UPSC Engineering Services Examination 2011

UPSC (Union Public Service commission) conducts Engineering Services Examination for recruitment in various engineering services/posts in various Government Departments. The recruitment is done for three categories: Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering. These jobs are considered to be highly reputed therefore a large number of candidates appear for CMSE exam but there are only a limited vacancies (nearly 500-600) so the selection is quite tough. The selected candidates get a handsome pay in addition to several other incentives of Government jobs and job security.

The exam is held for undertaking recruitment in different organization of the Government sector. The exam is of extremely high standard with candidates from all over the nation appearing. The high toughness of the exam is equally coupled with high level of competition and therefore, this enables only the best candidates to make it through to the final recruitment. However only engineers holding a specific amount of job experience as per mentioned in the eligibility criterion belonging to only three stream namely, electrical, mechanical and civil can appear for the exam. No other branches are until now eligible for the exam. This is probably due to the high demands of these engineers in the government sector.

The selection through Engineering Services Examination is through two stages: Written Tests & Personality Test. Only the candidates who qualify the written tests are called for personality test. The written tests are of 1000 marks while personality test is of 200 marks.

Selections are made for the following services and posts:

CIVIL ENGINEERING:

(i) Indian Railway Service of Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Civil Engineering Posts).

(iii) Central Engineering Service.

(iv) Indian Defense Service of Engineers (Civil Engineering Posts).

(v) Central Water Engineering (Gr. ‘A’) Service (Civil Engineering Posts).

(vi) Central Engineering Service (Roads) Group-A (Civil Engineering posts).

(vii) Assistant Executive Engineer (Civil) in the Border Roads Engineering Service, (Gr. ‘A’)

(viii) Assistant Executive Engineer (QS&C) in Military Engineering Service, Gr.’A’.

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING:

(i) Indian Railway Service of MECHANICAL Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(iii) Central Water Engineering (Gr. ‘A’) Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(iv) Central Power Engineering Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(v)  Indian Ordinance Factories Service.

(vi) Indian Naval Armament Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(vii) Assistant Executive Engineer Group ‘A’ (Mechanical Engineering Posts) in the Corps of EME, Ministry of Defense.

(viii) Assistant Naval Store officer Grade I (Mechanical Engineering Posts) in Indian Navy.

(ix)  Central Electrical & Mechanical Engineering Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts)

(x)  Assistant Executive Engineer (Electrical & Mechanical) (Mechanical Engineering Posts) in Boarder Roads Engineering Service, Group ‘A’

(xi) Drilling Engineer (Junior) (Grade A) in the Geological Survey of India.

(xii) Indian Inspection Service, Gr.’A’ (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(xiii)  Indian Supply Service, Gr.’A’ (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(xiv) Indian Defense Service of Engineers (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(xv)  Central Engineering Service (Roads), Gr.’A’ (Mech. Engineering Posts)

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING:

(i) Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(iii) Central Electrical & Mechanical Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(iv) Indian Naval Armament Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(v) Central Power Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(vi) Indian Defense Service of Engineers (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(vii)  Assistant Executive Engineer Group A (Electrical Engineering Posts) in the Corps of E.M.E, Ministry of Defense.

(viii)  Assistant Naval Store officer Grade I (Electrical Engineering Posts) in Indian Navy.

(ix) Indian Inspection Service, Gr.’A’ (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(x) Indian Supply Service, Gr.’A’ (Electrical Engineering Posts).

ELECTRONICS AND TELECOMMUNICATION ENGINEERING:

(i) Indian Railway Service of Signal Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Tele-communication/Electronics Engineering Posts).

(iii) Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (Electronics Engineering Posts).

(iv) Indian Naval Armament Service (Electronics Engineering Posts).

(v) Assistant Executive Engineer Group ‘A’ (Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering Posts) in the Corps of E.M.E., Ministry of Defense.

