PhD in English, English PhD

The subject of English needs complete dedication as well as awareness of ones surroundings. Thus it is of great honor to study such a subject. The English subject is one of the only commercial subjects that offer some of the most prospective job in the corporate world. The subject has been amongst the best desired subjects to study within the Indian education sector. With the booming sector of journalism and printing press, it is been under serious consideration to be pursued. Thus colleges of India are giving serious thoughts to upgrade the subject. Hence with such a large area of development, English is sure to attract more of the intellectual minds in the near future.

Courses Outlook:

The minds that take on the English subject for PhD course are considered amongst the best in India. The duration of the course varies with time. However the course duration is generally considered as two years in which the students have to write thesis on the given topic in order to achieve the degree.

Job Prospects:

The students who take on the subject are getting job in Journalism as well as in different printing press. The jobs prospects are amongst the best in the world. The students are also getting foreign job which are having good prospects. One can also opt for teaching profession and can join in colleges or universities as an English Professor.

Best places to pursue:

Jadavpur University

Presidency College

St. Xaviers College

Delhi University

Calcutta University

365 Responses to “PhD in English, English PhD”

Pages: « 3 2 [1] Show All

1. 65
    Ramesh Kumar Mahato:

I am from Nepal I have done M.Ed. in ELT. form K.U. kathmandu, I want to get admission in PH. D. in English. What is the eligibility, syllabus fee structure and other requirements

2. 64
    ruby tyagi:

i have done m.a. in english from c.c.s uni now i want to do ph.d regular course,kindly give me advice which univrsity is bet and about there last date of admmission forms and entrance??

3. 63
    Prabh:

i m doing m.a. english from h.p.uni. shimla.i want to do p.hd.through corresspondence.plz tell me about eligibility.

4. 62
    Amita:

I have done MA in english with 59.6%. I want to do Ph D in english literature from R.S.S.U university of Raipur (c.G).
    Kindly advice me the procedure to be followed in this regard.
    Also mail the Sample questions of ph d english literature entrance test.

5. 61
    suresh sharma:

Ihave done Master’s in English in the year 2005from Himachal Pradesh University Shimla and BEd.from Kashmir University,Now i want to do Ph.d from Madras University,kindly inform me about the detail and the criteria request for the admission into the mentioned course.
    Please forward to my mail if there is any information regarding Ph.d course.
    My mail id is [email protected].
    Thanks & regard
    suresh sharma

6. 60
    rajat:

i hav done mphil from vinayaka univ..cn i enroll myself in phd? also i m teaching in a college…cn i stil continue wid my job while pursuing phd?

7. 59
    rajat:

i hav done mphil from vinayaka univ.i am teachin presently in a college..hw cn i enroll myself in phd,at the same timel continuing wid my job as wel ?

8. 58
    ruchi:

i have done m.a(english) from M.D.U. I want to do PhD in english. (Distance) I am eligible for it and if so which universities are giving this cousse as distance course

9. 57
    husna:

i hav 64 %marks but not NET qualified. i want to do research in canadian literature. when is the entrance exam and wich is the best center for that?

10. 56
    Vibha:

I want information about PhD interest exam and how to crack NET.

11. 55
    akhilesh:

hello, i am doing my M.A.in english. what is percentage requ in M.A.to do P.hd ?

12. 54
    Anup:

I have Ist class P.G and MPhil degree from Utkal Univesity,BBSR and I have 10 years teacing experience.Can I pursue my Phd from foreign universities?Please inform.

13. 53
    Mala:

i completed my MA with 52%.i have a PGDTE (post graduate diploma in teaching english)from EFLU(English and foreign language university)Hyderabad.i want to do Ph D.which universities do not require a 55% for eligibility?

14. 52
    bharati mathpal:

i hv less thn 50% marks in pg,english[from ignou]but i hv 1st div.in m.phil,from nagaland university[distance learng]am i eligible for phd in eng?

15. 51

when is the entrance exam for phd (english)to be held?

16. 50
    Raj Kumari:

I got 50% in M.A. (Eng.) from H.P. University (ICDEOL), Shimla. Can I do M.Phil from any of Universities in India? Send me the list of Universities and details in this regard.

17. 49
    jyoti luxmi:

I am an ma,m.phil. in english.i’m in job for the past 9 years . i wish to pursue ph.d. from calcutta, kindly inform me about the details and the criteria requisit for the admission into the mentioned course,
    i would like to know if shantiniketn, or jadavpur university provide such an opportunity.
    i would be obliged if you could help me out in the matter.

