UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011

Being in the bureaucracy of India is like a dream come true. Thus, in order to be a part of this highly des ignited post, one will have to go through an entrance examination conducted by a special panel of bureaucrats of India. The examination is called Union Public Service commission UPSC. This examination is a gateway to many government high level jobs and designation. The posts that are given after one successfully clear this examination have respect which is beyond anyone’s expectations and imaginations. That is the reason why almost every individual of India has a dream of clearing this examination and being a part of this renounced job.

This particular entrance examination is divided in to two parts. One is the mains and the other one is prelims. The candidates are selected for the mains only after they clear the prelims examination. Thus, the prelims are the chief and the primary examination in which maximum short listing is done.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) conducts Civil Services Examinations for various Government jobs in the country. Civil Services include 23 services of Government of India and Union Territories. The most aspired services are the Indian Foreign Service(IFS), Indian Administrative Service(IAS), Indian Police Service(IPS) etc. The preliminary examinations for Civil services exam is conducted in a number of cities throughout the country.

Civil Services Exam is conducted every year by UPSC in two rounds: Preliminary & Mains. Those who qualify in the preliminary round are called for mains examination. Preliminary Exam consists of a written exam while Mains exam consists of a written exams as well as Interview. Getting through Civil Services Examination is considered really prestigious as a very large number of candidates apply for Civil Services exam for a limited number of posts and getting through is really tough.

Various Civil Services in which recruitment is made:

• Indian Administrative Service

• Indian Foreign Service

• Indian Police Service

• Indian P&T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise), Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Revenue Service (I.T.), Group ‘A’

• Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Non-technical)

• Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’

• Post of Assistant Security Officer in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’

• Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’

• Indian Information Service (Junior Grade), Group ‘A’

• Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’

• Armed Force Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade)

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakhadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’

• Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

A candidate should have a degree from a recognized institute/university or an equivalent qualification. Also a candidate should be between 21 and 30 years of age as on 1st August, 2011. Relaxation in age limit is given to various reserved categories.

Important date:

• Release of Notification: 2011

• Last date of submission of application form: 1st week of February, 2011

• Date of Examination: third or last week of May, 2011

Important Dates:

• Last date for submission of application form: last of January or beginning of February, 2011.

• Date of Preliminary Examination of Civil Service Examination: third or last week of May, 2011.

Availability of Application Forms:

All UPSC Exams have a common form where a candidate has to choose the exam he/she has applied for. UPSC forms are available in various designated post offices throughout the country. Candidates have to fill the application forms according to the instructions given in the admission notification released in newspapers.

Pattern of Preliminary Examination:

There will be 2 papers consisting of multiple choice questions.:

Paper 1:General Studies-150 marks

Paper 2:Optional Subject-450 marks

Optional Subject is to be chosen from a list of optional subjects given below. Detailed syllabus for both the papers is given in the following link:Syllabi for the Examination. There will be 4 options to each question. There will be a penalty of 1/3rd marks for an incorrect answer.

List of optional subjects for Preliminary Examination:

Agriculture

Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science

Botany

Chemistry

Civil Engineering

Commerce

Economics

Electrical Engineering

Geography

Geology

Indian History

Law

Mathematics

Mechanical Engineering

Medical Science

Philosophy

Physics

Political Science

Psychology

Public Administration

Sociology

Statistics

Zoology

Contact details:

Union Public Service Commission,

Dholpur House, Shahajahan Road,

New Delhi-110069

5,175 Responses to “UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2011”

Pages: « 3511 10 9 8 7 [6] 5 4 3 2 1 » Show All

1. 825
    Gagan:

Is the application for Civil service exam 2010 out in post office? If yes..Wat is the last date to submit it?

2. 824
    sibani:

when the form will come for civil services prelims of 2010- for ias please let me know still the the forms are not available

3. 823
    sibani:

when the form will come for civil services prelims of 2010- for ias

4. 822
    sreenivasa rao erigala:

i want information about civil services prelims 2010

5. 821
    Sachin:

i am applying for upsc exam, give me details about exam fees & how i want to pay.

6. 820
    nakul:

from where shall i get code for optional subjects for civil services exam 2010

7. 819
    Parikshit chakraborty:

when will be the exam notification is published for 2010 IAS prelim examination.

8. 818
    vishnu:

Sir/Madam,
    I m commerce graduate and pursuing CA Final i want to appear for upcoming Indian Revenue Service Exams. Can u please guide me about optional subject, examination date and pattern and from where i get the examination forms.

9. 817
    Ashok Kumar:

I want to know about the subject code of Geography paper for prelims 2010 & centre code of Patna.