(vi) Engineer (GCS-Gr.”A”) in Wireless Planning and Coordination Wing/Monitoring Organization; M/o Communication and Information Technology (D/o Telecommunication)

(vii)  Assistant Naval Stores officer Grade I (Electronics & Telecom Engineering Posts) in Indian Navy.

(viii) Indian Inspection Service, Gr.’A’ (Electronics & Telecom Engineering Posts).

(ix) Indian Supply Service, Gr.’A’ (Electronics & Telecom Engineering Posts).

Candidates applying for Engineering Services Exam should have an engineering degree from a recognized institute or be in their final year. Also candidates with MSc. Degree or equivalent in Wireless Communications, Electronics, Radio Physics or Radio Engineering will be eligible for certain posts only. A candidate should be more than 21 years and less than 30 years of age as on 1st August, 2011. There are relaxations in age limit for various reserved categories. A candidate should be medically and physically fit according to the specified requirements. The candidates have to be a citizen of India and that he or she should be mentally as well as physically sound during the recruitment process. Observation of any time of trauma related o body or brain will directly result in terminating of the recruitment call.

Availability of Application Forms:

All UPSC Exams have a common form where a candidate has to choose the exam he/she has applied for. UPSC forms are available in various designated post offices throughout the country. The fees for examination are paid through Central Recruitment Fee stamp. The candidates have to provide the registration number along with the filled application form. The Examination Board does not hold any responsibility for the loss or delay of the admit card. Two passport sized photos clearly mentioning the date of imaging should also be provided in addition to the following documents.

Important Dates:

Release of Notification: January 2nd week, 2011

Last Date of submission of Application forms: February 2nd week, 2011

Dates of Engineering Services Examination: June 1st week, 2011(3 days)

Details of Examination:

The examination is conducted in two parts: Written Tests & Personality Test. Written Tests are of 1000 marks total consisting of 5 papers of 200 marks each. First paper is General Ability Paper consisting of objective type questions from General English and General Studies which includes knowledge of current events, Indian History and Geography. Rest 4 papers are specific to the relevant engineering discipline. Of these first two papers will be objective type and the rest two papers will be subjective type.

For objective type questions each question will have 4 options and there is a negative marking of 1/3rd marks allotted to the question for an incorrect answer.

Personality Test consists of an interview to judge the candidate’s knowledge in the relevant engineering field and General Knowledge and other skills and requirements like the candidate’s capacity for leadership, initiative and intellectual curiosity, tact and other social qualities, mental and physical energy, powers of practical application and integrity of character.

1,628 Responses to “UPSC Engineering Services Examination 2011”

Pages: « 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 [4] 3 2 1 » Show All

1. 578
    amit yadav:

hi sir…..
    i am an automobile engineer.i m studying in prifinal year.my question is can i give UPSC exams after complition of my degree.or if yes than in which department means mecanicle or some other.
    i am wating for your reply. pleas give correct guidance to me.

2. 577
    Yogesh:

I Have done MCA before two year.
    I want to appear in IES UPSC Exams .
    My age is 26Years .
    whether i am eligible for that for not.
    currently i am working as a s/w engineer using struts 1.2.
    please suggest me…….Yogesh

3. 576
    krishna mahisbadwe:

Is engineering services examination held twise a year if yes then please inform to me

4. 575
    durairaj:

Sir,i have applied for Engineering service examination 2010 but i did not get acknowledgment card yet now…So, please reply me when shall get that

5. 574
    Anup:

i m computer science student(3rd yr) which exams can give in this for service in upsc??

6. 573
    durgesh:

when iwill get, admit card of I.E.S. exam. ????ihave submitted form in feb.2010

7. 572
    santosh kumar rout:

as i m a applied electronics & instrumentation student , can i appear IES exam

8. 571
    shobana:

i m a biotechnology student can i appear for this examination orelse pls try to include biotech department also

9. 570
    sunil:

i did btech in cse can we apply for this job

10. 569
    Amar:

Sir,i m student of class12.Can i apply for upsc enggenering exam.

