UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011

Being in the bureaucracy of India is like a dream come true. Thus, in order to be a part of this highly des ignited post, one will have to go through an entrance examination conducted by a special panel of bureaucrats of India. The examination is called Union Public Service commission UPSC. This examination is a gateway to many government high level jobs and designation. The posts that are given after one successfully clear this examination have respect which is beyond anyone’s expectations and imaginations. That is the reason why almost every individual of India has a dream of clearing this examination and being a part of this renounced job.

This particular entrance examination is divided in to two parts. One is the mains and the other one is prelims. The candidates are selected for the mains only after they clear the prelims examination. Thus, the prelims are the chief and the primary examination in which maximum short listing is done.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts Civil Services Examinations for various Government jobs in the country. Civil Services include 23 services of Government of India and Union Territories. The most aspired services are the Indian Foreign Service(IFS), Indian Administrative Service(IAS), Indian Police Service(IPS) etc. The preliminary examinations for Civil services exam is conducted in a number of cities throughout the country.

Civil Services Exam is conducted every year by UPSC in two rounds: Preliminary & Mains. Those who qualify in the preliminary round are called for mains examination. Preliminary Exam consists of a written exam while Mains exam consists of a written exams as well as Interview. Getting through Civil Services Examination is considered really prestigious as a very large number of candidates apply for Civil Services exam for a limited number of posts and getting through is really tough.

Various Civil Services in which recruitment is made:

• Indian Administrative Service

• Indian Foreign Service

• Indian Police Service

• Indian P&T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’

• Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Non-technical)

• Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’

• Post of Assistant Security Officer in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’

• Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’

• Armed Force Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakhadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

A candidate should have a degree from a recognized institute/university or an equivalent qualification. Also a candidate should be between 21 and 30 years of age as on 1st August, 2011. Relaxation in age limit is given to various reserved categories.

Important date:

• Release of Notification: 2011

• Last date of submission of application form: 1st week of February, 2011

• Date of Examination: third or last week of May, 2011

Important Dates:

• Last date for submission of application form: last of January or beginning of February, 2011.

• Date of Preliminary Examination of Civil Service Examination: third or last week of May, 2011.

Availability of Application Forms:

All UPSC Exams have a common form where a candidate has to choose the exam he/she has applied for. UPSC forms are available in various designated post offices throughout the country. Candidates have to fill the application forms according to the instructions given in the admission notification released in newspapers.

Pattern of Preliminary Examination:

There will be 2 papers consisting of multiple choice questions.:

Paper 1:General Studies-150 marks

Paper 2:Optional Subject-450 marks

Optional Subject is to be chosen from a list of optional subjects given below. Detailed syllabus for both the papers is given in the following link:Syllabi for the Examination. There will be 4 options to each question. There will be a penalty of 1/3rd marks for an incorrect answer.

List of optional subjects for Preliminary Examination:

Agriculture

Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science

Botany

Chemistry

Civil Engineering

Commerce

Economics

Electrical Engineering

Geography

Geology

Indian History

Law

Mathematics

Mechanical Engineering

Medical Science

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Psychology

Public Administration

Sociology

Statistics

Zoology

Contact details:

Union Public Service Commission,

Dholpur House, Shahajahan Road,

New Delhi-110069

5,175 Responses to “UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011”

Pages: « 3526 25 24 23 22 [21] 20 19 18 17 161 » Show All

1. 3075
    Chandramauli:

Can i opt for the writing exam with Information technology as an optional paper?

2. 3074

what is the date of ias prelims result 2010

3. 3073
    saravanan:

I will get around 135 marks net in Public Administration and 45 marks net in GS (these scores are after deducting negative marks for wrong answers) and I belong to OBC category….Do I have any chance to clear this year ?

4. 3072
    venkatesh:

hi sir..
    i am doing my degree . can i write this exam

5. 3071
    venkatesh:

i am doing my degree can i write this exam

6. 3070
    hisham mohammed:

when will the result of civil services preliminary exam 2010
    get published.

7. 3069
    SURYA:

what is the maximum marks of mains examination?

8. 3068
    DR PARDEEP SINGH:

WHAT IS THE ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA FOR VARIOUS CIVIL SERVICES & WHAT IS THE RELAXATION CRITERIA
    THANKS

9. 3067
    Anju:

May I Know ,tat When UPSC,Preliminary Exam Result is Expected.

10. 3066
    Apurva acharya:

plese let me know when will be the ias preliminary 2010 results be declared??

