UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011

Being in the bureaucracy of India is like a dream come true. Thus, in order to be a part of this highly des ignited post, one will have to go through an entrance examination conducted by a special panel of bureaucrats of India. The examination is called Union Public Service commission UPSC. This examination is a gateway to many government high level jobs and designation. The posts that are given after one successfully clear this examination have respect which is beyond anyone’s expectations and imaginations. That is the reason why almost every individual of India has a dream of clearing this examination and being a part of this renounced job.

This particular entrance examination is divided in to two parts. One is the mains and the other one is prelims. The candidates are selected for the mains only after they clear the prelims examination. Thus, the prelims are the chief and the primary examination in which maximum short listing is done.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts Civil Services Examinations for various Government jobs in the country. Civil Services include 23 services of Government of India and Union Territories. The most aspired services are the Indian Foreign Service(IFS), Indian Administrative Service(IAS), Indian Police Service(IPS) etc. The preliminary examinations for Civil services exam is conducted in a number of cities throughout the country.

Civil Services Exam is conducted every year by UPSC in two rounds: Preliminary & Mains. Those who qualify in the preliminary round are called for mains examination. Preliminary Exam consists of a written exam while Mains exam consists of a written exams as well as Interview. Getting through Civil Services Examination is considered really prestigious as a very large number of candidates apply for Civil Services exam for a limited number of posts and getting through is really tough.

Various Civil Services in which recruitment is made:

• Indian Administrative Service

• Indian Foreign Service

• Indian Police Service

• Indian P&T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’

• Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Non-technical)

• Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’

• Post of Assistant Security Officer in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’

• Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’

• Armed Force Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakhadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

A candidate should have a degree from a recognized institute/university or an equivalent qualification. Also a candidate should be between 21 and 30 years of age as on 1st August, 2011. Relaxation in age limit is given to various reserved categories.

Important date:

• Release of Notification: 2011

• Last date of submission of application form: 1st week of February, 2011

• Date of Examination: third or last week of May, 2011

Important Dates:

• Last date for submission of application form: last of January or beginning of February, 2011.

• Date of Preliminary Examination of Civil Service Examination: third or last week of May, 2011.

Availability of Application Forms:

All UPSC Exams have a common form where a candidate has to choose the exam he/she has applied for. UPSC forms are available in various designated post offices throughout the country. Candidates have to fill the application forms according to the instructions given in the admission notification released in newspapers.

Pattern of Preliminary Examination:

There will be 2 papers consisting of multiple choice questions.:

Paper 1:General Studies-150 marks

Paper 2:Optional Subject-450 marks

Optional Subject is to be chosen from a list of optional subjects given below. Detailed syllabus for both the papers is given in the following link:Syllabi for the Examination. There will be 4 options to each question. There will be a penalty of 1/3rd marks for an incorrect answer.

List of optional subjects for Preliminary Examination:

Agriculture

Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science

Botany

Chemistry

Civil Engineering

Commerce

Economics

Electrical Engineering

Geography

Geology

Indian History

Law

Mathematics

Mechanical Engineering

Medical Science

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Psychology

Public Administration

Sociology

Statistics

Zoology

Contact details:

Union Public Service Commission,

Dholpur House, Shahajahan Road,

New Delhi-110069

5,175 Responses to “UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011”

Pages: « 35 34 33 [32] 31 30 29 28 27 26 251 » Show All

1. 4725
    aditi singh:

dear sir,iam doing post graduation in journalism..i want to ask whether i can apply for the civil service exam or not…and which subject is helpful in preliminary exam??

2. 4724
    ashish:

what is the examination center code number and subject code no ??????????????????????????

3. 4723
    saranya:

i am a female candidate whether i have to paste that 100rs stamp on the civil service application or not

4. 4722
    Banu:

Hi sir/mam,
    what combination of elective subjects is not possible in upsc civil service examination?
    I’m in urgent need of knowing this.
    kindly do reply at the earliest.

Many htanks in advance!

