Income-Tax Officer - How to become an Income-Tax Officer?

An income tax officer is someone who deals with income tax matters concerning the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT). The CBDT is a department of the Central Government of India.

As tax is one of the main incomes of the Indian government, the duty of an income tax officer or ITO is to collect tax from the citizens of India. The notification about the exam and the details regarding the rules and syllabus will be available in newspapers like the Employment News, Rozgar samachar etc.

Qualifying Exam

The Staff Service Commission (SSC) conducts an entrance exam annually for the recruitment of candidates in the income tax department. A series of written, oral and physical tests will be carried out for the selection of the candidates. Those candidates who clear these tests will be called for an interview later.

Who is eligible to apply?

Candidates who are applying for the post of Income tax officer must appear for the SSC exam. The basic qualification required to apply for the SSC is a degree from a recognized University or its equal. The candidates must be atleast 18 years and not more than 27 years at the time of applying ( age relaxation is available for the candidates belonging to the backward classes).

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Candidates who are appearing for the interview and examination must be prepared in topics like General English, basic arithmetic, general knowledge etc. In addition to this, questions will be also asked on topics like General policy, Geography and History. Subjects like Economics and Scientific Research will also be included.

Candidates can prepare for the written exam by reading materials on the topic. They can also go for coaching in centers nearby.

At the time of the interview, the candidates must make sure that they answer to the point.

203 Responses to “Income-Tax Officer - How to become an Income-Tax Officer?”

Pages: [2] 1 » Show All

1. 203
    Mayur:

Im a student of class 12th..
    I want to become a class 1 goverment officer shall i start my study from 12th vacations or it will be too early studing for examss ???

2. 202
    anurag.c:

i will compleet my+2 cours in this march.my ambition is to become

a psycologyst.what are the proceedure to become a psycologyst

3. 201
    prabhat:

sir how to become an l.t.o.

4. 200
    puja khaitan:

Sir,I am 18….bcom 1st year…can I appear for sac examinations

5. 199
    ashish:

right nw i am pursuing my 3-2 b-tech .i am intersted to become an income tax officer.so please suggest me some books and the procedure how to study

6. 198
    sukhbir singh:

Hi sir, I m 21 years old and doing economics honours. I want to be a income tax officer. What should I do after this my honours? Please reply sir.

7. 197
    bisanu:

i am a student of b.tech 3rd yr in mechanical engg………
    i want to appear in ssc examination for income tax offer at the final year.it is possible or not………………
    please replay me……………..

8. 196
    dinesh.p:

Respected sir, I am studing engineering now but I am always think do service for india . so I should become a income tax officer . so plz send what is the procedure required to become the income tax officer send on my e-mail . [email protected]

9. 195
    Harsh Deep Dubey:

I would like to know about how i prepare my notes of IT Exam.I have done M.B.A. this May 2013 From B.I.T., and now i worked at DB CORP as Account Executive& i being prepare for IT Exam. Please guide me how i prepare my notes,timing of study,this is my dream aim with open eyes. Sir please guide me

Thank’s

Harsh Deep Dubey
    Raigarh ( C.G. )

10. 194
    rajeev:

respected sir.,i was completed b.tech in 2013..i want to be an income tax officer..can i alegible in this post??i if not any courses require for me to do?? please answer me sir

11. 193
    Prashant:

it is my final year of graduation, presently it is my 6th semester,
    can i appear for CGLE?

12. 192
    parshant:

I am in my last sem. of b.com and i want to become an income tax officer so what should do i do plz tell me

13. 191
    ANUJ KUMAR GUPTA:

SIR NOW I’ M PURSUING B.COM &I WANNA BE I T O ,SO WHAT I DO FOR THIS ?PLEASE GIVE ME SOME INSTRUCTION

14. 190
    RANJEET KUMAR:

SIR, I AM IN BCOM AND I WANT A BEVCOME A ITO OFFICER AND WITHOUT SSC COCHING CAN I TRING FOR ITO OFFICER AND HOW? PLEASE TELL ME

15. 189
    Ginni Singh:

sir pls tell me an BSc student can became a income tax officer?

16. 188
    Sumedh waghode:

Respected sir,I am persuading diploma in engineering,last year and i want to be an income tax officer so, please tell me the procedure.

