UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011

Being in the bureaucracy of India is like a dream come true. Thus, in order to be a part of this highly des ignited post, one will have to go through an entrance examination conducted by a special panel of bureaucrats of India. The examination is called Union Public Service commission UPSC. This examination is a gateway to many government high level jobs and designation. The posts that are given after one successfully clear this examination have respect which is beyond anyone’s expectations and imaginations. That is the reason why almost every individual of India has a dream of clearing this examination and being a part of this renounced job.

This particular entrance examination is divided in to two parts. One is the mains and the other one is prelims. The candidates are selected for the mains only after they clear the prelims examination. Thus, the prelims are the chief and the primary examination in which maximum short listing is done.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts Civil Services Examinations for various Government jobs in the country. Civil Services include 23 services of Government of India and Union Territories. The most aspired services are the Indian Foreign Service(IFS), Indian Administrative Service(IAS), Indian Police Service(IPS) etc. The preliminary examinations for Civil services exam is conducted in a number of cities throughout the country.

Civil Services Exam is conducted every year by UPSC in two rounds: Preliminary & Mains. Those who qualify in the preliminary round are called for mains examination. Preliminary Exam consists of a written exam while Mains exam consists of a written exams as well as Interview. Getting through Civil Services Examination is considered really prestigious as a very large number of candidates apply for Civil Services exam for a limited number of posts and getting through is really tough.

Various Civil Services in which recruitment is made:

• Indian Administrative Service

• Indian Foreign Service

• Indian Police Service

• Indian P&T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’

• Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Non-technical)

• Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’

• Post of Assistant Security Officer in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’

• Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’

• Armed Force Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakhadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

A candidate should have a degree from a recognized institute/university or an equivalent qualification. Also a candidate should be between 21 and 30 years of age as on 1st August, 2011. Relaxation in age limit is given to various reserved categories.

Important date:

• Release of Notification: 2011

• Last date of submission of application form: 1st week of February, 2011

• Date of Examination: third or last week of May, 2011

Important Dates:

• Last date for submission of application form: last of January or beginning of February, 2011.

• Date of Preliminary Examination of Civil Service Examination: third or last week of May, 2011.

Availability of Application Forms:

All UPSC Exams have a common form where a candidate has to choose the exam he/she has applied for. UPSC forms are available in various designated post offices throughout the country. Candidates have to fill the application forms according to the instructions given in the admission notification released in newspapers.

Pattern of Preliminary Examination:

There will be 2 papers consisting of multiple choice questions.:

Paper 1:General Studies-150 marks

Paper 2:Optional Subject-450 marks

Optional Subject is to be chosen from a list of optional subjects given below. Detailed syllabus for both the papers is given in the following link:Syllabi for the Examination. There will be 4 options to each question. There will be a penalty of 1/3rd marks for an incorrect answer.

List of optional subjects for Preliminary Examination:

Agriculture

Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science

Botany

Chemistry

Civil Engineering

Commerce

Economics

Electrical Engineering

Geography

Geology

Indian History

Law

Mathematics

Mechanical Engineering

Medical Science

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Psychology

Public Administration

Sociology

Statistics

Zoology

Contact details:

Union Public Service Commission,

Dholpur House, Shahajahan Road,

New Delhi-110069

5,175 Responses to “UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011”

Pages: « 3517 16 15 14 13 [12] 11 10 9 8 71 » Show All

1. 1725
    kamal:

what is the cetre code of delhi?

2. 1724
    babita:

1> Examination center code for Delhi
    2> Qualification code
    3> Subject code for history

3. 1723
    maliya:

what is branch code for mechnical engg. and city code

4. 1722
    venkatesan:

what type of books preffer for this upsc csp exam?

5. 1721
    ganesh s awade:

I am residence of pune wnnt to apply for UPSC Prem, but I checked with all the GPO’s in pune forms are not available.

Kindly help me for the same.

Thanking You.

