Procedure to become IAS officer after 12th

An IAS officer is one of the most respectable positions in the society. Candidates who wish to become an IAS officer have to appear and clear the Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC. Discussed below is the step by step process to become IAS officer after higher secondary.

Step 1: Obtain a Bachelor Degree

After higher secondary, candidates who wish to become IAS officer are required to obtain graduation in any discipline from a UGC recognized university. Bachelor degree is the minimum qualification required to apply for the civil service exam. There is no minimum percentage required to be eligible to this exam. Final year candidates are also eligible to apply for this exam.

Qualify the Civil Service Exam

The all India combined competitive examination for Civil Service comprises of two stages. They are

• Preliminary Examination
  • Main Examination

Preliminary examination is usually conducted in the month of May/ June every year. This exam will be in objective type format. The exam consists of two papers, general studies and an optional subject. There will be questions for 150 marks from general section and 300 marks from optional subject. Candidates can choose their optional subject from the list given below.

• Agriculture
  • Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
  • Botany
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Commerce
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • Geology
  • Indian History
  • Law
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Medical Science
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Public Administration
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Sociology
  • Statistics
  • Zoology

The medium of instructions will be in English and in Hindi. Candidates can expect questions in the optional paper from the degree level syllabus. Time limit of each paper is two hours. Candidates who have cleared the preliminary examination are eligible for the main exam.

Clear the Main Examination

Main examination is of descriptive type. It consists of nine papers. Time duration for each paper is three hours. It comprises of the following papers.

• One Indian Language for 300 marks
  • English for 300 marks
  • General Essay for 300 marks
  • General Studies of 300 marks
  • Any two optional papers for 300 marks each
  • Personal Interview

The final selection for Indian Administrative Service is carried out on the basis of personal interview. Usually the final interview is conducted in the month of April/ May every year. Candidates can expect questions on matters of general interest. The questions are designed to measure the suitability as well as the mental calibre of the candidates. Apart from this candidates will have to go for a medical test as part of selection procedure. Once selected, all candidates are required to undergo compulsory foundation training.

109 Responses to “Procedure to become IAS officer after 12th”

1. 109
    elavarasan:

sir,i am doing BE(ece)-2nd year, which coaching centre is best for training &shall i apply for ias exam now. which book is best for preparation.

2. 108
    atul pandey:

i m in 11th with pcm what should i do fr prepration of IAS

3. 107
    vaibhav singh:

what I have to study after 12th B.A. or B.Sc. for the preparations of I.A.S.

4. 106
    komal Mishra:

Gud mrng sir
    I want to become a ias officer please help how i am become a best officer with a top rank

M 1st year hindi honors student plz give some suggestiona

5. 105
    GANDHALI SHNDE:

I am in 12th sci.I want to become an IAS officer so which field should I select after my 12th so that I can be prepare for the exam. and which is best coaching center of IAS exam.

6. 104
    shubham upadhyay:

I m a science medical student and I m very much curious to be an IAS…now I m in 11th std so I m just little confuse that which field should I choose after 12th..I want to become an IAS at any cost….plz give me suitable advice which best for me…..

7. 103
    m r nitish kumar:

sir when is the last date to appear IAS prelims

8. 102
    Deepika Sharma:

Sir maine diploma kiya hai after 10th this is a 3 years diploma in the electronics and communication engg. Kya main IAS join kar sakti hoon sir plz reply me at my email add. or my phone number 9465353554

9. 101
    Ashish.R.Mirani:

can i participate in this exam as i have 72%in 12th exam and how much percentage minimum i had to got in my bachelour degree

10. 100
    nazia banu:

sir right now im doing my 2nd b.Com and im interested in becoming an ias officer plz guide me how to start up my carrier from right now?

11. 99
    SHAI ABDUL:

1Q.sir, it is possible that prelims pass in one year and mains pass in other year?

12. 98
    Manjeet Panchal:

Sir,I want to become an I.A.S. Now I am doing Bsc. But I want to do B.A. Because History,political science,hindi,english are my favorite subjects .Sir please tell me can I apply for I.A.S. Exams with the degree of B.A.after completing my graduation in arts.

13. 97
    Sushmita lohar:

I don’t know any indian language

14. 96
    deepak kumar:

sir can i become an ias after btech.mining engineering in ism dhanbad

15. 95
    pavithra:

Im doing my UG in distance education.. now how can i study IAS?

16. 94
    Romit:

can i become an ias officer by studying from commerce field.

17. 93
    Dylan:

Currently i’m a science student of xii standard. I wanted to be an IAS officer. Which stream should i go for after i finish my Higher Secondary?