17. 187
    kuldeep bhayani:

. I want to be income tax officer.plz give information
    about income tax examiination & what is qualification of this exam ?

18. 186
    shraddhap palaskar:

sir i’m in 10th now can i give this exam from amravati or yavatmal district which books should i prefered can i give this exam after 12th how should i prepared and can i become a ito of amravati district after passing the exams??????
    plz guide me…..

19. 185
    santosh lowanshi:

my self santosh lowanshi i am compliterd my degree B.C.A. Form tilak maharastra vidhayapeeth univercity pune so i think i am become the income tax officer so i am what r doing ….

20. 184
    Pooja:

Respected sir, i am a student of b.com final year. I want to be a income tax officer. So can i give the ssc exams in 2014? pl advised me….

21. 183
    sindhu:

I am studying 12th commerce.i want to become an income tax officer. please give me full information about income tax examination & what is the qualification of this exam.

22. 182
    mrutyunjaya bagh:

Respected sir, sir i am in b.com 1st yr of bjb college bhubneswar.sir i want to be a income tax officer.sir what is the elegibility for the entrance for income tax?

23. 181
    Dinesh Gupta:

plz. give me information or detail about ito examination?

24. 180
    riya:

is another way now visible for made an income tax officer except ssc?

25. 179
    nikhil:

you should select only the wright persons who dare to die for country now a days i think knowledge is every were.its not my opinion its a people opinion. income tax is my future aim.my name will appear in soon as great income tax officer. soon i will
    meet u….. “WORK AS GREAT OFFICER FOR OUR PEOPLE”

26. 178
    Sanket thorat:

I hav completed my diploma in comp dept…can i become a income tax office now??? Or i require furthr degree?????? Plz ail me in detail sir plz m

27. 177
    Wasim Sayyed:

Respected Sir
    My self Wasim Sayyed Now im studying in B.com Final Year and favrt subject is Income Tax and Im want to do This job So Sir Please Provide me about SSC exam .

28. 176
    prachi garg:

I am persuading B.E. , 3rd yr and i want to be an income tax officer so , please tell me the procedure of it

29. 175
    Hardeep singh:

R/sir.iam studying in +2 commerce.i want to become a income tax officer.but problem is my body .iam handicap.so i did not take the physical test.can i become a income tax officer

30. 174
    manish:

I am in class 12 commerce and economics is my favourite subject can please provide me the gudience regarding income tax that how should i get prepared for it and what paper should I so that i may be the income tax officer.

And my aim in the life is to be the income tax officier of INDIA because I have to do something for my country INDIA.

So Ihave a request from u that please help me for this paper and exam.

31. 173
    raj:

myself rajnish kumar.right now i am doing maths honours.i want to become an income tax inspector.am i able to give this exam?if yes, then how much minimum %age should be in graduation & also send other necessary information about it.

32. 172
    Mohamed sabeer.:

I am completed my B.com in this current year(2013/may).
    My cast is BC, Is i am a eligible student for this posting, i have a 60-70% of mark scored in B.com course. If am eligible how am i attend the entrence exam. Pls rply me sir.

33. 171
    Athulya a.v:

I am doing B.Com 1st year
    please give me full information about income tax examination & what is the qualification of this exam
    how much % is need sir plz reply iam ST (cast) student so the job opportunity is very easy

34. 170
    saurav tyagi:

sir i am b.tech final year student get 70% aggrigate . Plz tell me about ssc exam that how it cracked
    Provide last year papers of ssc on my mail acc……

35. 169
    Parag Agrawal:

Sir,i m in 12 standard i want to become a income tax officer.so can i give ssc exam direct after 12th passing..sir please give me suggestion what to do for same.???????

36. 168
    suresh kumar:

hi, i am doing my final year mechanical engineering can i eligible to become a income tax officer

37. 167
    Bijoy Dey:

Wht post having after passing MBA?

38. 166
    kapil:

my age is more than 27 years i can give exam of income tax officer

39. 165
    mayank kumar upadhyay:

Dear sir.
    12th (commrcss) b.com 2013 complitad -58%
    ITO course information

40. 164
    priya singh:

my height is not so good …does it create any problem for physical test? also how i can prepare for it in a better way? and also m doing b.com does it have any benefit for becoming income tax officer?

