1st October 2010, 09:58 AM

Default Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

To become an Ias officer you will have to take bachelor degree in any field.During this years you should also learn about General Knowledge,Current affairs and Indian constitution.It is very long term 1 year process.It is conducted by UPSC and it suppose to be the toughest as well as most respected exam in India. If you became ias you will be adminstrator of distict. IAS------------Best-No other job like an ias officer.

1. Which is the best stream to choose in graduation to become an IAS officer?
  2. Can I become IAS officer having completed B.Sc. in IT? What is required to become IAS Officer?
  3. How to become an IAS officer after passing 12th Arts?
  4. How can I become an IAS officer after passing 12th arts
  5. Whether I am not eligible to become an IAS Officer being a Commerce student?
  6. How can I become an IAS after completing BBA? What is the qualification criteria required for IAS exam? -- [New]
  7. Which course should I pursue after completing 12th (Science) to become an IAS officer?
  8. How to become an IAS officer? How may I get the details like eligibility criteria, qualification requirements etc for becoming an IAS officer? I am in 12th standard(maths stream)
  9. How to make my career to become an IAS officer? I have completed 12th with 88%
  10. What is the work-profile of an IES mechanical officer in various sectors? Does IES officer have same powers as IAS officer?
  11. What should I study after completing 12th to become an IAS Officer? Minimum marks required in 10th and 12th to join IAS?
  12. Can I become an IAS Officer having BA background? What are the suitable subjects in BA to become IAS Officer?
  13. How can I become an IAS officer after completing 12th?
  14. How to become a IAS officer? How should I proceed further after passing 12th to become an IAS officer?
  15. What should I do after 12th to become an IAS officer?
  16. How to prepare to become an IAS officer and which subjects to be chosen? I am a class 12th student from science -- [Most Discussed]
  17. How can I become an IAS officer after completing 12th with 74%
  18. How to become an IAS officer after studying in 12th in commerce field in Mumbai
6th October 2010, 09:47 AM

Instead of UPSC civil servive preliminary examination goverment has introduced CSAT(Civil Service Aptitude Test).To become an ias officer slightly tough so you will have to work more hard but it is isn't impossible.
8th October 2010, 07:33 AM
crk

Hi Gyuys,
I finished my graduation ,now i want to persue my career in Civil service,can you please guide me in this .
8th October 2010, 06:00 PM

pls don't join I.A.S because you are not a single person that is trying for I.A.S the result of this is very bad in 1000 people'there is almost 2or3
19th October 2010, 10:58 PM

i want to ask that which is better career option IIT or IAS..and why?? plzz plzz reply..
21st October 2010, 10:22 PM

hello i am in 11th class my stream is humanties i want to become a I.A.S OFFICER so how to prepare my self for I.A.S OFFICER
23rd October 2010, 12:00 AM
Sachin Narayan

As u r in 12 standard u r right now nt eligible. IAS requires graduation. So just keep going with a good pace select ur grduation course very wisely according to ur aim. Keep focussing on the key subjects. Success will be yours
23rd October 2010, 07:10 AM
nillu

i gave my class 12 boards this yr. i got compartment in accounts but in other subjects i scored above 70. i am planning to do hons in eco. my aim iz to be an IAS officer. plz guide me sir.......i need ur help....!!
Good that you have made your aim clear and you can work in particular direction.
You must complete your graduation in that subject which you will carry upto UPSC exam.
YOu should have full command on your subject so that it will help you during preparation
23rd October 2010, 12:00 PM

HII ...
MY NAME IS ROHIT, RIGHT NOW M SECOND YAER STUDENT DOING B.TEC..WITH COMPUTER SCIENCE..
CAN U TELL ME WHICH SUBJECT I PREFER TO PASS IAS,PCS exam.. in my course..
i have no idea aboout that, plz tell me.. my mail id is, [email protected]