Banu Priya.T

5. 4721
    bhargavi:

where we find the notice paper to fill the application form

6. 4720
    saranya:

i need the instruction to fill the civil service application form through offline.can u please send me the instruction?

7. 4719
    Vijay:

Sir/Mam,
    I have choosen optional subject management but which is not exist in ur optional subject list so please confirm me which is ur list is updated or not…

8. 4718
    vaibhav:

please send me a specimen of filled form of upsc cs

9. 4717
    sanjai 17:

please tell me max age for ST+Govt. employee(4 years) in civil services 2011 and mention code please

10. 4716
    usama:

dear sir i m from u.p.and persuing MBA and and did graduation in english i want to know the civil prelimanary exam code(1),(10)examination centre code,(11)educational code,(12) age relaxation code,(13)remote area code,(20)attempts code almost all the foramalities for exam 2011 and which subject is helpful for me
    plz send me details as soon as possiple

11. 4715
    sanjai:

i am a central govt. employee from four years . my date of birth is 01.07.1976 can i apply for civil services pre 2011. please tell me the age relaxation code

12. 4714
    manoj:

the examination code,educational qualification code,examination center code,for the preliminary exam of civilservices 2011

13. 4713
    Sunita Desisow:

Can u send m d educational qualification,examination code if qualified,age relaxation

14. 4712
    Praveen:

When we have to select the specialisation(ias,ips etc)…?at the time of exam,or it will give depend on qualifying of preliminary examination..?
    Thanking you sir,
    yours faithfully,
    Praveen

15. 4711
    k.priyadharsini:

here by asking that about filluping the application form

16. 4710
    ram g meena:

my date of birth is 01.07.1976 & i m central govt. employee can i apply for CSP-2011 and tell me code for age relaxation please

17. 4709
    narendra tiwari:

how many non iitians crack ias?????? can normal engineer crack ias in 2-3 years?

18. 4708
    nandish:

Send me various codes for filling UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011”

19. 4707
    reshmi:

i want to know educational qualification code of I NDIAN CIVIL SERVICE (PRELIMINARY) 2011?

20. 4706
    jajnyaseni:

Respected sir/mam,
    kindly inform me the suject code, post code and exam code for civil service exam.

21. 4705
    Akilandeswari:

How will i know that the post is related to the subject which i have studied and how can i select the category post as i am a M.Sc. Life science graduate.

22. 4704
    raju:

plese give me instruction of UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011

23. 4703
    vivek shukla:

From which link i will get the online registration form?
    Please give me the detail procedure of filling the online form?

24. 4702
    sumit:

The examination code,educational qualification code,examination center code for the preliminary exam of Indian revenue service(customs and central excise) 2011

25. 4701
    vipul raut:

may get to know from where will i get the application forms through internet………..
    even i tried looking at your web site…………….
    i want to fill up upsc. examapplication forms.
    please help me……
    i want to fill application form …….
    please suggest another site if u have for upsc exam 2011………….
    please let me know as soon as possible……………….

26. 4700
    akila:

last date of examination when

27. 4699
    dipen:

i am confused with the code for medium of written exams. i did not see English as medium of written exams in main. so can u please send me code for English as medium of written exam.

28. 4698
    gnanasekaran:

Sir, my daughter has completed BDS including intership.Please inform me whether she is elegible to aaear for UPSE exam 2011. If so what is the sylabus

29. 4697
    Sahil:

Sir I m going to apply for the post of Indian Postal services Group A By UPSC Bt i dont know How to apply on line I dont the link frm where i can apply or even i dont know from where i can download form related to it so that i can snd the forms offline so help me out N tel me what to do n do tell me how can i prepare myself for this exam …I would be very thankful to you.

30. 4696
    rajyalaxmi:

this is rajyalaxmi i am syudying final b tech .i am eligible to write civils exam in 2011.

31. 4695
    Rimiki Ksoo:

what is the examination code for IAS exam in the prelim 2011?
    What is the CRF Stamp denomination for ST Category?