41. 163
    shivam agrawal:

sir i am persuing ca and bcom and i want to be a income tax officer also so what is the prosser of that

42. 162
    amit maheshwari:

hii, i have completed my MBA in 2012.and now i m interested in income tax examination but i have no any knowiedge for that section.i m not aware details for the exam.please,I request to you give me guiedline for that exam.and also tell me eligibility critia and exam syllebus.please give me full information about income tax examination.Like:how to prepare? what to do? and whatever things like that …… thankfully Amit

43. 161
    guri sandhar:

I’m done bechlour degree in arts. Which degree is required in income tax department ?

44. 160
    Amarjeet kaur:

hlo , i am doing msc in it sector, and i want to be income tax officr, please tell me how to prepare this test and which books read for this preparation.

45. 159
    chandan sharma:

Respected sir…
    i’m doing b.com 2nd year & ca (ipcc)…
    i want to start prepration for ITO exams from now..
    sir please tell how to start prepration, which sbjct should i focus now….
    sir plz send me its sllaybus also….
    plz give me proper strategy to crack it in first attempt…
    i belong to general category which loss my confidence…
    i shall be very thankful to u for this

46. 158
    harmit kaur:

how many marks required to pass this exam and what is in physical test ? and it is after +2 or graduation ?

47. 157
    swati borikar:

I am in 12th commerce and I want to become income tax officer can i give ssc exam direct after 12th passing

48. 156
    rahul soni:

i want to become a income tax officer bt i dont no what to do n how to do so please help me

49. 155
    ANKIT SINGLA:

I have scored 49% MARKS IN B.COM(H). Will I be able to give SSC exam for ITO ?

50. 154
    jitesh solanki:

hii. my name is jitesh and i want 2 be an income tax officer so how is the prosiger to this exam. and now am in f.y. so what can i do for this exam and how i prepare for this exam.what is a colification for this exam……

51. 153
    Juhi:

how many passing marks are necessary in exam?

52. 152
    shivapaswan:

how i can get a prepared on income tax department

53. 151
    Anish:

Give me informations about the coaching centre for preparing SSC examination

54. 150
    anish:

am pursuing chartered accountancy final in the month of may 2014. I have scorrd 61% in b.com.i want to become income tax officer.i want to know the detail syllabus.and second thing what are the physical test i have to give.if any required.
    With regards
    anish.

55. 149
    Neeraj kumar:

I will have cleared 10th in 2013.how i become income tax officer under five year.

56. 148
    RUTVI:

i am graduate earlier and also i do ca.
    so i want to know how give this xam?

57. 147
    Rajat mittal:

Is there any preference for CA in order to become ITO ?

58. 146
    ankit:

Iam B.COM final year student and also doing CA cource iwant to
    prepare SSC exame what can ido for this plz reply

59. 145
    sadhvi arora:

what should i choose in +1 in order
    to become an ITO

60. 144
    gourav jindal:

i want to know that what is the minimum requierment of precentage in bachlor degree for general catogery??????
    plz suggess me…. its very urgent 4 me

61. 143
    Kavindra kumar:

Is there any preference given to cs student for income-tax job.

62. 142
    porush:

should i drop 2-3 yearz before mbafor job exp…?

63. 141
    gururaj malipatil:

sir im Bsc final year student i want to become income tax officer so what i can do … give information plz

64. 140
    pradip:

i am completed my graduation in b.com & we have start the course of m.com-3rd sem ,my b.com percentage 52% ,so i have start the course of income tax officer. plz’s reply me.

65. 139
    rahul gorle:

Currently working in micro-finance sector from last five year,completed graduation,yes i want to be a part of Income-tax department what should i do? Pls reply

66. 138
    B.vijayalakshmi:

which materials are suited for preparing income tax officer exam

67. 137
    Abhinav Gautam:

i am doing btech with computer science could i will be able to appear for ssc examination to being an ito

68. 136
    rashmi ghoderao:

i want to know how can i apply for ito exam . where i will get the form . did the exam date for 2012 is there or gone . and are there book available for this exam andsyllabus

69. 135
    davinder:

i want to be ITO
    Please tell me what i do?
    meine abhi +2 pass ki hai

70. 134
    kalpesh:

What to read (which book) for preparing exam for incometax officer?