6. 1720
    daya:

how to fil application form

7. 1719
    cvijay ananth:

did not get the form so form download

8. 1718
    Sujith.P:

hello Sir, Iwould like to know about the subject code of Sociology.

9. 1717
    James Chishi:

Hello sir, just want to know will i be eligible to appear UPSC(IFS) in 2011 as i will be turning 21 years old only on october 2011 moreover i am from schedule tribe community

10. 1716
    satish kumar:

Hai Sir,
    i wants to know the code of chemistry for prelims

11. 1715
    anurag:

I want to know the detailed selection process of civil service and also prescribed books for economics

12. 1714
    NITU:

Sir/Madam
    I want to know the following:-
    1. Exam Centre Code for CHANDIGARH
    2. Educational Qualification Code for BACHELOR OF ARTS
    3. Category Code for EXSERVICEMAN
    4. Subject Code for GEOGRAPHY
    5. Commission’s Notice No. and Employment Newspaper Date

13. 1713
    nirupam:

I want to know -
    1. examination center code for Bangalore
    2. Subject code for Chemistry
    3. commission notice no.

14. 1712
    Anupam:

Sir, i want to know last date of submission 4 dis year?

15. 1711
    ALI:

i want to know the following for upsc preliminary exam,2010..
    1. what is the centre code fo kolkata
    2. what is the educational qualification code for B.Sc.
    3. what are codes of optional subjects for CPS.

16. 1710
    shatabdi roy:

how could i find otional subject code for civil service prelimnary exam 2010 ?

17. 1709
    Ramkaran Yadav:

Hi sir,
    I want following info:
    1. Examination center code for Jaipur
    2. Date of advertisement and advertisement number
    3. Subject code for Geography, Public Ad., Mechanical, and Electrical.
    Sir, Plz help me out on this info.

Thank You!

18. 1708
    Ramya:

#How to fill the application form
    #please send me the advertisement in employment news so as to fill the form
    #what is the code for civil services exam
    #what is the code for Chennai and for commerce as optional subject.

19. 1707
    dr. kshitij saxena:

i am a dentist and i want to know which subject is best for me to take as an optional subject.
    thanks in advance

20. 1706
    SHAJAHAN:

SIR,SEND ME THE BOTANY SYLLABUS FOR BOTH PRILIMS AND MAIN EXAM

21. 1705
    nagarjuna:

sir what is last date to submit the civil application in 2010 for preliminary exam where can i get application

22. 1704
    Mohit Gupta:

Please suggest some good books for the following subjects for the preparation of Civil Services Preliminary Exams
    1. General Studies
    2. Indian History

Mohit Gupta

23. 1703
    kanaga lakshmi.D:

I want following information
    1.Examination centre code
    2.optional subject code for history
    3.education qualification code for BA(communicative english)
    4.commission’s notice No
    5.Rozgar samachar dated
    6.fee details(fee paid or fee remission claimed)
    7.about residing in a remote area
    8.preference
    9.claiming age relaxation

24. 1702
    sanija:

codes of optional subjects and educational qualification codes

25. 1701
    indresh kumar verma:

helo sir,
    please send me subject code of mechanical enggineering

26. 1700
    venkata ratnam:

what is the exam centre code of hyderabad? what is the educational codes for civil services exam 2010?

27. 1699
    ajay kumaar:

what is the last date for submission of forms for civil servises 2010 prelims exam for general candidates

28. 1698
    sunithajenefar:

I want the following information
    1. exam centre code for chennai
    2. educational qualification for B.E

29. 1697
    nilesh harle:

sir wish to know how many seats in 2010

30. 1696
    sunesh kumar shukla:

i want information about educational qualification code..

31. 1695
    sunesh kuumar shukla:

i want information about eduational qualifiation code..