10. 816
    Ashok Kumar:

I want to know about the subject code of Geography paper for Prelims, 2010.

11. 815
    prahlad:

i have completed Bca in my graduation but i have only marksheets of all sem. the process os degree is in progress
    may i sit in IAS pre test.please tell me immediately

12. 814
    POONAM:

I want to know the process to give the exam of IAS exam and what is the last date for getting the form and submmiting it.

13. 813
    tushar:

I m in last year of B.E. and my age is not applicable for this exam. Even i want to give an exam for practise. can i do attempt this preliminary exam for practice purpose

14. 812
    shefali:

i want to know when is the last date for csp exam 2010

and i want the employment news published page

thanks and regards
    shefali

15. 811
    Balbir Singh:

when will be notification issued by upsc for civil services exam prelims 2010
    email:- [email protected]

16. 810
    Balbir Singh:

i want civils notification date & Deatils for UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2010

17. 809
    VIJAYPRAKASH S YADAV:

plz provide me with ias law mains question papers of year 2008 and 2009

18. 808
    JYOTI TIWARI:

RESPECTED Team, Namast!!

I Jyoti Tiwari is an IAS aspirant and woul like to appear for IAS Prelims 2010. I want to about the exam form fill up date for UPSC Prelims 2010

19. 807
    achal kumar naskar:

is the notification for ias preli 2010 published?

20. 806
    achal kumar naskar:

is the notification of ias preli published?

21. 805
    Ashish kedia:

where would be the form of UPSC Exam,2010 will be avilable in Mumbai or Navi-Mumbai.Kindly pass on info on urgent basis

22. 804
    JIshnu:

what is the last date for submission of application?
    where it is available?
    what is the cost of application?
    any best upsc coaching centers are there!
    what is the difference between upsc and civilservice?

23. 803
    santoshilal:

when s notification date

711sagar: On December 13th, 2009

24. 802
    anu:

DearMam/Sir,

when is the last date to apply for upsc civil service examination 2010 and i would like to know whether are they going to change the examination pattern this year or is it the same

25. 801
    saravanan:

I want to know the different codes for different optional subjects and Guidelines for filling the application

26. 800
    Anjan:

When is IAS exam application submission last date,Is examination annouced in any of the media.if so suggest it.

27. 799
    lucky:

pls give the details of scra exams

28. 798
    Anand:

Sir i want the employment news published page for the upsc civil services exam and the notifications also very urgent …

29. 797
    Anand:

please send me the schedule of the civil service 2010 main and prelims and also iwant a copy of the filled application form very urgent and also the notifications sir

30. 796
    theja:

pl mail me the advertisement no for upsc 2010. please. its urgent. Thanks

31. 795
    manjit:

What is the date of distribution of uppcs application form?

32. 794
    prakash chandra:

i want civils notification date & Deatils for UPSC Civil Services Preliminary Examination 2010

33. 793
    shamim rizvi:

what about apptitude test in civil service?

34. 792
    aakriti:

can i fill up the form for upsc exam2010 online? if yes then kindly tell me the procedure and respective site.

35. 791
    RK Panmei:

i want to applied for CSP 2010..when is the last date ,and l want to access with instruction for filling up the form

36. 790
    harshala:

please provide me code for optional subject & code for center of the csp exam-2010

37. 789
    chandramohan:

is the pattern of upsc civils is going to change in next coming years?

38. 788
    perwez:

i am bca can i apply for upsc

39. 787
    pawam:

information about in ias pre exam

40. 786
    pranav:

there, in optional subjects why not SANSKRIT ?

41. 785
    PRAMOD KUMAR:

why yet not civil service pre exam notification came? please tell me the possible dates of notifications

42. 784
    tr:

when will the notification be published for UPSC CSP Exam?

43. 783
    krishna:

when is the last date for applying to the civilservice

44. 782
    Dorjee Khandu Thungdok:

Need the upsc 2010 exam details. when the advertisement will be published?

45. 781
    prasun:

sir/mam, currently i am in west bengal civil service.though i am a b.e by degree, i prefer civil service to working in m.n.cs.kindly help me by informing me the exact date of pulication of advertisemsnt of c.s.e 2010. with regards prasun.

46. 780
    Manoj:

i want to know when is the last date for submission of UPSC exam 2010 application forms

thanks and regards
    Manoj

47. 779
    dinesh:

I am in Mumbai,
    I am a commerce graduate, I have to apply for IPS exam
    how can i get the application forms & were did i submit them?

