Indian Civil Service (IAS) Examination 2012

The IAS or ICS is considered as the head of all the other examinations conducted in India. Conducted by UPSC, it is given more importance than CAT or IIT-JEE. It is one of the prestigious examinations all over the country. Students who wish to work for government post or want to be a part of it can appear for this exam. In order to get through this test one has to be excellent in all the fields. Students who wish to pursue their career in Government service can take up this test.

Structure of IAS Exam

The pattern of the exam is divided into three sections. First and foremost is the preliminary examination. It is further divided into two papers. The duration of each paper is 120 minutes. Those who qualify this level have to attend a main exam. This paper will hold a written test followed by an interview. In the written test candidates have to attend 9 papers. The duration of each paper is 180 minutes. The final phase is the Interview.

Syllabus

The portions for the preliminary Exam paper one are Indian history and national movements, geography, current events, general science, Indian polity and government, economics etc.

The portions for paper two are Comprehension, Reasoning, Problem Solving, Decision Making, General Ability, English language etc.

The syllabus for the main examination

• A paper on Indian language
  • English
  • Essay
  • Two papers on general studies
  • Four  papers on any of the optional subject according to candidate’s choice

Candidates who have completed their graduation from any stream are eligible to appear for the test. Those who have completed any professional or technical studies can also apply. There is no minimum requirement of marks for writing this test. Candidates having a pass mark can apply. Those who are appearing or the final year of the qualifying examination can also attend the test. Only those candidates who are citizens of India can appear for IAS and IPS. Those who have migrated from other countries with an intention to become a permanent citizen of India can also apply. The age limit is between 21 years to 30 years.

How to Apply?

Candidates can purchase the application forms from the designated post office. The amount to be paid is Rs 50/-. Next step is to send the filled application from along with the acknowledgment card to the officer in charge.

How to fill the Form?

Candidates should buy the application form only from a post office. They should clearly fill in all the required columns. The 8 digit bar code number should be noted down separately by the candidate for future reference. They should not use a photo copy of the form, it will not be accepted. Candidates should not enclose copy of their certificates along with the form. They should send it only with the acknowledgment card. Candidates should also try to send the filled application form in advance. So that it would be delivered within the time limit.

Important Dates

• Final date to submit the application form is by last week of January, 2012
  • Exam will be held in the month of May, 2012

Contact Address for the IAS Examination

• Secretary, Union Public Service Commission, Dholpur House, Shajahan Road, New Delhi-110069

Coaching Centers for IAS

• Achievers Academy
  • Analog IAS Institute
  • Blaze IAS Academy
  • Brilliant Tutorials Pvt. Ltd
  • C.M.C Institute
  • Caliber IAS coaching center
  • Career Plus
  • Chankya IAS Academy
  • Civil Service Academy
  • Gandhi IAS study circle
  • IAS Study center
  • IAS Study Circle
  • IAS Study Point
  • Institute of Career Management
  • Kashmir Study Circle
  • LIBM
  • National Service for Civil Service Examination
  • New Delhi IAS
  • Paradigm IAS
  • Prism Center for Education
  • Rachna A.C.A of Career Education
  • Radian IAS Academy
  • Rajajinagar Himalai IAS
  • Study Center for IAS
  • Ujwal
  • Vision India IAS Study Circle
  • Center for excellence

Reference Books for IAS Exam

• Books on Indian History & Culture
  • Gandhi Nehru Tagore & Ambedkar — Gopal Krishna
  • Publication Division: Gazetteer of India (Vol 2: History & Culture)
  • NCERT (+ 2 level) — Ancient India, Medieval India, Modern India.
  • A.C.Banerjee - History of Modern India Raghavan Aiyer — Mahatma Gandhi
  • Bipin Chandra - Modern India

Books on Geography:

• Khullar : India- A Comprehensive Geography
  • NCERT : Physical Geography of India for X - XII Std
  • Sharma & Cotinho : Economic and Commercial Geography of India.
  • Charles Farro: General Principles of World Geography journal - Kurukshetra, Yojana
  • Charles Farro: Monsoon Asia Reports published by Centre for Science and National

Books on Indian Economy:

• The Economic Times, Business Standard
  • NCERT (+1 level)—Evolution of Indian Economy (I C Dhingra).
  • Economic Survey
  • Mishra & Puri or Dutt & Sundaram - Indian Economy
  • Yojana

Books on Social and National Issues:

• Social Welfare Magazine - Published by ministry of social welfare
  • IIPa Journal
  • Social Problem - Ram Ahuja

Books on Indian Polity:

