Indian Air Force Pilot - How to become an Indian Air Force Pilot?

The Indian Air Force (IAF) paves the way for the brave young lads of this country to have a shot at their dreams to join the Indian air force. It is a career which offers immense facilities, a privileged grand lifestyle and of course the honor of serving one’s country. They candidates must be confident and brave, with a willingness to guard the soil they live. The candidates can join for training by appearing for either NDA or CDS exam. Graduates can join if they have NCC ‘C’ certificate.

Qualifying Exam

NDA exam is conducted by UPSC. Students must have at least 10+2 standard to be eligible to appear for this exam. The exam is conducted twice a year usually in the months of April and September.

CDS exam is also conducted by UPSC. Graduates are eligible to appear to this exam. Candidates are further selected for the next round of selection, the Pilot Aptitude Battery Test (PABT). Combined scores are used to make the final merit list.

NCC candidates with a ‘C’ certificate and with a graduate degree will be selected as regular commission officer. These candidates need not take the above exams but have to appear for an Interview conducted by SSB before being selected.

BE/B. Tech with minimum of 60% aggregate in any discipline and must have pursued Mathematics and Physics at 10+2 level. Final year students are also allowed to apply provided that they have failed in previous year/semester with an aggregate mark in the previous year/semester. There will be an interview/ personality test conducted prior to the medical tests.

Along with the above mentioned criteria’s the candidates will be required to go through testing of the whole of your body. You must be in complete health, both mentally and physically in all aspects; i.e. One must have Eye-sight with an accurate 6/6 vision, correct weight etc. There must not be any history of diseases, spleen, appendix surgery etc.  The hearing must be normal. If any of these are found to be incorrect or wrong, the candidate will be rejected immediately.

The candidate can choose to become a helicopter pilot, a fighter pilot or a transport pilot. The IAF has the widest selections of aircrafts in their possession than any other air force in the world. Some of them are the Sukhoi 27/35k, MiG-29, MiG-27, MiG-25, MiG-23, MiG-21, mirage 2000, Jaguars and Cannabera. There are also wide varieties of helicopters and jet shuttles.

Now days, women too have a dominant role in taking the IAF to new heights. For a woman seeking a daring and honorable career, the IAF offers a variety of good choices. Unmarried women candidates can apply for the post. The age limit and qualifications are the same like the men. After the completion of the training, one can look forward to being awarded the President’s Commission as an officer in the IAF in the rank of Flying Officer; it is one of the most prestigious and happiest moments of a cadet’s life. This is accompanied by an attractive salary package, the starting which is Rupees 200, 00 per annum. The package increases and decreases according to the ranks and roles of the men/women.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Indian Air Force makes available exceptional opportunity for candidates who are truly fascinated about a career filled with adventures and challenges. Candidates joining Indian Air Force should be really passionate, brave, hardworking, alert, confident, and fearless. Above all they must have a strong will to serve the nation. Before attending the exam students must make sure to be well prepared. Candidates must make sure that they are familiar with the test pattern of the exam.

81 Responses to “Indian Air Force Pilot - How to become an Indian Air Force Pilot?”

1. 81
    animesh:

i want to become AFpilot,i am in 11 so please tell me how to apply

2. 80
    shah rukh khan:

when pilot entrance form will come in which month?

3. 79
    Shubham pandit:

Sir,I m in 11th want become IAF pilot . what prepration I do.

4. 78
    TOUHID ALAM ANSARI:

SIR PLEASE HELP ME I WANT TO BE THE JOIN IAF I HOPE YOU WILL BE HELP ME AND SAY WHEN FOR IS BE PUBLISHED AND FILLUP

5. 77
    sagar:

Sir i am studying in class 12 presently can i aplly for pilot?

6. 76
    ramesh singh:

I am not sure what to do,please tell me after my 12th exams what study should I prefer whether to do B.Sc. in university or go for pilot aviation academy .

7. 75
    Abhijeet Gopal:

Sir i am in diploma can i apply for iaf pilot ?