11. 568
    shreyas:

i am appearing for engineering service examination 2010, when i will get my admit card?

12. 567
    ARVIND KUMAR AGRAWAL:

Sir , I have applied for ENGINEERING SERVICES EXAMINATION 2010. MY branch is MECHANICAL ENGINEERING.my application form no is 38011996.I have yet not received the ackknowledgement card.when i will receive the admit card.

13. 566
    pravin:

sir whats will the timing of availibility of forms in 2011

14. 565
    dixitpatel:

sir i have submitted my IES application form with complete information.How can i know my Form has been reached at appropriate address given by you.and Can you give some corrspondance? How can i know my form has been reach at main New Delhi?

15. 564
    magendran:

sir,when i will get my admit card?

16. 563
    vinodhavelan:

sir i want to previous question papers for civil engineering in upsc exam.

17. 562
    how i will get the last ten years examination papers of upsc for engeenering:

kindly go thru with this..

18. 561
    Jayashankar:

can a chemical engineering student appear for the engineering services exam? Is chemical engineering a part of engineering services exam? waiting for ur reply

19. 560
    vinay:

sir tell me that which is more prestigeous ias or ies?

20. 559
    umesh:

sir i am studying 2nd B.tech(mechanical),i am eligible for any navy exams

21. 558
    manju:

Am a going to complete my third year electrical and electronics engineering……i want to get in to the exam of IES… may i know when is my last date for submission of application……. wat are the procedures … where can i get the application form..

22. 557
    nida:

Can you please tell me that whether a student of 3rd yr b.tech is eligible for this exam or not???
    And how many maximum attempts can be given?????

23. 556
    jayaprakash:

can the student of computer engg.gives examination of UPSC
    & what the syllabus for that can u email me?

24. 555
    Iftekhar Tabish:

Sir, I have done my B.Tech in Comp.Sc. Can I apply for UPSC (IAS) examination.If yes, than plz send me syllabus.

25. 554
    shashirekha:

i want details about ies exm & i also want information about eligiblity for electronics & communication branch

26. 553
    shashirekha:

i want to know about eligiblity for electronics & communication branch,then also i want details for examination & i want model quns papers &details about jobs.

27. 552
    neha singh:

sir,plz send me last year question paper of upsc engg exam.

28. 551
    dibya:

sir a third year student can appear this exam?

29. 550
    noopur maurya:

I m d student of electdonics & instrumentation branch.
    i have not yet got d syllabus of my branch can u provide..
    and also previcus year question papers

30. 549
    noopur maurya:

I m d student of electronics and instrumentation engineering
    branch i have not yet got d syllabus of my branch can u provide..
    and also d previous year question papers of my branch

31. 548
    tamil:

i’m 3rd year can i apply for this exam….
    where i can get application….

32. 547
    shAktimAn:

COULD U SEND ME IES PAPER OF LAST 2 YEAR OF ECE

33. 546
    dhirendra:

I am electronics &communication engineering student.i have not any study material for IES exam prepration .Could you provide me any study material orany site from which i can get the study material.
    plese reply me soon.

34. 545
    sri:

is there any re attempts when failed in the wwritten exams itself?

35. 544
    nihal:

Would u plz send me the syllabus to my above mail….
    Sir, i have applied for the Engg Services Exam but i have not received any sort of Hall Ticket or Confirmation

36. 543
    vidhu:

I am b.tech in Computer science stream -2007 passout, can I apply for IES?

37. 542
    ravindrapawar:

plz send the model quesation paper for IES ELECTRONICES & TELECOMMUNCATION?

38. 541
    ravindrapawar:

plz send the model question paper for IES ELECTRONICES & TELECOMMUNCATION

39. 540
    ravindra:

plz send the model question paper for IES ELECTRONICES & TELECOMMUNCATION ?

