Indian Army, Career in Indian Army

Army is considered to be the most integral element of defense in any country. Indian Army is the world’s largest standing volunteer army with about 1,100,000 soldiers in active service and about 960,000 reserve personnel. The primary mission of Indian Army is to ensure national security, territorial integrity of the nation against external aggression and to maintain peace and security within its borders. Army is also essential to aid the civil administration during internal security disturbances and for maintaining law and order in organizing relief operations at some stage during natural calamities like earthquakes, floods, cyclones, etc and in safeguarding other essential services of the nation.

Indian Army is organized into five regional commands which includes HQ Central Command, Lucknow, HQ Eastern Command, Calcutta, HQ Northern Command, Udhampur, HQ Western Command, Chandimandir, and HQ Southern Command, Pune. In addition to these, there is also an Army Training Command at Shimla where training strategies for the Army are made.

Job profiles in Indian Army

• General
  • Lieutenant General
  • Army Commanders
  • Major General
  • Brigadier
  • Colonel
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Major
  • Captain
  • Lieutenant
  • Subedar Major
  • Subedar
  • Risaldar
  • Naib Subedar
  • Naib Risaldar
  • Warrant Officer
  • Regimental Havildar Major
  • Regimental Quarter Master Havildar
  • Company Havildar Major
  • Squadron Daffadar Major
  • Company Quarter Master Havildar
  • Squadron Quarter Master Daffadar
  • Havildar
  • Daffadar
  • Naik
  • Lance Daffadar
  • Lance Naik
  • Sepoy
  • Sowar
  • Soldier
  • Commissioned Officer

Career opportunities in Indian Army

Indian Army offer excellent career opportunities to the adventurous young candidates. A Career in Indian Army enables the candidates with immense facilities and a privileged lifestyle. The aspirants those who have completed their 10+2 standard can write National Defense Academy (NDA) test or Combined Defense Service (CDS) test or Technical Entry Scheme test for getting into Indian Army. The candidates those who have completed their graduation also have numerous job openings in Indian Army. Recruitments are also conducted for the selection of eligible engineers and law graduate to several job profiles.

Salary range

The salary package in Indian Army depends on ones working profile. For Lieutenant, Caption and Major, the monthly salary may come in the range of Rs. 15,600/- to Rs. 39,100/-. For Lt. Colonel, Brigadier, Major General and Lt. General, it may come around in the range of Rs. 37,400/- to Rs. 67,000/- per month. In addition to the monthly salary, they may get grade pay, military pay and various other allowances depending on their job prospectus. Apart from these, the candidates in Indian Army can acquire professional advancement, job satisfaction, job security, economic stability and social status in the economy.

804 Responses to “Indian Army, Career in Indian Army”

Pages: « 6 5 4 3 2 [1] Show All

1. 54
    ashok:

i m 12th fail i m join in army so what can i do

2. 53
    deepika kamble:

Iam deepika kamble have just completed food technology (B.Tech.). Iam interested in joining army. Please guide me.

3. 52
    sam:

i am from computer science streem engg.
    in an accident my c4c5 is fussioned is i am eligible .

4. 51
    Vikram Singh Rajput:

R/S
    mera Quali.
    10th Class Pass - 46%
    ITI in ‘Diesel Mechanical’ - 75%
    Computer Course MS-CIT- 76%
    to muze mere education ki hisab se army ki kiss kshetra me jana chahiye
    Plz send me jaldhi

5. 50
    devinder jangra:

i want to join indian army because i want to do work for our country ibelong to very poor family i have done 10+2th AND one year computer software diploma and one year computer hardware networking diploma and i am doing bca.

6. 49
    NIYAS.KARATTIL:

iam studying for plustwo commerce in kerala cyllabus after finish the plustwo did i have any scope in indian army

7. 48
    rizwan khan:

i am interrested to join indian army but how it possible pls tell me

8. 47
    Chetan Bhoir:

i am studying in TYBSc Maths.
    How i can join Indian army. is there any exam held by a government aftre the graduation regarding Army

9. 46
    Ganesh Kasabe:

i am studying in SYBA.i want to join INDIAN army.how can i join.

please guide me, i have to do some thing for my country

10. 45
    ankur:

my father is in air force and i have got president and state awards in scout and guide .
    i was not a bright student.but i have high intellectual power ,courage and willpower to join army.
    i want to enjoy the tough life of army.
    but i am weak in maths.
    but i am great in making plans and in solving problems.
    can i join army

11. 44
    nisha singh:

i m student of 10(+2) and i would like to join Indian army, plz help me know if there is any scope for me in this field.