THANK YOU,
23rd October 2010, 08:37 PM

Give some ideas about future.
28th October 2010, 10:17 PM
nillu

Give some ideas about future.
to become an ias officer you need to be master in all fields.its ot only needed that you have command in science or only arts you need to know arts, science , recent developments along with full command on your own subjects.
try to less news daily and read newspaper to have command on recent development.
you should concentrate on your subject too
31st October 2010, 04:47 PM

YOU ALL ARE LOUSER IF YOU EVERY THING WHY SHOULD YOU NOT BECOME A IAS OR IPS
5th November 2010, 10:15 AM

sir im a student of class 10 and i want to become an ias oficer pleas guide me what are the subjects needed
6th November 2010, 05:16 AM
helpmaster

sir im a student of class 10 and i want to become an ias oficer pleas guide me what are the subjects needed
Its good to know that you know what to do in future. But at this age you just need to concentrate on your studies only and give out best here and try to understand the concept and have command on each subject.
This what needed. You can make yourself study general awareness.
For cracking IAS exam you need to be master of all so right now you must concentrate on your studies as it will aslo help you ultimately
6th November 2010, 11:12 AM

how to become an I.A.S. officer after B.D.S. MEDICINE Graduation?
6th November 2010, 09:20 PM
nillu

how to become an I.A.S. officer after B.D.S. MEDICINE Graduation?
After BDS you will complete your graduation and can appear for ias exam.
for this exam you can take any of the subjects of your choice.
It does not matter whether you have studied that subject or not.
The thing which matters is that you need to have full command overthat subject
7th November 2010, 01:13 AM
14hg

really its very good that you want to be an I.A.S officer,
but for this you should have at least graduation degree in any of the subject,
then you have to fill the form of upsc...
and there wll be two exam,,,,
PT
and mains..
after qualifying both
you have to crosses to an interview..
so continue your study..........
and prepare well....
o k
7th November 2010, 09:13 AM
priyanka_swengg

Hiiiii for applying IAS you must be graduate and the exam pattern is G.K,ENGLISH,ESSAY and quant aptitude etc with some subject based on the bachelor degree you have taken ....so ALL THE BEST......
7th November 2010, 09:17 AM
priyanka_swengg

Smile Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

i gave my class 12 boards this yr. i got compartment in accounts but in other subjects i scored above 70. i am planning to do hons in eco. my aim iz to be an IAS officer. plz guide me sir.......i need ur help....!!
Yes you can apply for it...but while qualifying exam and going for interview you must have cleared all the subject and have degree with you so first apply for IAS and later think about other..ALL THE BEST
7th November 2010, 03:14 PM
chandana Reddy

hi...you should have dcompleted your graduation to appear for the IAS exam...first take up some degree after 12th...

good luck..
12th November 2010, 09:17 PM
Sanjiv sharma

I appreciate your ambition and aim. Union public service commission conducts IAS examination year. Graduation is the minimum qualification for applying, so i suggest you to complete your degree first in any stream and then apply for this exam. But remember to qualify IAS examination one needs extensive and hard study to cross the pre,main and interview and for this you can join a reputed coaching institute. Your strong determination, enthusiasm, courage, intelligence and will power will also help you reach your destination.
Hope for the best
15th November 2010, 11:07 AM
NITIN2

it is very good that your goal of life is clear to you .As you are in +2 then first you have to graduation.After doing graduation you will be eligible to appear in the exam of IAS.
As you are in +2 so you have lot of time so you should start your preparation from right now.Firstly, you should start the preparation of general studies.to prepare this subject you should read following books:

1.Upakar guide
2.Pratiyogita darpan
3.History books of class 8th 9th 10th of NCERT
4.Geography books of class 8th 9th 10th of NCERT
5.Civics books of class 8th 9th 10th of NCERT.

During your graduation you should choose your favorite subject for your main exam.