40. 539
    sagar kumar bisoyi:

is there is no vacncy for electronics and instrumentation engineers

41. 538
    Ahmar Abbas:

i am completing my B.Tech with IT .
    With this (IT) can i eligible for IES examination ?

42. 537
    kaushik:

can u send me syllabus of IES ELECTRONICS?

43. 536
    surabhi:

Can MCA final year students apply for IES exams?

44. 535
    afzalkhan:

Can u send syllabus of electronics IES and any site for the material

45. 534
    Vikas:

I m doing my B.Tech in PRODUCTION branch am i eligible 4 i e s exam . I m compliting my degree in jun2010

46. 533
    ashish kumar:

can a comp science student take IES exam?

47. 532
    prakash:

Can u send syllabus of electronics IES to my above mail??????
    pls do help……..

48. 531
    dhanasekhar:

wt is the correct date of exam?

49. 530
    laxman:

can the student of computer engg.gives examination of UPSC
    & what the syllabus for that can u email me?

50. 529
    shilpa gupta:

Hellow,sir/mam

I am electronics &communication engineering student.i have not any study material for IES exam prepration .Could you provide me any study material orany site from which i can get the study material.
    plese reply me soon.

51. 528
    kavita:

sir my branch is instrumentation technology can i apply for this post.

52. 527
    amar nath mishra:

I request you pls tell me, I have completed B. Tech from correspondence course through INDIAN MECHANICAL ENGINEERS(IME). Can i eligible for UPSC Engineering services examination,

53. 526
    deb kanti mukherjee:

dear sir, i completed btech in ece.can i chose ee catagort for ies exam. Please inform me.

54. 525
    Deepak Kataria:

I m the student of B.Tech Electronics & Communication engg 8th sem. Am I eligible for Indian Forest services examination 2010? Can Electronics & Communication engg student apply for the IFS examination?

55. 524
    nishant gaurav:

hao and when will i get my admit card???

56. 523
    sunitha:

I want 2007&2008 previous year engg service question papers and general ability test question papers ………….

57. 522
    sunitha:

I want 2007&2008 previous year engg service question papers and general ability test question papers

58. 521
    NEERAJ AGARWAL:

Please provide the name of competitive books for the prepration of IES,(Civil).

59. 520
    nitin:

where i found last IES Exam.paper.

60. 519
    Akshay:

Can u send syllabus of electronics IES to my above mail??????
    pls do help……..

61. 518
    ADVITH:

I want the full form of IES,IFS,IFOS. I also need the syllabus of ENGG examination of upsc

62. 517
    bhupendra rajput:

can computer science students also alligible for this exam

63. 516
    Usha.G:

How can i come to know that my application has been submitted successfully.I didn’t get any updates from UPSC.I have given my id also.

64. 515
    suresh:

i am completed b.tech in this year.please search the job.

65. 514
    yashi:

when will the forms of upsc come?

66. 513
    ravi:

Dir Sir, I fill the upsc(2010) forum from electrionc and telecommnication field but i m not getting any notes or study material from any site .colud u provide me study material or any website names.

67. 512
    NITESH KUMAR:

I want to know if 10th and 12th perfomance matters in UPSC?

68. 511
    ravi.b:

Engineering Service Examination 2010 for Date

69. 510
    Arun chandra.N.P:

Where exactly can i get the syllubus Perticularly for mechanical engineering posts…?

70. 509
    Arun chandra.N.P:

Where exactly we can get syllabus for mechanical engineering posts….?

71. 508
    SAURAV:

is IES means indian enginnering services or indian economic services???

72. 507
    Anamika:

what are the books that should be followed for the ies exam.

73. 506
    Shashi:

I applied online for upsc ies exam and missed to give my mail id . Will it lead to my application rejection?

74. 505
    santoshi:

now i am in 2nd yr cse branch.i am elligible to appear ies exam?
    plz reply me

75. 504
    Rakesh:

ice exam last date

76. 503
    manoj kaushik:

what r d qualification for upsc engg. services exam??i m now in b.tech 4th sem ece.what options do i ve now??