12. 43
    akbar khan:

i m akbar khan, i m complete 12th 2005, nd i will want job in army. thnks

13. 42
    Tenzing dhonyoe bhutia:

i m student of 10(+2) and i would join indian army sir plz help me to know procedure and exams.

14. 41
    kamal sheikh:

sir i have summited Indian Army technical Entry sceme 23 when will i got admit card …..pliz help me to success in the SSB interview…its the 2nd change for this exam…???

15. 40
    Prince:

Im prince study in mechanical engineering 4th year. My aim is join in indian army for higher officer. So please send more informations.

16. 39
    sanjiv kumar:

sir, plz tell me about open recruitment in indian army as the post of technical grade.

17. 38
    shijupothan:

sir please send an applicaton form format for participating in army recruitment rally for the post of soldier general duty.

18. 37
    rajesh sharma:

i am 12th passed with commerce and 29 years old and doing bussiness now but is heartedly wants to join army. so please can anyone help me to know the procedure and exams what is to be followed as early as possible.

19. 36
    jasmeet kour:

i am a student of class 6th and i have a pasion for joining indian army. so can i ?

20. 35
    Ramesh Dasari:

I,Ramesh Dasari,would like to join Indian Army.I have completed my 10th and I am 23 yrs old.Due to financial and other personal problems I couldn’t study further nor could I join the army.I really want to join army but don’t know how.
    I am physically fit and capable of joining the army.Please let me know the exact procedure to join the army as I am keenly interested.
    thanking you,
    Ramesh Dasari

21. 34
    kritant:

sir tel me when is the next interview for engineering graduate ….. tel me the procedure also how to apply for it

22. 33
    Aabir Akre:

I would like to ask that I am in class 11th having arts with mathematics so can i join army?I am from delhi my height is 5 feet 7 inches and i want to join frontier line in army as an officer ,my height is enough to join army? Can I get some hint about what questions will be asked to me in ssb interview.I am 17 years old.

23. 32
    priyam sharma:

sir, i am doing mba but i am very much intrested in indian army i just want to kown till what age i can apply in indian army,,,,,,,, sir please help me out i tried once,,,,,,,,

24. 31
    Raj Kumar Shrestha:

Respected Sir ,

Hiii this is Raj Kumar Shrestha from Nepal . I am 23.5 years old . I have done 12th from Nepal . I have been doing job in New delhi since 2008. I have done basic course from NIIT in 2007 & also basic computer course form nepal . I have job done one year as designing related with photoshop , coreldraw .
    Now i am doing job in reliance Bigtv as a co- ordinator (CCO ) since 2008 in New Delhi .I would like to be joined Indian Army but due to my nepali cerficate & age i can’t decided it won’t be possible . My main motivation to joined Indian Army . Is it possible to join in Indian Army in this age ? If it possible i will be so happy & revert in my mail

25. 30
    omendra pratap singh:

i am a BCA(3rdyear ) student and want t join indian army as offices. So plz suggent me various procedures to get into it

26. 29
    prabhat kumar:

hello sir,i am in +2 with pcm and i want to join indian army or millitary engineering colleg.so kindly provide me information how ican join this.
    my father was in army so its my great desier to join this .

27. 28
    akhil:

my name is akhil, my father was in army i love to join in army .
    i am 19 years old my qulification is s.s.l.c.
    so, can i get a job in indian army.

28. 27
    vineet pandey:

i will complete my degree in commerce next year.
    i willing to join indian army..
    i don’t know whether a commerce graduate can join in army or not.
    so, plz guide me in this matter.

29. 26
    tanu chawla:

sir i had opted commerce with maths in +2 nd i”ll complete my +2 in march 2010 nd i want to join army sir i want to know that is there any scope for me in army
    i am just crazy for that nd my inspiration behid this is that my cousin sis is in army nd she encouraged me to join army bt now she is out of the country nd is able to communicate with me so please tell me sir abt this

30. 25
    Prince:

Im study in 3rd year mechanical engineering.i want join in indian army. Please say to apply procedure

31. 24
    VIKRAM SINGH:

Respected sir,i have done my graduation in commerce stream.i want to be join indian army.my father hav.damnesh singh was a army man.Unfortunetly,in year 2002,he had expired on duty.In that time,i am breadwinner of my family.can you please guide me in this matter as i m very eager to join the indian army.Can i apply for my father job?sir plz tell me,i shall be very thankful for this act of kindness.your faithfully,vikram singh.