71. 133
    nilesh kumar:

After obtsaining the degree of chartared accountancy how can we apply for being income tax officer

72. 132
    chandankumar:

qualifacation for making income tax officer. how a CA make income tax officer

73. 131
    vishal yadav:

what is the income tax department take inline job,
    ex constable se direct inspector ka exam de sakte h

74. 130

sir i had been writeen b.com 3rd year exam nw can i apply for this exam and what is d prosedure to apply this exam

75. 129
    deepikasaini:

vacacies of income tax officer in 2012

76. 128
    deepikasaini:

vacacies of income tax officer 2012

77. 127
    rohti jain:

how to become income tax officer after b.com?

78. 126
    sk singhvi:

good afternoon sir , I am chartered accountant. I want to become a Income Tax Officer, so , What procedure ,eligibility , form available place , examinations are ?
    Please sir tell me all above things ..
    Thanking You So Much …Sir………

79. 125
    mohammad safdar:

sir i have done BSc in(conputer Science,statistics) i want be a part of incom tax department so what i do abaut sir

80. 124
    yogesh baheti:

sir i have done 12th from comm.i want make a income tax officer so what process doing me plz help me. thank you sir

81. 123
    pintu:

Hi myself pintu I am a student b.com-2nd year. plz send all information of my mail id

82. 122
    manisha:

how to appear in ssc exam ?

83. 121
    nitesh jha:

i am in 1st year of degree,can i attend the examination

84. 120
    ALI AKBAR:

Dear sir/madam
    what procedure i have to follow to getting the admission in entrance exam

85. 119
    bharatchhattani:

apper bcom final year can apply income tax exam

86. 118
    aman:

when will be exams conducted in this year ? Last date of applying .

87. 117
    ajay sharma:

when will be the exam of income tax officer . and what will be the eligibility ?

88. 116
    meena:

m hv completed BA.,LLB.
    CAN I BECOME THE TAX OFFICER.?
    WATS THE SYLLABUS FOR THIS?
    N PLZ FARWARD ME COMPLETE DETAILS OF INCOME TAX OFFICER
    INCLUDING THE DATE OF FILING FORM,DATE OF EXAM.

PLZ SEND ALL THE DETAILS TO MY E-MAIL ID [email protected]

89. 115
    Harsh Kumar:

I have completed my graduation in 2008 and i am doing job in bpo sector since jan 2009.

I am keenly interested to do a job as an Income Tax officier. I am not aware about the details for the exam , request you to please guide me and also tell me the eligibility criteria and sllybas of exam.

90. 114
    Deepak kumar:

My name is deepak from where am buy application forum for the post of ito

91. 113
    Mohsin Kazi:

Respected Sir/Madam
    I have completed my Graduation in commerce before 2 years ago. I want to be Income Tax Officer So please forward me the complete details of income tax officer including notification date, syllabus, qualification, date of exam,center, and all…..
    Plz plz send all details to my mail - [email protected]

92. 112
    satyabrat arya:

presently i am working in bank as a probationary officer for three years. i want to join income tax department as an inspector/officer. please suggest me for this.

93. 111
    Ravi:

Respected sir ,
    at present i am doing job in post office which is one of the departments of central government but i want to apply for the job in I T DEPARTMENT . So , please tell me is there any internal examination by which i may apply for the job in one department of central government to other ? At present , my age is 21 years and I have completed 1 year’s service in department of post . Hoping positive and quick reply . . .

94. 110
    madhankumar:

sir 2012incomtax exam application issue date sir?

95. 109
    rajkumar:

hello sir can u tell me the exam date of income tax department this year???

96. 108
    naveen:

i want information regarding after b.com to start career in income tax department….

97. 107
    Deepak Sharma:

sir, i persuing my b.tech in 3rd year tell me about suitable jobs for me.

98. 106
    KUMARESAN:

HI AM FINISHED BCA AFTER NOW I ATTEND MBA COUNSILING AFTER THIS COURSE COMPLETE PREPARE FOR TIS EXAM

99. 105
    Manpreet Singh:

When the exam of income tax officer 2012 will be there??? when we can apply and what is the last date??

100. 104
    dinesh kumar:

what is the initial salary of an income tax ,cell tax and custom officer .
    please reply soon.