Best of lck
15th November 2010, 11:18 AM
NITIN2

it is very good that your goal of life is clear to you .As you are in +2 then first you have to graduation.After doing graduation you will be eligible to appear in the exam of IAS.
As you are in +2 so you have lot of time so you should start your preparation from right now.Firstly, you should start the preparation of general studies.to prepare this subject you should read following books:

1.Upakar guide
2.Pratiyogita darpan
3.History books of class 8th 9th 10th of NCERT
4.Geography books of class 8th 9th 10th of NCERT
5.Civics books of class 8th 9th 10th of NCERT.

During your graduation you should choose your favorite subject for your main exam.

15th November 2010, 10:01 PM
ashish121

Have a good graduation and simultaneously prepare for the exams......
Go for any graduation which suits you.........
Its not mandatory go for a professional course itself....
Select course of your interest and master in it.
Build a good reading habit, · For becoming IAS/IPS officer, the way to enter this competitive job is through giving UPSC entrance exams.

· Before going for IAS/IPS, you should prepare hard enough to get well-versed with the paper pattern so that you can perform well.gain as much knowledge as possible.
16th November 2010, 07:09 PM
beerpotego

Originally Posted by MADHURI PEDNEKAR View Post
I want to become an I.A.S. officer. I am studying in xii. What should I do to achieve my ambition?
firstly you have to graduate to be an I A S officer, its very hard to an IAS officer u have to work hard
21st November 2010, 07:07 PM

WHAT IS IN THE U P S C
IS PHYSICAL FIT NESS IMPORTANT FOR BECOMING IAS
24th November 2010, 12:39 PM
helpmaster

WHAT IS IN THE U P S C
IS PHYSICAL FIT NESS IMPORTANT FOR BECOMING IAS
As far IAS is concerned there is not any such physical standards required but in specific departments they net some physical standards and in that you will not be preferred like IPS.
But there is reservation too for differnet physically handicap category.
The main thing here is knowledge and not physical healtha sin army
24th November 2010, 06:47 PM

hi my age is 28yrs and i am pursuing my final yr of graduation in b.sc and i also belong to the scheduled caste .. pls guide me how to
become an IAS officer
26th November 2010, 06:35 PM

i am in 10 and wanna become ias. which stream should i take...
28th November 2010, 05:15 PM
VEERU_VIRENDR

HELLO,
for taking ias exam conducted by upsc a candidate should have following eligibility-
*graduation in any stream from recognized institute or university.
*age limit-21-30yrs(general)although there is age relaxation for reserved categories.for more information you can logon at official site of upsc-www.upsc.gov.in
5th December 2010, 08:31 AM
jits

You need to complete your graduation course for this.Since your from 12th its better that you start your preparation now itself as well as completing your graduation course.

Read newspapers daily so that you can know the current affairs.Keep referring the old question papers of Civil service examination so that you can know the type of questions being asked and start the type of preparation from now itself.

Keep in touch with subjects such as History,Geography and Economics.You can go for coaching classes along by completing your graduation course.

7th December 2010, 01:34 PM

how much is required for ias in tenth?
9th December 2010, 09:21 PM
lavanyaratala

age limit is 21-35 years........you try to read bokks on our histiry, our govt. politics, daily papers like hindu, and so on........
9th December 2010, 11:55 PM
subho19

I want to become an I.A.S. officer. I am studying in xii. What should I do to achieve my ambition?
It is one type of impossible,because the critaria is graduation,and age limit is 21 to 30 normally...
10th December 2010, 09:15 AM
rahul_kumar066

Thumbs up Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

Dear
Firstly you should do graduation to achieve your ambition because graduation is necessary to be a I.A.S. officer.
Thanku
10th December 2010, 11:02 AM
aditya436

Thumbs up Re: How To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th?

hello friend

first of all you have to get a degree from any indian university

after that you have to get the age of elgibility

i.e 21years

then wait for the upsc notification

and the time you do graduation get all updates of CIVILS and also general knowledge and also current affairs

go through these links when you are free

www.upsc.gov.in

www.onestopias.com

have a long way to go

~aditya~
11th December 2010, 03:13 AM
kvrob139

which graduate is very help for ias?