77. 502
    sandeep:

how many time general category student can appear in ies exam

78. 501
    gaurav gatne:

I am Fresh passed Architect.
    Can i sit for the UPSC exam?
    Is any post for my profile in the Indian services?
    im waiting u r reply

79. 500
    saiprudvitha:

whether EIE students can attend this exam?

80. 499
    varun:

sir…i am doing metallurgical engg..am i eligible to write engg services in mechanical engg stream..

81. 498
    seefar:

when is the last date for submission of the form this year

82. 497
    navya:

how will i know whether my application form reached the office or not.plzzzz tell me.awaiting ur reply

83. 496
    parameswari:

Indian Engineering Service exam will be conducted.I am computer science engineering student.Can I eligible to attend this exam????

84. 495
    veera:

hi good morning to all,how can i get previous year question paper for upsc exam E &T communication.

85. 494
    manu m d:

1.If we fill up IES in the name of examination what i have to fill up in the column 21st
    2.Is the notification given for IES or engineering service exam

86. 493
    INDHUMATHI:

Hello Sir/mam,
    I am a female canditate. But I have affixed Rs.100 stamp on my application form. will that lead to rejection of my form? How will I come to know whether my application form reached on time? awaiting ur reply.

Indhu.

87. 492
    hetal:

is an computer engineer eligible to appear for ies exams??

88. 491
    aishwarya:

the computer engineering degree holders are eligible to attend the indian engineering service examination?

89. 490
    abhishek:

may i know the syllabus for the engineering services examinations 2010 of electronics & telecomm. engg

90. 489
    SANTOSH SHELAKE:

BE appearing candidates are allowed for ies or not

91. 488
    santosh:

IES FILL THE FORM DATE

92. 487
    nitin chauhan:

what is last date for form submission of ies 2010

93. 486
    R.K.PARTHIBAN:

is electronics and telecommunication separate category or combined with electrical?

94. 485
    varun:

A person with BE degree with Computer sciences can apply for UPSE Engineering services Exam ????

please reply me!!

95. 484
    Chetan R:

I am in final semester of B.E.I.T . Am eligible for Engg.Services Exam?? Plz guide me

96. 483
    MRINAL:

Sir may i know the last date for sumission of form for engineering services exam?
    is it 2nd march 2010?

97. 482
    hari:

sir..sir boy applicants are supposed to take DD isnt it..?? in whose name shall i take it sir..?? pls reply me quickly..

98. 481
    shailu:

what is last date for submission of application?

99. 480
    sumanth:

hi sir i have a doubt … i am pursuing my b.tech… can i apply to this and may i know the last date and particulars of it please nd thanks in advance

100. 479
    Manoj:

Is obc certificate is enough to submmite or i have to attach any other with it.

101. 478
    NP Raguvaran BE:

1.what are the form are fixing in upsc engineering service application form…i mean proviconal certificate? or community certificate? are both them.

102. 477
    amba:

I am in final semister of bacholer of engineering in comuter science,i’l complete it by july 2010 . can i appear in the upsc engineering services exams?

103. 476
    ujwala:

can a computer engineer graduate eligible for upsc engineering

104. 475
    subhash:

date of the exam

105. 474
    bhanu:

how apply through online for engineering services 2010

106. 473
    sanjay kushwah:

how will get into online engg service exam 2010

107. 472
    kanwal:

Is computer science engineering students also eligible for this exam? cse is not mentioned in the above listed type of engineering degrees..

108. 471
    Ashish:

what is the last date for submission of application form.

109. 470
    bikas kumar:

how can i get the online form for ies

110. 469
    abhijeet:

exam date

111. 468
    shilpi rawat:

where shall i get the qualification code for the engineering services examination,2010?