101. 103
    malika saara:

Respected sir,i doing my M.Com so how can i become an income tax officer can u plz mail me its details…

102. 102
    jibanananda:

how to apply for income tax officer ssc exam?
    what kind of question may be asked at the time of kinterview?

103. 101
    rabi kr bhagat:

I have completed my B.com(H) in 2010.Now iam in C.A firm for practicing.Is there any way to become Income Tax officer except s.s.c or W.B.C.S. through L.L.B or another way.
    If i will complete L.L.B or C.A or C.S. then through this how can i be income tax officer ? I just want to be income tax officer through commerce line.

104. 100
    subodh chowdary:

i cmpltd b.tech.
    nw am thinking to prepare custom inspector or income taxofficer so, plz what is the last date for application of custom inspector or income taxofficer

plz send me the notication to my mail. [email protected]

105. 99
    ramesh gurikar:

dearsir,
    i would like to request you to tell about how can i become an ITO ? and what can i do ? so pleas suggest me.

106. 98
    Vicky Choudhary:

Respected Sir/Madam
    I have completed my Graduation in commerce in 2011. I want to be Income Tax Officer So please forward me the complete details of income tax officer including notification date, syllabus, qualification, date of exam,center, and all…..
    Plz plz send all details to my mail [email protected]

From
    Vicky Choudhary
    Harmu, Ranchi
    (Jharkhand)

107. 97
    prajapati naresh:

hello sir,my tybecom passed now this year so pls send me details of how become incom tax officer
    and wich course

108. 96
    kamlesh:

i want become an income tax officer n i complete my 12th. plz suggest me what i need to do for this

109. 95
    mitesh ramchandani:

i am student of b.com. i want to be income tax officer.please send me procedure of income tax officer

110. 94
    Arup Nath:

hello sir can u tell me the exam date of income tax department this year???

111. 93
    anshuman singh:

hello sir iam a student of b.com 1 st year i want to became an incometax officer so i want the complete infomation regarding the exam of ssc and a complete procedure of incometax officer

112. 92
    pawan:

hello i am pawan ssc exam 2012 syllabus and all post name

113. 91
    mayank:

hello sir i need complete information about income tax officer including syllabus,notificatiom date,date of exam.plz send me information to my email id
    thank you sir
    waiting for your reply

114. 90
    ABHISHEK:

i have passed CA IPCC & also clear my B.COM.can i get any preference for become income tax officer after passing ca inter

115. 89
    naveen kumar jain:

i am the student of ca final. i what to become a income tax officer. what is the procedure of this.and send of this date. pls reply.

116. 88
    simar:

i am doing bcom final… i want to study of income tax after complete my graduation… i want to ask from where i can do study of income tax studies…and i want to be… income tax officer!!

117. 87
    jaiprathap:

HELLO…!
    I NEED COMPLETE DETAILS OF INCOME TAX OFFICER INCLUDING NOTIFICATION DATE,SYLLABUS,QUALIFICATION,DATE OF EXAM,CENTER, AND ALL…..
    PLZ PLZ SEND ALL DETAILS TO MY MAIL [email protected]

118. 86
    chahat singhal:

hello sir………. i m student of BBA . please give me full information of SSC.I want to become an incometax officer.So i need properguidance.

119. 85
    Anchal Agrawal:

i am a student of B.Tech 2nd yr of iter bhubaneswar,orissa.i want to become an income tax officer…plz send me the procedures regarding the above post on my email address given below……
    Anchal Agarwal

120. 84
    Mukesh kumar:

I am student of B.com 2nd Year of JNVU Jodhpur. I Want to Become Income Tax Officer. Plz Send me Procedures Regarding the above post on my e-mail address given below.

Regards ,
    Mukesh kumar Rathi

121. 83
    ramesh:

sir, i m graduate in b.com.i want bcome in income tax officer.pls sugest me for this post

122. 82
    Mohd Nisar Hussain:

I M studying in B.Com Final Years. I want to become a Income Tax Officer. So Plz suggest me what i do at present.

123. 81
    REKHU VIDJA:

SIR
    GOOD NOON
    PLZ GIVE ME INFORMATION FOR EXAM IN 4-12-2011… WHEN COME THIS EXAM RISULT…. PLZ SEND ME DATE MY MAIL ID… AND MY NU.IS 9904784248 PLZ…..