48. 778
    Sunil Kumar:

thanks and regards
    Sunil Kumar

49. 777
    krunal:

i want to know about the notification of civil services
    preliminery exam
    what is the date of employement news where the notification is published or what is the name of the site in internet where
    i have to take this information

krunal

50. 776
    Lokesh Kumar:

I want to know that when the Notification will be released for the IAS/IPS 2010.

51. 775
    pradeep kumar:

where application form will get

52. 774
    reema:

hello my date of birth is 1980 4th april and i am from ec-e category may i write the ias exam in the year 2010.am i eligible fot the exam this year. and when whill be notification come out this year of ias exam.

53. 773
    ranjita:

when form for prelims2010(CSE)will come?last date for filing the form?

54. 772
    manish kuamr pargi:

need ahmedabad code of exam centre and employemnt date which it realised, therefore code of public administration

55. 771
    ranjeet:

i wanted to know the subject code for medical science, centre code for delhi and lucknow and the last date for sending the application form and also whether there is any change in format of the exams this year ie apptitude test instead of gs..?

56. 770
    eswar reddy:

I have completed my degree in Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Open univirisity in the year 2003-2007. Am I eligible to apply Civils Exams please tell me the answer at an early
    Thank you sir

57. 769
    eswar reddy:

please tell me the notification dates of civils preliminary exam

58. 768
    ari:

sir,when ll prelims2010 for civil service exam application form supplied..when ll exam starts..

59. 767
    Syed Abdullah Ahmed:

i want To apear UPSC Exam. So what is the Process. may i know more in details.

60. 766
    vivek:

pls provide me commission notice no and published in employment news dates
    pls do the need ful

61. 765
    Neha:

iwant to know the date of employment news paper which contains the full information of notification by upsc for ias prelims examination 2010 and also from where the application forms are available?
    wat is the last date for submission of apllication forms?
    wat is the cost of application form? plz reply as soon as possible…

62. 764
    Sam:

which upsc form are available in PO. are they preliminary or final?
    so when should i submit it and when will the paper be conducted.
    Please… help me out

63. 763
    SUKHDEV SINGH:

please tell me IAS(pre)2010 notification date in employment news or any newspaper. very important. thanking you.

64. 762
    Rocky:

Sir, when will upsc civil services pre-exam 2010 notification comes up? and please tell me also about the time for subission of form.

65. 761
    Pratik:

please tell me the notification about the civil service examination 2010

66. 760
    sadanandam:

my question is there is any chance to write civil services mains exam in my mother language telugu. please give reply sir

67. 759
    jith:

Hello,,,,where could i find the notification. Is it already out or not. I am not able to find in UPSC website.
    - Jith

68. 758
    rinki:

i m in the final yr of my llb.wil i b permitted to sit 4 ias emaxs in the yr 2010….when will the notification come out

69. 757

i want to know whether final year students can apply for this exam.

70. 756
    shalu:

how to prepare pcs exam having week english

71. 755
    neelam:

when is preliminary exam of indian civil services of india and what is last date of submission the for for 2010 exam?

72. 754
    Govind:

i want to know as a final year degree student can i appear for CSP2010, and also being a B.Tech in IT student can i go for any csp 2010. or do i need to be B.Tech graduate in mechanical ,civil, or electrical ?

Govind

73. 753
    ROHAN BHALERAO:

Hi…!!
    I want to appear for this UPSC examination & this is my first time. i want to know whether the forms for UPSC Pre- Exams are out?, if yes where i will get the forms?

Kindly reply to this question and please help me.

Thank You..!

74. 752
    LALIT KUMAR:

I want to know when the civil services form available and what is the last date and commencing date of CS Exam.

thanks & regards

75. 751
    prajakta:

IS FOREIGN LANGUAGE NECESSARY?

76. 750
    HariPrasadh:

Civil service Preliminary 2010 which date of callfor

77. 749
    jyotsna:

i want to know when the notification wil be released?kindly reply me on my mail address.
    your’s faithfuly
    jyotsna.

78. 748
    krishnaveni:

i have completed my post graduation in life sciences i want to know about the civils notification date in 2010?
    pls give the information as early as possible

79. 747
    Sonu:

I want to apply for “Indian P&T Accounts & Finance Service”.

Pls. give me more information about Eligibility & Books for preparation.

80. 746
    Mayank:

I have query regarding the submission of different certificates, which we need to attach with the form. So I want to know that what are those educational certificates which we need to attach with the form.

81. 745
    harshavardhan:

sir can you plz tell me, where and when i czn get application form for UPSC 2010 prelim.