18. 92
    Jaspreet Monga:

What we take to become ias officer such as b.com or b.a or b.sci and etc ?

19. 91
    aman kumar:

Can I take indian languages English.

20. 90
    piyush kumar:

goOD MORNING SIR PLEASE TELL ME FORM KAB AYEGA

21. 89
    manish kumar jha:

sir please tell me which coaching best for ias

22. 88
    vivek:

which subject is more easier than the other subject in IAS mains

23. 87
    Jashan:

Sir actually I am a law student please guide me well how to focus on my studies n on which subjects should I focus reagrding IAS

24. 86
    kavitha:

hii sir im completed degree.but in 2009-2013my percentag below 50.in 12th 65 percentag can i eligible for ias exams

25. 85
    Mohammad Taufiq Alam:

what we take to become ias officer such as b.com or b.a or m.sci and etc.

26. 84
    amita mishra:

which subject choose for become ias after 10th

27. 83
    shubham upadhyay:

Good afternoon sir..
    I m shubham nd i m from delhi…I m studying in 11th std. Nd i m a sci.(medical) student…i m very very very much crazy to become an IAS because i like to do social service…nd know the values of an IAS..i m good in study but smtimes get tensed about IAS exam….so plz plz kindly tell me what should i do…

28. 82
    riya arora:

good evening sir
    I WANT TO DO IAS AFTER COMPLETING MY 12th STUDIES PLEASE TELL ME THE WHOLE PROCEDURE TO BE AN IAS

29. 81
    sandeep:

I want to become an ias officer now i am in class 12

30. 80
    shreya:

I am 13 years old but i am so crazy to be an I A S. I am im class seven and good in studies. What should i do?

31. 79
    priyanka singh:

helo sir i want to be an ias how can done this

32. 78
    nilesh.r.doshi:

good afternoon sir
    i m nilesh doshi appearing third year bcom,
    my question is with final year studies can i appear ias entrance exam?

33. 77
    darlene joy:

where will i get the hall ticket for ias exam?can i write ias exams while i am doing my degree 1st year?

34. 76
    chahat verma:

sr, i m in class 10 at present pls guide me which stream (subject) i’ll choose for my class 11 which hlp me in future for become an ias officer . pls guide me

35. 75
    fatima:

Where is one supposed to get the entrance forms and when. Where are they available and how do we submit them

36. 74
    mudassir khan:

sir after getting selected whats the foundation training is all about

37. 73
    Pawan Badsiwal:

1.)WHAT ARE THE MAIN SUBJECT FOR PRE EXAM AND MAIN EXAM.?
    2.) WHICH COURSE WE SHOULD TAKE IN U.G THAT HELP US IN STUDY OF IAS IN FUTURE .?
    2.) AND I HAVE ECO HONS COURSE 2ND YEAR. IS THIS COURSE HELP ME IN FUTURE FOR STUDY OF IAS.?
    3.) CAN I GAVE PRE EXAM IN 2014… IN 2014 I AM IN FINAL YEAR OF MY U.G. COURSE.?

38. 72
    hitesh:

can i appear for this exam after compeleting 12th science.Also what is health require?

39. 71
    Varsha:

sir , i’m doing my 12th now . can you please let me know all the procedures in detail that i have to focus on ( subjects , colleges , tutorials ) .

40. 70
    Dimple:

sir I am a student of dewan public school meerut .. I am from d commerce stream class 12 and would like to become an IAS officer. please do guide me about the procedure to appear. for the preliminary nd main tests. nd on what subjects I should focus on? nd what is overall cost in this process? nd please let me know the type of questions which are related to general studies and general essay?

41. 69
    Sidhant Chadha:

It is Possible to become an IAS officer after 12th

42. 68
    husna jamal:

What sort of medical science is required to become an ias officer? Like whether even unani students can also become an ias officier?

43. 67
    Monal:

IAS is possible after b.architecture??

44. 66
    Pratik Banerjee:

Sir,I am a student of class 12 from Rabindra open school.I read your article and i want to ask you that if my quallification is only graduate or graduate with hons. and someone having master degree then is he more eligible than me or can get more effect than me in interview or preliminary or main examination?

45. 65
    Pratik Banerjee:

Sir,I am a student of class 12 from Rabindra open school.I read your article and i want to ask you that if my quallification is only graduate or graduate with hons. and someone having master degree then is he more eligible than me or can get more effect than me in interview or preliminary or main examination.