8. 74
    Narayan Karmakar:

Sir, now I’m in 11th and I want to be a fighter pilot. Are you requested to tell me, how can I reach to my dream?

9. 73
    vivek kumar:

sir i have no more attempts left for nda and my dob is 17 dec 1995. doing engineering from army and appearing for cds ??

10. 72
    Krishna:

Sir i m a 3′rd year engg student(mech.)…i want to know recruitment procedure about iaf pilot..plz guide me

11. 71
    Sapna:

Sir am an engineering 2nd yr student… Am nt interested in engg field… I wanna become a pilot in iaf datz my aim… Nd i don’t kno anything abt d recruitment,exam…… So plz guide me to fulfil ma aim….

12. 70
    Diksha vaish:

Respected sir,i want 2 become pilot in iaf since nerssary class,nd i hv completed my 12th wd 60% marks,nd nw i m in btech (IT)1st year ,plz tell me what prepration i can do for iaf pilot????

13. 69
    sreeprad.s:

Hello sir, now m doing my B.E(MECHANICAL)4th semester,I’ve already attended nda exam in my second pu…I’ve aggregate of 50%(PCM) in pu…I’ve backlogs…m I eligible for IAF? if I’m den plz help me……becoming an air force pilot its my aim since from LKG…

14. 68
    Shubham rathore:

if i qualify the nda exam then after this how many expenditure will be??

15. 67
    Shubham rathore:

if i qualify the nda exam then after this how many expenditure will be,l mn’t from a rich faimly so pls answser me.

16. 66
    JAY RAVAL:

i am study in B.E but i have some back logs(k.t)and my SPI is 4.8
    and CGPI is 5.9 can apply for air force????

17. 65
    Vikash sharma:

How can i become an airforce officer or pilot after my 12th with 79%. I have joined IAF as an airman in X trade(tec.).I don’t have NCC certificat.So how could i fullfill my dream.if any physical test required like height you will write.will you please guide me Sir

18. 64
    pragnesh chavda:

I am In first year in Electronics and communication Engineering , My Dream Is To Be Fighter Pilot In Indian Air Force.I Belong to SC Category ,and i don’t have NCC certificat . so How could i fullfil my Dream ? will you Please Guide Me Sir.

19. 63
    Raj Thakur:

I want to know abt age limit for NDA….

20. 62
    vinayak s mudholmath:

what are requirments fpr indian air force after 12 ?

21. 61
    gurnek singh:

I have completed 10+2 my birth year is 1992.what are the eligiblities and next procedure to join the indian airforce as a pilot?please help me in joining the IAF.

22. 60
    harsh:

if i had ncc a,b,c certificate so any benefit for nda

23. 59
    ANIL KUMAR:

HOW CAN I JOIN IAF AFTER PASSING 12th with 55% (PCM) AS A PILOT

24. 58
    hari:

what are the further studies after 2nd puc

25. 57
    kritika silwal:

what should be the eligibility for girl in iaf

26. 56
    praveen:

I wana become a air port officer so, I want to know name of exam that conducted to air port officers, the type of syllabus embidded in it and if any physical tests required you can mention. Now i am ready with my degree in civil engineering and finally i want to know the paricular date of examination. If you answer these questions then i will be thankfull to you………..!

27. 55
    omprakash verma:

i want to know the exam date

28. 54
    Harinder:

I can forget to give photographs with my afcat form . will they accept my form?

29. 53
    krishan singla:

how can i become an air force officer or pilot aftermy 12th with 75% ? what is the height requirement for officers as well as for pilots? what are the ways and requirements

30. 52
    UTSAV:

How to become aIndian Air force Pilot/Helicopter pilot

31. 51
    m.kranthikumar:

hai sir. I am kranthikumar, i am failed degree student(2010-2011) but i am passed in mpc with 55%. Am i eligible to cds exam1(air force academy)2012?

32. 50
    Narasimha:

hi, I am B.tech(e.c.e) 4th yr student. am interested to get into IAF as a pilot. plz give me the information about it.