82. 744
    anitasharma:

information about books for H.A.S. exams

83. 743
    Narendra:

Sir,i am very glad that you provided such service for detail.
    sir,i want to know dates of exams(preliminary exam,main exam and interview) of UPSC -2010.
    and also want to know the dates of application forms out and submit…

84. 742
    raj:

who indias first prime minister

85. 741
    srinivasan:

86. 740
    selva:

sir, how to select the optional subjects for prelims and main examination. i am an electrical engineering student.

87. 739
    srilakshmi:

i want to know about the date of submisson of application and where we get the application

88. 738
    Harshala:

I want to know code for optional subjects in upsc csp exam2010 and also code for
    centre of the examination

89. 737
    samy:

i want to know about genral studies in detail.. is it whole paper or it has some sessions…

90. 736
    Elambrathi:

thanks and regards
    elambrathi

91. 735
    Pooja Vaidya:

I have completed post graduation in computers and I wanted to know the format of upsc exams and other exams related to services.

please guide me accordingly.

your’s faithful,
    POOJA VAIDYA

92. 734
    vivek:

need to 2010 ias and Ips exam application filled method.
    mean how to fill the form of ias prelim exam
    pls let me it urgent.

93. 733
    Vipul:

94. 732
    raj:

what is the cost of application and what is the material for public administration and law and send me model papers of public administration and law

95. 731
    asha:

what to know the exam date of civil service (prel),2010. last date of application form of exam.

96. 730
    mallesh:

Will the optional paper be replaced with the apptitue test in the preliminary examination of UPSC, Civil Services Examination-2010?

97. 729
    sumita nagah:

Respected authority members,
    i am student pursuing b-tech(computer science) from respective university. I would like to know am i eligible to give PCS exam? As according to syllabus of this exam their is no such option of subject related to my field.kindly provide me information related to this. it will be my pleasure to recieve your valuable information.
    thanking you.
    have a nice day

98. 728
    regal joy:

can I knoethe answers for the following to fill the application form
    1.the commision notice no:
    2.Published in employement news/rozgar samachar dated
    3.education centre code for chennai
    4.educational qualification code for post graduation/graduation
    5.optional code for sociology

99. 727
    shyam:

date of preliminary Exam of IAS for 2010?
    & cost of Applicqation form?

100. 726
    sanjay:

I want to know the notification date for cicil service exam 2010

101. 725
    anil:

notification of cse 2010 ias pre

102. 724
    Gouher:

103. 723
    nagina:

i m commerce graduate and pursuing CA inter iwant to appear for upcoming Indian Revenue Service Exams. Can u please guide me about optional subject, and when & from where to get the forms

104. 722
    t l krishna mohan:

i am studying b.tech final year(i.t),age-21. am i eligible for preliminary exam 2010 or not…
    what is the last date for submission of application?
    where it is available?
    what is the cost of application?
    any best upsc coaching centers are there!
    what is the difference between upsc and civilservice?

105. 721
    hemanth:

i am doing my final year b.com can i appear for ias 2010

106. 720
    keerthi:

Can you please inform me when the application forms for civil services exam 2010 will be out and notifications are published in newspapers or from where we can get the required information about the form and the exam

107. 719
    dkumar:

hallo
    (1)I want to know abt criteriya of percents of marks in
    10th,12th & BE for upsc exam 4 IPS.
    (2)At present i m a third year engg student with
    electronics $ telecom i can apply application 4 civil
    service 2010.
    (3)my one ear is not working bcz of operation but doctor
    says u r not consider as PH i can apply 4 IPS ?

108. 718
    chethan:

I had completed my degree with mechanical engg., Discpline.
    My confussion IS that which is Official website to know Timetable for 2010…. what is the cost of application form?
    how to know the qustion paper model, where to get the application form for upsc examination.sir

Pls Help Me

109. 717
    Raouf:

I wanted to know the last date for submission of Civil Services Prelim.exam 2010

110. 716
    N.SRINIVAS:

PLEASE TEL ME WHEN WILL RELEASE NOTIFICATIO OF CIVIL SERVICES 2010 ,

111. 715
    nishant chaprana:

anyone knows whats the date of the release of the civil services form?

112. 714
    naveen:

when are the forms available of the civil services exam prelims 2010 .

113. 713
    sohini:

can i know the exact date when will be the upsc prelims form will come out in dec and wht is the fee of the form

114. 712
    Abhishek Kumar:

Can final year B-Tech students(II-sem) apply for the preliminary exams?