18. 48
    Beena S.Naik:

I have done my MA in Entire English (with American lit.)in the year 1982,from Poona University; and BEd.from SNDT.University. I want to do Phd. from JNU. University.Help me to choose the guide and the topic for my thesis.
    BEENA S.NAIK

19. 47
    beena s. naik:

I have done my post graduation in Entire English (with American lit.) in the year 1982 from Poona University. I have also done my B.Ed. from SNDT.University.I would like to do my Phd. from JNU.Will you guide me the procedure of how to choose the Guide and the topic for my thesis? I would also like to know of how to go about to get in touch with the concern authorities and the time-bound for completion of the thesis.
    Beena

20. 46
    abhaywart:

admissin phd. in rajasthani

21. 45
    parveen:

kindly furnish me alist of authorised indian universities offering P.hd in enlish for M.A english students through distance mode. thank you.

22. 44
    sayanti:

i am M.A in English with 53.4% marks.can i do Phd in English?please tell me the eligibility criteria…

23. 43
    akshatha:

i’ve done my m.a. in english in 2005 at mangalore university and have been working as lecturer since then. now i’m interested to do my ph.d. in english in ignou. so i request you to give necessary details in this regard

24. 42
    UTHRAA:

which is the best university to pursue p.hd in english

25. 41
    uthraa:

which is the best university to join p.hD in english.,as a par time course.

26. 40
    vandana:

Eligibility criterion for direct PhD in English

27. 39
    Shashi:

i am in Govt job in HP and have done MA English.Pl suggest some university in north india for enrollment in phd through correspondence

28. 38
    I have 50% marks in MA English.Can i do M Phil& Phed:

I’m MA english with 50% marks in correspondence.Can i do MPHIL IN ANYSTANDARD UNIVERSITY

29. 37
    anurag:

students who want complete guidance to qualify NET English Literature and Ph.D entrance may contact me .. [email protected]

30. 36
    suman:

plz give some information about correspondent phD

31. 35
    Sheetal Chaudhary:

What is the syllabus for PhD enterance exam?

32. 34
    saikat:

plz give some information about part time Phd

33. 33
    shivi bhardwaj:

sir i want to know syllabus for ph.d english entrance exam

34. 32
    rahul de:

i want to know about the detailed informations of the universities offering PhD in english and also providing scholarship in INDIA and in ABOARD ?

35. 31
    ragini kaushal:

SIR I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW ABT P.HD ENROLLMENT IN EDUCATION IN BIKANER UNIVERSITY.WHAT IS THE PROCEDURE TO GET ENROLLED IN P.HD? I HAVE QUALIFIED m.sc.m.phill (food &nutrition )in YEAR 2007-2008.now i m study in b.ed.from bikaner university.

PLZ REPLY US.

36. 30
    JIJIN DANIEL:

sir, i have completed my MA with 70%. now i am pursuing PGDTE from EFL University. i want to do PhD directly. Can you give some information about some colleges that give direct PhD admissions

37. 29
    y.soumya:

I y.soumya, have applied Phd in english but hall ticket
    not yet received. please confirm.

38. 28
    tanveer:

syllabus for ph.d english entrance exam n date of exam i wanted to know as soon as possible

39. 27
    BILAL:

sir,i ve done M.A.English with 55%marks via Kashmir University J&K.i want to go for Ph.D,kindly suggest me a good Indian Unvrsty where addmission wud b taking place in this & next month( Feb-march 2010)

40. 26
    kanika:

i have done my M.A. English from Delhi University with 55% marks in the year 2009. i am interested in further studies in the same field but am not sure whether M.Phill is more helpful before doing PhD. Please guide me for the same. Do tell me if i directly want to go for PhD then what is the procedure and which university is more reputed and preferable for the same ?

41. 25
    Stephen A Bodigadla:

I did M.A English in 2007 from Agra and working as an Asst. Professor. I want to do Ph.D from any good university. Could u give me
    info about Ph.D Admission process in India?

42. 24
    Stephen A Bodigadla:

I did M.A English in 2007 and working as an Asst. Professor. I want to do Ph.D from any good university. Could u give me
    info about Ph.D Admission process in India.

43. 23
    ehsan:

I’d like to have more information about the specialized field of the professors teaching English literature at Ph.D course at Delhi university; to know does any work professionally on Semiotics??