33. 49
    Debojit Ghosh:

my math number is 22 and physics number is 40 in 10+2 standard,i am b.sc 2nd yr student in calcutta university,can i join AF pilot in ssc?

34. 48
    Ankita:

What is the vision criteria to a AF pilot in ssc?

35. 47
    sayeed anwar:

hii im sayeed anwar charak and i want to become IAF pilot i m doing btech frm srinagar im in 5th semester what is the marks criteria for this

36. 46
    anthony kisku:

I am Anthony Kisku i am in class 12 my aim is to be an air force pilot…. so how should i prepare to be an air force pilot?

37. 45
    ashutosh:

i m in class 11 n i m my dream is to become an airforce pilot…i m very much fond of it.! how should i prepare from now onwards?

38. 44
    sagar khatri:

concerned authority my ouestion is that what is the syllabus to become an iaf pilot?

39. 43
    j.amogha:

I have completed 2nd puc with 70% marks in physics and mathematics.what are the eligiblities and next procedure to join the indian airforce as a pilot?please help me in joining the IAF

40. 42
    vishal choudhary:

hiiiii i am vishal choudhary …..
    i m studying in kendriya vidyalaya in 9th class . i want to become pilot in indian air force so what should i do to achive my goal .
    and i also want to join NDA .
    so what is the criteria for joining NDA .

41. 41
    anurag:

i am pursuing m.tech (dd) mech engg dual course of 5 years. so i want to know that wether my degree is eligible for cds selection?
    i would get 2 degrees seprately one of gradtn and other of post gradtn.
    pls reply me soon………

42. 40
    Sangboi Hangzo:

I graduated in English Honors,Delhi University and my age is 22.I want to serve my country and join the Indian Air Force but the problem is that i didnt had Math and Physics in my 12th standard as i am from humanities background.Is there a way?

43. 39
    Javidkhan.B.Chauhan:

Hello! I passe std12th with Arts , and diesel michanic (ITI), and i will want to join indian airforce,so tell me , how i will join in it?

44. 38
    asheesh sharma:

i 12th class with 70%(pcm) .can i

45. 37
    ankur:

i would like to know the difference between an airman and a pilot…
    i have seen many pictures showing airmen flying planes!!! so do they really get to fly???
    if not, then what exactly is their job??

46. 36
    Shreeharsha:

Hello, i have completed my graduation with 68% in B.COM, and i have choose Commerce in 10+2, i have good physical and all the requirements to become pilot, i’m i eligible? because i have not came across physice and maths after 10th. Please help me out.

47. 35
    Vijay sardara:

How much fees will be reqired till i become a pilot? Because i belong to a very poor family

48. 34
    NICKLOVELY SHARMA:

WHAT IS THE MONTHLY SALARY OF AN AIR FORCE PILOT

49. 33
    kalyani dhodare:

How many times we can apply for this exam?What is the age limit?when the exam date declare & where we got all information about exam? what is the syllabus?

50. 32
    deepmala nimje:

How many times we can apply for this exam?What is the age limit?when the exam date declare & where we got all information about exam? what is the syllabus?

51. 31
    Ugersain:

Please tell me about the university entry after BE aeronautical engg.

52. 30
    ashish:

sir pilot training ke liye kya karna padta hai ….aur mai bihar se hu to phir bihar me pilot training kaha hota hai kya sir aap mujhe bata sakte hai..

53. 29
    kartik:

Sir,this i have passed 2nd puc in science.i hv got 42 marks in physics and 41 marks in maths.now i am going to do B.Sc and next i have planned to join airforce.my question is that am i eligible to join airforce after B.Sc by getting good marks?does my puc result effects to join?plz reply sir

54. 28
    harikrishnan.s:

i have completed plus two i like sky and airforce
    how can i join indian airforce

55. 27
    Deepu(chiranjeevi):

I konw a Girl Name by name CHAITHRA SINGH J From Sindhi High School , Kempapura Hebbal Bangalore …. She is the most wanted criminal in the World.. She is involved in prostitution Business. Recently She passed 12th Standard in Sindhi High School, Kempapura, She is Trying to Join the Air Force to become pilot… she is not eligible even to wash areoplanes so if any body by chaithra singh as any details please dont give…

56. 26
    Deepu(chiranjeevi):

i konw

57. 25
    suman pal:

i want to ask that what are the requirements & qualification need to become pilot in iaf. plz rpl

58. 24
    bharat chandra sahu:

respected sir,i want to join IAF ,for now i am appearing my graduate final year so how can i apply for joining .and what are the procedure for these .