11. 3065
    pravesh madhwal:

How could i apply for the UPSC exam? please tell me something about ther examination pattern of it.

12. 3064

Please let me know when will be RAS pre-exams will going to held.

13. 3063
    sonal:

what is the date of ias prelims result 2010

14. 3062
    ajit kumar:

next examination form date of upsc?

15. 3061
    Durgesh singh:

any prediction as to what will be the minimum cutoff marks this year in geography and gs

16. 3060
    Shreenivas:

WHEAR & WHENI GET CINIL SERVICES PRELIMINARY EXAM RESULT

17. 3059
    tushar:

how can i prepare this exam

18. 3058
    masoom:

when come result of prelimeniry ias 2010 result

19. 3057
    rajendra:

when will the results of civil service prelims 2010 be declared

20. 3056
    rahul gupta:

may i know when the results of civil services preliminary exam 2010 will be coming and how to see those results

21. 3055
    Rahul Gupta:

may i know when the results will be published…and how to see those results…

22. 3054
    kalai:

i wrote ias entrance(manidha neyam). may i know when the results will be published…and how to see those results…

23. 3053
    hitesh:

please tell when the CIVIL SERVICES (PREL.) EXAM., 2010 result is coming
    hitesh

24. 3052
    arun singh:

hi all, i am dy superintendent of police working in lucknow.

i wrote pre 2010 with pub adm, my net score in pub adm is 78 & gs 65 i hope to get thru. anybody who want key of pub adm may contact me. [email protected]

25. 3051
    kamakshi:

May i know when can we expect Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination 2010 result .

26. 3050
    sarang:

Can you please inform , the proposed date for the announcement of CSP 2010 results?

27. 3049
    Anand:

may i know when d xams r going on ???

28. 3048
    miteshsurana:

wen are the results for prelims2010 exam

29. 3047
    nasar hashmi:

Sir i just want to know the cut-off for indian history and general studies for civil services preliminary examination held this year(2010)on 23rd may 2010……..and when will be the results declared for the same…..

30. 3046
    Bhawana Srivastava:

Kindly send me answer keys for Botany IAS Pre-2010 and probable merit/cut off.
    Thanking you.
    with best regards,
    Bhawana

31. 3045
    Gajendrasinh Rathod:

I have heard that examination structure of UPSC is about to change.Can i get any authentic information on this subject. Please provide me the right information as fast as you can.

32. 3044
    Imran Ali:

I Requried I.A.S. Pre result 2010
    Regd
    Imran ali from Mumbai

33. 3043
    rajeswari:

I would like to know when the results of the preliminary exams conducted on 23rd May,2010 will be published ?

34. 3042
    Basanna:

Sir.. GooD Evening sir. I am Basanna have working in Police Department ranking for Police Constable. So that I have more interest for study and Now i had wrote the UPSC exam for Civil Service. It’s not satisfide me. Bcz, I can’t for honest study.therefore, now i am prapering for any competation Examination. So, since from heare study for workhard ,Can i eligible to main exam for next year…? Please could you help me for sugestion of the how to face the UPSC Examination…!!

35. 3041
    lokesh:

expected merit of upse civil services exam. preliminary 2010

36. 3040
    amitparmar:

kindly inform about the proposed date of announcement of results for upsc prelims 2010

37. 3039
    sonal:

please tell me how to do preparation for this exam.

38. 3038
    soumya:

when will the results of civil service prelims 2010 be declared

39. 3037
    raghu:

how can i get my ies application form num.i already got the hallticket.plzzzz inform me as early as possible…………..

40. 3036
    divya:

when will be the results of 2010 civil service preliminary be published

41. 3035
    niraj singh:

i am just about to begin my preparation for upsc exams so can you please guide me how to go about it….as i am starting it from the scratch….waiting for a response…thank you

42. 3034
    mohan:

kindly inform about the proposed date of announcement of results for upsc csp 2010.

43. 3033
    mohan:

kindly inform about the proposed date of announcement of results for upsc csp 2010

44. 3032
    yash sharma:

i want to know about pre2010 exam sylllabus because i have listened the apptitude test will be come & the optional paper will be destroyed in pre 2010 exam

45. 3031
    Archana Gautam:

Where do i search for botany upsc exam 2010

46. 3030
    lotha:

can i get the solved paper of political science csp 2010?

47. 3029
    kishan patel:

Please give me the starting date of forms collection.

Give the information about ST candidate.

48. 3028
    baljinder:

when will i get my rollno. for pcs entrance exam ?