46. 64
    Sheersh Saxena:

what should i do….which course is to opt for after 12th…..that can help me in mah future preparation for ias….either i should go for b.tech or for b.sc… or for b.a ….. i am bit confused ..as some are advising me to go fr a technical degree….as with that i would be with mah backup plan if unfortunately i am not selected…whereas some are guiding me to go for BA…. as in BA i will be free from much workload….and can actually devote much of my time in my preparation for ias from the vry first go……so here i am… in a confused state….seeking for ur help…….

47. 63
    Kundan kumar:

Can i know what kind of question will be asked general studys& general essay? And what r the optional paper in main exam? Now i m doing bsc biotechnology what and all book should i study to clear ias exam?

48. 62
    neha:

i am a student of b.a history(h),i am interested in becoming an IS officer. how i should prepare civil exam .how much time will be taken by this whole process.how much money it should take.

49. 61
    Ezekiel Baskar:

Im a class 10 student studying in saint augustines high school,vasai.Its my dream to become an IAS officer not just to gain name and fame but to work for the betterment of the country,to serve the underprivileged,and be an example of service n love.So how can i become an IAS officer?Which stream should i select after my 10th?what are the procedures?please do guide me.

50. 60
    Johny:

I am a student currently doing my 2nd B.A. In arts( general) . I am interested in becoming an IAS officer. Therefore, I would like to know how i should prepare for my civil exam. What kind of books should i focus on. What are the materials I should read to passed out the civil exam. I take english, sociology, political science and history in the college. Please suggest something. Thank you .

51. 59
    monika:

What includes in commerce optional subject of preliminary exam. ? please tell me some topics about this section ( commerce)

52. 58
    Priyanka:

is it possible to become an IAS without IAS coaching classes? if yes then how?

53. 57
    Rahul deb:

Sir i hve chosen the commerce stream….is it helpfull for me or applicable for IAS examination……

54. 56
    Priyadharshini:

Iam very poor student but my goal is IAS what i do to increaच

55. 55
    Shivank kumar:

Sir, I have select electronics & communication branch in B-Tech . Kindly tell me that , will it be helpful for me in IAS exam.

56. 54
    nitesh kumar:

how to apply for ias officer

57. 53
    Riya Kapoor:

sir/mam,can i do eng. after doing 11th and 12th and then appear for I.A.S exams..

58. 52
    govind kumar:

which branch to be choose in btech to get sucess in ias exam for a general category student
    i have completed 12th from cbse

59. 51
    Sunny:

Sir mai ek engineering ka student hu sir my aim is to be ips officer and finila joining row dep.. Then sir plz sugest me how to joi row

60. 50
    tabhani prakash.m:

I will prepare for the ifs exam and which is taken by the upsc [ifs- indian forest exam].I was complete my gradution in
    the veterinary science and i will choose the optional subject for this exam is veterinary science and zoology so you will inform for the books of zoology,general english and general studies.you also inform which books are where available so plz give information.

61. 49
    Ishan sharma:

what is the age required to appear in the exam after completing 12 from commerce stream what subjects should i choose for exams plss help mee

62. 48
    ashok:

Sir what is procedure for studying IAS in detail?

63. 47
    nitin:

I am in class 10 and i want to become an ias officer so what subjects i can take in class11 to do so?

64. 46
    Akash:

which subject i have to choose

65. 45
    natlie:

wt is the age criteria to appear for the exams of to be a ias officer, and wt other documents require for this field

66. 44
    anshika:

Sir/madam I completed my 12th std in commerce this year,I want to become an ias officer,I want to know which study material is best for preparation of ias examination mean I want complete study material and sedule plz sir/madam help me I need ur suggestion

67. 43
    SHIVAM Yadav:

which subject i choose for ias?

68. 42
    Teja Kishore:

know Iam doing my B A by distance education, will iam eligible for IAS ,and now what is the procedure i want to do?

69. 41
    manthan bachani:

how to become IAS officer after graduation? & we have to join classes for this course when we are in 12th?

70. 40
    m.saravanan:

Sir suggest me IAS training center near tambaram
    Thank you ..

71. 39
    Anitha:

Hai, what is the procedure for become IAS after finishing diploma holders?

72. 38
    ASHISH MORE:

I am not very expert in hindi, can i give the exam in bengali for 300 marks paper(Indian language)?

73. 37
    pallavi:

i done my 12 i wanted to become an ias officer please sir can u tell me which optional subject is best to chose for bsc?

74. 36
    Bhawna Verma:

I am studying in B.Com 1st year. I want to become an IAS officer. Can i become IAS Officer by commerce stream? Many of my guardian say that ‘No one had become IAS officer by commerce stream’ is that true?

