily.
Magzines:: HBR FORBES YOJNA Chronocle, CSR...inspire yourself with the stories of successful IAS IPS... read to learn how they did it,take cues from them
And also write essays, critical analysis, aruments, counter arguments etc.
Two pages daily of eng and hindi.
keep a strong touch with GK,history,geography etc
As you approach the end of your graduation from 3rd year onwars start preparing for your subjects. take good coaching.
And be a good orator, debates, speeches elocution would help.
Good enough for now, rest when you grow you'll learn yourself
31st January 2011, 11:19 AM
mychandru024

you are eligible to take IAS exam only if you are a degree holder. So, do it first... when you are prepared take the exam.
31st January 2011, 12:46 PM
G-rocks

Hello Friend

You need to be a graduate to apply for IAS. IAS comprises of three levels of exams.They are like Preliminary,Mains exam and finally Interview.so concentrate more on studies.For further information you may refer the following site>>

www.howtoindia.com

Best of luck..
31st January 2011, 02:29 PM
mishra245

Have a good graduation and simultaneously prepare for the exams......
Go for any graduation which suits you.
Its not mandatory go for a professional course itself....
Select course of your interest and master in it.
Build a good reading habit, gain as much knowledge as possible.
31st January 2011, 07:26 PM
surendergora

Smile Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

first complete ypur graduation .... along with this improve your general awareness side by side.
4th February 2011, 06:45 PM

what types of skills required for IAS offeciers?.....
12th February 2011, 12:12 AM

Sir, i am doing my 12 with commerce stream & decide to do Law after it & then prepration for I.A.S.
Will it a right step?
14th February 2011, 03:19 PM

I have completed my 2, my future carreer is to become an IAS officer. Now please tell me which collage to join in Coimbatore to finish my graduation to appear for IAS course.

Jeeva.
Nilgiris.
16th February 2011, 01:01 PM

mai hindi mediam ki ladki hu mai ias bnanne ki puri jankari chahti hu mai abi B.sc bio. se kar rhi hu iske baad muje kya krna pdega plz aap btaiye.
17th February 2011, 05:46 PM

I'll be completing my TYBcom this year.So can you pls tell me the details on how to start preparing for IAS and how to get registered?
19th February 2011, 12:22 PM

WHAT SHOULD I DO TO BECOME AN IAS ?
WHAT ARE THE SUBJECTS & WHAT IS THE PROCEDURE OF EXAMS?
19th February 2011, 08:17 PM
ssahu669

to become a IAS officer minimum qualification is Graduation. so after Completion of xii , You do graduation. then you can apply for IAS exam.then you can give Option in IAS exam in which subjects you are comfortable in Graduation.all the best

Sanjeeb
21st February 2011, 08:52 PM

after bbm which subject taken for ias exam
24th February 2011, 11:09 AM

ANY XTRA TECHNIQUE FOR BECOMING IAS
26th February 2011, 08:03 AM
rohitkumarramesh

To become an IAS officer you should be graduate first. Since your
qualification is 10+2 so you are not eligible to apply for the IAS exam.
The detailed eligibility criteria required for the IAS exam is given below:

Education Qualification
Candidate applying for the IAS exam should be graduate in any discipline
in any of the following subjects Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology.
Candidate having degree in engineering are also eligible to apply for IAS exam.

Age Limit
Candidate applying for the IAS exam should have age between
21 and 30 years. For the reserved category candidates there is
a relaxation in age is given.
For SC/ST candidates relaxation of 5 years.
For OBC candidates relaxation of 3 years.

So to apply for the IAS exam you need the above eligibility criteria.
As the IAS exam is conducted by the UPSC so for more information visit
the official web site of UPSC which is
www.upsc.gov.in

GOOD LUCK
7th March 2011, 11:59 AM

how to join indian air force as a officer rank of an arts stream student
7th March 2011, 08:16 PM
SUNNY PRAKASH

Do hard labour and concentrate on current affair.
10th March 2011, 10:33 AM
sagar panchal future ips

Question Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

what can i do for graduate i am in 9th class so plz tell me what can i do after 12th for gradution
10th March 2011, 10:38 AM

i m sagar panchal 9th class i want to be a I.P.S. officer so plz tell me what can i do after 12th for gradition ALSO DATE OF EXAM OF I.P.S AFTER 12TH ALL INFORMATIN STEP WISE PLZ PLZ PLZ ...IF ANY 1 KNOW SO PLZ TELL ME
16th March 2011, 07:09 PM
ujala sonia

dear madhuri.Firstly i want to tell you that to become an I.A.S. Office you should have to do graduation. To become an I.A.S. Officer you should have to work hard because its very tuff competition. You can also join a good coaching centre for preparation.In I.A.S. There is first preliminary test and then main test after that there is interview for selecting canditates. But u have done only 12th so firstly you have to focus on your graduate studies and then you have to work hard for I.A.S. Exam so best of luck and focus on your ambition.
22nd March 2011, 06:57 PM