49. 3027
    khader:

sir my suggestion is when is the result of the upsc entrance examination which was held in previous month please reply me sir……thanking you

50. 3026
    rani singh:

can anyone share with me the key of general studies and sociology answer key?
    and please inform me when the results will be declared??

51. 3025
    VIVEK:

Sir,what would be the cut off for medical science in ias prelims 2010 and when would the result be declared.

52. 3024
    anupama anurag:

sir,i am a student of b.e. 3rd year EEE( electrical and electronics engineering). i want to be an IAS officer. plz help me in this regard..hw can i start my prepration and which subjects should i prefer??

53. 3023
    Sonia Goyal:

We want to know about IAS exam. When its form is submit. which newspaper and magazine is required for this exam. plz tell me about it thanxxxxxxxxxxxxx

54. 3022
    mohinder singh rawat:

sir, i am b.com graduate from DU and wants to crack UKPCS combined lower subordinate exam-2010 plz suggest me the usefull books for the preparation.

55. 3021
    Ayesha:

I have not received my hallticket still and not even the Acknowledgement of my Application…..My Form number is 38012398. Can anyone tell me about it’s status please….Waiting for a response…Thank you!!!

56. 3020
    krishna:

kindly inform about the proposed date of announcement of results for upsc prelims 2010 . does it come in employment news or on website.

57. 3019
    jyoti ranawat:

can anyone share with me the key of general studies and public administration answer key?
    and please inform me when the results will be declared??

58. 3018
    dhillon rajpreet:

can anyone send me solved paper of general studies and psychology of civil services (preliminary)2010

59. 3017
    mukesh:

sir i may get marks in GS 45-48 and in commerce 215-220, wht r my chances for upsc mains 2010? wht wil b probable cut off for commerce students???

60. 3016
    navjot singh:

in total how many subjects are there in Preliminary Examination of pcs……….

61. 3015
    Nikunj:

when the result of Civil Services(Preliminary) Examination 2010 come, tell the date?

62. 3014
    geeta:

may i give exam in any subject other than my degree program? how much percentage is necessary for appearing in the ias exam?

63. 3013
    tarun gupta:

wen ias 2010 prelims results will b announced?????????

64. 3012
    lokesh jain:

i want to know the result of preliminary exam which was held on 23rd may 2010 at chandigarh

65. 3011
    shailendra:

general studies question paper 2010 for solved

66. 3010
    BHANU PRATAP SINGH:

how to prepare for these exam

67. 3009
    Ketan:

Could anyone please share the Optional subject Mathematics answer key ?

68. 3008
    karuna:

sir, plz tell me whether the marks obtained in upsc mains exam of civil services add with the marks of foundational course in LBS Musoorie or not??

69. 3007
    sanjana:

answer key 2010 sociology

70. 3006
    Mustaqueem Ahmad:

how i can crack upsc exam ? & what is the pattern of upsc exam ?

71. 3005
    Chhabin:

May I know when will my IAS Preliminary Examination 23 MAy,2010 be declared? So, please inform me in my email ID.
    Thanking you.

72. 3004
    shilpa:

respected sir/madam

kindly give more informations about the exam.i am post graduate in economics.
    also help me on getting its forms

yours faithfully
    shilpa

73. 3003
    sharmila:

Hi ,
    i am a computer science graduate.could you please suggest the optional subjects for Preliminary Examination.

74. 3002
    ankita:

when will the prelinery results be declared?

75. 3001
    srinivasarao:

when the pralims IAS results will be declared
    so please,conform the date&site.

76. 3000
    sudarshan ingole:

when the prelims IAS 2010 result wll be declared?
    so pls. conform the date & site

77. 2999
    narendra:

sir please help me
    i miss my form no. of upsc engineering services exam
    how can i enquire for my admit card

78. 2998
    Archana Gautam:

Sir, i have given upsc examination 2010 with botany as optional in which i m scoring 160 and in general studies i m getting 51 but due negative marking i m left only 33 marks.but i belong to SC category.so my question is that if i will b selected or not?

79. 2997
    raj kalia:

My daughter is now settled in Aurangabad, Maharastra. She is BE(Electrical) from Delhi College of Engineering. She worked for 5 years in Infosys as softward engineer. After marriage, she left that job and wish to prepare for Civil Services examination conducted by UPSC. Are there any coaching centres in Aurangabad, and can u guide as to how to prepare for civil services.