75. 35
    sri khushaal .y:

i am studing in plus one and my group is mpc.
    and i got 10 results recently of cgpa 7.4.

How many years does it take to become an IAS officer?
    what are procedures after 10 to become an IAS officser ?

76. 34
    ashish:

what type of examination is ias. objective or subjective.

77. 33
    anitha:

i completed my 10th standard. i want to become IAS officer. so for that which subject should i take in class 11[science,commerce or arts]please reply me

78. 32
    arshiya nafees:

what degree should i take in 11th standard,,,i should study in cbse or stateboard,,,what degree should i take after12th standard

79. 31
    ashish:

which subject is good in b.sc for IAS ???

80. 30
    Amandeep pandey:

Sir, i want to become a I.A.S officer what will i do

81. 29
    Nihal Avom:

Sir/madam
    I wanna become an I.A.S . But i m totally confused. Which one subject is best, whose help me to clear main exam.

82. 28
    Aditya Kumar Sharma:

Which subject is most suitable for ias for B.sc student?

83. 27
    jayachitra:

Respected Sir/madam, i completed my 12th std this year i want to become an IAS officer i have one doubt if i selected in preliminary exam but i was not get success in main exam in this case,what to do?.whether am i should start from the first stage or need not…….so please help me i want to know this……my id [email protected]

84. 26
    rohit kumar:

sir,i am studying 11th class opt science stream,i want to know is bsc degree is much to fill the ias firm?

85. 25
    rohit:

sir, can yo sugest mthe way for apperng in iasexam after the 12 wiht science stream .

86. 24
    sanjay kumar:

sir after passing out Preliminary Examination with good rank, which type of question is asked in main exam whether it is subjective or objective.and what is cut off for selecting in main exam.

87. 23
    sandhiya:

how should i prepare for ias eam

88. 22
    Kolli Eswar Teja:

i completed my 10th standard.. Can we be eligible to write exam for IAS officer by doing MBBS

89. 21
    aksa:

which subject should i take for my plus one,plus two courses that will help me to become an i a s officer?

90. 20
    bhanu:

is english can be take as optional papaer

91. 19
    rohan raj:

i am science(biology) student.what should i select after 12 std?on which subject should i concentrate?

92. 18
    Rinku:

what would be the starting salary of an i a s officer?
    give me some sample question asked in interview of an i a s

93. 17
    niraj prasad:

what i do after my minning engeerin coursee to become an IAS officer …..plzz help me ….

94. 16
    sandeep das:

i m doing BBA bt i did my 12 in science stream…… so what should i hv to do to became ias officer……..

95. 15
    Jithu joy:

What must I do after my bachelor degree in philosophy to become an IAS officer? Is there any regular class for this? Where I must go for the exams? Plz help me with necessary information.

96. 14
    prerna gupta:

What subject should I prefer in class 11th so , that it can help me in becoming IAS ?

97. 13
    mohd zaki:

I m in 9th standard plz tell me what I do to become an ias officer

98. 12
    divya:

i want to become an ias officer but i’m a science student from biology? can i apply for this….?

99. 11
    shreoshree sengupta:

which stream will i choose after 10th to become an ias officer?

100. 10
    Ashwani:

Is preparation for I.A.S. for commerce student is really tough?

101. 9
    Abhishek yadav:

Which subject is most suitable for I.A.S for commerce student ?

102. 8
    MARIAPPAN:

I AM NCC CANDIATE HAVING C CERTIFICATE IN A GRADE.if any premilinary exam exclusion for me.please confirm it is applcable NCC person or not

103. 7
    kavitha:

I study 2nd yr in vet science. I am interested in ias but I am confused to select my optional sub. Sir can you help me with few suggestions .

104. 6
    s.manoj mourya:

i,m having n.c.c C certificate with A grade. do it is help full for I.A.S and I.P.S ? and how?

105. 5
    manoj kumar sharma:

I want to study forensic science.please guide me step by step how to join this course?

106. 4
    priyanka verma:

which type of study material is best for prepartion of ias examination?

107. 3
    niraj:

how to do distance learning MBA through IGNOU? what is the admission procedure? Is Sikkim Manipal University better than IGNOU for MBA? if yes then how to get admission in Sikkim M U?

108. 2
    JEENATH:

Iam working in a corporate company but i need to get through as an IAS officer. Is there any institute to help in getting success in IAS exam as a correspondence class.

109. 1
    shraddha:

List of best coaching classes for IAS exam in Pune city.