32. 23
    srikanth:

I am 22 years old ,height 5′8” ,I have completed my BE(in electronics and communication engineering ) from osmania university this year .I have undergone 1 year of NCC training .I like to join indian army so can you please guide me
    thanking you ,
    srikanth

33. 22
    Rafeek:

i am very interested to work for indian army, i am doing my graduation in computer application, i want to know about the recruitment to the post of computer professional or any relates posts. is it possible to work in army with any physical disbility if the works in IT? kindly request to gve me a reply
    Your’s faithfully

34. 21
    Kiruba:

I am doing 3rd year mechanical engineering. I like to join indian army. Please say me the procedure to apply , where to get applications, service period, type of works ,posts briefly.

35. 20
    zoya:

i m in final yr B.COM n after this do i have any possiblity to get into defence
    are their any xams for which i m eligible specially by being a female candidate
    plz provide me with the necessary informations

36. 19

respected sir,i passed my degree in commerce this year.
    i want to join indian army..
    i don’t have NCC certificate…
    n i don’t know whether a commerce graduate can join in army..
    can you please guide me in this matter as i am very eager to join d army..

37. 18
    anusha:

sir, i am pursuing my B.Tech with Instrumentation & Control
    branch. I want to join the INDIAN AIR FORCE. Please guide me with all the requirement( qualification,entrance exams,duration, age limit and allinformations) for Indian Army and Indian Air Foece.
    hoping for your responce.

38. 17
    Sarath:

Dear Sirs,
    i am looking forward for an opportunity to serve my nation as in to get into Indian army, or Indian navy….. My basic qualification is +2 Commerce , as looking fore ward found all required qualification stated science subjects, what should i do, My passion is to join my team and serve for Our Nation.

Awaiting for your response.
    Sarath

39. 16
    vikram:

QR for ACC and SCO entry

40. 15
    Karthik:

Respected sir,i am doing final year engg(computer science)
    i want to join the army and serve my nation. . . .
    tel me the procedure and eligibality criteria. . . .

41. 14
    ankit hooda:

I M STUDENT OF 10+2(pcm)how ican get add. in milliarty engineering colleg

42. 13
    Rupesh.p.bhosale:

i am studying in T.Y.BSc(CS).i want to join INDIAN army.how can i join.

please guide me, i have to do some thing for my country

43. 12
    HARI VRAT:

I M STUDENT OF 10+2(pcm)how ican get add. in milliarty engineering college

44. 11
    RAJESH TUDU:

hello sir i doing bca can i join indian army after completing my graduation what are the jobs option in indian army can you tell me the procedure and eligibility condition sir please send me your feedback recently thank you……..

45. 10
    indrajeet rathore:

i have completed my 10+2(pcm) and i want to join indian army. what to do?

46. 9
    nishika:

I am doin my 3rd yr engg in computer science engg.I have a passion for joining indian army. after completing my engg i want to pursue a career in indian army,can u guide me with detailed information about d entrance exams,technical knowledge qualifications,posts,training durations,service duration.

47. 8
    Nilesh:

Hello sir, plese tell me the date of indian army entanrance exam

48. 7
    abhinay tiwari:

i am abhinay tiwari . appearing 12th .i want the information about the scheme which is for the students who got more than 75% in 12th board exams & want to be an engineer in the indian army .

49. 6
    shubham:

what is the date of exam and which are the subjects and where it will held.

50. 5
    suman singh:

i’m a 4th year student of information tech.kindly inform me about all d branches of defence services and exams date 4 which women r eligible…….

51. 4
    vivek:

i have completed my 10+2(pcm) and i want to join indian army. what to do?

52. 3
    akash singh:

i’m in 3rd year of enggenering. My branch is cs. Can i now appy for OTA and USE in the 3rd year itself?????

53. 2
    prabhakaran.K.M:

My name is Prabhakaran i am doing 2nd year B.C.A in madras university i don’t know how to apply for Indian army and what is qualification for that please let me know sir

54. 1
    Sameer:

My self Sameer D Dhumal. I have done 10+2(PCM) and DME (Diploma mechanical Engineering).M working with L&T from last #years in Material Dept.as Engineer-SCM. Can u please suggest me career oportunities and entrance exams which are helpful for my career grouth.

Pages: « 6 5 4 3 2 [1] Show All