44. 22
    sweety:

they said we’ll get the stuff through internet.but i hardly find them.

45. 21
    sweety:

i’ve completed my pg in english in 2009,from osmania uni. and applied for ph.d now.
    in d application they said that we can get the syllabus and previous test papers for eligibility test.
    but nowhere am finding them.
    where can i get them.

46. 20
    simran kaur:

i have done MA in english from jammu univ with PG IN COMPUTERS WANTED TO DO PHD IN ENGLISH THROUGH CORROSPONDANCE FROM INDIAN UNIV OR ONLINE PHD FROM INDIAN UNIV

47. 19
    SONU NAGPAL:

SIR I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW ABT P.HD ENROLLMENT IN EDUCATION IN BIKANER UNIVERSITY.WHAT IS THE PROCEDURE TO GET ENROLLED IN P.HD? I HAVE QUALIFIED UGC NET EXAM IN EDUCATION YEAR 2006-2007.

PLZ REPLY US.

48. 18
    j.siva:

i have done my M.A. with 58% and i d like to pursue PH.D part-time. Please let me know what are the universities offering the programe and how to get into it.

49. 17
    Jinny:

Hello…I have done my MA in english with 65% marks from D.A.V.College ,asr and i have got 2nd rank in G.N.D.U….Will u please tell me of going for Ph.D in english?…i dont know about the procedure of admission…please guide me.Thanks.

50. 16
    neetu:

i have done MA english from gndu with 54.4% & M.Phil from vinayaka mission university . i wat to do Ph.D in english. how can i do it?

51. 15
    sankar:

i want to do phd in english
    i passed ma in 50% of marks in correspondence
    am i eligible to join phd course?

52. 14
    Nandini:

I want to know the procedure, dates and detailed sylabus details for pre phd exams from delhi university

53. 13
    Tanushree:

I’v done MA in english from bikaner university wih 53% marks & would like to appear for Phd. from bikaner itself. Can I complete my Phd. from bikaner university? Please let me know the details of it & also about the pre-Phd. exam recently introduced. How can I register myself for it & under whose observation can I do my Phd.? Please forward all possible details for it.
    Thank you!

54. 12
    Tanushree:

I’v done MA in english from bikaner university wih 53% marks & would like to appear for Phd. from bikaner itself. Can I complete my Phd. from bikaner university? Please let me know the details of it & also about the pre-Phd. exam recently introduced. How can I register myself for it & under whose observation can I do my Phd.? Please forward all possible details for it.
    Thank you!

55. 11
    Vijay:

I have done M.A. in English with 53% marks in 1981, PGDTE from CIEFLHyderabad,and M.Phil from Periyar Uny.My question from where i can do Ph.D. in English 2010?
    Presently i am working as a reaer in the uny’.

56. 10
    sweety:

what is the difference between phd and mphil?
    i have done M.A. IN ENGLISH.i want to take admission in phd in English in kolkata.please tell me the whole process for admission.
    and suggest me some college in kokata where the addmission is running or is to begin.

57. 9
    tushar:

i have done my m.a in english from panjab university with 53% followed by m.phil in english from periyar distance education. i want to do p.hd in english .which university can allow me to do it with 53% in m.a?

58. 8
    Sanjay S Samyal:

Hello, Good after-noon.
    I had completed my M.Phil in the year 2002, and have been teaching as a College Lecturer since then. I am willing to pursue for Ph.D in English, just needs registration as the topic for my research and authors on whom I have to work has been decided. Even I had submitted my synopsis at IGNOU but did not appear at interview because of burning turmoil at my native place, triggered by Sri Amarnath Land Dispute in the row.
    How and when shall I register my self as an active scholar?

59. 7
    Kailas:

Hi, I would like to do P.hd in English, will you please tel me the procedure of geting admission in SRTM University, Even I dont know about entrance Test for P.hd. Please do help with this

60. 6
    senthil:

i want to knoe which are offer phd in English with stipend.

61. 5
    VANI:

I have scored 53% in M.A. E nglish, am I eligible to pursue Phd in English?

62. 4
    uttiya sarkar:

how can i complete my ph.d in english with as much low expense as possible?

63. 3
    dominic xavio k:

please send me details regarding ph d in english lit through distance mode. thanks

dominic xavio k.

64. 2
    prakash:

ph.d info

65. 1
    prakash:

good afternoon sir
    will you please give me info of ph.d entrance test.

Pages: « 3 2 [1] Show All