It does not matters a lot as graduation is an eligibility criteria only. You can read history for IAS even also if you are interested in history and you are BTech.
But if you are thinking only of IAS, then choose graduation subjects as per the one you will choose for IAS Mains.
11th December 2010, 03:16 AM
kvrob139

my aim is become an ias officer. to serve my india.i am over plus 2.so which degree i select?history is best ?pls guid me

This is a great thought. it is good to do BA in history so that it will help you in the IAS Mains.
11th December 2010, 03:19 AM
kvrob139

what is the syllabus for ias
The exam is divided into two exams. Prelims will be conducted in the month of May and it will consist GK and Aptitude only. In Mains you need to choose subjects and it will be purely written essays and debates.
The syllabus varies with the subject you choose.You can get it from the notification in the Employment Newspaper when the notice will be published in february.
11th December 2010, 03:20 AM
kvrob139

This would be a good choice as economics can be chosen as Mains subject in the IAS exam.
Good luck.
11th December 2010, 03:47 PM
asahu47

To become an I.A.S. officer after 12th
You need to be a graduate to apply for IAS. IAS comprises of three levels of exams.
Preliminary( Objective choice) optional papers, general studies
Mains(Subjective type) Optional papers, General Studies, Essay writing, English
Interview

This need intensive and extensive study of at least a year.First go through the syllabus available at book shops.

13th December 2010, 10:26 AM
kvrob139

First you need to be graduate to be eligible for appearing for the IAS.
For IAS you need to apply for the Civil Services exam conducted by UPSC each year. The notification will be published in the Employment Newspaper in February.
you have to clear 2 written and then interview. Written consist of Prelims and Mains.
Prelims(CSAT): It will comprise of GK and Aptitude as per the new format.
Mains:
Paper-I One of the Indian Languages to be selected by the candidate from the 22 languages included in the VIIIth Schedule to the Constitution (Qualifying Paper)

Paper-II English (Qualifying Paper)

Paper-III Essay [in the medium you choose]

Papers IV & V General Studies

Papers VI, VII, VIII & IX Any two subjects (each having 2 papers) to be selected from the prescribed optional subjects
13th December 2010, 07:16 PM

If you want to become an IAS officer, then you need not to study hard, you just have to be thorough with general knowledge questions.
14th December 2010, 07:41 PM
Swaminathan077

dear,

IAS exam can not be appeared after 12

so to appear for IAS you must complete your graduation from any college

then you can sit for the CIVIL SERVICES EXAM through which you can go to

IAS position so it is a long journey first complete your graduation

good day
19th December 2010, 08:14 PM

sir, I have passed 12th. please tell me whether it is mendetory to do the graduation from a well reputed college or e.t.c please help .please.
20th December 2010, 01:25 PM

i have completed my graduation and want to go for ips. How it should be done.
waiting for reply at [email protected]
21st December 2010, 02:25 PM
drdo99

friend,
like to see your enthusiasm.

but what is most important is your need for passing the need of graduation with

minimum passing marks.

try to gather more information through upsc site.

join coaching centres for training.
26th December 2010, 01:38 PM

I AM GOING TO COMPLETE MY 2.AFTER 2 WHAT COURSE WE HAVE TO TAKE TO BECOME AN I.A.S.PLEASE REPLY ME
26th December 2010, 09:45 PM
kumarpravir007

hello friend........
to become an IAS officer you have to first complete your graduation and then you can apply for the above exam which is conducted by UPSC
27th December 2010, 03:43 AM
Gautam Prashant

Its nice dear you have decided to become an IAS officer.First of all the first foremost thing required is determination be determined and study well. Ya till the time you complete you graduation keep studying BOOKS related to IAS it will help you in future.
With best wishes
Prashant