32. 4694
    rajesh biswal:

what are the educational qualification code

33. 4693
    Deepika Kumari:

Q. when and how we will get the applpcation forms of civil
    services?/ i.e of upsc examination

34. 4692
    prasenjit:

how to fill up the form by offline by code

35. 4691
    prasenjit:

what is the code of educational qualification of upsc’s ics exam

36. 4690
    parveen:

dear sir, iam a muslim woman of andhrapradesh and we are treated as BC(E) that is minorities and my age is 32 years. whether iam eligible for civil services priliminary examination-2011.

37. 4689
    Amit Majumdar:

The examination code,educational qualification code,examination center code for the preliminary exam of Indian revenue service(customs and central excise) 2011

38. 4688
    asha muley:

Respected sir/mam,

I am a computer engineering student right now i am in 3rd year, yet i have not completed my gragutation,can you tell me that as Im a computer engineer, n i want to apply for upsc exam, which subject is helpful to me for preliminary.

and plz sent me date of preliminary exam data and online filling form date.
    Thank You.

asha

39. 4687
    Mohammed asif:

sir,please let me know the examination code for CS (preliminary) Exam code,& educational qualification code.
    sir I am 12th commerce passed out student from CBSE.
    and i live in GOA.

40. 4686
    veeresh:

plz send me the speciman of the civil service (preeliminary) examination form

41. 4685
    S.Gandhiram:

Sir, i need sme kinds of refrence books name
    for upsc cse preliminary exams new patterns ( about to general studies )
    and i would like become a hanourable RAW or CBI officer.
    so please give sme helpfull guideness…

42. 4684
    sheel aditya singh:

how could i apply form on line?

43. 4683
    mamta:

when is the last date of filling of upsc form and where is will get ingformation more about it

44. 4682
    narasimha:

where we available in language code

45. 4681
    nivabhowmik:

my date of bath is 4.3. 1981 can i appare the exam

46. 4680
    srinu:

sir i want complete fee details of upsc examination …………please send dtails to my id…………….

47. 4679
    kritika:

will u let me know the last date for submission of form by online……….!and is there only one entrance xam in a year ,,,,?

48. 4678
    Uttam Pegu:

Please tell me the date of csp exam of 2011 ?

49. 4677
    mona:

can u show me filled form of civil services

50. 4676
    smita rani:

code no. of upsc civil service priliminary examination centre for upsc 2011

51. 4675
    Sonam:

Sir What are the codes for Examination centre for baleswar, educational qualification codes for a graduate, for sebc category,

52. 4674
    Rajyalakshmi:

for ECE branch, which is best opstional subject in civil prilims ?

53. 4673
    shweta:

Respected sir/mam,
    Iam a biotech post graduate fresher,kindly suggest me the combination of optional subjects that i could choose.I am highly interested to take chemistry as one subject though i have won International Australian Chemistry Olympiad.Plz send me the exam dates and Last date of online application form filling.
    Thank You.
    Yours Signatory
    Shweta

54. 4672
    Gouri:

What is the code for English subject for 2011 UPSC exam?

55. 4671
    pratibha:

i have completed my graduation from economics, n i want to apply for upsc exam, which subject is helpful to me for preliminary.

56. 4670
    giri:

last date for application return

57. 4669
    Bhakti Thakur:

Please send me the optional subject codes as soon as possible..

58. 4668
    s.murali:

My religion is Hindu. In UPSC form they ask choice only Muslim, Christian, Budha, Sikh and Zoroastrian. Now i have confusion to which is i select in that form.i want to apply this exam. pls. if u have any information let me know. thanks

59. 4667
    sowjanya:

HOW I CAN GET THE FORM OF CIVIL SERVICES 2011 ONLINE OR OFF LINE BOTH THE OPTIONS……….

60. 4666
    Arun:

hello respected sir/madam i want to know the code number for filling CSP examination will u pls send me.

61. 4665
    vikas:

what will be examination code

62. 4664
    prasad:

what is the exam centre code for mumbai n send qulification code

63. 4663
    bhupinder singh:

please send me detail of IFS to apply online.