112. 467
    dilip87:

can i fill both ias and es exam seperately

113. 466
    dilip:

can i fill in same year both the form of ias and es exam

114. 465
    ravi.b:

Dear sir/madem

For more information on UPSC engineering service exam 2010

115. 464
    shaly alphonsa:

Sir, i made a mistake while i filling the appilication for IES examination, is there any option to reregistration?

116. 463
    Niyati:

BE IC(Instrumentation & control) students, can be applied for UPSC?

117. 462

i need information about upsc engg service examination centre detail..

118. 461
    aslam:

what is the last date for submission of application form

119. 460
    amit kumar:

sir may i know that hw many marks a general category studnt hv 2 secure in order to be called for interview…plz tl me about both objective and subjective type paper…

120. 459
    vavita:

i have done my b.tech in instrumentation and engineering.am i eligible to appear in IES exam

121. 458
    m.k:

When IES 2010 Exam date

122. 457
    amit tripathi:

plz. tell me last date of submission ies2010

123. 456

now i am studying final yr BE cse i am eligible of UPSC exam pls inform me

124. 455
    satyendra prasad:

sir what is the last date of submission of application form,,

125. 454
    cissy thomas:

Sir..how many times a candidate can appear for engineering sevices examination?

126. 453
    arpit:

sir pls tell me the syllabus of ies 2010????????????

127. 452
    chamu:

sir, when is the last date for the submission of application form … ? please send it quickly

128. 451
    vijay:

sir Iam a third year ECE student can i appear for IES2010? Thanking you in advance.

129. 450
    Ashok:

Can I apply the ESE through online?

130. 449
    muhammad c u:

sir, when is the last date for the submission of application form for Engg.services Exam2010 … ? please send it quickly sir shall i able to submit within 3 days sir…………? i am waiting for ur reply…….

131. 448
    Sonal:

Can Computer Science Student appear for this exam?

132. 447
    ANJALEEDEEPA:

Last date of receipt of online application for IES Examiniation.

133. 446
    A.Dutta:

what is the difference between IES & ENGG examination???

134. 445
    Ganesh:

Can u plz say me the educatioal qualificatio code for ECE and EEE which were asked in the form
    Thanks in advance.

135. 444
    ram:

when is the last of IES application?

when will be conducting the IES exam and in which month?

136. 443
    Vibhuti:

Can computer engineers apply for the specified posts ?

137. 442
    ankit bapna:

MAY I KNW THE LAST DATE OF FORM SUBMISSION FOR INDIAN ENGG. SERVICE?

138. 441
    R.suganya:

sir when is the last date for application? when is the exam date ?

139. 440
    AMBILY:

about the registration?

140. 439
    Sonia Sebastian:

I am computer Engineer. Can I give the exam..

141. 438
    hemant kumar:

what is the center code for Jaipur

n what is the qualification code for this ese exam

142. 437
    kaisher:

whether electronics and communication is eligible for IES exam.

143. 436
    swetha soma:

syllabus of IES electronics and telecommunication engineering,i browsed in google ies syllabus but i could not get it,so kindly help me in knowing about it

144. 435
    karthik veeramani:

sir, last date for submission of IES application form. pls send reply sir.

145. 434
    manoj v naik:

please send me exam centre code and i am mechanical engineer and i need code of it also… so plese reply fast sir..

146. 433
    Sibi Thomas:

can i know the last date of form submission

147. 432
    udayasree:

i need mechanical engineering branch code to fill engineering service application

148. 431
    swati:

IES EXAM IS FOR IT BRANCH OR NOT? PLEASE INFORM ON MY MOB NO-9305410181

149. 430
    Sunil Kumar Tiwari:

iies

150. 429
    Sunil Kumar Tiwari:

I want to enquire whether there is some spcl exams conducted by UPSC for engineers with Instrumentation Engineering branch or some exams by UPSC named Indian Instrumentation Engineering Services.

Pages: « 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 [4] 3 2 1 » Show All