80. 2996
    Dipak Chowdhury:

My qualification is M.com from calcutta and I want to know in how many examination I could appear in UPSC. kindly tell me.

81. 2995

sir, when will the result of 2010 preliminary for civil services declare? confirm date please.

82. 2994
    Himanshu Gupta:

Is there any type of other questions except multiple choice questions in mains exam….

83. 2993
    ehetesham jafri:

i have given upsc entrance in april 2010
    so i want to know i m selected or not.
    and how i came to know i m been selected.
    which is site or link please suggest me.
    jafri ehetesham

84. 2992
    saju:

sir i have completed B.Tech IT ,could i write civill sevice exam

85. 2991
    Pramod Ranjan:

so pls. conform the date & site.

86. 2990
    sumit:

i have passed B.A IN THIS YEAR SUBJECT IS HIND AND SANSKRIT
    I WANT TO PREPAIR FOR PCS

87. 2989
    keerthi:

when is the other notification of civils is announced

88. 2988
    chanchal chowdhary:

I want join civil services but my graduation per.is very low please guaide me.when will applications are issused for 2011.plz send me ans.

89. 2987
    dr.anuj katare:

will there be any recruitment for dental surgeons this year?????

90. 2986
    SHILPA SHARMA:

sir I AM GRADUATE. I WANT TO BECOME A IAS OR PCS OFFICER,I AM MARRIED & DOING THE JOB WITH A CA FIRM. SIR PLEASE CLEARFY

91. 2985
    fayza khan:

is a score of 200 sufficient to clear pre exam of ias 2010,with botany as an option?

92. 2984
    vijeta:

Plz send me ias preliminarry exam 2010 general studies paper?

93. 2983
    charu:

when is d result of pcs prelims which occured on 1st of may 2010 will get declared

94. 2982
    aravindan:

when is the next civil services preliminary exam

95. 2981
    rashmi karajgar:

All detail information of upsc exam & coaching class in kolhapur. I am graduate in commerce & percentage required.
    contact

96. 2980
    Renu Bhalla:

sir/Madam
    I am Renu Bhalla I am graduate from Delhi University.currently I am working in The Department of Ministry of Health in contract basis. I wants to your contact no. please.and which age have you required.Plz tell me.

97. 2979
    TAFHIM:

wHAT IS THE MINIMUM ELIGIBILITY TO APPEAR IN ENTRANCE EXAM

98. 2978
    satbir kumar:

when the prelims IAS 2010 exam result will be declared & how can i see it & where ?

99. 2977
    Denis Mathai:

are there any prepatory classes for these examinations

100. 2976
    himen patel:

at which date upse civil services examination 2010 result declared?

101. 2975
    Ashwani:

102. 2974
    pankaj negi:

i want to have some preliminary test papers of ias exams of recent past and i wish to know abt books and writers name for preparations abt preliminary and main test(history and philosophy).

103. 2973
    ARUMUGAKARTHIK:

I AM 20,NEXT YEAR I WOULD LIKE TO GIVE UPSC EXAM. SO I STARTED COLLECTING INFORMATION ABOUT UPSC EXAMS
    MY DOUBT IS THAT-
    IN PRELIMINARY EXAM HOW MANY SUBJECTS MUST BE SELECTED IN OPTION GIVEN?

104. 2972
    poonam sagar:

105. 2971
    kumar:

please guide me which is the best coaching center in india
    and admission criteria……..

106. 2970
    Namlalung gangmei:

I have lost my cse preliminary exam 2010 admit card. i don’t have my roll no as well as my form no. what do i do?

107. 2969
    Namlalung gangmei:

i have lost my admit card of cse preliminary exam 2010 and i don’t have my roll no as well as apllication form no. what do i do?

108. 2968
    Mahendra singh:

When will Result of Prelim Upsc exam 2010 out? Any idea

109. 2967
    sanjukta:

when upsc preliminary results will be declared

110. 2966
    Ajinkya:

may i know date of next preliminery exam

111. 2965
    harpreet:

i want to know more about upsc civil services preliminary results.

112. 2964
    nallathambi:

when will be preliminary exams results 2010

113. 2963
    m.peter:

when the results of prelims exam will be published

114. 2962
    twinkle:

may i get solution of pre exam held on 23rd may 2010 , mathematics and general studies

115. 2961
    rajeevan kumar:

when was next upsc exam’s conducted plz tell

116. 2960

how to fill up a form of ias prelim exam form. i want to see prelim exam form in net

117. 2959
    nimmy:

when will come out the result of 23rd may 2010 preliminary exam

118. 2958
    Savitha:

23rd may 2010 i complet prelimanary exam, pls tel me when came its result declair, and i confuse to start to prepair main exam because this time junral study paper it very dificult.