64. 4662
    dinesh:

in which site should i fill the application for civil(prel) exam.thanking you.

65. 4661
    dinesh:

please say me last date for submission of application for civil(prelimis)? thank you.

66. 4660
    swati.ambati:

plz send me the top most cs coching centers names& detals.

67. 4659
    ketki:

what is the criteria for exemption from indian language(Q21.), my optional subjects are mngmt. & history..so what should be filled in column 21?

68. 4658
    suraj:

examination code of civil service preliminary examination

69. 4657
    Satendra Agrawal:

D.I. Exam form date in M.P.2011

70. 4656
    Sri Nivas:

Haiii… Plz send me Required Codes for filling CS(P) form

71. 4655

I had filled the form, and after that i came to know that we should print our name and date of birth on photo, which we had pasted in form, i didn’t do that.
    Is it ok, Please guide me now what to do

72. 4654
    sitambar hansda:

I have completed graduate with Englis hons. but I want to keep history as an optional subject ub sivil services emam- 2011. Please tell me how to prepare with this sub or it would be better or not?

73. 4653
    teju:

hai can you tel me now m 20 year old bez my date of birth is 20-10-1990 tel me suggestions

74. 4652
    teju:

hai can you tel me now m 20 year old bez my date of birth is 20-10-1990 tel me suggestions

75. 4651
    anupriya singh:

i heard that in 2011 there is no any subjective exam in preliminary is it true

76. 4650
    sweta:

instructions about photograph required in upsc 2011 exam.on which side of photo(front or back) should i have to write name and date of birth ?

77. 4649
    Ramoji rao:

Which qualification in ips

78. 4648
    prasada rao.soupati:

hello sir I am s.prasadarao this is my first attumpt,but I dont know how to fillup the applicayion.pl………..s.tell me how many subjects I will choosein this and all cdoes.and also I am sc candat.crf stamp is required to me.I dont know center code,educational code,indicate area ,remoate code andif claimingagerelaxation,indicatecategory codethank you sir.

79. 4647
    B.Krishnan:

Date of advertisement IAs 2o11 prelime and code no and also where the application form isavailable

80. 4646
    muhsina:

what is the area code for keralites in ias exam

81. 4645
    guru prasad sahoo:

what is the last date of submission of application form for 2011 priliminary exam?

82. 4644
    d.meikandan:

code number for filling the CS(P) examination like subject, centre codes. And also age limit for OBC candidates.

83. 4643
    dilip kumar sharma:

plz send me information about csp-2011

84. 4642
    kamkam:

i am appearing for IAS prelims examination 2011. i would like to know the codes of following…
    1) subject codes for geography , economics ,commerce ,history
    and sociology.
    2) the center code for Itanagar .
    3) category code for schedule tribe.
    4) education qualification codes for graduates of B.Com ,BA .
    5) code for IAs exam.
    6)And other necessary codes.

85. 4641
    geetanjali:

code no. for filling the csp form

86. 4640

form bharne ke liye
    form ke sath koyi bhi code nahi diye ge hai to ham log
    form ke se bhare plz hellp me

87. 4639
    Kalaivani:

code number for filling the CS(P) examination

88. 4638
    shalini:

hi…..telll me the date for ias exam

89. 4637
    vartul:

I have completed my masters in mass communication and I am willing to appear for civil services for Indian Information Services. In online application form there is no subject option for mass communication. What subject should I select?

90. 4636
    devangi patel:

hi! i want to know about ias exam now i am in the uk i completed my b.com degree in gujarat university. now i am doing post graduation in business management. pls. tell me what subject do you recomanded for me. i want to give this exam. pls. if u have any information let me know. thanks

91. 4635
    Ramesh:

What is max age for obc candidate already working in central govt for civil service exam 2011

92. 4634
    c.venkatesulu:

hai
    DEAR

i complite my ug in b.com at 44persent iam ealigibul for upsc post what post please send me details and last date and application filap details please

93. 4633
    Sat:

Plz send next exam date and also maths q &a paper

94. 4632
    ashok kumar:

send me all informations for upsc2011

95. 4631
    jamyang:

sir i m appearing for ias prelims exams 2011 .
    1.;- i want to know the subject codes for zoology and sociology
    2.;-the centre code for jammu
    3.;-category code for scheduled tribe
    4.;- any other necessary code…????