• Kashyap—Constitution of India
  • P.M. Bakshi—Indian Constitution
  • NCERT (+1 level)—Indian Political System
  • D.D. Basu—Indian Constitution
  • Frontline Magazine
  • N.L. Madan : Bhartiya Rajya Vyavastha
  • Publication Division—Subhash C. Kashyap
  • Constitution of India by Bakshi

Books on Science & Technology:

• Science and Technology in India – Spectrum
  • Reports of the Ministry of Science and Technology Yojana
  • Popular Science Series (CSIR)
  • Science Reporter
  • Books on Statistics:
  • S.C. Gupta: Statistical Methods
  • (NCERT +1 level) Elementary Statistics

Books on India and the World:

• World Focus
  • South Asian Journal
  • Journal of peace Studies
  • Strategic Analysis

Study Plan

It is very important to start preparing as early as possible. There a lot of portions to be covered and the competition level are very high. Every year a number of students apply for the entrance. Only those who have an excellent knowledge in every area qualify in the test. A systematic method will be very beneficial. Candidates should first divide the portions according to their convenience. Then they can sort out the easier and difficult ones. It will be easy for them to understand their weaker sections. It will help them to concentrate on those parts.

Candidates can also practice last years question paper. It will help them to understand the pattern of the paper. They will also learn to manage their time. Candidates can also join any of the coaching centers. This is also a good method to crack the entrance exam.

How and Where To Get the Results?

Results will be declared on the official website of Union Public Service Commission.

Cutoff

The following were the cutoff marks when there were no negative markings for the test. The marks are liable to change

• 90 and above for Geography
  • 95 for Indian History
  • 95 for Mathematics
  • 95 and above for Political Science
  • 95 for Public Administration
  • 95 for Sociology

Score Validity

The validity period of the IAS score is one year.

24 Responses to “Indian Civil Service (IAS) Examination 2012”

1. 24
    Divyani Agarwal:

Please tell me when the application forms be issued for 2013 ias exams and will there be any exams in 2012 after the month of july

2. 23
    vijayalakshmi:

please tell when will be the ias application form will be issued

3. 22
    nikant:

is any subject is available in ias related to IT/CS.

4. 21
    m.vidhya devi:

how to apply on upsc exam-2012

5. 20
    madhura:

is it possible to take combination of public administration and political science for the main exam as optionals

6. 19
    ROHIT:

can i fill the entrance exam form now? plz tell me

7. 18
    DOLLY SINGH:

m student of MA…doing MA in eco 1st year..can i apply for this exam this year????plz help me for more informaton of this exam…thanks u for help me…

8. 17
    venkanna:

what is the age limit for civils exam for an sc candidate appearing for the exam?

9. 16
    Vivek Mishra:

i want to give eaxm fo I.A.S in kanpur city. but i dont kanow that last date for I.A.S exam in kanpur city so plz tell me last date and information about I.A.S application form …..when will i get this form in the kanpur city ….my connt number 8826455513………..thanks
    vivek mishra

10. 15
    puvan:

Good eve. There is no application format in the online site of the upsc site. will you pls tellme the way to apply onine for Ias exam?

11. 14
    Revathy Nithyanandam:

I have done in Bsc Computer science.Can i will apply for I.A.S exam and how?plz inform me when IAS application form will be declared & when entrance exam will be conducted

Revathy Nithyanadam

12. 13
    praveen:

I have d one B.tech in computer science.Can i will apply for I.A.S exam and how? pl. tell me as soon as possible.
    praveen

13. 12
    sushma rathore:

when entrance exam will be conducted and how to apply for ias exam please also tell me the last date of ias entrance

14. 11

my date of birth is 1-12-90, can I give the IAS exam in 2012?

15. 10
    ambika:

sir, plz inform me when IAS application form form will be declared

16. 9
    Durgadevi:

can i apply online?

17. 8
    Durgadevi:

i want to know the post office address around in ambattur. who was sold the ias application.

18. 7
    sanjana:

can i apply online??
    and tell me the ias exam centers name??

19. 6
    piyush:

i want to know the exact dates of application form of IAS 2012…
    and the related post office address…

20. 5
    sapana:

hamra D.O.B (02.06.83) hai ,
    education : M.A (hindi lit )IInd calss with 50 % , hai,
    kya hum IAS ke liye apply kar skte hai ?
    aur kaise , kripya bataye

sapana

21. 4
    pavani:

how to apply the IAS entrance exam

22. 3
    neha kapil:

can i apply online

23. 2
    jayavardhan:

Where can i get full govt job notifications schedule