I simple of XI wants to become I.A.S. I m student of science. What should I do.
Please guide me to achive my ambition.
23rd March 2011, 01:06 AM

i am 25 nd h.wife ,mother of two kids,6yrs.of marrige, before marrige was planing for i.a.s.but did'nt get tim after marrige now i want to become i.a.s.nd plz help me sir wht shd i do now.nd wht kind of proses for tht m i eligible for tht.....tell me
24th March 2011, 07:37 PM
fciaspirant

Hi, If u want to be an I.A.S. officer then do your graduation on Arts stream.
25th March 2011, 07:02 PM
shahul1423

To become an ias officer you should have completed you graduation from any branch of stidies and you should have completed age of 21 year.the exam will held in three phases
1.preliminay exam(csat,general studies)
2.main exam(two optional papers,essay writing indian language,general studies)
3.interview(personality test).
prepare well.
28th March 2011, 09:15 AM

I finished diploma D.E.E.E . It is eligible to became an IAS officer ?

Karthik
30th March 2011, 10:17 AM

u can take exam of ias after 5th standerd ....
only contec me...
my number is : 98765 43210
7th April 2011, 02:30 PM

i m in class 11 i am in commerce stream,i m quite interested in becoming an ias officer...what more i have to do for it ??
7th April 2011, 11:28 PM
lvnareshsunrise

If one want to become an IAS, he has to appear for the civil services examination.

The procedure for IAS is as follows
1)CSAT- Civil Services Aptitude Test
2)Civil Services Main examination
3)Personal Interview.

In order to be eligible for CSAT or IAS exam one must have completed his graduation from a recognized university.

Here i am providing the important dates regarding IAS exam 2011.

Date of notification :19-02-2011
Last date for the receipt of completed application forms :21-03-2011
Date of exam :12-06-2011

So I would suggest you to complete your graduation with good percentage of marks.

By the time you complete your graduation, be strong enough in the areas of general knowledge and aptitude.
8th April 2011, 09:40 AM
devendergora

YOu first need to complete your graduation , then you will be eligible for IAS exam.
Also IAS is not a exam , you exam exam is civil service exam which is conducted by UPSC, after selection you can choose to become IAS if you have a good rank .
8th April 2011, 12:36 PM
strange_rahul

Wink Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

you need to be a graduate......so after 12th go for graduation....and then apply for I.A.S. or H.A.S......
8th April 2011, 06:42 PM
balathegreat

Thumbs up Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

Hi friend,

Basic requirement for doing IAS is degree. I suggest you to take some

easy degree and do it. While doing it side by side you can prepare for you IAS

exam also.

"ALL THE BEST"
10th April 2011, 01:30 AM

THE SYSTEM OF GOVERNING INDIA SHOULD BE GIVEN IN THE ANDS OF THE YOUTH SO THAT THE COUNTRY CAN PROGRESS WELL WHAT SAY GUYS
11th April 2011, 11:08 PM
PRINCE_AKG

u finished just your 12th still u have time .. to appear for the IAS exam u yet need to complete your degree..........

after doing your degree u can attempt for IAS exam ...... while pursuing your degree u can simultaneously prepare for IAS entrance exam....... that will be beneficial.............

best regards

@$H!$H
12th April 2011, 01:29 AM
ashok880

Hii,
I.A.S is the dream of many people and aim of many other...
to become I.A.S you should work to the peak. It mainly depends on your hard work and your dedication to become an I.A.S officer.
To become I.A.S officer first you should complete your graduation and then clear all the levels of I.A.S as it is a level process of exam..
12th April 2011, 03:01 AM
kanchanyadav

i m in class 11 i am in commerce stream,i m quite interested in becoming an ias officer...what more i have to do for it ??
To become IAS office

- You should complete your graduation with 55% from recognized university.

- You must have minimum 21 years of age.

If you want to crack IAS in your first attempt then start preparing side by side.

Get updated with current affairs, general knowledge and good communication skill.

All the best...
14th April 2011, 10:46 AM

i m a student plz tell me how i can become an ias officer please help me
15th April 2011, 12:40 AM

Wink Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

u have to commit suicide