32. 1694
    Bharati Maurya:

exmination centre code for mumbai and code for biotech graduation

33. 1693
    sunil:

pls,
    give me answer about following information
    1.) what is examination center code for Ahemadabad ?
    2.) what is educational qualification code for B.com ?
    3.) what is subject code for commerce ?

34. 1692
    R.TLANGSAWIA:

WHAT IS THE SUBJECT CODE FOR ECONOMICS IN PRILIMINARY EXAM

35. 1691
    Jeferson Sebastian:

pls let me know the subject code (number)

36. 1690
    gaurav kumar:

kindly provide me the syllabus of Indian history

37. 1689
    ganesh:

whether for sc category crf stamp needed

38. 1688
    tirith kumar:

i am final year student ,can i aply for the Entrence text

39. 1687
    number of vacances in pcs 2010:

sir please tell me about the vacances in PCS 2010

40. 1686
    Dp:

Sir.

41. 1685
    archana kumari:

can i change the exam centre for the upsc civil service exam of 2010 for preliminary

42. 1684
    madhurima:

mai i hav the subject codes of CSP, 2010? my subject is philosophy

43. 1683
    prema:

wanted centercode ,subject code for upsc prelims exam 2010

44. 1682
    Bakkar Sufiyan:

i want following information :
    1] Examination Centre Code for Vadodara and Ahmedabad
    2] Educational Qualification code
    3]Subject code for indian history
    4]syllabus for indian history for entrance exam of CSP
    5]how to pay a fee

thanks a lot.

45. 1681
    SHILPA:

whats the procedure to take up the upsc exams

46. 1680
    surya prakash N:

application for upsc no application in the post office… i request u to send the application to the post office…. thank you….

47. 1679
    prasanna:

plz send me the application codes for various places.as i was an enggineering student of electronics and communication ,so to which option i hav to opt for.

48. 1678
    Pankaj Kumar:

Kindly update me for the complete acknowledgment of IPS, such as the qualification, age in General category,fees and the upcoming application submitting date and exam date.

Pankaj

49. 1677
    mukesh saroj:

mukesh wants to know secial books for public administration to for ias.

50. 1676
    kanchan gahlod:

sir i m diploma holder in electronics&telecommunication branch can i eligible for upsc 2010.plz sir mail me

51. 1675
    bhaskarreddy:

hi sir, cant we apply by online for examination.please reply

52. 1674
    varsha patil:

i have to know that how much fees will have to pay for csp examination

53. 1673
    deepak srivastava:

i want to know about the complete syllabus for electrical engineering for the entrance exam of P.C.S.
    i’ll be obliged if last date for submission of form is told.

54. 1672
    bhushan devare:

want following info
    1> examination center code for mumbai
    2>qualification code
    3>commission notice no.

55. 1671
    nihar:

want following info
    1> examination center code for mumbai
    2>qualification code
    3>subject code for history
    4>and about decleration
    4> category code

56. 1670
    jitendra:

calculator allowed or no in engineering subjects as primary subject.

57. 1669
    akshita agrawal:

I am studying in final year of B.E. electronics and communication, It will complete probably in the month of june. can I appear in UPSC examination? which is the last date of submiting the application form?n frm where could i get d application form……i want to fill form for ies…..pls just update me every time……….n one thing more i want to apply for mppsc too how can i get d form for mppsc n i can apply or not

akshita agrawal

58. 1668
    kamalika:

hi sir
    i want following info
    1> examination center code for kolkata
    2>qualification code for B.A(communicative english) or P.G(Mass Communication diploma)
    3>subject code for psycology, pol sc.
    4>and about decleration

59. 1667
    matsagar:

give the post office list

60. 1666
    shivanand:

1.centre code 4 nagpur.
    2.code 4 arts graduation.
    3.age relaxation code 4 obc.
    4.is b/w photo essential.

61. 1665
    N Lichamo Jami:

Sir,Please let me know
    1. subject code no. for Economics optional
    2. Area code for centre shillong.
    3. Examination centre code
    4. Comession notice No.