119. 2957
    mukesh chand:

I want join civil services but my graduation per.is very low please guaide me

120. 2956
    manjeet:

when the result of Civil Services(Preliminary) Examination 2010 come, tell the date.
    thank

121. 2955
    sonali sharma:

Sir ,I’m a student of B E 2nd year from electronics and communication engg. branch and i’m aspiring to be an IAS officer. sir i need guidance regarding the subjects which i must choose 4 the prelims. Which of the listed subjects would be easy and relevant to my course?

122. 2954
    charan singh:

result date of ias pre. test 2010

123. 2953
    shital:

i have completed my graduation in this year.percentage required for addmision?

124. 2952
    praveen:

when will applications are issused for 2011

125. 2951
    kori manoj:

i’m graduate student in computer science. i have given d exam of ias on 23rd may 2010. in pre exam i selected indian history. so i want 2 know that which subject will be easy in main 4 me and i also want full detail of ias. my age is just 21 years.

126. 2950
    Anandkannan:

I have forgotten my Engineering Service Exam Application Form Number. I have not received the Hall Ticket.

Can you please help me to get me the Application Number, and do let me know, If you need any more informtaion from my end.

Waiting for your reply.

AnandKannan P

127. 2949
    kumar:

i wrote cse prelims 2010 optional subjects are history and gs.
    based on answer key i think 50 questions are correct in general studies and 75-80 in history. am belong to obc community. is may chance to enter the main exam.or still am going to preper prelims 2011. guide me.

128. 2948
    Vinoth Kumar.S:

i have the solution of upsc preliminary exam 2010 general studies and economics………. tell result date

129. 2947
    sangita kumari:

how to prepare for these exam

130. 2946
    tejasri:

may i have civils priliminary exam 2010 question paper with key…..my option is indian history….along with g.s…..

131. 2945
    Abhishek kumar:

plz tall me infouremation
    am abhishek kumar
    plz call me
    ya
    sand me your contect no.

132. 2944
    Neha Jain:

may i have the solution of upsc preliminary exam 2010 of general studies and economics……..

133. 2943
    Sanjay kumar:

Will you please tell me the upcoming examination details and it’s schedules under UPSC , for b.tech mech. degree holder ? Thank you sir

134. 2942
    RAJESH:

may i get solution of pre exam held on 23rd may , mathematics and general studies

135. 2941
    kaberi:

when will the results for UPSC civil service preliminary exam be published?

136. 2940
    arath ashok:

when wil be the upsc preliminary exam 2010 results declared

137. 2939
    kime kobing:

when will application forms b issued for 2011 prelims exams???

138. 2938
    Nagarjuna:

when is (UPSC) preliminary exams going to be held this year(2010)

139. 2937
    Manish asthana:

Could you tell me, when is the result coming up for prelims 2010?

140. 2936
    nikunj s raval:

23rd may 2010 i complet prelimanary exam, pls tel me when came its result declair, and i confuse to start to prepair main exam because this time junral study paper it very dificult.

141. 2935
    anwar:

Can i get the solved question papers of IAS Prelim which was on 23rd may 2010. General Studies and sociology

142. 2934
    Rahul Mani:

143. 2933
    dharam chand:

i want know full detail of I A s
    1 qulification
    2 age
    3 exam date
    4 last date of form
    5 where meet the form
    6 shedule of exam
    7 what is ips and ias and diffrence in these

144. 2932
    natasha:

may i get the solution of pre exam held on 23rd may 2010.
    thanks in advanve

145. 2931
    Rajesh:

Please suggested me that how i find commerce solved Paper

146. 2930
    Nagaveena.A.v:

Can I get the solved question paper of IAS Prelim which was held on 23rd May 2010 for General Studies and Commerce

147. 2929
    visalakshi:

I dint receive Acknowledgement card and hallticket of IES 2010 examination.. I applied through the offline application form and all the details which i gave are correct.

148. 2928
    veera:

veera……… please sent result day(this 2010 civil services preliminary result date……… please sent)

149. 2927

I WANT IAS PREPARATION TIPS

150. 2926
    MADHAVAN.J:

INDIAN HISTORY FOR THE PRILIMINARY QUSTION

Pages: « 3526 25 24 23 22 [21] 20 19 18 17 161 » Show All