59. 23
    kunal arora:

what is the salary of indian airfoce pilot?

60. 22
    Adarsh yadav:

how to apply form of y trade

61. 21
    shrey:

which subjects are required in dairy science…?

62. 20
    vasu:

respected sir:
    I am interested in joining iaf. i want to become a fighter pilot. how would i prepare for this. i finished my engg at last year. what is mean by pilot battery aptitude test & i here that there will no nda test for engg graduate is that right? please give me the idea of how i become a fighter pilot.

thanking you……….

63. 19
    amit jena:

i am a btech 2nd year student of ETC branch.i am 21 years old .i want to apply for indian airforce for flying branch.suggest me how & when i ‘ll apply for this.also tell me when the exam ‘ll be held.

64. 18
    kavya:

am dying to become a fighter pilot at iaf…but am a female n iaf is not recruiting female fighter pilots i noe…atleast i wanna b a pilot at iaf…n as per my knowledge NDA is oly for men…wat am i supposed to do to join the iaf.?pls do inform me at ur earliest.am doing my mechanical engineering now

65. 17
    ujjwal:

what is the minimum qualification for fighter pilot in Indian air force

66. 16
    Chaithra Singh:

i have written my 12th exam… i want to know exam will be based on wat topics… how can we prepare and ther is no proper details given..

67. 15
    sathish:

sir i am diploma in computer engineering student,how will join the indian airforce pilot training

68. 14
    Vibhavari:

Respected sir/madam
    I completed My 10 + Diploma last Year I want to join iaf pilot please, suggest me How can I apply for this?

69. 13
    HABIBUR:

sir.
    i just complete +2 with commerce ….and i want a carrier in iaf
    please suggest me the way how can i join iaf ?

70. 12
    Ramandeep Singh Somal:

gud evening sir
    i wanted to know how much marks in +2 board exams and rank in NDA entrance exam is required to become a fighter pilot?
    basicaaly i want to know about the eligibility criteria for getting admission in a course for pilot…

71. 11
    VAISAKH.M:

i am a plus2 student. ihave written ncc c certificate. i want to join IAF. any new oppertunities available?

72. 10
    isher kaur:

i am in 10th grade
    plzzzz tell me how can i join iaf after +2

73. 9
    Praful shinde:

Respected sir,i am eng.1st year fail student but i want to join iaf…how it will benefited for me

74. 8
    Hunny:

What is the next date for submission of application form for NDA

75. 7
    Dheeraj:

For what rank in nda 1 examination i take air force.

76. 6
    J.Hanumagowda:

Respected sir
    sir i have done my plus two in science and now am doing B.C.A 1st year in Bangalore m dream is to join the airforce so please can you tell me what should i do now …am i eligible to apply for airforce..

77. 5
    B. ANAGHA:

Respected Sir, I am doing my B.A., Psychology first year at St. Anns., College, Hyderabad. I did my flying also (CPL). Kindly inform me whether i am eligible to apply for Women Pilot Training . My date of birth is
    18th April 1990. Thanking sir.

B. Anagha

78. 4
    SIDDHARTHA RATHI:

i have passed my plus two in commerce background ….i want a career in indian air force …..i am in final year b.com from ignou ….

79. 3
    deepti pathak:

what are the test patterns of the exam.
    please give me the website name.

80. 2
    Manoj:

Sir, i hav completed BAMS. can i join indian airforce as pilot?

81. 1
    DEEKSHIT PAHWA:

respected sir/madam ,
    when is the indian army air force entarence exam and when the application form is coming ??? I am waiting for your apply