96. 4630
    Malkeet Singh DHALLA:

hello sir/madam………..i want to know………….can a graduate aarearing student give IAS exxxam? and there will be any relaxation for backwrd cast

97. 4629
    Sudhir Rajgure:

Sir,i want to know that whether one can get Computer as an optional subject or not?

98. 4628
    vishnu:

code 4 first optional subject and second optional subject 4 b.com students

99. 4627
    madhurjya hajong:

what is the code for shillong?

100. 4626
    vidya:

what is the last date of fill form by online.

101. 4625
    darshna:

i have done my graduation in commerce in 2005.now i want prepare my self for this exam.
    i do not sir second subject this time than how to prepare to this
    subject and seggest any material use best this exam

102. 4624
    bhoopali:

upsc form civil services examination in 21 question part 3 can we select in first optional subject public admistrative and second optional civics can i take?

103. 4623
    seenivasan:

hi,this s seenu hosur i hav 1 doubt
    civil prilimsnegative markswil be there or not

104. 4622
    shailendra:

which type of photograph required in application form of civil service aptitude test 2011?is date of photograph should be written on photo?

105. 4621
    aparna:

is there any provision for on line application?

106. 4620
    Kiran:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    Mujhe ye janna h ki mujhe online submit karne k baad form speed post bhi karna h kya or mere brother k fees kitni kagegi or kaise bhejni h or me general hu.

107. 4619
    rajesh:

my principle subject is chemistry and graduate in the chemistry and appeared for the msc organic so my preparation on exam ofupsc from prelin exam is what

108. 4618
    upsc 2011 csp application codes:

please send me the civil service preliminary exam 2011 application code numbers.

109. 4617
    dipika:

please send us the examination centre codes and other codes required for the upsc offline registration, we searched a lot but we are not getting thank you

110. 4616
    sheeba:

my date of birth is 01.08.1982 .can i fill d form of ias 2012?

111. 4615
    revathi sakthivel:

i want to know about the part -2 registration of the online upsc registration? i don’t know how to insert the photocopy and the signature through online ans pls?

112. 4614
    amulya:

how many optional subjects to be taken for prelimns.. ??

113. 4613
    prem:

Please send the exam books details

114. 4612
    narender:

Sir/Madam
    what is examination center code fore Bangalore I.C.S (prelim)& how to fill its in application

115. 4611
    Dr sami:

I want to know how to fill the Applicatio online.
    Thanx

116. 4610
    manju:

sir,i want to know date of publishment in employment newspaper about the information filling detail ofupsc csp2011 examination form.I will be highly greateful to u.

117. 4609
    kirandeep kaur:

Respected Members,
    i have done my graduation in commerce in 2007.now i want to prepare myself for this exam.
    can i apply for this test?and what is the last date to apply.plz tell me as early as possible.

118. 4608
    kirandeep kaur:

Respected Members,

I have completed my graduation in Bcom. Wen is UPSC exams held? Wat are the subjects to be studied in stream of Commerce? Wat is the eligebility to appear to exams? Wat is the moniter used in correction & securing of marks? Wat may be the cost of study.

119. 4607
    L.Narasimha:

qualification of i.a.s such as hight etc

120. 4606
    venkat:

is botany and zoology both are allowed for optionals are allowed or not?

121. 4605
    Javeed:

Sir,please send me the subject codes for zoology and general studies and also centre codes as i am from j&k state.

122. 4604
    abdul saleem:

where can we find the codes to fill the form

123. 4603
    vijay:

I am completed MCA in 2005. Do i can eligible to apply the civil services exam conducting on may2011?
    What are the optional subjects do i need to take?
    As my graduation subjects are computer science.