62. 1664
    NAGARAJ:

i need information about subject codes,nativity codes,centre codes,educational code,category code including all plss help me sir iam in confusion state

63. 1663
    nizamudin:

as a final year student can we apply the upsc engg. service examination

64. 1662
    zabin:

can u please give the details of filling up the application form?

65. 1661
    nivedita:

sir,iwant t know abt 1.last date of sub. of of application form and 2.subject code of medical sciences…

66. 1660
    rajesh kumar k:

sir,i have wrongly filled the no of attempts in the column,really i have 3 more chance to attempt exam. do my application reject?

67. 1659
    rajshekar:

i want to know mathematics subject code and hyderabad centre code

68. 1658
    praveen:

cast codes

69. 1657
    swetha:

i want the info abt he commission,s notice no & rozgar samachar dated

70. 1656
    swetha:

i want the info abt he commission,s notice no & rozgar samachar dated

71. 1655

what is the last date for application for up pcs 2010

72. 1654
    rajan babu:

educational qualification codes for CSP-2010

73. 1653
    gurpreet:

i want following info
    1> examination center code for chandigarh
    2>qualification code
    3>subject code for zoology
    4>notice no. & commision no.?

74. 1652
    gurpreet:

for civil services prelim
    what is chandigarh’s centre code?
    what is commision no.?
    what is optioal subject code for zoology?
    what is education qualification code?

75. 1651
    Ananth:

optional subject code for mechanical engineering
    &centre code for chennai

76. 1650
    shweta singh:

i m bpt final year student .can i sit in ur ias exam for my bright future . i m eligble or not please tell.

77. 1649
    archana kurrey:

this is my 1st attempt ,i want to fillup the form , so plz tell me about procedure with code EC code,EQ code, OS code of agriculture for CSP exam. i am belong to SC caste

78. 1648
    kavitha:

i want educational codes for B A & B E graduation

79. 1647
    kavitha:

pls send me educational codes for B A & B E graduation

80. 1646
    ARCHANA JAISWAL:

I m a B.Sc. final year student , am I eligible for upsc 2010 exam.

81. 1645
    prabhat:

hi sir,
    i want following info,
    1> examination center code of Dehradun
    2> qualification code
    3> subject code for history
    4> and about decleration

82. 1644
    nilesh awade:

what are the optional suject code?

83. 1643
    saloni:

plz mail me d syllabus for the commercce subject.
    hope to get ur rply soon……..

84. 1642
    YOGESH SHARMA:

what is the syllabus for upsc exam.is there any category relaxation as i am schedule tribe…..

85. 1641
    ajay:

what is crf stamp where is it available?

86. 1640
    manmohan:

centre code for jodhpur and optional subject code for botany
    subject

87. 1639
    naveen:

i have done 3 years B.Sc (Computer science) from bangalore university, can i take optional subject for prelims as Electrical Engineering

88. 1638
    Istekhar Ahmad:

is black & white photograph necessary.

89. 1637
    senthil:

1.I want to know the subject code of public administration.
    2.how i fill the deciaretion part in the application form.
    3.I want to know the center code of chennai.
    4.I want to know the exam date.
    5.I want to know the subject and thier codes of CSP exams.

90. 1636
    sujith:

sir,i am doing final year b tec.so can i appear upsc exam 2010 ?

91. 1635
    aslam:

filling the application form for IAS

92. 1634
    samuel ng.:

I want to know the subject code of public administration and examination centre code of bangalore

93. 1633
    NEHA:

if i persuing B.A. than should i fill the form . iam in 3rd year after two months my final exams happen .

94. 1632
    Jemamani Mishra:

Sir , I am a student in Oriya PG .Can I take Oriya as optional subject ?