124. 80
    ravi ahuja:

i m studying in b.com 2nd year nd i want to become an income tax officer. so plz suggest me what i do at present ????

125. 79
    abhi gupta:

sir, i am studying in b.com 2nd year. i want to become an income tax officer. what i do at present. please tell me

126. 78
    nitasha:

i want become an income tax officer n i complete my b.com. plz suggest me what i need to do for this

127. 77
    bindu:

iam bindu.iam doing my b.tech final year.i want to become an income tax officer.so pls let me know the information about the syllabus,exam date and how to apply for the exam.

128. 76
    Jerome Xavier M:

I had completed my B.Sc. I want to become Income Tax officer i want to know what is the date of examination and hot to apply for exam?

129. 75
    ankush:

sir,i m engeenering student and want to b a income tax officer ,can i become? if yes, then what study i have to do for this?
    please, tell me the whole creteria?
    i shll b very thankfull to you for this act ……

130. 74
    manoj:

which is the best post of ssc of graduation level and what is physical eligibility.

131. 73
    pankaj:

I am doing B.B.A 2nd year.I want to become an incometax officer.So i need proper guidance. please send the information become a incomtax officer.

132. 72
    sagar mourya:

after intermediate.appering for ca ipcc in what way i can make income tax officer

133. 71
    md ismail:

hie,
    m studyng in 2nd year bcom n i wnt to knw the complete procedure of IT officer…
    plz guide me …

134. 70
    Sagar Sharma:

How to become an Income Tax Officer?

135. 69
    bhavika:

i completed B.com n m.com part-1.
    what is the last date for IT Inspector application form?
    and maximum age ?

136. 68
    Aakash sharma:

Hello
    I live in HARDA M.P. so i would like to knoe that can i study from pinnacle carrier instituteat harda or any others institute. please help me

137. 67
    ashish:

hi….my name is ashish…
    i completed B.E.
    and i want to be an incom tax officer….so, plz give me details about exam syllabus,exam dates & proper guidence….
    thanking you…..

138. 66
    amritha:

sir im amrita hoe to become a incometax office?

139. 65
    Sabeera:

Which book prepare income tax officer exam

140. 64
    Nikhil Sharma:

hi,i am Nikhil Sharma studying in twelth class and am a commerce student and want to become an ITO so after twelth exam what i should do to become an Income Tax Officer.what would be fees structure,entrance exam date,venue/coaching centers.

141. 63
    navya:

i m doing my 2year b.com.i want to become ito. i could like to know any exmination which i can attend now.pls send me details abt it.

142. 62
    ROHIT JAIN:

hi, this is rohit jain. i am a ca final student and waiting for result. i also wana be an ito. plz tell me how can i become an ito. plz provide all details as full as possible. plz also provide fee structure, exam date and center etc.

143. 61
    anjaneyulu uttarapally:

I have completed my Bcom. I want to know all posts i am eligible for the jobs in the IT department.so please send me the full details about the field and examinations.so please reply as early as possible.

144. 60
    ROHIT KAUSHAL:

what is the maximum charges for preparing ias that can be managed by a middle class family persons. please reply with detial
    with regard rohit kaushal

145. 59
    K.R.Pavithra:

Dear Sir/ Madam:
    I am doing Bcom(ca) final year. I want to become an Income tax officer. So i am in need of your guidance. So please send me the full details about the field and examinations. This is a kind request…. Please reply me as soon as possible….

146. 58
    Alpesh Nakrani:

i m passed b.com and MCA 1 Year and i want to be an income tax officer. What should i do for the preparation for this.
    Tell me about this on my id- [email protected]

147. 57
    narayanan.d:

what are the qualifications to become a income tax officer

148. 56
    Sumit lath:

i m jst passed intermediate and b.com1st year and i want to be an income tax officer. What should i do for the preparation for this.
    Tell me about this on my id- [email protected]

149. 55
    ADMIN:

yes i want to know full history of means

what will be the duration?

where to apply?

what will be the fee?

easy or tuff up ?

n PROFESSIONALS suggestions to how to get trained n where to

150. 54
    Mandar Shewale:

When the Income tax Officer exam & how to prepare this exam