Degree:Batchelor of Computers
    Post Graduation: Master of computers.

Pls tell which optional subjects i need to take..

124. 4602
    tauheed fatima:

please give instructions for filling upsc form 2011(p).

125. 4601
    manju satankar:

hi, i am manju my date of birth is 15-12-1990 and i am pursuing BE (8th sem).This is my last sem and i will completed my degree in june 2011,so can we apply for UPSC exam

126. 4600
    deepika:

please send the prelims material details

127. 4599
    Ritu:

hiii,Iam ritu.iam pursuing b.com from recognised university(D.u). i complete my final year but not complete my Ist year i got a ER in only one subject.can i eligible to take the UPSC examination for I.A>S?

Is there any minimum percentage of marks required for civil services preliminary exam or not? If yes, what is that minimum percentage?
    plz suggest me on my email.id.

128. 4598
    shailesh:

plz, could u mail the best author/publication books which is good for preparing upsc prelims exam ?

129. 4597
    srinivasa chari:

sir,I have completed B.Sc maths i am eligible or not elegible to civils

130. 4596
    NILESH KAKULTE:

i am mechanical engineer. for wich post i can apply? i am very intrested in upsc exam.please send me detail.

131. 4595
    thirupathi rao:

how to apply to civil (prem 2011)sercicess

132. 4594
    elizabeth:

no

133. 4593
    vijayakumar:

actually i am from electronics stream sir but in optional subjects there is no electronics based one…wat can i do for this

134. 4592
    parameswari .R:

For upsc exam qualification any undergraduate or must finish masterdegree also va sir

135. 4591
    Murli Dhar:

How can I chek my status of Civil Services Exam 2011 of online application form.

136. 4590
    Gvenkatarao:

I want to know about last date of submit upsc exam online or offline

137. 4589
    karthik:

sir i have filled up the part I registration but did not note down my Registration no. what should i do to go for part II registration, i want know my registration no. of part I

138. 4588
    sandeep:

i am post graduate in physics . i want to apply for civil service .please give me an advice what options i should choose for civils

139. 4587
    Sarangdhar suvarna:

what is the qualification for upsc exam?

140. 4586
    gurkamal:

how can i get ias form 2011 online or offline what is the last date of submission the form

141. 4585
    Rafi:

Sir iam completeing mba,my dream is i want to become a ips officer,it is my dad dream,i want to fulfill that dream,so plz guide me which institution is best for civil services

142. 4584
    R.Siva:

Dear Sir/Madam:

How Can Apply In UPSC Exam?
    Study method.
    Author name & Study Book Name.
    I Will First Attend The Exam.
    So, You Help him.

143. 4583
    rachana:

DEAR SIR,
    HOW TO FILL THE FORM OF CIVIL SERVICES PRELIMINARY EXAM 2011. PLEASE SEND PREVIEW OF THE FORM OR A EXAMPLE.
    THNX
    RACHANA

144. 4582
    Rani pandey:

Sir, plz tell me. i am last year student of gruadation. So may i apply ias exam form 2011.

145. 4581
    agarwal:

please update the information….

146. 4580
    sanjeet:

right now i m in final year n m much interested to give the upsc exam but i don’t know from where should i get the form and in which month exams are held
    i don’t have any idea regarding these. if u would lend me know these all i would be highly thankful to u .

147. 4579
    kunal goswami:

sir,can i get prelemunary question papers of last ten yers?

what type of englishquestion are there in 2nd paper?

148. 4578
    somnath parui:

sir i am a teacher by profession ,now have to put my all eggs in one bucket i .e to go for civil service exam.but crack the nut is not easy.so kindly inform me the names of some good postal coaching centre that can pave my way to have the taste of honey. Yours faithfully somu

149. 4577
    Nasib chand sharma:

what is date for 2011 premilary exam . which is the good institute for coaching. plz tell me

150. 4576
    jasbir singh:

Sir,is coaching necessary for civil services exams ?

Pages: « 35 34 33 [32] 31 30 29 28 27 26 251 » Show All