95. 1631
    ranu mishra:

sir ,i want to know the following information
    1. educational qualification code?(b.com)
    2.subject code for commerce /economics

96. 1630
    manimozhi:

sir i want educational qualification code in priliminary exam.my education qualification is b.sc mathematics

97. 1629
    Sathish:

Please provide the following information

1. Examination center code for Chennai
    2. Qualification code
    3. Subject code for Indian History

98. 1628
    kavitha:

pls send me optional subjects codes and examination centers codes

99. 1627
    rahul singhai:

information to fill application form for upsc pre. 2010 for csp ?

100. 1626
    Seemabiju:

Exam centre code for kochi,educational qualification code for msc,optional subject code for botany

101. 1625
    Archana Sekhar:

Can we apply for the CSE online? When is the last date for accepting the forms?

102. 1624
    lakshman rao:

how to fill up application

103. 1623
    vijay kumar:

i want 2 know centre code, educational qualification code and optional subject code. its not available in upsc website.

104. 1622
    Jitendra Chandra:

I want to know that calculator will be permitted or not? If I select electrical engg. as optional subject for primary examination.
    Please reply
    My email id is

105. 1621
    ponnusamy:

csp what type of the question
    How many question
    one qusetion which mark
    How many hours of examnation
    What type syllopus
    Tamil nadula how many centers exam
    What guide refer to the exam

106. 1620
    bhanuprakash:

when will the notification for engineering services will be released.could you please apprise me of that?

107. 1619
    madhuri:

sir i want following information: 1>examination center code list
    2>qualification code FOR (B.SC.,PCM)
    3>subject code list 4>notice no $date of employment news paper.

108. 1618
    Deep Narayan:

plz help me for detail data likes exam centre code etc. i will not found.
    so plz send me

109. 1617
    Subhash Paswan:

Sir, i wanted to know that from where i can purchase the fomrs of upsc,ssc and other civil services examination.

110. 1616
    manisha:

sir i want following information 1>examination center code for mumbai & udaipur
    2>qualification code FOR (B.SC.,PCM)
    3>subject code list 4>notice no $date of employment news paper

111. 1615
    S.Senthil kumar:

what is the commission notice number and date…?

112. 1614
    himal:

details of filling the civil service examination application form

113. 1613

i didn’t got application till now, but i want to write prilims exam, so pls inform whats the last date of submission of application form.

114. 1612
    Mamatha S:

1. What is the Bangalore Center Code?
    2. What is the code for B.COM qualification?
    3. What is the code for Commerce - Optional Subject?
    4. What is the commission Notice No?

Plese provide me the above mentioned details at the earliest.

115. 1611
    ARBAB ADIL:

hi sir

i want KNOW to the subject code for management subjects(MARKETING)

116. 1610
    ARBAB ADIL:

hi sir

i want to the subject code for management subjects(MARKETING).

117. 1609
    Sashidhar:

What is the Bangalore examination center code?
    What is B.A Educational Qualification code?
    What is the Public Adminstration Optional Subject coad?

118. 1608
    srijith:

iam working in uae.But i would like to write upcc exam.but I will get leave only after 2 years.can i write any upsc exam through online.

thankingyou,

Srijith

119. 1607
    adhi:

Respected sir, it would be very kind of you, if you can tell me the following:
    examination centre code for trivandrum
    subject code for zoology
    qualification code

120. 1606
    Ashwani:

Hi…..
    My name is Ashwani……graduation last year(B.com)
    As I m a SC student……….i want to know that for scheduled castes students what should be the minimum required percentage in graduation for preparing UPSC Xams…….plz help me out sir/madam

Thankyou

121. 1605
    chandan kumar:

hi sir,wishing u a very happy new year.
    sir i want to know following questions.
    1-examination center code for the state of orissa?
    2-subject code of every papers ?
    3-educational qualification code?

122. 1604
    Alka singh:

what are codes for optional subjects and area codes for civil services preliminary examination?

123. 1603
    vanita:

what are the codes for choosing optional subjects?