115. 711
    rachna singh:

when s notification date

116. 710
    sagar:

if i passed the prelimnary exam then is there any physical test for ips (indian police service)

117. 709
    Anand ambastha.:

we know that prelm.. exam date annanounce the first weak of dec but it didnot possi ble. why.

118. 708
    Himesh:

Last year i was fill the form and submit the form but i was not appear in exam so i just want to ask you this year is my 1 attempt . Or 2 attempt

119. 707

for how many times a candidate can appear for this preliminary exam if he fails in 1st attempt?

120. 706
    Vinod Jadhav:

I want to know about notification which declare in december for Civil services, Now i cant find any advertisement for I A S AND I P S Pre. so please if you have any information about advertiment please inform to me.
    on my email address:- [email protected]

121. 705
    shipra rathore:

i have cleared my bba this yr and want to give the ias prelims this year can u tell me whan were the form were going to out and is it a common upsc examinayion form or a separte ias form….although i hv collected a form frm post office in which there are few options like afos,cds,nda but not a ias option so please help me out asap.

thankyou
    shipra rathore

122. 704
    UJJAL CHOUDHI|URY:

when will be the civil service examination 2010 advertisement will be notified

123. 703
    Kirtida Dave:

when will be issued notification for UPSC civil preliminary examination 2010

124. 702
    Ashish:

I want to know Bihar Pcsj pre.exam date.

Ashish

125. 701
    praveen:

when can we expect civils 2010 notification

126. 700
    Sandip sonawane:

When will notification come and please send me e-mail. About aptitude test please impose(start) in this time

127. 699
    N.Pautunthang:

when is the last date for submission of form?what is the subject code for Geography ang Indian Polity?when is the date of advertisement in the employment news.

128. 698
    Istekhar Ahmad:

notification date

129. 697
    anand kulkarni:

can anybody tell me what is subject of zoology for preliminary exam

130. 696
    chetan:

from where i can get application form…n whats the last date for submission application form

131. 695
    vijay tiwari:

i am domicile of UP, but i want to appear for preliminary exams in Mumbi, may i submit my form for the center of mumbai.

132. 694
    bala:

when will the notification for premliminary2010 come

133. 693
    sushil kumar yadav:

can anyone tell me,what is the cost of application form?

134. 692
    irfan:

notification date

135. 691
    s.gokulnath:

how to know the qustion paper model, where to get the application form for upsc examination.sir

136. 690
    rinchin nima:

from where i will get the advertisement number and commissions notice number except employment news for Civil Service Prelims exam UPSC

137. 689
    nikita:

what type of study is suitable for the civil srvice exams ? group or individual study?

138. 688
    ritu:

whn wil d form of civil service b out(2010)?any idea?

139. 687
    Santosh Kumar:

Will the optional paper be replaced with the apptitue test in the preliminary examination of UPSC, Civil Services Examination-2010?

140. 686
    sdk reddy:

where did the application forms sold

141. 685
    amudhapriya:

i am doing my finalyear bachelor degree….am i eligibility to apply for civil service examinations conducted in 2010…

142. 684
    dr.vanilakshmikanth:

i’m an ayurvedic doctor i jus wanted to appear for up coming ias exams but i dont knw any of the basics can u please guide me regarding the optional subject which has to be choosen im thnkng of takng public administration if so which book i have to refer for general studies and P.Adminstration

143. 683
    karuppuchamy.v:

need to 2010 ias and Ips exam apploication filled method.

144. 682
    satish:

i want civils notification date

145. 681
    sibani:

Hello
    I am requesting you to Please inform me when the application forms for civil services exam 2010 will be out and notifications are published in newspapers or from where we can get the required information About Form & Exam…..

So Plebe Tell Me About Date….and as i am working please help to choose subject and how to prepare and please guide me on this

sibani

146. 680
    hanumappa t v:

147. 679
    APPAVOO:

I want to take IAS exa. where will the ias application form will getand when the exams will happen in 2010 wat is the fee and tell the necessary details for to take IAS exam

148. 678
    sandhya:

May i know when the notification of CSE 2010 will be given.

149. 677
    Lambadhar Behera:

Hi Sir,
    Let me know that I want to apply for civil services prelim,2010 but thing is that I am running 31 years & I belongs to OBC category.Shall I have to attach OBC certificate for age relaxation with UPSC form?Kindly inform me.

150. 676
    Prakash:

Dear
    Sir/Madam

I wanted to appear for the UPSE (Prelim) 2010. When would be the application available. Please let me know.

Prakash

Pages: « 3511 10 9 8 7 [6] 5 4 3 2 1 » Show All