124. 1602
    nitin:

Plz Information Of “UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2010″Exam Details Month Of February…
    I want to apply for UPSC 2010.
    1. Examination Center code for Mumbai
    3. educational qualification code for gratuate (B.E)
    4. commision notice no.
    5. subject code list for subjects

125. 1601
    swathi:

please give me the examination centre codes ,education qualification codes and optional subject codes immidetely

126. 1600
    ANAMIKA PRASAD:

sir please let me know the optional and subject code of the civil service exam[prelimnary]as i couldent get the employment news wid the details of UPSC EXAM

127. 1599
    chaitanya:

i want qualification code and subject code

128. 1598
    preeti pandey:

give me explain name of examinatio……CMS,NDA1,NDA2,IFoS, SCRA,GEOL,CSP,CDS1,CDS2,IES,ISS,ENGG,EXAM X.

129. 1597
    Manoj.p:

Sir I want know following things for csp .EXAMINATION CENTRE CODE OF TRIVANDRUM,EDUCATIONAL QUALIFICATION CODE FOR PG,OPTINAL CODE FOR ZOOLOGY,CATEGORY CODE FOR OBC

130. 1596
    varun dwivedi:

Hello sir…..
    wish you happy new year.
    sir, I want know the last date to submit the application for upSC form 2010. it’s urgent sir

131. 1595
    hari:

iam studying b.pharm 3rd year.Am I eligible or not?

132. 1594
    ankita:

sir, ihave missed employment news paper,iwant to know about optional subject with code,area code for ahmedabad gujarat,and qualification code

133. 1593
    reen babu:

area code of banglore.
    code of sociology.
    code of civil service prelimenary.
    code of indian forest service

134. 1592
    deepika:

what is the subject code of indian history

135. 1591
    subir roy:

what document i have to send with application form to grt age relaxation as central govt employee? subir roy

136. 1590
    satish:

where can i get educational codes

Thank you,
    Satish

137. 1589
    sachin:

1st finance minister of india

138. 1588
    ramesh:

is it ok with community certificate for fee remission

139. 1587
    ZAMEER SAIYED:

code number for the optional subjects?

140. 1586
    sanajana:

sir, what is code of commerce & public administration for upsc pre-2010

141. 1585
    Danny:

1. Area Code for Bangalore (Karnataka)
    2. Examination Center code for Bangalore
    3. educational qualification code for gratuate (B.E)
    4. commision notice no.
    5. subject code list for Public administration
    6. last date for submission

142. 1584
    KK:

AREA CODE FOR REMOTE AREAS AND ABROAD

Area : Code
    Assam 01
    Meghalaya 02
    Arunachal Prade 03
    Mizoram 04
    Manipur 05
    Nagaland 06
    Tripura 07
    Sikkim 08
    Jammu & Kashmir 09
    Lahaul and Spiti District and Pangi Sub Division of Chamba District of Himachal Pradesh 10
    Andaman & Nicobar islands 11
    Lakshadweep 12
    Abroad 13

143. 1583
    deepak:

i want self study but i don’t @this properly & not found the info. @ syll. plz’s give me full information @upsc.

144. 1582
    deepa:

i couldnt understand ur information

145. 1581
    deepa:

if my age is 30 may i have the opportunity to take the exam and

146. 1580
    girish.m:

i want the information about obc category list and can i stick colour photo

147. 1579
    Uttam Kumar Samanta:

I want to know the full details rearding the upsc civil service examination 2010

148. 1578
    ajay verma:

i am student of b.tech (ec) (persuing in final year).
    can fill the pcs form.
    how i choose the subjects..

149. 1577
    gitasravani:

Hi sir i need
    1.qualification code for B.E(E.C.E)
    2.code for the optional subjet of electric engg

150. 1576
    anita kasabe:

I want date of upsc examination and wath are the requirments of exam

Pages: « 3517 16 15 14 13 [12] 11 10 9 8 71 » Show All